Jean is captain!
30 May 2006
Jean de Villiers is Jake White’s shock choice to captain the Springbok XV against the World XV on Saturday.
Announcing the team in Bloemfontein on Tuesday, White surprised the gathered media by naming the talented inside centre to lead the team for the festival match.
De Villiers has 20 Test caps (and 11 tries) to his name and is considered by many to be one of the most naturally gifted players in the country. He has obviously, at 25-years-old, got a long career ahead of him.
This elevation could be the beginning of his apprenticeship to eventually taking over from Smit full-time in the next few years.
De Villiers was not considered by any for the position in speculations in the past week. After it was vacated by the injured John Smit, AJ Venter, Wikus van Heerden and Victor Matfield were expected to carry the torch.
Both Venter and Van Heerden are included in the squad and were considered the only candidates in the race, after Victor Matfield dropped out because of injury last week.
The squad of 23 includes three players who have not previously played for the Boks – lock Johann Muller, scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar and centre Wynand Olivier – all on the bench.
Wayne Julies will travel with the squad to Johannesburg as cover, while the rest of White’s charges will remain in Bloemfontein to continue preparing for the first Test against Scotland in Durban on June 10.
After white toyed with the idea of fielding a young and inexperienced line-up, he has actually chosen a team full of experience for a match that will help map the way forward in an extremely congested international season.
Certain combinations will be tested against a World XV that arrived on Tuesday morning vowing not to just make up the numbers.
The match 22 is extremely experienced with a combined 400 Test caps behind them, while the starting XV has 345 caps, broken down to 150 among the forwards and 195 in the backline.
Springbok XV versus the World XV:
1. Deon Carstens
2. Hanyani Shimange
3. Eddie Andrews
4. Danie Rossouw
5. Albert van den Berg
6. Wikus van Heerden
7. AJ Venter
8. Joe van Niekerk
9. Ricky Januarie
10. Jaco van der Westhuyzen
11. Gaffie du Toit
12. Jean de Villiers (captain)
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Andre Snyman
15. Percy Montgomery
Replacements:
16. Gary Botha
17. Lawrence Sephaka
18. Johann Muller
19. Pedrie Wannenburg
20. Ruan Pienaar
21. Wynand Olivier
22. Brent Russell
23. Wayne Julies
By Andrew Hollely

319 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All
30 May 2006, 15:35 pm
jonny mud island is kak because pommies are kak.
30 May 2006, 15:37 pm
Ya….he does kick like a plonker.His kicking as well as that of Morne Steyn is really what cost the Bulls the games vs Crusaders in my opinion.
Jondood I’m gonna get the next plane over and BLIKSEM you.
bliksem
In London they are kak(majority) but once outside they are generaly much easier to get on with.
30 May 2006, 15:38 pm
I will be at full attention for your arrival.
ja los die super14 ons weet die stormers het nie die sharks ingedoen nie en sharks moet ophou die stormers blameer. Dis hulle eie skuld hulle nie genoeg games gewen nie. Ek twyfel of die sharks inelkgeval sou gewen het … sharks het dan nie eers teen die bulle gewen nie. “miskien” sou hulle better gedoen het in punt of twee maar hulle sou nog steeds verloor het teen die top span van die NZ.
Kom ons hou op modder gooi en praat liewers hoe ons NZ kan wen.
brickwall meer soos n haai op n bakelite skaabra.jondood i reckon if you keep on repeating it enough to yourself you will believe it.
30 May 2006, 15:39 pm
I’ve got a fooking big handbag.
30 May 2006, 15:39 pm
Has anybody seen the Ricky Januarie add on TV?
Whats with this guy/
Sounds like he lost a shoe!
30 May 2006, 15:40 pm
bliksem
Yes bliksem if all the pommies are kak then all Saffas must be racist.
No need for me to tell you what psychology that is.
Dawn whats in it?
I have a fookin HUGE sack.
30 May 2006, 15:41 pm
i am generalising jondood.
30 May 2006, 15:42 pm
dood what kind of psychology is that way of thinking called?
Jondood, what psychology is it? ******?
bliksem
Excuse my sunny disposition.
today is monday for us in the UK. Yesterday was an holiday.
30 May 2006, 15:43 pm
Fuzzybear
A medium-sized claw hammer.
For JDood.
PS: Dood. Nothing worse than an empty sack, bro.
30 May 2006, 15:43 pm
dood who cares about your apologies or disposition anyway.get over yourself.
30 May 2006, 15:44 pm
“PS: Dood. Nothing worse than an empty sack, bro.”
Yep it gets emptied.
30 May 2006, 15:45 pm
ek het ‘n beesproder in my bakkie as julle kak soek
30 May 2006, 15:45 pm
Wellington – All Blacks flanker Chris Masoe took a financial hit on Tuesday to add to his embarrassment after a scuffle in which reportedly he burst into tears when team-mate Tana Umaga hit him with a woman’s handbag.
The New Zealand Rugby Union (NZRU) fined Masoe NZ$3 000 (about R12 000) and found him guilty of hitting a man in a Christchurch bar early on Sunday morning, hours after the Hurricanes’ Super 14 final loss to the Crusaders
30 May 2006, 15:46 pm
Keg
My pa het ons altyd met daai ding getug!
30 May 2006, 15:46 pm
Flaccid, flabby, wrinkled, floppy, droopy, wobbly old empty sack.
30 May 2006, 15:47 pm
we went from Jean to flabby ballsakke in no time…
30 May 2006, 15:48 pm
brickwall,
dit help ook om stoute werkers op die plaas aan te jae
30 May 2006, 15:49 pm
30 May 2006, 15:50 pm
Seems like you have seen a few of those in your life.
30 May 2006, 15:51 pm
DAWN
These are the mens rules!
Please note.. these are all numbered “1″
ON PURPOSE!
1. Men are NOT mind readers.
1. Learn to work the toilet seat.
You’re a big girl. If it’s up, put it down.
We need it up, you need it down.
You don’t hear us complaining about you leaving it down.
1. Sunday sports. It’s like the full moon
or the changing of the tides.
Let it be.
1. Shopping is NOT a sport.
And no, we are never going to think of it that way.
1. Crying is blackmail.
1. Ask for what you want
Let us be clear on this one:
Subtle hints do not work!
Strong hints do not work!
Obvious hints do not work!
Just say it!
1. Yes and No are perfectly acceptable answers to almost every question.
1. Come to us with a problem only if you want help solving it. That’s what we do.
Sympathy is what your girlfriends are for.
1. A headache that lasts for 17 months is a Problem.See a doctor.
1. Anything we said 6 months ago is inadmissible in an argument.
In fact, all comments become null and void after 7 Days.
1. If you won’t dress like the Victoria’s Secret girls, don’t Expect us to act like soap opera guys.
1 If something we said can be interpreted two ways and one of the ways makes you sad or angry, we meant the other one
1. You can either ask us to do something
Or tell us how you want it done.
Not both.
If you already know best how to do it, just do it yourself.
1. Whenever possible, Please say whatever you have to say during commercials.
1. Christopher Columbus did NOT need directions and neither do we.
1. ALL men see in only 16 colors, like Windows default settings.
Peach, for example, is a fruit, not A color. Pumpkin is also a fruit. We have no idea what mauve is.
1. If it itches, it will be scratched.
We do that.
1. If we ask what is wrong and you say “nothing,” We will act like nothing’s wrong.
We know you are lying, but it is just not worth the hassle.
1. If you ask a question you don’t want an answer to, Expect an answer you don’t want to hear.
1. When we have to go somewhere, absolutely anything you wear is fine…Really.
1 Don’t ask us what we’re thinking about unless you are prepared to discuss such topics as baseball, the shotgun formation,
or golf.
1. You have enough clothes.
1. You have too many shoes.
1. I am in shape. Round IS a shape!
1. Thank you for reading this.
Yes, I know, I have to sleep on the couch tonight;
But did you know men really don’t mind that? It’s like camping.
Pass this to as many men as you can -
and Please
Pass this to as many women as you can -
30 May 2006, 15:59 pm
This is true … I have too many shoes!
30 May 2006, 16:00 pm
you can put a pair under my bed anytime dawn.
30 May 2006, 16:00 pm
And I never discuss golf.
30 May 2006, 16:01 pm
Yes yes yes. I agree with everything you said dude, especially the part about speaking during commercials.
30 May 2006, 16:05 pm
Rastafox
Can’t live with them, can’t live without them, huh.
30 May 2006, 16:05 pm
————————————————-
30 May 2006, 16:06 pm
womena are the best thing created,worth all the **** they sometimes give us.
30 May 2006, 16:06 pm
rastafox
thats great dude
30 May 2006, 16:09 pm
And shopping IS a sport.
30 May 2006, 16:11 pm
Women can’t go into a store with a list and come out with only the items that was on the list.
30 May 2006, 16:13 pm
Cheers guys, gotta run.
30 May 2006, 16:15 pm
Jondood with your sack so crinkly
Won’t you hide your balls so wrinkly
Girls don’t like it when they drop
That’s why you’ll always be a flop.
30 May 2006, 16:18 pm
oh no dawn – ur wicked! hehe!
30 May 2006, 16:18 pm
jondood you have more guts/stupidity than me.i could never pull into those pommie slappers but you dont seem to mind.
30 May 2006, 16:19 pm
I will smother you with my sack.
bliksem
Where does it say that I have?
30 May 2006, 16:20 pm
did I touch a nerve there dood?
30 May 2006, 16:23 pm
bliksem
My nerves are far from touched by the likes of you.
30 May 2006, 16:23 pm
bliksem en jon is dood
30 May 2006, 16:24 pm
Skim
Your post 234. Really well thought trough.
30 May 2006, 16:25 pm
Jon bliksem Steyn dood.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All