Why Jake chose Jean

Jean de Villiers is the Springboks’ stand-in skipper because he offers the Boks “something extra”, says coach Jake White.

However, Tuesday’s announcement came as a massive shock, after White had earlier suggested that Wikus van Heerden was his back-up captain to John Smit.

“There’s been a lot of speculation about Wikus and AJ [Venter], but I think it would have been unreasonable to put additional pressure on Wikus in his first match back in the team,” White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius.

“AJ has occasionally led the Sharks on to the field, but he’s still trying to establish himself in the team. The same can be said of Joe [van Niekerk], who has captained teams up to the U21 level. Jean knows there’s a great responsibility on his shoulders and that this is a big event. He has the respect of the seniors to tell them on the field what to do.”

De Villiers said he was looking forward to his new role on Saturday.

“It came quite suddenly,” he admitted. “I consider it a big privilege. I’ve captained the Stormers this year and feel ready for this challenge.”

Meanwhile, White confirmed that a couple of the new caps would leave the squad after the match against the World XV.

“There’s a possibility that newcomers like Jannie [du Plessis] and Andries [Bekker] won’t get a chance to play soon,” he said. “I’m going to send them, as well as a couple of other players, back to their unions at the end of the week to play Currie Cup rugby.

“These players are happy with my decision. They’re glad that they’ve been able to train with us and they now know they’re being considered for a place in the team. They also know what they’ve got to do in future to become first choice players and establish themselves.”

637 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 101.cab: Reply to this comment

Henri F,

maybe but what happened to the days when a test match was precisely that, the ultimate test of rugby strength, it seems that you are advocating that JW should not take the NH tours as seriously. This is a worthy argument, but surely you cannot blame White for playing test match rugby in the correct spirit.

• 102.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey…

I admire your determination and sheer willpower in getting that damned keyboard of yours to try and write what you’re actaully thinking…
    Makes me think of old Descartes: “Cogito ergo sum” [I think, therefore I am]…

But wait.
    That must mean that Drunkmonkey…
    Well…
    Drunkmonkey “am not”?!

Amazing.
    The ****** who never was…

• 103.tackler_of_note: Reply to this comment

Greenbok

Please explain to him in has native Bloubul taal, as he would never understand what you said now

• 104.jondood: Reply to this comment

Pissant

sies

Was it necessary to have a go at HM, far more succesful at this stage than any other of the provinces.

• 105.cab: Reply to this comment

and who said SA rugby fans were dom? see Keo we have okes on your site quoting Descartes.

i better google who the hell he is…

• 106.jondood: Reply to this comment

tackler

What exactly do you mean by the Bloubul taal?

Explain it to this “ffick” Blue Bull supporter.

• 107.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Cab,

Those were the days when the Boks played 3-4 Tests a year – either at home or abroad, and occasionally had an end-of-year tour (every 4 years?). For their long tours, they had a squad of 30 players who were all used over 2-3 months during the winter. No summer games (Super 10/12/14, except UK tour), and less strenuous Currie Cup – club rugby at the time we have Vodacom Cup.

• 108.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

No doubt jondood, I admire him and Rassie as two of our best – but sheez, draw comparisons at you own peril!!!

I just couldnt let that one slide.

• 109.jondood: Reply to this comment

cab

Descartes, escargots same diff to me.

• 110.jondood: Reply to this comment

PissAnt

Ja I know you could not let it slide.

That is why I told him to shutup.

• 111.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

no need to fight with idiots that clearly dont watch rugby .. bloem leeu.

pissant thats the same Heyneke … yeah he been coach for couple years now and in those wonderfull years we have won the curriecup … we have outplayed other south african teams and may i add we top of the south-african teams we the only team to reach semi-final last year and this year. Clearly Heyneke must be doing something right.

SO the only reason why heyneke been coach for so long is cos he the best coach.

• 112.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Bloubul taal: “I stink, derefore I are”

• 113.cab: Reply to this comment

also true Henri-F, perhaps you are right that not so many games in the past, but i am reluctant to see emphasis placed on a world cup, once every 4 years, rather than the wonderful atmosphere of a test match being reduced, merely for being out-of-season.

• 114.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Henri F…

Yes – all valid points you make…
    Only this is not New Zealand now is it?
    Forget the end of year tour in 05 – look at what happeing now…
    In spite of the “backing” JW recieved from SARU/SARFU – read between the lines…

They said – “yes, it’s important to rest and rotate players…but winning is still everything…”

Will slap me silly and call me Susan!

The question Henri – is how would [the other] Henry have run things in SA?
    Not much different I’d say.
    JW has been advocating rest and rotate since the beginning of this [still new] season.
    He then has a meeting with the bosses, prior to which he tells all and sundry that he will be pushing to have his policy implemented.

He then comes out of the meeting, and approaches the very next game with a ‘must win’ attitude. Don’t you think that tells you something about how the meeting went?

Oh, and I never said that JW is NOT fair game.
    He’s in the eye of the public and must take the flack and it goes with the job blah blah.
    Responsible journalism and CRITICAL [analytical] crticism never hurt anyone.

It’s when people turn around and say things like: “Fug you Henri F, you stupid” – that really gets my blood boiling…

• 115.jondood: Reply to this comment

Ja Henri F

I also “moers before i thinks”

• 116.cab: Reply to this comment

jondood, ya both small french things that can be eaten as an appetizer.

• 117.jondood: Reply to this comment

cab

• 118.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

winning the CC, is hardly grounds to compare a union coach to one that coaches, and competes, against the best the world has to offer.

so rassie, winning the CC for the cheetahs after almost 30 years should become bok coach?

the same goes for reaching two semi’s, where one, you had a brilliant HOME RUN after losing just about every away game, and second, had with the stormers, the best damn draw in only to lose against the canes AT HOME, get spanked by the saders AT HOME, lose to the Brumbies AT HOME, lose to the damn reds of all teams, draw against the chiefs and lose against the blues who was by far the worst NZ side and the worst any NZ side in many years only to sneak into a semi spot thanks to a depleted brumbies team missing three vital players through injury and suspension????

sheez buddy let’s sit back and think about this for a second…

• 119.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Dom Aap

HM Is the best coach-Its true!…
    But the other coaches are pathetic, except Muir and Rassie.
    In die land van die blindes is een oog koning reg?

• 120.tackler_of_note: Reply to this comment

Jondood, my comment about Bloubul taal obviously doesn’t apply to you, as your IQ count is higher than that of a brick, and you don’t walk aroung singing the bluebull song the every one that walks by.

• 121.wpw: Reply to this comment

drunkmonkey, i think you should rather keep quiet… you making a fool of yourself.

jondood, how’s laura?

• 122.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Henri F – “I stink, derefore I are”
    Ha Ha Ha Ha hA!

Classic!

• 123.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

PA

Now the bulls season looks even more horrible!

• 124.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

greenbok that was a gayish statement.

Did someone google descrates? cos i dont know who the hell he is.
    Not to insult anybody but Jake white been lucky what he says and does is worlds apart. like he says rest the players but he play his best players why not rotate your players white? To admit that u didnt select on of the ndungane brothers why u should have dumb.

• 125.cab: Reply to this comment

jonnyd, i must ask, do you have one of those bloubul helmets? I saw a picture of a fan in SA Rugby who was pained blue with a moerse-horned helmet and long blue hair. He looked rougher than a badgers arse.

• 126.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Cab,

I agree. I make a distinction between World Cup champions, and World Champions. The latter, to my mind, have most consistently over the last 15 years been the Australasians – mainly the All Blacks. In cricket, its the Ozzies, and Brazil in football. Cricket and football have a ranking system based on results from games played (hence Bafana’s slide into ignominy on the rankings). The World Cup is like a beauty pageant – not always won by the one with the most beautiful face (Miss World exceptions for me were Anneline Kriel, Ashwariya Rai, amongst others).

Graham Henry has managed to have a pool of 30 players who do not cause a significant drop in performance when the first choice drops out. Jake White, through his “innocent until guilty at Test match level” policy, protects incumbents at the expense of enlarging the pool of players. Having said all of this (what a ghastly cliche!), our lack of basic skills, mental competence and on field “smarts”, are a major constraint to us doing what England, France and NZ do when blooding young players.

• 127.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

awell u **** can say what u like i be shouting for the bulls and laugh as your teams lose like they lost against the bulls.

maybe white should coach the bulls and heyneke the bokke then we can compare the two but since neither of them has coached for the other it be silly to compare

• 128.wpw: Reply to this comment

dronkaap

ag, nevermind… no use reasoning with a ******

• 129.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Dom Aap

Jake had to pick his best side’s to play, he has a performance clause in his contract, unlike Ludeke. Hence the reason he went to SARU, so that he can rotate his players, and when he loose, his job wont be on the line.

We all know what happens to Bok coaches who loose games!

And by the way, when I watch the Boks play I want the best guys in SA playing. Bok rugby must be above provincialism!! Rest players at provincial level and not Bok level twat!!

• 130.wpw: Reply to this comment

Got this off IOL, very disturbing what the teenagers get up to in Tswane and Egoli…

SA teenagers are trading *** for luxury goods
    Karyn Maughan
    May 30 2006 at 05:18AM

She has *** with middle-aged men for luxury goods, says she is not a prostitute and believes that if she sleeps only with white men, she won’t get Aids. And she is just 15.

Caroline* is one of a growing number of teenagers engaging in the disturbing practice of “transactional” ***.

She has had unprotected *** with three different middle-aged men in exchange for an iPod, designer clothing, jewellery and top-of-the-range cellphones.

And she isn’t alone in her choice of after-school activity or her belief that she isn’t vulnerable to sexually transmitted disease.

‘This kind of thing has always been around’
    Senior Superintendent Anneke Pienaar, head of the police’s Family Violence, Child Protection and Sexual Offences Unit, told The Star that transactional *** was becoming an increasingly acceptable way for teenagers in Johannesburg and Pretoria to acquire the luxuries they crave.

• 131.jondood: Reply to this comment

tackler_of_note

I have my Blou Bul song on my cell phone, so I dont need to sing it, I listen.

wpw

I will be cheking on the site shortly, thanks for the reminder.

• 132.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Let’s see if I remember correctly ….Descartes – Cartesian logic, “either-or”. Postulated “idealism” – primacy of the idea – “I think therefore I am”.

Marxian materialists say “I am, therefore I think.”

Bloubulle say “I moers cause I stinks, and fink when I are”

If you Google, look for Rene Descartes.

• 133.tackler_of_note: Reply to this comment

Thanks WPW

• 134.wpw: Reply to this comment

die bloubul eet nie van die vloer af nie… net as hy in australia en nz is

• 135.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

lol wpw :lol:

• 136.jondood: Reply to this comment

cab

I do have an helmet but it aint blue, well not all the time.

• 137.cab: Reply to this comment

drunkmonkey, no, who is descrates?

he’s a new one, sounds like the love-child of Descartes and Socrates.

Henri-F,

yeah, perhaps, agree australatians have unfortunately probabaly been world champions over last decade, but under that title we were defnitely the world champs in 99, but unluckily lost to a dropkick from larkham.

• 138.wpw: Reply to this comment

LMAO @ jondood.

And sometimes your helmet is covered in brown **** hey jonD?

• 139.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Aagh no sick man WPW :(

• 140.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

you have every right to be proud of heyneke, i too believe he is a great coach who, like jake, took a team that was no-where and made them extremely competitive and the best in some respects in their fields.

he does seem to suffer a bit from jake-syndrome though being able to take a team to a certain level and then stagnate, an issue we discussed last year RE the boks.

jake has said the approach will be different this year and i guess we will have to wait and see how he goes.

also, it is very dangerous to believe a successful union coach will be successful at international level, viljoen and stroolie are two examples of coaches that did damn well with their union teams but we all know how that fairytale ended when they went on to coach the bokke.

• 141.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

wpw

your team cant even win on home soil they bottom of the log so yeah

• 142.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Got to go Talk later

• 143.cab: Reply to this comment

lol jondood, actually quite like those helmets, the rugbykind, very practical, perhaps the Cats can start marketing some Lions headgear and leapord print rubgy balle and cheetah takkies?

• 144.wpw: Reply to this comment

drunkmonkey, i know they are ****. i am not going to dispute that. we talking about your stupidity now.

• 145.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Vinnie (49), I`ve been to Eden Park and North Harbour Stadium on my travels. Both awesome! Actually watched a one dayer at Eden Park too. When Kallis made 100 and Cullinan made 94 of 57 balls. Man, what an innings. Jonty also took that one handed catch, diving backwards in front of us. Bloody awesome!
    You can watch any game of rugby (or league) there and the intensity is ferocious!

• 146.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Keo

Great article on news24! Just shows that Jake is complaining for no good reason!

• 147.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Looks like Ig the sensor is having a busy day today!

Tony, I’ve never been there but do intend to at some point in the future. Very definately.

• 148.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

hey maybe if your teams like win a curriecup or get like into a semi-final can u induldge about how bad the bulls are. Untill then stop flapping your gums cos your teams still below the Bulls ;]

• 149.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Maybe you should stop flapping your gums cause none of us can understand half of what you type.

• 150.jondood: Reply to this comment

Hey **** the provinicial KAK now.

We should be concerned about the BOks now.

Leave the rest for the CC.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.