AJ will lead shock Boks

The Springbok XV team that will be announced next week for the match against the World XV will contain a number of shock selections.

Keo.co.za has reliably learnt the starting line-up for the unofficial Test at Ellis Park on June 3. It differs greatly from several predictions this past week, but at Friday’s “captain’s run”, the thinking in the Bok camp became much clearer. And a source close to the camp confirmed what is an exciting and youthful squad.

Uncapped lock pair Andries Bekker and Johann Muller will combine in the second row, while Ricky Januarie and Meyer Bosman will be the halfback pairing. Also, Bulls inside centre Wynand Olivier is to be switched to the No 13 jersey with De Wet Barry alongside him.

Olivier is considered by many as one of the brightest future Boks and his display in this game will be keenly watched. As expected the wings are experienced duo Gaffie du Toit (left) and Andre Snyman (right). Brent Russell gets his chance at fullback.

But as predicted by this site, AJ Venter, will be asked to captain the team in the absence of John Smit. Venter will be skipper when the Boks play a Free State Shimla side in a warm-up match at Vodacom Park this evening. He is expected to be formally announced as captain only next week though.

He has beaten off the challenge from Wikus van Heerden to lead the team, but the Cats flanker will play in the No 7 jersey alongside Venter who will start at No 8.

Baring injury, it seems coach Jake White and co are using this game to experiment with some youngsters ahead of more important matches later in June. It is unlikely that many of these players will feature against Scotland in Durban on June 10.

The front-row of Deon Carstens, Hanyani Shimange and Lawrence Sephaka will have their work cut out, especially with former Bok strongman Cobus Visagie out to prove a thing or two.

Springbok XV to play the World XV:

15 Brent Russell
14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand Olivier
12 De Wet Barry
11 Gaffie du Toit
10 Meyer Bosman
9 Ricky Januarie
8 AJ Venter (captain)
7 Wikus van Heerden
6 Joe van Niekerk
5 Johann Muller
4 Andries Bekker
3 Lawrence Sephaka
2 Hanyani Shimange
1 Deon Carstens

Replacements:
16 Gary Botha
17 Jannie du Plessis
18 Albert van den Berg/ Danie Rossouw
19 Juan Smith
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
22 Wayne Julies

By Andrew Hollely, in Bloemfontein

328 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

• 251.gecko: Reply to this comment

pale_toe – Bekker & Els’ only ever test caps that

• 252.scrawl: Reply to this comment

all those who know what “gam” is, raise their hands!

• 253.pale_toe: Reply to this comment

what a day that was…

• 254.scrawl: Reply to this comment

now let’s all chant… juba, juba, juba

• 255.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

**** muir was once called “the slowest centre ever to play fo the boks”

• 256.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Wasn’t Bobby also on the bench?

• 257.gecko: Reply to this comment

bluebard – no, that was Victor Matfield in his first few tests.

• 258.pale_toe: Reply to this comment

percy scored two tries, even james dalton scored one.

• 259.cab: Reply to this comment

bluebarb, slow but clever.

• 260.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Sorry to dissapoint you. But I am a Chartered Accountant and have my own Finance Consulting business. You guys on this site actually is my break away from that rap. I just love you okes.
    Dawn. I am educating my friends here on the site. The problem in our country is, we do not know enough about each other’s history. Not a guilt trip my sister. Just doing my duty. We are a beautiful nation with so much potential. But we not reaching out to each other. Daar is te veel agterdog. Come on Sister chill.

• 261.scrawl: Reply to this comment

3 guys apparently still playing. percy, snyman and os

• 262.RedCard: Reply to this comment

CFB, congrats on all your achievements and wanting to still look after your community and remember your humble beginnings.

By explaining it to all and sundry, who do you want to impress? Stay humble.

• 263.gecko: Reply to this comment

Bokdiehard – no, Bob only started end of year tour ’97

• 264.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Some of my best friends are white.

• 265.cab: Reply to this comment

forget Victor, did you see Bakkies cutting the line for the Bulls in the S14 and streaking down the wing against the frogs.

• 266.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Last guy that called me sister is still recovering in Groote Schuur.

• 267.gecko: Reply to this comment

cab – did you see Bakkies throw away a clear overlap vs Ireland ’04 in Dublin as he tried to go himself – and threw away a certain try.

• 268.pale_toe: Reply to this comment

bdh, skinstad only started playing in Nov. 1997

• 269.BokDieHard: Reply to this comment

Dawn is your surname Izard

• 270.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Redcard my identity is a mystery. So I am humble my mate. I just wanted to make a point to my sister Dawn

• 271.The King: Reply to this comment

Now thats a horrible tight 5. I would love to see Sephaka playing loosehead against Visagie as it is hes prefered position so that everybody could see how kak Sephaka is, Sephaka and Eddy Andrews are both equally kak

• 272.cab: Reply to this comment

Dawn, you sound like a hardegat of note, you must scare the living bejesus into the boys, oh well perhaps its a test, apparantly woman do that. perhaps jonnyD is up for the challenge, he is not easily intimidated.

• 273.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ja King – I’m sure Pieter de Villiers thought the same thing before 2nd test vs France last year.

• 274.cab: Reply to this comment

lol gecko at 267, did i see it, yes briefly, just before my foot slipped thru the TV screen, actually i cant forgive Bakkies for losing us that one, horendous vision.

• 275.wpw: Reply to this comment

the king, are they **** in your books cos they are black?

Sephaka scrummed the **** out of Pieter De Villiers last year and is a good player. Not the best lossehead in SA but one of the top 5 at least.

• 276.Andrew: Reply to this comment

RuppDogg -

It’s a bet!! I’m in the UK in November for end of year tour probably, so you can give it to me then?

:oops:

• 277.wpw: Reply to this comment

dawn, you got mail.

• 278.mpho: Reply to this comment

Really like the look of this team. Has combined youth with experience at the right places. Backline definately can getr things going. A Good solid front row. Untested second row, but glad they get a chance. Loosies are ok and can be great if they can work as a unit. I particularly like the look of the back three. The experience, calm amd explosiveness could prove to be ingenious.

• 279.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Anyone going to the Mystic Boer tonight?

• 280.bigg: Reply to this comment

Dam Andrew you seem to have a fantastic job covering the Boks and going all over the world to cover them – lucky bugger

• 281.cab: Reply to this comment

actually Jake White set the irish up beautifully, i think he has a wicked sense of hunour, he had them foaming at the mouth with his pre-match comments, only for bakkies to stuff it all right at the end.

• 282.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Bigg,

Best job in the world for sure!! And keo’s the best boss ever :mrgreen:

• 283.cab: Reply to this comment

andrew, gatkruiping is not appreciated, tell us what you really think.

• 284.bigg: Reply to this comment

it’s 2010 and Ellis Park is packed to the rafters for the World Cup Final
    !!!

It is just before the Bafana Bafana v Brazil match. Ronaldinho goes into
    the Brazilian changing room to find all his teammates looking a bit
    glum.

“What’s up?” he asks.

“Well, we’re having trouble getting motivated for this game. We know
    it’s
    important but it’s only S.A.. They’re sh*t and we can’t be bothered.”

Ronaldinho looks at them and says, “Well, I reckon I can beat them by
    myself-you lads go down to a pub in Soweto.”

So Ronaldinho goes out to play Bafana Bafana by himself and the rest of
    the
    Brazilian team go off for a few jars.

After a few pints they wonder how the game is going, so they get the
    landlord to put the teletext on. A big cheer goes up as the screen reads
    “Brazil 1 – Bafana Bafana 0 (Ronaldinho 10 minutes)”. He is beating
    Bafana
    Bafana all by himself!

Anyway, a few pints later and the game is forgotten until someone
    remembers, “It must be full time now, let’s see how he got on.” They put
    the teletext on.

“Result from the Stadium ‘Brazil 1 (Ronaldinho 10 minutes) – Bafana
    Bafana
    1 (Nomvete 89 minutes).”

They can’t believe it; he has single-handedly got a draw against Bafana
    Bafana!!

They rush back to the Ellis Park Stadium to congratulate Ronaldinho.
    They
    find him in the dressing room, still in his gear, sitting with his head
    in
    his hands.

He refuses to look at them. “I’ve let you down, I’ve let you down.”

“Don’t be daft, you got a draw against Bafana Bafana, all by yourself.
    And
    they only scored at the very, very end!”

“No, no, I have, I’ve let you down…I got sent off after 12 minutes

• 285.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Andrew

Bwahahahahhhhaaahahaha !!!! Ja right…. :lol:

• 286.RuppDogg: Reply to this comment

Game on Andrew. What do I get when you lose?

• 287.RuppDogg: Reply to this comment

Has anyone seen this post on news24? http://www.news24.com/News24/Sport/Rugby/0,,2-9-838_1940250,00.html

• 288.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Cab it’s a label I’m trying to shake.

I’m really a marshmallow, all squishy inside.

Maar vok sometimes I get seriously outraged.

• 289.gecko: Reply to this comment

Have seem it RP – but is doesn’t specify if it’s just players, or getting coaches involved as well etc.

• 290.cab: Reply to this comment

its ok, there are many blokes that like a woman that takes charge…its especially useful when you’re walking through a dodgy neigbourhood.

• 291.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Rupp,

A bottle of klipdrift gold?

Rude – you ok?

• 292.Attie Heunis: Reply to this comment

I’m sure that Snyman scored his Twickers try as a centre.

• 293.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

What game did he break his leg?

• 294.RuppDogg: Reply to this comment

Andrew, ok. You can mail me at lexicon1111@yahoo.com we can meet at the test or we can meet in the city.

• 295.scrawl: Reply to this comment

think snyman broke his leg twice. the second time when slappes dived on him after he scored

• 296.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

How thankful am I that slaptjips retired… geez he cost we so many remote controls.

• 297.Skim: Reply to this comment

Slaptjips is a legend

• 298.scrawl: Reply to this comment

dawn, stop shaking your squishy bits on this site

• 299.cab: Reply to this comment

that Cullen could move well in heavy taffic though hey? Robinson was a poor man’s Cullen.

• 300.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

300 mine as usual…

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.