Why Jake chose Jean

Jean de Villiers is the Springboks’ stand-in skipper because he offers the Boks “something extra”, says coach Jake White.

However, Tuesday’s announcement came as a massive shock, after White had earlier suggested that Wikus van Heerden was his back-up captain to John Smit.

“There’s been a lot of speculation about Wikus and AJ [Venter], but I think it would have been unreasonable to put additional pressure on Wikus in his first match back in the team,” White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius.

“AJ has occasionally led the Sharks on to the field, but he’s still trying to establish himself in the team. The same can be said of Joe [van Niekerk], who has captained teams up to the U21 level. Jean knows there’s a great responsibility on his shoulders and that this is a big event. He has the respect of the seniors to tell them on the field what to do.”

De Villiers said he was looking forward to his new role on Saturday.

“It came quite suddenly,” he admitted. “I consider it a big privilege. I’ve captained the Stormers this year and feel ready for this challenge.”

Meanwhile, White confirmed that a couple of the new caps would leave the squad after the match against the World XV.

“There’s a possibility that newcomers like Jannie [du Plessis] and Andries [Bekker] won’t get a chance to play soon,” he said. “I’m going to send them, as well as a couple of other players, back to their unions at the end of the week to play Currie Cup rugby.

“These players are happy with my decision. They’re glad that they’ve been able to train with us and they now know they’re being considered for a place in the team. They also know what they’ve got to do in future to become first choice players and establish themselves.”

637 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

• 501.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Got no made tho.

Quite satisfied with the wife – need no maid.

• 502.Skim: Reply to this comment

****, I missed.

• 503.Dawn: Reply to this comment

So?

• 504.Dawn: Reply to this comment

445 … what are fish anals?

• 505.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot,

IgGot no TV.

I just log onto KEO and if I read your name, all my entertainment in one package.

• 506.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

500 Great Snakes!!

Drol, bet she’s ugly, look what time it is boetie – if she was worthwhile you would surely have been under the blankets behind the “wit boude”.

Note that you have no answer regarding your rented House / room / dwelling!!

• 507.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No TV????

• 508.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot,

I rent a house with a small back yard.

So what!

• 509.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Drol,

Lekker in Oz hey? No TV, rented house with small yard, wife has to do the house chores…..enough reason to be bitter in my mind!!

• 510.Skim: Reply to this comment

• 511.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

No TV?!? Who? Poor ******* that means no PVR

• 512.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Grootbloubek

Hou jou bek.

• 513.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Sal nie Dawn!!

• 514.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Kinders, kinders bly stil.

• 515.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Shut it or I shut it for you.

• 516.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Who said the wife does the chores and who said I am bitter.

Bitterness is a state of mind.

I am enjoying Oz every bit and dont regret the move at all.

I am not the type to get bitter, what for, life is for enjoying.

Maybe for you a lack of possessions will send you in a state of bitterness.

• 517.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Come try sweetie…., waiting!!

• 518.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

I presume you mean grootbek?

• 519.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Drol,

I’m happy for you if you’re satisfied with what little you have, stupid!!

• 520.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Relax

• 521.Skim: Reply to this comment

I’ll put my money on Groot

• 522.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Skim,

Thanks for the qualified support!!

• 523.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Smile, have you heard the saying different strokes for different folks. I live in the UK and while I don’t have the same size house as I would in SA, I feel safer and not having to live in my prison (Alarms, burglargaurds, dogs etc).

• 524.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot,

The name ‘DROL’, did that not come from a previous blogger called ‘LORD’ but some people got uptight with him and decided to reverse his name.

Were you the one who instigated the name ‘DROL’ then.

If so – that is sad!

For one thing no originality.
    another,If it was not you who did not give the name then you stole it from someone else – lack of humour
    the other – there seems to be a trend of bitterness on your part for those who oppose your ideals.

• 525.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

I must shoot. Cheers biys and girls.

• 526.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Sharky,

Have nothing against you or your life in UK, I’m enjoying SA to the full, can never ever leave all that is dear to me, have received various offers though, still not interested!!

• 527.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

No TV.

It is a point I am trying to get across to GROOT.

• 528.Skim: Reply to this comment

ColdWS – Dude it’s not like that. People have the wrong idea about SA. Anyway i’d rather enjoy our great weather than freeze my *** of in the UK.

• 529.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

I know it is hard. I left a great deal back home (Friends, family etc). Coming from Durbs there was just no work for us un-disadvantaged. One thing I miss is the support base you have in SA.

• 530.Skim: Reply to this comment

Skaaptjops and biltong and sun and driving on the left side of the road and and and.
    Man, i’ll never be able to leave SA.

• 531.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Drol,

If you read the posts prior you would have noted that I gradually changed your nick from BokinOzzie to BokdrolinOzzie to Drol – after all that’s what you are to me, didn’t need to borrow, beg or steal or copy anybody, you provided the answer so nicely for me…. all on your ownsome lonesome!!

• 532.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Why does Dawn come online when all he does is stir ****? Seriously we need to get that sand out of her ******!

• 533.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

SA is a great place I wont deny that.

Will always go back to it on holiday no better place to be on vacation.

I was just winding up bliksem and Groot and groot for the larger part took the bait.

• 534.Skim: Reply to this comment

Now i’m hungry.

• 535.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Skim

What money.

• 536.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Bagel … you Jewish?

• 537.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

cheers all

• 538.Skim: Reply to this comment

Dawn-
    That was uncalled for.

• 539.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Sharky,

Luckily for me I have been working for myself for 16 years now, no need to get a job!! All the best for you and yours, come back to SA with lots of moola!!

• 540.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot,
    (531)

Poor explanation.

• 541.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s uncalled for.

You give it out, you take it.

• 542.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote

Cheers.

Did you read my reply

• 543.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Drol,

Whatever dude!!

• 544.Skim: Reply to this comment

I have been spectacularily neutral thus far.

• 545.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Skim,

There is plenty of biltong, castles etc here too.

The homesick Jappies bring it over.
    The biltong they make here and it is good.

• 546.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Skim,

Jy beweeg net so stilletjies in die agtergrond…jy doen jou nick gestand.

• 547.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yo Bagel !!!!

Yoo hoo !!!!

• 548.Skim: Reply to this comment

Ag dankie man groot.

• 549.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Japie

Wich one?

• 550.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Skim,

Was so 2 weke terug in die bosveld, op ‘n ou plaastannie afgekom wat wragtig ken van biltong maak, koop toe sommer 11Kg, vroeër vandag weer my oorhoops gevreet!!

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.