Jean is captain!

Jean de Villiers is Jake White’s shock choice to captain the Springbok XV against the World XV on Saturday.

Announcing the team in Bloemfontein on Tuesday, White surprised the gathered media by naming the talented inside centre to lead the team for the festival match.

De Villiers has 20 Test caps (and 11 tries) to his name and is considered by many to be one of the most naturally gifted players in the country. He has obviously, at 25-years-old, got a long career ahead of him.

This elevation could be the beginning of his apprenticeship to eventually taking over from Smit full-time in the next few years.

De Villiers was not considered by any for the position in speculations in the past week. After it was vacated by the injured John Smit, AJ Venter, Wikus van Heerden and Victor Matfield were expected to carry the torch.

Both Venter and Van Heerden are included in the squad and were considered the only candidates in the race, after Victor Matfield dropped out because of injury last week.

The squad of 23 includes three players who have not previously played for the Boks – lock Johann Muller, scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar and centre Wynand Olivier – all on the bench.

Wayne Julies will travel with the squad to Johannesburg as cover, while the rest of White’s charges will remain in Bloemfontein to continue preparing for the first Test against Scotland in Durban on June 10.

After white toyed with the idea of fielding a young and inexperienced line-up, he has actually chosen a team full of experience for a match that will help map the way forward in an extremely congested international season.

Certain combinations will be tested against a World XV that arrived on Tuesday morning vowing not to just make up the numbers.

The match 22 is extremely experienced with a combined 400 Test caps behind them, while the starting XV has 345 caps, broken down to 150 among the forwards and 195 in the backline.

Springbok XV versus the World XV:

1. Deon Carstens
2. Hanyani Shimange
3. Eddie Andrews
4. Danie Rossouw
5. Albert van den Berg
6. Wikus van Heerden
7. AJ Venter
8. Joe van Niekerk
9. Ricky Januarie
10. Jaco van der Westhuyzen
11. Gaffie du Toit
12. Jean de Villiers (captain)
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Andre Snyman
15. Percy Montgomery

Replacements:
16. Gary Botha
17. Lawrence Sephaka
18. Johann Muller
19. Pedrie Wannenburg
20. Ruan Pienaar
21. Wynand Olivier
22. Brent Russell
23. Wayne Julies

By Andrew Hollely

319 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All

• 301.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

What about The Wet Barry?

• 302.Koos: Reply to this comment

Hey Wildy, glad to see you made it through Monday!

Appears Dawn is looking for a squeezeeee if you looking!

• 303.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Londonshark…..good one boet,had me going to the end …and im a Stormer (or was one)…

Stoffel ,I still think Big Joe goes on reputation for a mix of good and average games. The good games being loaded into the memory bank. I think AJ,Juan,Schalk with big Joe on bench.
    Joe is good in some game sbut a bitinconsistent. A very good sub though.
    However its a good forsome to rotate an rest.Then there’s Pedrie too. I hope Jake rotates these guys with well. They might just last then.Would be good to see Schalk play 80% of the time. Same with Juan,we must look after these boys.
    Tackles
    He’s feeling vewy Wet right now.

• 304.ClothesLineWhenNoOneIsLooking: Reply to this comment

For internationals:

1.os
    2.gary
    3.bj
    4.bakkies
    5.matfield
    6.schalk
    7.van niekerk
    8.venter
    9.pienaar
    10.butch
    11.ndungane or ndungane
    12.jean
    13.fourie
    14.habana
    15.russell
    replacements:
    16.botha
    17.cj/sepaka…
    18.rossouw
    19.jean smith
    20.ricky
    21.jaco
    22.julies

• 305.Koos: Reply to this comment

Clothes, Jean Smith was before his injury the form loosie in the S14, you can not pick a 1st 15 with him not in it, drop Van and let him play an impact role, much better.

Also, forget about gary at #2, it will be Smitty.

• 306.ClothesLineWhenNoOneIsLooking: Reply to this comment

i ment smit at 2..as u can that i put botha at 16 already

• 307.ClothesLineWhenNoOneIsLooking: Reply to this comment

either joe or juan on 7 and ill be happy

• 308.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

Juan is our best loosie he must be there. The Ndungane’s aren’t up to international standard. Russel is too fragile to play fullback and Butch James isn’t an international flyhalf

• 309.Koos: Reply to this comment

Stoff, agree on most except for Butch, uninjured and fit that is. He will give a new dimention to the backline if so but I think to much plasters and bandages for him to survive a full season…

• 310.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Boks will get thrashed!

• 311.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Chilliboy to fire up Baby Boks!!

At the tender age of 19 Mahlatse “Chilliboy” Ralepele has taken the next step on his road to Springbok greatness.The young hooker was a double world champion with the U/19 and U/21 squads last year and will this year lead the U/21 team in their title defence.Much is expected of the young Blue Bull in the future and this is a great oppurtunity for him to secure the captaincy for his remaining years at this level.The powerful hooker is a product of Pretoria Boys High School and seems set to follow in the footsteps of another old boy in national captain John Smit.

• 312.rastafox: Reply to this comment

“I don’t see a problem with my new responsibilities as I have enough senior players to fall back on. I’ll be able to depend on the support of senior guys like Percy (Montgomery, fullback), AJ (Venter, flank) and Wikus (flank).

“I don’t think the captaincy will put additional pressure on my game. Even before I was named captain I’ve always tried to make a contribution and help the captain I am playing under to make some decisions.”

“The only difference is that I will now have the final say. I hope that I’ll be able to take the right decisions on the day – with the help of the senior players.”

Jean de Villiers

• 313.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

bOKS TO GET DISHED SERIOUS opfok!

• 314.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

The boks are going to get their butts kicked. Can’t see them winning this one, but hey they always surprise us when we write them off.

• 315.tompig: Reply to this comment

Remember, Ellis Park has always been a great ground for the boks, hope it stays that way.

• 316.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

handbag

why dont you immigrate!!!!?? Doos

• 317.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Gaffie over Brent. What has this world come to? Makes me wanna cry!
    :(

• 318.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Ia agree Bagel but we can only hope the sub Gaffie i the 1st half.

• 319.Veii: Reply to this comment

Gaffie has played better rugby than brent this season. he has earned his stripes. Give the buger a chance. Brent has had many chances and couldnt keep a steady place in the squad lets see what gaffie has up his sleeves.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.