AJ will lead shock Boks

The Springbok XV team that will be announced next week for the match against the World XV will contain a number of shock selections.

Keo.co.za has reliably learnt the starting line-up for the unofficial Test at Ellis Park on June 3. It differs greatly from several predictions this past week, but at Friday’s “captain’s run”, the thinking in the Bok camp became much clearer. And a source close to the camp confirmed what is an exciting and youthful squad.

Uncapped lock pair Andries Bekker and Johann Muller will combine in the second row, while Ricky Januarie and Meyer Bosman will be the halfback pairing. Also, Bulls inside centre Wynand Olivier is to be switched to the No 13 jersey with De Wet Barry alongside him.

Olivier is considered by many as one of the brightest future Boks and his display in this game will be keenly watched. As expected the wings are experienced duo Gaffie du Toit (left) and Andre Snyman (right). Brent Russell gets his chance at fullback.

But as predicted by this site, AJ Venter, will be asked to captain the team in the absence of John Smit. Venter will be skipper when the Boks play a Free State Shimla side in a warm-up match at Vodacom Park this evening. He is expected to be formally announced as captain only next week though.

He has beaten off the challenge from Wikus van Heerden to lead the team, but the Cats flanker will play in the No 7 jersey alongside Venter who will start at No 8.

Baring injury, it seems coach Jake White and co are using this game to experiment with some youngsters ahead of more important matches later in June. It is unlikely that many of these players will feature against Scotland in Durban on June 10.

The front-row of Deon Carstens, Hanyani Shimange and Lawrence Sephaka will have their work cut out, especially with former Bok strongman Cobus Visagie out to prove a thing or two.

Springbok XV to play the World XV:

15 Brent Russell
14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand Olivier
12 De Wet Barry
11 Gaffie du Toit
10 Meyer Bosman
9 Ricky Januarie
8 AJ Venter (captain)
7 Wikus van Heerden
6 Joe van Niekerk
5 Johann Muller
4 Andries Bekker
3 Lawrence Sephaka
2 Hanyani Shimange
1 Deon Carstens

Replacements:
16 Gary Botha
17 Jannie du Plessis
18 Albert van den Berg/ Danie Rossouw
19 Juan Smith
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
22 Wayne Julies

By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

328 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

• 151.Attie Heunis: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu, maybe. I must say I would LOVE to say WO at 12 and your guy, Ronnie Cooke at 13.

Die verdediging sal sukkel teen daai twee.

• 152.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Dale SANTON. Not Dale Sandton.

• 153.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Vinnie you spot on. In the Plain they are not playing according to age rather weight my man. So I could be 26 and weigh 40kg. So I will play under 45 against a 13 year old.

• 154.spokie: Reply to this comment

Good for AJ and Olivier…De Wet?Ai!

• 155.Attie Heunis: Reply to this comment

Who cares about spelling? This site is for rugby Jocks!

• 156.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

DIs rof. Ek was 34 kg to speel ek teen 60 tot 80 kilogrammers. Maar soos hulle se. Hoe groter hy is hoe harder val hy.

• 157.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

I remeber getting klapped by Jan De Klerk in 1982. Not a bad field, about as hard as concrete. I remember as we left, crawled away really, these boertjie boys were having a training sesion.

• 158.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Attie,

Ag sommer go and read it on that thread man.

• 159.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

we played in Springs against Sundra (far east rand-almost oriental) and there was a cement curb on the side of the field on the inside of the athletics track. i fell on it with my hip. crutches for two weeks.

• 160.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Attie

I agree. I rather scrum than spel.

• 161.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Attie Im A lions supporter and not cheetahs, but Ronnie is also a prospect for the future :)

• 162.Attie Heunis: Reply to this comment

Kak fields: De Aar must be the worst. We played barefoot there when there was snow on the pitch. After a while the snow melted into the mud – there was no grass – and created freezing mud that stuck to everything.

• 163.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

*****!
    howya doing?

• 164.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

It’s funny the 2 bok centre combos were probably meant to be :-
    12.JDV
    13.Joubert

And

12.Julies
    13.J Fourie

Bjut it never worked out like that. I think JW is trying to get a partner for Julies and Wynand seems to be the choice.

• 165.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Jis capeflats,

You skinny hey!

Watched mare rugby than you played I suppose.

• 166.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

capeflatsbpy,

Problem was one of their props had calves thicker than my waist. It was a bloodbath. Absolutely ridiculous and brutal man. It just pissed me off that when we played in their backyard it was equal and a pretty good game at that.

Also played against Collegians which was quite hectic – was a casper and barbed wire next to the field.

• 167.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

I once played against the reformatory boys. They had a guy in their team called Kentucky. The oke was completely burnt. Whenever they had the ball they would pass to that oke. No one was brave enough to go close to the guy. So tackling him was out of the question. They went on to win the league that year. I guess all teams were too scared to go tackle him.

• 168.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb,

In u15 I got a snotklap from an opposition players dad cos i tackled the kak out his kid. Broke my nose. I think I cried. :mrgreen:

• 169.scrawl: Reply to this comment

jake white always starts the season with a wobbly patch, as he did against the wobblies last season. that’s cause he has to undo all the coaching done by the super 14 coaches. like kicking the ball into touch and how the rush defense is really supposed to work.

some of the regular bok benchwarmers like gaffie and dwb (last season) have done well when running on in green and gold.

give the man break. I was embarrased by bok rugby a few years ago, but now, my son who is nearly two can shout BOKKE!!!!!! with the best of them. Actually, it sometimes comes out as “pokkel”, which is not so inappropriate at times… anyway

the side does have a couple of surprises, but nothing “shocking”. BOKKE!!!!!!!

• 170.Attie Heunis: Reply to this comment

Ja Bloem Leeu, I noticed that right after I posted. A bit slow today!

One of my bests mates is one of your Lion legends. Scored the most tries in a Currie-Cup season once, ran around the awesome Christian Cullen to score one of my favourite Bok tries.

• 171.wpw: Reply to this comment

howzit okes? has JW not been saying he wants to do a graham henry and pick a large squad to have a look at our depth? Aai, some idiots posting about quotas and wickus being a grandpa. and Snyman is a class player in my book. I would pick him ahead of any wing playing in SA rugby at the moment. He also has experience of something like 30 odd tests for the Boks. And any oke that was consistently on the winning side vs ENG is a legend in my book.

Anyone remember the try he scored vs ENG in 1998 i think it was? Brilliant player…

• 172.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Hmmm for your info I am extremely fit and well built. You can find me in Claremont (the leafy Cape suburb) Virgin Active every morning.
    I also played rugby for WP. I doubt if you could match that.

• 173.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

lol Andrew!
    Might have been my dad! Nah just joking.
    Had the same happen to me – I got smashed by some kids dad who was playing linesman. The ******* hit me with the flag caused i takcled his dooughnut son!
    And up until that time I thought Somerset West peoiple had a bit of class! Hottentots Holland High School.

• 174.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

What position cfb?

• 175.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Attie – a site for rugby jocks who can’t even spell the player’s names? How hard can it be.

Bluebarb – I am splendid. Gorgeous.

• 176.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

and ***?

• 177.bigg: Reply to this comment

WPW – I will reserve my judgement on Andre Snyman until after the Scotland & France tests…

• 178.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

looseforward

• 179.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

You plank. Pussycat is a woman you moron.

• 180.gecko: Reply to this comment

FA Cup final day 1994. And the Cape Penisula was have some of the worst torrential downpours in years. We were playing an away game on the Vergelegen wine estate near Somerset-West. The field sloped downwards from the two touchlines to the middle of field, and following another downpour, a river ran from the one goalline to the other, right down the middle of the field. You couldn’t see your boots so deep was the water.

Game got stopped 10min early due to fear or drowing in the ruck.

• 181.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

You talking to me Vinnie? I have brought tears to men’s eyes. Make of that what you will.

• 182.gecko: Reply to this comment

wpw – that Snyman try was in ’97

• 183.steyn: Reply to this comment

pussycat…..tell us more

• 184.cab: Reply to this comment

attie,

pieter hendriks or cabous?

• 185.scrawl: Reply to this comment

jerome p… is that you?

• 186.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Hey Vinnie, isn’t funny how we remember those stories? Ahhhh, the memories…….

Another time, we went out to the township and there was a game on the field next to ours, between two coloured schools. They ended up having free for all – of course our game stopped – players, coaches, linesman, ref, dads. It was incredible, but I’ll never forget this granny coming around the melee and smashing some 14 year old kid over the kop with her walkin stick.

Amazing. I think she was holding a bottle of meths in the other hand… might explain alot :lol:

• 187.steyn: Reply to this comment

snyman will prove him self again…he is still a good player watched a few of his games….and he still has it all

• 188.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Steyn – I’m out of time. His Delicious Gorgeousness awaits. See ya.

• 189.wpw: Reply to this comment

capeflats… i dont believe you and if you indeed played you were probably a quota.

• 190.RuppDogg: Reply to this comment

This is just a worm up game and this is not an official team. Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein is speculating!!!

• 191.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

There were more then 1 WP in my day. I played for the Green Poin Track WP. Dale Santon played with me. So no. I am not Jerome Paarwater. he was a sellout. He has no credibility in my community.

• 192.wpw: Reply to this comment

played for Wp that is…

• 193.Swapo: Reply to this comment

That team will loose against the Bulls…home and away!

• 194.Attie Heunis: Reply to this comment

Did Cabous ever play for the Lions? No its not Pieter Hendriks.

Snyman is a superb player. I agree with WPW that 1998 was a beaut!

• 195.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Official Ruppdogg, injury permitting.

Mark my words.

Tonight’s game is just a glorified training run, but this is the team for next sat.

Wanna bet?

• 196.steyn: Reply to this comment

and there she runs with the tail between the legs

• 197.gecko: Reply to this comment

Attie – that try was Nov ’07
    In ’98 Rossouw scored the only try in a 13-7 loss.

• 198.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Gecko, Nov ’07???

• 199.scrawl: Reply to this comment

cfb, i just got here, but it seems you got no credibility in *this* community.

lol just taking the pi$$ mate

• 200.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

200 is mine again!

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.