Naas: Falcons will soar
29 May 2006
The Falcons have started the season in the best possible way by winning the Vodacom Cup, but director of coaching Naas Botha remains grounded when considering their chances in the Currie Cup.
“Obviously the players have excelled in winning the Vodacom Cup, but it is seriously not the same standard in the Currie Cup,” the veteran of 28 Tests told keo.co.za.
Botha emphasized the need for the Falcons players to adapt quickly to this higher level of rugby and admits that it won’t be easy, especially for the forwards. The Falcons pack will now face up against a number of those who played in an intense Super 14 competition.
Speaking of the province’s goals for this season, Botha is frank about his side’s standing in provincial rugby. “No one can take this victory away from us, but we now have to go out there and just do the best we can.”
Having said that, Botha confirmed that he does not want to see the Falcons just making up the numbers in the competition. “We have a very competitive backline and can be competitive in the forwards.”
On the topic of Springbok withdrawal from Currie Cup rugby and how it should increase the chances of the lesser teams, he is equally dismissive. “This is going to assist everyone, but no one wants to be known as the side who won the Currie Cup when there were no Springboks.”
By Jon Cardinelli

80 Comments
29 May 2006, 12:02 pm
Muppits,
“JC” aka Jon Cardinelli will be contributing to keo.co.za over the next 6 weeks. Please give him a warm welcome
29 May 2006, 12:06 pm
Welcome “JC” aka Jon Cardinelli.
29 May 2006, 12:12 pm
Welcome JC.
29 May 2006, 12:16 pm
Simon – No special treatment will be given to any new journos. We may very well tear him a new one…
29 May 2006, 12:24 pm
Simon/Keo/Andrew/Ig/JC and whoever…
Why not a piece in SA Rugby, one page, on a journo? One month Andrew, then Ig and so on…?
Will beat having to read Naas every month
29 May 2006, 12:25 pm
Welcome to the ‘hood.
29 May 2006, 12:36 pm
JC? Keo, is this your 2nd coming?
29 May 2006, 12:37 pm
Tony -
You would need at least a couple of pages on keo, and Ig would require a whole extra supplement. A bit like FHM’s Home Grown Honeys pullout section, but with more intellectual stuff like smilies and lots of swearing!!
Hello Ig…
PS Welcome JC!! Don’t worry the Muppits are harmless, except….
29 May 2006, 12:37 pm
Sometimes I wonder if JC himself can save this website.
29 May 2006, 12:40 pm
red – i doubt he could…..
ATBG – when are we gonna get some articles out of you today ? Or are you experiencing the aftermath of the weekend……
ferk i hate smilies
29 May 2006, 12:41 pm
Is he cute?
29 May 2006, 12:42 pm
There goes Naas’ arti blown completely out of the water.
29 May 2006, 12:42 pm
Dawn – i’ll send him over for inspection……
29 May 2006, 12:43 pm
Dawn,
Down girl.
Ig – I’m sick like I’m being punished for something. I can make stuff up if you want?
Not much happening anyway…
29 May 2006, 12:49 pm
Andrew
Can’t you do an article on the Prozone program that Jake’s got ? An amazing tool.
Further, we have read in the Sunday’s paper that Jake is very impressed with Pierre Spies. Is the stats results available ? Would love to see how the Boks compared; eg speed tests, bench press, etc in comparison to Spies.
29 May 2006, 12:50 pm
You mean when you publish stuff here you telling the truth ?
Is there any truth in the rumour that you might have been responsible for the rash of groin injuries in the camp last week ?
Bummer ! Hot Totty !
29 May 2006, 12:53 pm
Rude,
Individual stats not available. And the prozone things been done I’m afraid.
Spies was looking good though.
And Ig, to answer both your questions: NO!!!
29 May 2006, 12:54 pm
Andrew
You got the thread where it’s been done ? Cannot believe iv’e missed it…
29 May 2006, 12:56 pm
Rude: Can’t remember but it was ages ago…
29 May 2006, 12:58 pm
Rudebud, do a site search for Prozone.
29 May 2006, 12:59 pm
Lunch
29 May 2006, 13:00 pm
Prozone or prozac?
29 May 2006, 13:08 pm
Last guy who told me “Down girl” is still in traction at Tygerberg Hospital.
29 May 2006, 13:09 pm
Up girl
29 May 2006, 13:14 pm
Welcome JC, all you have to remember is that the Bulls and Blue Bulls never lose, the other team only scores more points than us.
29 May 2006, 13:15 pm
While you’re down there….
29 May 2006, 13:18 pm
Down girl! (Pls I need time off at work and the hospital food is good!) “wink:
29 May 2006, 13:24 pm
Ig no JC inspections. Don’t want to traumatise the poor guy.
29 May 2006, 13:29 pm
What’s JCs credentials? Is he a quota?
29 May 2006, 13:37 pm
David moenie aangaan nie.
29 May 2006, 13:40 pm
Sorry Dawn
Couldn’t resist it.
29 May 2006, 13:44 pm
“Cardinelli” is obviously the newest member of the Priory of Monarchs. He has strong Vatican connections and was chosen specifically for this reason.
Initiation to take place at the Tudor Hotel on Greenmarket Square 13h00 tomorrow.
29 May 2006, 13:46 pm
DDavid – he’s only been here 4 hours…..
29 May 2006, 13:52 pm
Dan
I thought it would be the Monte Casino in Jhb.
Ig, that’s no excuse. The Cats manage to totally **** up in less than 2 hours of a rugby match.
29 May 2006, 13:53 pm
Sorry, Dawn with a woubleyew.
29 May 2006, 13:56 pm
Tudor Hotel hires rooms by the hour.
That’s where all the Monarchs were last week Thursday when the whole lot disappeared.
Yeesh that BEE thread is blah and the Bok thread has turned Afrikaans.
What to do, what to do.
29 May 2006, 14:00 pm
Down Girl!
29 May 2006, 14:03 pm
work, maybe
29 May 2006, 14:06 pm
Ig I’m bored changed my mind please submit Cardinelli for inspection.
29 May 2006, 14:09 pm
So is rugby the passion of JC??
29 May 2006, 14:09 pm
Why anyone would wanna shorten a name like that to JC is beyond me.
29 May 2006, 14:10 pm
Is he a JC Superstar?
29 May 2006, 14:11 pm
maybe cos it’s quicker?
29 May 2006, 14:12 pm
Damn but this site is boring today! Ive got 3 threads open and still nothing much going on…
Maybe I can get some guys on this site: STORMERS IS KAK!!!
29 May 2006, 14:13 pm
supa – yep, slow day on the blogg. Should we have another fight?
29 May 2006, 14:15 pm
It’s like this irritating habit of sportsmen where Pollock becomes Polly and Gibbs is Gibbsey and so on and so forth.
I hate that.
29 May 2006, 14:16 pm
Frazer. Copy that Marley and post it to me.
29 May 2006, 14:18 pm
Every SA cricketer has his named shortened to end in “y”. It’s a diminutive thing.
29 May 2006, 14:18 pm
Frazer
Anything for some conversation cause Im bored out of my skull here(how is that for a dutchmen?)
Jou KLIP! Just kidding…
29 May 2006, 14:19 pm
The guy is not very friendly is he ? lol
29 May 2006, 14:19 pm
You seem to know the Tudor Hotel very well ?
29 May 2006, 14:20 pm
Can we call jou Dawney??
29 May 2006, 14:20 pm
Dawn – your mailbox limit is too puny. I tried and it bounced me. As far as the name thing goes – you’re right about that. It seems to be rife in cricketing too. I used to be called Frazey. Seems a bit girly now that I think about it… What do you think Dawny?
29 May 2006, 14:22 pm
No you may not call me Dawney.
David man. I know it’s a diminutive (?) thing … didn’t know they were into making themselves feel smaller.
IT’S BLOODY IRRITATING!
29 May 2006, 14:22 pm
Suparugby – So what do you want to fight about, clutchplate?
29 May 2006, 14:23 pm
frazer and suparugby, get a room!
dawn, jy hou jou nogals wit op die thread né?
29 May 2006, 14:24 pm
wpw – mind your own business, phuktard…
29 May 2006, 14:25 pm
lol Frazer
Lets fight over you freakin soutpiele that cant speak dutch?
29 May 2006, 14:28 pm
Frazer I mean make a CD and send it snailmail.
29 May 2006, 14:29 pm
Supa – I’m trying to speak it more often, so that I can learn how to swear at boneheads mostly… One thing is definately true though, niks vloek so goed as Afrikaans nie…
29 May 2006, 14:30 pm
wpw don’t come here with that gam slang asseblief.
29 May 2006, 14:30 pm
Jeez Dawny – you’re certainly taking liberties, aren’t you? I tell you what, mail me your postal and I’ll think about it…
29 May 2006, 14:31 pm
I’ll pay. I’ll do anything for Bob.
29 May 2006, 14:31 pm
Jou brood…
29 May 2006, 14:33 pm
That last one was meant for Suparugby… Sorry…
Dawn – so mail it, and I’ll do it…
29 May 2006, 14:34 pm
Frazer
True! Im gonna “moer” you, I will “bliksem” you does sound better than “Im gonna punch you” I will hit you”
29 May 2006, 14:35 pm
Whats “brood” Frazer?
29 May 2006, 14:37 pm
bread?…
29 May 2006, 14:40 pm
Rudebud it’s the only place in town where you can go for a lunchtime quickie and no-one bats an eyelid.
As I say, by the hour.
29 May 2006, 14:40 pm
Ok peeps – it’s been real…. real boring… I suppose I better get some work down now… Later everybody.
Dawn – mail me at frazer @ mindfork.co.za
29 May 2006, 14:42 pm
No its Frazer Brood=Frazer!
29 May 2006, 14:42 pm
Sounds good ! Seeing that i am just as bored as you are, should we go for a drink at The Tudor ?
29 May 2006, 14:43 pm
(Takes woolly hat and leaves.)
29 May 2006, 14:44 pm
Even the fighting didnt work Frazer. Ill be nice now although im still bored…
29 May 2006, 14:51 pm
GBye. Am bored too.
29 May 2006, 14:51 pm
Ahoy JC!!!
29 May 2006, 14:53 pm
a new cheetah thread Jippie!
29 May 2006, 15:00 pm
Yeah Im LAST!!!
29 May 2006, 16:42 pm
Ig 10,
Does ATBG stand for Andrew The Big ***
Welcome JC Fortiun aka Cardinelli
29 May 2006, 16:50 pm
No Hmmmmm its stands for Andrew the boy genuis