Jean is captain!
30 May 2006
Jean de Villiers is Jake White’s shock choice to captain the Springbok XV against the World XV on Saturday.
Announcing the team in Bloemfontein on Tuesday, White surprised the gathered media by naming the talented inside centre to lead the team for the festival match.
De Villiers has 20 Test caps (and 11 tries) to his name and is considered by many to be one of the most naturally gifted players in the country. He has obviously, at 25-years-old, got a long career ahead of him.
This elevation could be the beginning of his apprenticeship to eventually taking over from Smit full-time in the next few years.
De Villiers was not considered by any for the position in speculations in the past week. After it was vacated by the injured John Smit, AJ Venter, Wikus van Heerden and Victor Matfield were expected to carry the torch.
Both Venter and Van Heerden are included in the squad and were considered the only candidates in the race, after Victor Matfield dropped out because of injury last week.
The squad of 23 includes three players who have not previously played for the Boks – lock Johann Muller, scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar and centre Wynand Olivier – all on the bench.
Wayne Julies will travel with the squad to Johannesburg as cover, while the rest of White’s charges will remain in Bloemfontein to continue preparing for the first Test against Scotland in Durban on June 10.
After white toyed with the idea of fielding a young and inexperienced line-up, he has actually chosen a team full of experience for a match that will help map the way forward in an extremely congested international season.
Certain combinations will be tested against a World XV that arrived on Tuesday morning vowing not to just make up the numbers.
The match 22 is extremely experienced with a combined 400 Test caps behind them, while the starting XV has 345 caps, broken down to 150 among the forwards and 195 in the backline.
Springbok XV versus the World XV:
1. Deon Carstens
2. Hanyani Shimange
3. Eddie Andrews
4. Danie Rossouw
5. Albert van den Berg
6. Wikus van Heerden
7. AJ Venter
8. Joe van Niekerk
9. Ricky Januarie
10. Jaco van der Westhuyzen
11. Gaffie du Toit
12. Jean de Villiers (captain)
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Andre Snyman
15. Percy Montgomery
Replacements:
16. Gary Botha
17. Lawrence Sephaka
18. Johann Muller
19. Pedrie Wannenburg
20. Ruan Pienaar
21. Wynand Olivier
22. Brent Russell
23. Wayne Julies
By Andrew Hollely

319 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All
30 May 2006, 16:27 pm
bud……that is really fresh dood why did i not think of it
30 May 2006, 16:27 pm
Cheers manne,geniet haar.
30 May 2006, 16:28 pm
nee wat bliksem, dawn sounds too old… he he…
30 May 2006, 16:29 pm
JD JD small ****
JD JD teeny prick
JD JD size does matter
Don’t you wish yours was fatter
30 May 2006, 16:30 pm
ikey and bob hooked up, now dawn who’s gonna tickle ur fancy…
30 May 2006, 16:30 pm
That’s it I’m done.
30 May 2006, 16:32 pm
Don’t forget our appointment at the Tudor tomorrow ! I will pre pay ! Booked from 1 till 2 !
30 May 2006, 16:32 pm
anyone know if stan got a job, havent seen him for a while…
30 May 2006, 16:33 pm
That quick Dawn? With who?
30 May 2006, 16:33 pm
what song you think she has for you rudebud…
30 May 2006, 16:34 pm
big g i’m too oooooooold for Bob! But he doesn’t know it yet!
30 May 2006, 16:34 pm
big g, 258,
30 May 2006, 16:35 pm
Big G
Male Stripper…
30 May 2006, 16:35 pm
i might need a sugarmommy… he he…
30 May 2006, 16:36 pm
Maybe “You can leave yout hat on” !
30 May 2006, 16:36 pm
stan a male stripper ha ha… the bar must be full of those stormer “manne”….
30 May 2006, 16:37 pm
Stan is now working with the ANC youth league…
30 May 2006, 16:37 pm
maybe that hokey pokey song he he
30 May 2006, 16:38 pm
Stan gaan julle bliksem….
30 May 2006, 16:39 pm
dit is as stan kan opstaan om by jou uit te kom
30 May 2006, 16:41 pm
its quite difficult attached to a stormer boyfriend to sommer just stand up and move around when u wanna… stan might wanna bliksem us but we can call the shots at the youth leauge where he must do his community service…
30 May 2006, 16:41 pm
maybe old ikey bark is more than her bite?
30 May 2006, 16:43 pm
big g, nothing ventured nothing gained … wanna test you theory
30 May 2006, 16:43 pm
Steyn / Big G
30 May 2006, 16:45 pm
ikey, big g = bulletproof
30 May 2006, 16:46 pm
huh? married, attached?
30 May 2006, 16:46 pm
no rudebud, how many times must i say im NOT a stormer brokeback mountain pink fairy tackle my own team mates with a tongue in their ear supporter?!?! he he…
30 May 2006, 16:47 pm
whats that… i learn from my friends’ mistakes he he..
Big G
Lol !!! I hear what you say bru !
it’s not nice gossiping about stan while he’s not here ……
bwahahahahaha!
30 May 2006, 16:48 pm
but he’ll be back and then we can face the music ha ha…
30 May 2006, 16:49 pm
rude, you made dawn shy… or maybe she was jsut scared of what you could really throw her way he he… tannie dawn darem..
30 May 2006, 16:50 pm
no man if stan comes back with Theuns Jordaan again……then i will help him to get up
30 May 2006, 16:52 pm
ag sies steyn.. we all kno that stan and steve is an item, how on earth can u bring another floozie in there?!
30 May 2006, 16:53 pm
lol at Big……but we al know that stan does not like the thing about Steve with his pomp in elke dorp………..that is why stan is looking at Mr Jordaan now
30 May 2006, 16:54 pm
lol steyn
30 May 2006, 16:56 pm
i am outta here
30 May 2006, 16:58 pm
me free…
30 May 2006, 16:59 pm
Big G
You are right about me scaring Dawn away. My nickname in school wasn’t tripod for nothing….
30 May 2006, 17:20 pm
Dawn you are going to get in trouble again, going head to sack with JD
30 May 2006, 17:52 pm
Keo.co.za has reliably learnt the starting line-up for the unofficial Test at Ellis Park on June 3.
Springbok XV to play the World XV:
15 Brent Russell
14 Andre Snyman
13 Wynand Olivier
12 De Wet Barry
11 Gaffie du Toit
10 Meyer Bosman
9 Ricky Januarie
8 AJ Venter (captain)
7 Wikus van Heerden
6 Joe van Niekerk
5 Johann Muller
4 Andries Bekker
3 Lawrence Sephaka
2 Hanyani Shimange
1 Deon Carstens
Replacements:
16 Gary Botha
17 Jannie du Plessis
18 Albert van den Berg/ Danie Rossouw
19 Juan Smith
20 Ruan Pienaar
21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen
22 Wayne Julies
Maybe NOT so Reliably then
30 May 2006, 18:06 pm
CWS … not likely.
I never lose.
30 May 2006, 18:31 pm
Anybody out there that wanna talk some kak
30 May 2006, 18:44 pm
We are gonna catch a KLAP!
30 May 2006, 18:52 pm
Forgot, we are not allowed to say kak, rather say poopy
30 May 2006, 19:56 pm
Good team, a little weird but not bad.
This team will probably only play this W15 game and for the 3-nations the team would be more realistic.
30 May 2006, 22:34 pm
lol very unusual team, but sort of solid
30 May 2006, 23:48 pm
60 above zero:
Floridians turn on the heat.
People in New England plant gardens.
50 above zero:
Californians shiver uncontrollably.
People in New England sunbathe.
40 above zero:
Italian & English cars wont start.
People in New England drive with the windows down.
32 above zero:
Distilled water freezes.
Moosehead Lakes water gets thicker.
20 above zero:
NYers don coats, thermal underwear, gloves, woolhats.
People in New England throw on a flannel shirt.
15 above zero:
New York landlords finally turn up the heat.
People in New England have the last cookout before it gets cold.
Zero:
People in Miami all die…
New Englanders close the windows.
10 below zero:
Californians fly away to Mexico.
People in New England get out their winter coats.
25 below zero:
Hollywood disintegrates.
The Girl Scouts in New England are selling cookies door to door.
40 below zero:
Washington DC runs out of hot air.
People in New England let the dogs sleep indoors.
100 below zero:
Santa Claus abandons the North Pole.
New Englanders get frustrated because they cant start the kah.
460 below zero:
ALL atomic motion stops (absolute zero on the Kelvin scale).
People in New England start saying…Cold nuffor ya?
500 below zero:
Hell freezes over.
The Stormers win the Super 14
30 May 2006, 23:55 pm
The tight five is no good, definately a second string tight five. The loosies are a mix and match affair, Joe should be the test 8 and AJ vying for the 7 jersey with Juan. I’m sorry but I don’t rate Wikus, he’s a grafter but not up to international standard. The backline looks good and is pretty much our first choice backline. Could be a tight affair but I pick the Boks to win.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 » Show All