Why Jake chose Jean

Jean de Villiers is the Springboks’ stand-in skipper because he offers the Boks “something extra”, says coach Jake White.

However, Tuesday’s announcement came as a massive shock, after White had earlier suggested that Wikus van Heerden was his back-up captain to John Smit.

“There’s been a lot of speculation about Wikus and AJ [Venter], but I think it would have been unreasonable to put additional pressure on Wikus in his first match back in the team,” White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius.

“AJ has occasionally led the Sharks on to the field, but he’s still trying to establish himself in the team. The same can be said of Joe [van Niekerk], who has captained teams up to the U21 level. Jean knows there’s a great responsibility on his shoulders and that this is a big event. He has the respect of the seniors to tell them on the field what to do.”

De Villiers said he was looking forward to his new role on Saturday.

“It came quite suddenly,” he admitted. “I consider it a big privilege. I’ve captained the Stormers this year and feel ready for this challenge.”

Meanwhile, White confirmed that a couple of the new caps would leave the squad after the match against the World XV.

“There’s a possibility that newcomers like Jannie [du Plessis] and Andries [Bekker] won’t get a chance to play soon,” he said. “I’m going to send them, as well as a couple of other players, back to their unions at the end of the week to play Currie Cup rugby.

“These players are happy with my decision. They’re glad that they’ve been able to train with us and they now know they’re being considered for a place in the team. They also know what they’ve got to do in future to become first choice players and establish themselves.”

637 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

• 251.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

“If you think Gaffie is better then you are a racist”

I LMAO then a stop, but only for a second and again I LMAO!

• 252.jondood: Reply to this comment

It was the way you responed and I was also kakked out.

• 253.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Dawn,

I love you!

• 254.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

The Monarchs should judge the response on the previous posting. You seem to take a lot of poop before you shovel it back. Come on Monarcjhs give her free run, it would be woirth a good laugh :evil:

• 255.jondood: Reply to this comment

csw

The only free run she has is the TROTS.

• 256.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Dawn,

You are a sweetie!

• 257.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ah fuckit.

Jondood does your *****’s doos smell like fish.

• 258.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Oooh! that is rotten.

Shame on you Dawn.

• 259.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Jondood

Speaking of which. You now get Keppler Wessels currie powder. It gives you the slow runs…

• 260.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

This is hotting up :-)

• 261.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

CWS

Indeed. :shock:

• 262.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

The South African Governments Best XV Springbok Team.

1.Lawrence Sephaka
    2.Hanyani Shimange
    3.Eddie Andrews
    4.Quentin Davids
    5. Any whitey with ANC ties.
    6.Solly Tyibilika
    7.Tim Dlulane
    8.Luke Watson

9.Ricky Januarie
    10.Meyer Bosman (sounds close enough)
    11.Akona Ndungane
    12.Wayne Julies ( Captain )
    13.Bryan Habana
    14.Chavanga
    15.Conrad Jantjes

Replacements :
    16.Gurthro Steenkamp
    17.Kabamba Floors
    18.Bolla Conradie
    19.Eddie Fredericks
    20.Adi Jacobs
    21.JP Pietersen

Coached by Chester Williams
    Managed by Brian van Rooyen

Springbok name should also be changed to Ama Tsotsi.

Logo changed to the AK-47

New Sponsor will be Lifebuoy soap.

Anthem sang by Mirriam Makeba

• 263.jondood: Reply to this comment

bwahahahahahaha

Just got back with a beverage and almost spat it all over my keyboard.

• 264.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

:rudebudlightsanotheroneandmovesclosertolaptop:

• 265.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Dawn,

Are you a girl?

• 266.jondood: Reply to this comment

Send me a pic of your gap filled smile to jondood@gmail.com

• 267.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Logie,

Yes Keo’s argument does make for some interesting reading, at first.
    However…

However…
    It’s all good and well bringing out the stats and saying that JW’s selection policy, of playing the same players game in and game out, is what’s actually killing our boks – And he demonstrates this quite accurately by comparing our situation to Henry and the AB’s…
    But that’s just the problem!

Comparing us and the Silver Fern is comparing like comparing Drunkmonkey to an amoeba. The latter might actually manage a though once in a while… The simple fact of the matter is that the set-up in administration and everything else between AB’s and the Bokke is too far removed from each other to warrant any comparison of that nature.

Having said that – we must be compared to someone in order to be able to make some sort of a logical assessment, and it might as well be the #1 team, but then such a comparison must be made with a serious amount of qualifications – something which Keo conveniently forgets about in the interests of a good story.

First of all, given that White has taken us from number 4 to number 2 in 3 years – it must be noted that a climb up the log was probably one of his main objectives. And any rugby supporter worth his salt will know that a steady climb like that is going to depend on only one thing: Experience. Not the odd flash of brilliance from someone like a Brits (sorry) that will occasionally win you games. Add to that, the obsession and paranoia that surrounds winning and losing in South Africa, and there is no way he coud’ve built that experience across the board. He HAD to choose a core squad and take them with him, as he had to be more than sure of actually keeping the win ratio up. So yes, Henry does have a bigger squad, and could blood more players, but he will never have a sword as big as JW hanging over his head – until it gets to World Cup time again, that is.

I agree with Keo that JW should have rested more players on the end of year tour, but let me ask you this: If JW had done this, if he had screamed from the rooftops that he was going to rest key personnel and take along a group of youngsters to blood them in, and that we were to expect losses – and assume that we did in fact lose more games in Europe (and Argentina), where would we be now? With a win ratio now nowhere near 70%, and a new season – can you honestly tell me that there would not be a HUGE amount of pressure on JW to pull of convincing wins at home? I reckon there would have been. So instead of blooding a whole bunch of youngsters again for the World XV match, he’d probably have felt compelled to play one of his strongest teams against them, and possibly Scotland and France too – thereby potentially impacting on the line-up to be available for the 3N’s…

All of the above is hypothetical of course, but it’s not a complete impossibility that they above scenario might’ve materialised had the end of year tour been tried differently as I have suggested – and this is my point: The pressure placed on JW to win every game is MASSIVE compared to that of Henry, and will always play a HUGE role in determining which team he has to play with… He cannot afford the ‘relative’ freedom of Henry to expand his squad on the field. Even if we all sit back and say “it’s fine if JW loses some games – he’s building”, I bet you my bottom dollar that come two losses in a row, these same idiots that scream and clamour when JW does not go down on his knees in the presence of Heyneke Meyer, will be screaming and clamouring for his head! As a rugby nation – there are too many fickle fuggers amongst us who make too much noise when they start panicking….

Keo makes good points regarding the method whereby we should rest the Bokke, but he then slams White by comparing him to Henry, and basically accusing him of lying about conditioning and lack of rest to cover up poor performances, citing statistics to prove how certain AB’s played as many games etc – but disregards the blatant differences in circumstances between SA and the AB’s…

He says that it is all part of the international package and that JW must get over himself and get on with the job…JW must stop moaning…

So is Keo sick of JW complaining?
    Oh my goodness.
    The travesty of it all.
    A journalist complaining about a celeb who complains too much – and thus gives the journalist something to write about…
    My advice:
    Keo – it’s part of journalism.
    Get over it.

Consequently, I must conclude the following:
    Keo is an idiot.
    Anyone that compares chalk and cheese, and then expects the one to be able to implement the same methodology, is clearly retarded.
    Or – is determined not to let the facts get in the way of a good story…

The simple truth of the matter is that whilst both JW and Henry have a gun pointed to their heads, with a rugby public ready to pull the trigger when games start being lost, the gun up against Jake’s head is an AK – with a really REALLY sensitive trigger…

And no thanks to people like Keo, who always stir things up – that trigger has just become even more primed…

Keo – do some real journalism for a change.
    You are so predictable sometimes.
    Yes – all the talk is about Jake moaning about how the rugby bosses are not giving him enough control to rest his players.
    So then Keo does some ‘original’ writing, and blames Jake instead.

Never saw that one coming (yawn).

• 268.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

You two should be lovers and get the sexual tension over and done with :roll:

• 269.jondood: Reply to this comment

csw

I am saving myself for marriage.

• 270.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Da kom dit nou uit. Net beskaafd tot sy kwaad raak.

• 271.suparugby: Reply to this comment

:dawnmoersall:

• 272.Ig: Reply to this comment

Dood and Dawn….

Give me a break……

• 273.jondood: Reply to this comment

If you guys dont know Dawn works for Shell.

Enough petrol to necklace us all.

• 274.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Enter Ig stage left… :razz:

• 275.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Greenbok, (re 267)

Are you putting this into a hardback or paperback upon release?

Might sell more copies than Keo’s book.

• 276.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Iggy

Jy het dit nie maklik nie.

• 277.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Come on IG this had been hilarious.

• 278.Henri F: Reply to this comment

Greenbok,

You assume we’re idiots. Springbok fans are prepared to accept losses if there’s a process outlined to them, with objectives and time frames. None of this “in process” nonsense from Harry Viljoen, over two seasons.

Jake’s problem is that he’s conservative and boring. Losing is tolerable if play is exciting.

• 279.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Greenbok

As jy so baie skryf hoe baie praat jy nie?

• 280.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Henri

I agree. Rugby should be entertaining. It is there for entertainment after all.

• 281.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Heres an idea.

Take the entire Springbok team, turn them into Bafana Bafana.

then take the entire Bafana Bafana and make them springboks.

The soccer should go better, and the rugby will have their 100% darkie quota plan in place.

Everyone will be happy.

JORRIE MULLER FOR PRESIDENT!

• 282.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

greenbok another kaka post from you…. hey but nice typing way to long and much to boring im happy u no journalist u got no sense for flair and it was pretty much gayish.

Greenbok u from capetown right? Do u watch rugby or they guys? cos hell u talking so much **** you know nothing bout rugby and try to take keo on big mistake.

• 283.suparugby: Reply to this comment

In the right hand corner we have Dawn “my doos smells like fish” weighing at 220 pounds and in the left hand corner we have Jon “I’ll moer you women” dood weighing at 200 pounds. I want a good clean fight…or not. DONG!

• 284.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Henri F

I would have to disagree with you, with respect.
    I’d love nothing more than seeing a Bok backline running from deep and scoring tries – and I would be first in line to say it’s ok that we lost, just look at how we played… But really, are you being serious now?

Can you honestly tell me that JW will keep his job if he’s losing games whilst blooding young players and playing exciting rugby?

Nope. Sorry.

• 285.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Greenbok,

Ignore drunkmonkey he has already fallen out of his tree.

• 286.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Drunkmonkey

• 287.Bokpiel: Reply to this comment

Jake_White,

thats racist..!!!

• 288.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

And Suparugby is the ‘King of the Ring”

• 289.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

I agree with greenbok,

Theres too much pressure to perform game in and game out.

It would make life allot easier if there were less rugby fiztures and Jake could run a SA B team and give them fixtures.

In that match he could test strategy and combination.

Its just too risky to put your balls in the vice when theres no spoon around.

• 290.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Bokpiel

Yes, that is. Jake_White is in your league. Common racists.

• 291.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Greenbok,

We are all dazzled by backs scoring tries.

It is about forwards and backs.

The forwards have gotta take the ball up and create spaces by sucking in defenders and then unleashing the backs.

The aussie game is about backs running and scoring. If they get their forwards sorted out they will be dangerous, very dangerous.

At the moment the backs in oz keep them in the game.

• 292.jondood: Reply to this comment

suparugby

My only concern is that 150 of those pounds resides in Dawns ***.

• 293.greenbok: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie,

Cannot tell you how nervous I get before every game when we start talking about how “the forwards are really looking to dominate on Saturday” etc etc…

Cannot agree with you more – something we haven’t seen in a long time on a rugby pitch, is a Bok forward pack playing beyond the ‘gees’ and crushing a first-rate side…

• 294.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Dronkie,

Jy praat soveel kakkas, as mede-Blou Bul ondersteuner skaam ek my vir jou. Jou kak comments veroorsaak dat jy skietgoed gee vir al die f@#$%ken Common klomp Bulls Bashers, poephol!!!

• 295.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Greenbok,

We are on the same page.

• 296.cab: Reply to this comment

• 297.Skim: Reply to this comment

Whatsup?

• 298.cab: Reply to this comment

grootblou,

you must take it easy, drunkmonkey’s comments are lekker soos n krekker.

• 299.Logie: Reply to this comment

Greenbok

i truly think the boks will take the rwc. consistency is the key, and under pressure, any side sporting individual stars will fail.

i use the example of coach kristy’s side that took the 95 cup. he played with almost an entire transvaal side, and he had the presence of mind to know he had no other choice as the boks have only played together in a couple of games before that.

blacks to fade, as usual. final to be between the wallabies and the boks.

• 300.Logie: Reply to this comment

i meant ‘only’ individual stars…

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1113 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.