Jean is captain!
30 May 2006
Jean de Villiers is Jake White’s shock choice to captain the Springbok XV against the World XV on Saturday.
Announcing the team in Bloemfontein on Tuesday, White surprised the gathered media by naming the talented inside centre to lead the team for the festival match.
De Villiers has 20 Test caps (and 11 tries) to his name and is considered by many to be one of the most naturally gifted players in the country. He has obviously, at 25-years-old, got a long career ahead of him.
This elevation could be the beginning of his apprenticeship to eventually taking over from Smit full-time in the next few years.
De Villiers was not considered by any for the position in speculations in the past week. After it was vacated by the injured John Smit, AJ Venter, Wikus van Heerden and Victor Matfield were expected to carry the torch.
Both Venter and Van Heerden are included in the squad and were considered the only candidates in the race, after Victor Matfield dropped out because of injury last week.
The squad of 23 includes three players who have not previously played for the Boks – lock Johann Muller, scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar and centre Wynand Olivier – all on the bench.
Wayne Julies will travel with the squad to Johannesburg as cover, while the rest of White’s charges will remain in Bloemfontein to continue preparing for the first Test against Scotland in Durban on June 10.
After white toyed with the idea of fielding a young and inexperienced line-up, he has actually chosen a team full of experience for a match that will help map the way forward in an extremely congested international season.
Certain combinations will be tested against a World XV that arrived on Tuesday morning vowing not to just make up the numbers.
The match 22 is extremely experienced with a combined 400 Test caps behind them, while the starting XV has 345 caps, broken down to 150 among the forwards and 195 in the backline.
Springbok XV versus the World XV:
1. Deon Carstens
2. Hanyani Shimange
3. Eddie Andrews
4. Danie Rossouw
5. Albert van den Berg
6. Wikus van Heerden
7. AJ Venter
8. Joe van Niekerk
9. Ricky Januarie
10. Jaco van der Westhuyzen
11. Gaffie du Toit
12. Jean de Villiers (captain)
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Andre Snyman
15. Percy Montgomery
Replacements:
16. Gary Botha
17. Lawrence Sephaka
18. Johann Muller
19. Pedrie Wannenburg
20. Ruan Pienaar
21. Wynand Olivier
22. Brent Russell
23. Wayne Julies
By Andrew Hollely

319 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
30 May 2006, 13:19 pm
Thats good, thout he was injured from the last thread.
30 May 2006, 13:19 pm
a little weird, but not a bad side
30 May 2006, 13:23 pm
Good morning Andrew…
30 May 2006, 13:23 pm
Ja,whats going on. Will he captain the side from the sidelines? Good team but i like Juan Smith more than Big Joe. Oh well they’ll use him when it really matters (Mr Handoff).
Good to see Russell for an attcking game. i see 8 subs? Is this coz in spectacle matches the rules are more lax?
Aaah,I see the last name,our talisman…..we should win then
30 May 2006, 13:24 pm
Top notch side…bit of tinkering over the next few weeks… and could be a very good side!!
Thinking Habana, Dupreez/Pienaar, Matfield, Bakkies, Smit, Os…
Convincing win for the Boks on Saturday!!!
30 May 2006, 13:24 pm
Dankie tog dat pakslae die vaste vyf versterk
30 May 2006, 13:25 pm
Very strange. Does anybody know if De Viliers has any experience captaining any other sides ? So I wonder why Wikus captained the team in practise and the warm up game then.
Not a bad side overall, my only concern is 1, 2 and 3.
30 May 2006, 13:25 pm
Congrats Jean and good luck lad.This was an interesting choice and I can’t wait to see how the lad goes.The rest looks a solid team with a potentially exciting back division.I like the make up of the loosies and am really happy for Deon Cartsens who has put in huge effort in the last few seasons.
30 May 2006, 13:26 pm
“Splinters” Shimange gets his first start.
The Carstens , Shimange , Andrews combo are all very mobile but not the best scrumagers it will be interesting to see how they cope with the world XV front row, Carstens was given a hard time by Andrews in the Sharks v Stormers game and Cobus Visagie is a much better scrumager than eddie it will be interesting to see how they perform against each other.
30 May 2006, 13:26 pm
jaco shouldnt play flyhalf (rather a substitute), gaffie shoudnt play rugby no more, he sucks and pedrie takes up valuable space on the bench… and this was also a great opportunity missed to start ruan, weall saw ricky’s great form this year… but jean cappie and then wickus and aj playin… jake eating his words again bout wickus bein his ‘back-up’captain…
30 May 2006, 13:28 pm
ddrek
See, i told you Jean Div to be captain. If Jake said that Wikus is perhaps not the best player but a better captain, why then hand the captaincy to Jean Div ? Did Wikus at the camp transform into a Springbok quality player ?
I read a newspaper clipping a couple of weeks ago where Wikus said that he took the captaincy thing which Jake told him about with a pinch of salt. From now on i will too.
Jean is probably one of the most talented rugby-players in world rugby. Let’s wait and see if he has the ability to be a good captain.
Good luck, Jean and congrats !
Thought he was injured?
Why 23 players?
Why put van Heerden i n the team if not to captain the side. Rather play AJ at 7 and p3 at 8
Balie is sorting out all front row probs….doesn’t matter who plays 1,2 and 3 anymore!!!
Maybe bring in the 150 kilo kid from Paarl – Balie will sort it!! I mean didn’t everyone see the shark front row!!!!
Rudebud, seems I had the last laugh on the Snyman thread with a comments moments before it got removed…
30 May 2006, 13:29 pm
yoda – It’s actually 22. Julies not involved.
30 May 2006, 13:31 pm
Vinnie
Nope, you didn’t. I did.
30 May 2006, 13:33 pm
Gecko
Do u mean that as joke(as in he doesnt count as a player) or dont you think he’ll play?
30 May 2006, 13:33 pm
The whole “Jake made no secret of the fact that vna Heerden is his second choice as captain” is just a rumour that was blown out of proportion by rugby writers and websites such as these. Just like the histeria around Jean’s “injury” yesterday.
30 May 2006, 13:35 pm
What a joke! De Villiers is over-rated as a player and certainly shows no signs of being a leader.
Different locks could have been used, and I see that Jake is trying to match the “World XV” in average age too!
I went to Twickers on Sunday to catch the game. The Barbarians/World XV were useless, the ref was totally biased, and the England side were made up of youngsters (except Mike Catt)… and they still molested those sheep.
Jake White is a ********.
30 May 2006, 13:35 pm
yoda – no, he is not in the match day squad
probably 1st reserve for the squad
30 May 2006, 13:36 pm
Hi Swapo!!
23 cos Julies is back up. Only 23 are going to Joburg. Rest stay behind in Bloem.
30 May 2006, 13:37 pm
It’s actually a good idea to have the stand in captain as a first choice starting player. Matfield would have been in contention as well.
If John Smit gets injured next year, do we drop Burger to make room for Wickus? Or Juan Smith, or Joe van Niekerk to make room for AJ? No. This is a good common sense decision.
30 May 2006, 13:38 pm
Rudebud
Thanks for your responses on JDV thread. Ive been watching a movie.Sleep time now,im on other side of the world. Anyway….
I think i’ll stop taking keo and co’s word for anything. Or is it the other media’s or is it Jake’s .Weve been led down the garden path with AJ for Cappie, no Wickus , aaah well JDV is a non starter to JDV will capt side. Klomp kak.
I like that Carstens okie. Russel in the mix. Not a bad side despite missing some big guns. Im looking fwd to this.
Good night all.
30 May 2006, 13:38 pm
take a chill pill Vundu…
30 May 2006, 13:39 pm
jake the snake! Clever little man he is.
Vundu
Bakkies and victor gets sed almost every game
Our second stringers never get any game time, now you want to ply the “3rd in line” locks?
wynand olivier gets a second chance. if he stuffs up again saturday, he may as well just go directly to pretoria after the match.
30 May 2006, 13:40 pm
ddrek
Feel the same way. Cheers boet; have a nice one
30 May 2006, 13:41 pm
gecko
was that confirmed by white?
Why do we need a him as 23? is jean really injured and they are thinking about pulling him out?
30 May 2006, 13:42 pm
Confirmed by other rugby sites
I think Jake made his decision by lining up his “candidates”, pulling down his trousers, and chose the player who fell to his knees first.
That is the only logical reason to have De Villiers as captain!
Bob, where are you?
30 May 2006, 13:43 pm
thanks gecko
30 May 2006, 13:44 pm
haha vundu
30 May 2006, 13:45 pm
Regarding the locks… rather blood the youngsters than the tried and tested in Roussouw and Van Den Berg… those two can play a game against Scotland. If they are really our “2nd Stringers” then let them play two games on the trot and let Matfield and Botha return for the France game – after all they are injured/niggled.
30 May 2006, 13:46 pm
makes sense, JdV can read a game like no other, clever player.
30 May 2006, 13:46 pm
not a lot of balance there. no wings and no fetcher. the bulls paid the price of not having a fetcher
30 May 2006, 13:48 pm
Congrats to JDV he is a great player and a leader glad Jake sees that. pretty much the team we expected it is a solid one except maybe for the wings who are a bit on the slow side.
30 May 2006, 13:49 pm
I think Jakes reasoning would be that Wikus will not play an entire 80 minutes and Jean will.
No point changing captains once the captain is replaced from the bench.
I am excitedly awaiting the return of CJ, Os, Gurthro and BJ.
who will match that scrumming power?
also, Once Juan, Schalk and AJ are all fit….. unstoppable.
30 May 2006, 13:52 pm
Vundu
2 games is not enough for locks to gel, we need 30 quality players i.e. 2 teams and then concentrate on those guys. Thats what I think in any case. I cant see any use in plying 3 or 4 different teams like NZ, there is no way injuries will be that bad. In any case, you can only take so many people to the world cup. 3rd stringers are gonna stay at home…
30 May 2006, 13:53 pm
cab
but can he lead the team like no other?
30 May 2006, 13:53 pm
Vundu – you are the ********. How do you know JdV has never shown signs of being a leader? Because he hasn’t been captain yet?
Anyway, you are not only a ********, but a blind one too. Best looking captain SA has ever had. He is the sublime, gorgeous, supremely fantabulous, magical, desirably, lipsmackingly bootylicious Jean. Not to mention sparkling, fleet of foot and humungously talented.
In fact he is near divine. Note to self – in future try not to enrage all the humourless God-fearing posters out there.
30 May 2006, 13:54 pm
So Jake “the pied piper” White’s little mice – had the wool pulled over your eyes again! I thought Wikus was the next Bok captain according to Jake????
Wikus and Joe over SA’s best form loose forward in Wannenburg.
Ricky Januarie who couldn’t make the worst side in the Super 14 over one of SA’s rising stars in Pienaar.
30 May 2006, 13:55 pm
Just heard Jake White on RSG internet radio
Speaking about Wikus having his 1st game in the current Bok set-up, and it would be unfair to pressure him with captaincy.
Also mentioned AJ wants to play himself into 1st VX, thus did not want to add additional pressure on him either.
30 May 2006, 13:56 pm
What people dont realise about John Smit is that although he is not the best hooker in the country, he is the greatest leader.
He is the player who can get the entire team up and motivated, who the players listen to and respect.
I think Jake might see a similar quality in Jean, perhaps what we dont know is that the players really respect him and would listen to him on the pitch.
White Jake made some of us proud by taking the Springboks from 6th in the world to 2nd last year and I am one of those proud patriots .
Having said that , JDV is indeed a surprise , but I will place my faith in White Jake until he breaks it . Lets support White Jake and not castigate him – for phuks sake , Springboks have yet to lose against a World XV – hopefully this weekend will not be the exception .
kevin w
ricky is a player of colour
wannenberg shoulkd be 1st choice no 8 even when all our loosies are fit. He has been amazing this year since he moved to 8
30 May 2006, 13:57 pm
It would be utter nonsense to select a guy not in the current team, purely to come captain the side. You need 15 brilliant players and from them you select your captain.
Not sure if JdV id the right man but at least he is our 1st choice 12- won’t just be taking up space in the team to be the leader and nothing else.
30 May 2006, 13:58 pm
Although Wannenburg seems to loose ball in contact to easily. In saying that, he seems the best of the SA 8′s. Which says more about the competition.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All