Visagie’s World Cup vision
30 May 2006
World XV prop Cobus Visagie aims to return to South Africa next year and play for the Boks at the World Cup.
Visagie, who now represents English club side Saracens, told Beeld’s Hennie Brandt that he was eager to add to his 29 Test caps.
“I know Jake [White] is someone you can talk to and I don’t think I’m totally out of the mix,” he said. “I’m ready to play for the Springboks, but it’s not the most important thing for me to do right now.
“My contract with Saracens expires in May next year. I hope to return next year and qualify for the World Cup. I haven’t spoken to any of the Springbok people since I’ve been overseas. When I decided to go overseas, I virtually wrote off my chances to play for the Boks again. It went so well for me overseas that I think I can add value to a Springbok team.
However, Visagie admitted the ball was firmly in White’s court.
“It is not up to me to make the first move,” he said. “I’m sure the other guys who’re in the squad [Percy Montgomery, Jaco van der Westhuyzen and Andre Snyman) didn’t approach Jake. I’m doing my part and the Boks must take a decision. I think I’ve still got it in me.”

50 Comments
30 May 2006, 22:41 pm
get him in the team, widely regarded as the best scrummager in the guinness premiership, and also picked in the ‘sky sports’ team of the season !.
30 May 2006, 23:01 pm
Ah…No.
30 May 2006, 23:26 pm
oh cobus
in case you didnt realise we have an abundance of props, its just at this moment they are ALL injured.
also, u are putting your balls on the line making it public that you want jake to pick you for the boks. he doesnt really go for that kind of attitude. chat to luke and brits, they will fill you in all you have missed since tinkering around in guiness league.
30 May 2006, 23:46 pm
Tomsta
Perhaps you are reading to much in this article.
The man is hopeful.
Nothing wrong with that.
30 May 2006, 23:57 pm
Tell me about the abundance of tightheads we have. Please don’t rack your brains too much. This guy can definately add value to the Boks.
31 May 2006, 00:42 am
If WP dont go running/begging after Cobus now then they deserve to get a caning in the CC.
31 May 2006, 02:14 am
yeah true
wp could use some front row experience.
hope is an amazing thing….sometimes.
hasnt it been nearly 3 years since cobus has been out of bok picture. how old and how well has he been playing in europe? i only remember cobus for the hype he created off field before games. he had technique in theory but didnt really dominate ever on the field.
31 May 2006, 02:54 am
I watched the game between Saracens and Sale where Kobus came up against Andrew Sheridan.
What a great game to watch for anyone with an interest in propping or the “dark art of the front rowâ€. My assessment of the game was that Kobus came out on top of the day. Sheridan was subbed about 10 mins into the second half and by that time he was going backwards most of the time. I think he managed to get under Kobus only once during the game.
I think Kobus Visagie would be a great asset to any international team.
31 May 2006, 03:16 am
There is nothing wrong with quality players making themselves available to the boks.
What Cobus has, can only add and benifit to the cause of Sprinkbok rugby, and Jake knows this.
Cobus: Tighthead, experienced Bok, lots of knowledge, good scrummager, big and tall enough, well respected around the world. Can ADD value to the boks.
Dont be surprised if he makes the squad.
31 May 2006, 05:17 am
True.Cobus is not trumpeting,just putting it mildly which is a good way to do it.
I agree with Tonsta 100% though re the hype.IMOa prop must scrum well but add value around th park and in the tight loose. i never really rated him for much more. I was always looking fopr this dominant powerhouse and he just seemed to average himself around the park.
I remember him giving away loads of penalties at scrum time too.And I watched all the Stormers games. Just never saw what was so great about this guy. I do hear youOckron and I was no prop and would deearly love it if he could make a contribution but i fail to get excited like it will be our saving grace.
I will watch him this weekend with interest once again.
Oh,how does the Euro /UK thing compare with S14 and Internationals. Always weary when an ordinary oke (hasbeen,like Snyman became)goes over ,makes a mark and then is the flavour of the month.
I know Percy came back somewhat better but generally can we compare thier league games to Internationals?
31 May 2006, 06:48 am
Snyman was not a has-been when he left SA, he might not have been vintage Snyman ala 1998 before he left but he was still working his way back from some serious injuries. The reports I’ve read about him in England are good, he seems to be able to break tackles which can be contributed to the bulk he seems to have put on since he’s been over there. And at 32 he isn’t passed his prime I think he can offer the Bok’s some muscle and physical presence on the wing, something that we haven’t had in a while
31 May 2006, 07:38 am
Cobus Visagie is and was a fine prop.He is right up there as one of the finest exponents of the tighthead art and adds value all round.His experience would be immensely valuable and knowledge of Northern hemisphere competitions an added bonus.In SA we have a huge shortage of experience at tighthead.CJ is still learning his trade,BJ has yet to start at this level,Eddie is experienced but hardly dominant and Pat Barnard will most likely be lost to SA rugby.
31 May 2006, 07:42 am
Kobus why did you use steroids?
When I saw you in the sports science you didnt bench much, is it al, in the legs?
31 May 2006, 07:58 am
ons ou bok voor-rytjie gaan kak teen die wereld span. cobus is going to go out with a point to a prove. could be long day at the office for the likes of sephaka and andrews. can’t really se how our tight 5 will dominate these guys. maybe jake shold just include cobus in his squad. quickly.
31 May 2006, 08:05 am
1. Chilliboy to fire up Baby Boks!!
At the tender age of 19 Mahlatse “Chilliboy†Ralepele has taken the next step on his road to Springbok greatness.The young hooker was a double world champion with the U/19 and U/21 squads last year and will this year lead the U/21 team in their title defence.Much is expected of the young Blue Bull in the future and this is a great oppurtunity for him to secure the captaincy for his remaining years at this level.The powerful hooker is a product of Pretoria Boys High School and seems set to follow in the footsteps of another old boy in national captain John Smit.
31 May 2006, 08:08 am
Tomsta,
Except for CJ, we have no decent tightheads.
Cobus is way better than anything we have at the moment.
Remember Tommie Laubscher or jason leonard?
31 May 2006, 08:12 am
When Cobus played for wp & the Boks, I seemed to recall he ws penalised many times for scrumming in on the hooker. I vividly remember his side of teh scrum going to ground, not once , but many times.
Those that know the “dark world” of the front row may enlighten us.
31 May 2006, 08:13 am
Well, Kobus can all but play himself into the side on Saturday then, no pressure…
31 May 2006, 08:32 am
Koos hello, how things in Brisbane?
31 May 2006, 08:36 am
The Stormers Super 14 side could look really great. I don’t see Kobus van der Merwe lasting as coach. He still hasn’t given a plan to the WP/Stormers public. Now, I hear he blames Nick Mallet for interfering. Anyway, he’s not going to last. Nick Mallet should make the following accusitions!:
Manager: Morne Du Plessis
Head Coach: Alan Solomons
Forwards Coach: Corne Krige
Backs Coach: Pieter de Villiers
Kicking Coach: Louis Koen
15.) Gio Aplon
14.) Tonderai Chavanga
13.) Marius Joubert
12.) Jean De Villiers
11.) Jongi Nokwe
10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen
9.) Stefan Basson
8.) Joe van Niekerk
7.) Luke Watson
6.) Schalk Burger
5.) Ross Skeate
4.) Selborne Boome
3.) Cobus Visagie
2.) Schalk Brits
1.) JD Moller
31 May 2006, 08:40 am
1 Steenkamp
2 Smit
3 Visagie
…….that’s a nasty looking frontrow.
Add 40 minutes of Os, and we’ve got something going on in our frontrow for a change.
Now all we need is for them to get fit or for Jake to select them.
31 May 2006, 08:45 am
where do we find out about the tickets?
31 May 2006, 08:47 am
rugby,
i think wp have lost patience with mj. might battle to get signed with boland. what about pietersen at full-back. don’t think jongi would be such a good acquisition, his brother may be a better bet. jaco has made it quite clear that he prefers to stay in pretoria. naas olivier looks promising.
31 May 2006, 08:50 am
wls,
Golden Lions Rugby Union
Tel 011-4028644 ext 131 or 139
Fax 011-4027857
E-mail: info@ellispark.co.za
Website http://www.ellispark.co.za
31 May 2006, 08:51 am
Tickets are also on sale at Shoprite Checkers Money Market Counters nation wide.
31 May 2006, 08:54 am
bigg, bloody cold! For Brisbane anyway, saw some frost for the first time in Brisbane just last week! Days still very nice though…
31 May 2006, 08:57 am
Cobus experience of Northern Hemisphere rugby could be a valuable asset when we ply the wcup in France!
31 May 2006, 09:30 am
We got CJ,BJ,Os and Gurthro, If we get Visagie and Steenkamp in the mix….
Who would outscrum us?
31 May 2006, 09:39 am
yes but are you still so miserable and negative?
31 May 2006, 09:43 am
A rugby team is built around its tighthead, get Cobus back – at all costs.
NH experience and he is rated worldwide.
31 May 2006, 09:47 am
Sorry i meant to ask who won the tickets?
Jake White i agree we have with the guys you mentioned the best in the world.
31 May 2006, 09:51 am
Koos – don’t feel so bad! Cape Town is also friggin cold at the moment. Snow on the mountain tops in some areas…
31 May 2006, 09:51 am
With the scrums becoming more of a contest nowdays, We need this guys experience.
I would agree that we should get him back.
we could start with Os,JS and Cobus and then
have Gurthro and CJ as 2nd half components.
Cant see anyone outscrumming those monsters.
Then when Victor and Bakkies are fit,
with Schalk,Juan and AJ making up the loosies the forwards would be unstoppable.
31 May 2006, 10:00 am
agree paddy, he would be invaluable to the squad.
The 3 TH’s should be CJ, BJ and Cobus. Thats enough to make any test side drool with envy.
31 May 2006, 10:16 am
Halstead fancies coming back to SA
http://www.int.iol.co.za/index.php?set_id=6&click_id=18&art_id=vn20060531065750831C854305
31 May 2006, 10:34 am
Not Halstead. We don’t need another crashballer!!
31 May 2006, 10:37 am
Fancy Cobus to fit straight back into the Bok camp because we need that level of expertise and experience in his position.
Halstead is as unlikely to start for the Boks as is Russell. We (White) don’t belive that they add that much extra to a position that is not chronicly short of experience or promise.
The tickets go from R 250.00, with scholars subbed by 94.7 to come in at R 100.00. Can’t see a sell out for what is basically an exhibition game.
31 May 2006, 10:44 am
Dont see why a rugby ticket must cost R250 a pop yet soccer internationals go for R30.
Nick Mallett was right.
31 May 2006, 10:55 am
R250 a ticket for a non-test is way too ****** steep. No wonder rugby is still (rightly) percieved as a game for the privileged white middle to upper classes.
Even if they manage to fill most of the stadium at that price, they’ll never attract significant numbers of the segment of the population where we desperately need to grow support.
Greedy short-sightedness.
31 May 2006, 10:59 am
Poms over here pronounce his name viz-age…quite funny.
But, he is regarded with genuine fear. Which is good.
31 May 2006, 11:12 am
If playing for the boks boks is not the most important hing for him right now, his heart isn’t where it should be. Let him play with Elizabeth’s children. No place for him in my side.
31 May 2006, 11:48 am
This ticked prices are Mad, so for an average family of 4 it’s a R1000.00. Then you must pay the car guard at Ellis R30 min, Drinks and food is another R150 min. Totals to R1180.00 min. Can a average family aford this for a afternoon of rugby, I dont think so. Someone is making a hell of alot of money!!
31 May 2006, 12:05 pm
Let’s say they manage to attract 40 000 people. And let’s say 5 000 of them get in at the scholar’s rate or R100. They would still be making almost R10 million in ticket sales. Clearly a profitable match, but a missed opportunity to generate wider interest in the Springboks.
Taking your laaities to watch a test match – or even a Super14 match, for that matter – has become prohibatively expensive. Sadly there are still enough wealthy families as well as enough businesses buying up the tickets for the prices to stay right where they are.
Add to this the fact that you only get to see the games on M-Net/DSTV, and the picture becomes very clear. Those calling the shots (fat cats, themselves) have no intention of ever making rugby the people’s game.
31 May 2006, 12:11 pm
katman,
At the end of the day maybe the politicians are right – rugby, while no longer being a white game, is certainly still a priveledged mans sport.
How do you ever expect to develop the game if thats the ticket prices you charge and young chaps cant even watch the game on tv.
So much for transfortmation.
31 May 2006, 12:30 pm
Yes, and funny that you not only get to see our international soccer games for a tenth of the price of the rugby equivalent, but you also get to see them for free on SABC or, in the case of the last World Cup, free only on E.
31 May 2006, 12:40 pm
CJ is my man, Visagie to provide cover on the bench. Front row of Steenkamp, CJ, Smit sounds brutal
31 May 2006, 14:54 pm
I remember Cobus in his first major season as very strong and with good technique – if indeed he is the business at tighthead we need to take him VERY SERIOUSLY.
John Cowper – Detroit
31 May 2006, 19:25 pm
Rasta
your a true Chilliboy fan!!! i rate that kid, he’s good.
As for Visagie noy sure about him, he’s a great scrummager and true tight 5 forward, but the games evolved he has to add a little more then that, it wouldn be bad to have a guy like that in the set up helping out, but it’s not worth paying for!! And we all no Os is way better,When him an Van der linde Return, Visagie’s Job would be rather Redundant, we dont need a seasoned Vet on the bench, thats were the young props sit, it’s the learning seat, he’d be wasting it.
31 May 2006, 20:50 pm
ktb. I am a Prop myself. When you are playing Loosehead there is little presure on you. But if you are on the Tighthead side you are under heaps pf presure. Scruming in on the hooker is a way of making life easier for your hooker. When you scrum in you are likely to get penelised exept if you know how to make your oponent look quilty every time. Like Keith Andrews said: “If you cant get your oponent where you want him, colaps the scrum and try again”. Scrumaging is not as simple as it looks and technuiqe plays a huge role. So when Cobus was scruming in , he was sacrifising himself to get the oposition hooker off the ball. Cobus is a real scrumaging expert and there are not alot of those around anymore.
31 May 2006, 20:59 pm
Stoffel. Put your front row of steenkamp,smit and v/d linde against englands sheriden,thomson and white. or the france front row of marconett,ibanez and develiers. or even closer to home, woodkock,mialamu and heyman. put your “brutal” front row against those front rows and we will see how “brutal” they realy are!. Now take a front row of Os Du Randt, John Smit and Cobus Visagie. You can put them against any oponent and they will come out tops. Now that is my defenition of a brutal front row!!