Why Jake chose Jean

Jean de Villiers is the Springboks’ stand-in skipper because he offers the Boks “something extra”, says coach Jake White.

However, Tuesday’s announcement came as a massive shock, after White had earlier suggested that Wikus van Heerden was his back-up captain to John Smit.

“There’s been a lot of speculation about Wikus and AJ [Venter], but I think it would have been unreasonable to put additional pressure on Wikus in his first match back in the team,” White told Die Burger’s Herbert Pretorius.

“AJ has occasionally led the Sharks on to the field, but he’s still trying to establish himself in the team. The same can be said of Joe [van Niekerk], who has captained teams up to the U21 level. Jean knows there’s a great responsibility on his shoulders and that this is a big event. He has the respect of the seniors to tell them on the field what to do.”

De Villiers said he was looking forward to his new role on Saturday.

“It came quite suddenly,” he admitted. “I consider it a big privilege. I’ve captained the Stormers this year and feel ready for this challenge.”

Meanwhile, White confirmed that a couple of the new caps would leave the squad after the match against the World XV.

“There’s a possibility that newcomers like Jannie [du Plessis] and Andries [Bekker] won’t get a chance to play soon,” he said. “I’m going to send them, as well as a couple of other players, back to their unions at the end of the week to play Currie Cup rugby.

“These players are happy with my decision. They’re glad that they’ve been able to train with us and they now know they’re being considered for a place in the team. They also know what they’ve got to do in future to become first choice players and establish themselves.”

637 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 » Show All

• 401.cab: Reply to this comment

ya, i reckon you better be careful with some of the maorie ladies, Chris Masoe nearly got a PWK.

• 402.bliksem: Reply to this comment

he is still around.its only 1:40 am there.normal okes would be bending the pipe right now but he is surfing the web instead.Dalk het sy ooi vrotpootjie gekry

• 403.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Dawn,

I agree with you, anfair discrimination against you…..revenge yourself NOW!!!

• 404.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem,

It is only 12:40 and not 1:27.

Cant count as well.

• 405.bliksem: Reply to this comment

depends on where you stay in aussie.still pathectic even if its 12:40.

• 406.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Bliksem,

Miskien nie net vrotpootjie nie, miskien ook Bek-en Klouseer (en heelmoontlik holseer)

• 407.bliksem: Reply to this comment

bloedlong,snotsiekte.morsige dolla daai.

• 408.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem,

Done that already mate.

Now I am on this circus being entertained by clowns.

• 409.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

So where in Oz will it be 1:40 right now

• 410.bliksem: Reply to this comment

gee so you really musnt have a life.cant you think of better ways to spend your time than to being entertained by a bunch of clowns as you refer to us?

• 411.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie,

Ha……..ha, not so funny, *******!!

• 412.cab: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie,

serious question, where in oz are you and whats it like?

• 413.bliksem: Reply to this comment

cab just look at all his bitter posts.the fool is having the time of his life.

• 414.cab: Reply to this comment

bliksem, maybe he just misses SA, besides its wednesday night, you cant spyker everynight, the little fella needs some R&R.

• 415.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

Apparently you have already bended your pipe tonight. What is your boyfriend’s name ?

• 416.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Dawn, who kakked you out?

• 417.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

Refresh my memmory

• 418.bliksem: Reply to this comment

true cab.daai ooi gaan ook haar lammers verwerp as sy temoeg is.

• 419.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

I am in Sydney.

There are aspects of sydney that are good, parties, sites and plenty of things to do, But not the same as africa in others.

• 420.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Cab
    The little felow being his hand?

• 421.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Rudebud,(415)

Bliksem

• 422.bliksem: Reply to this comment

jaapinozzie that was a trick question.we dont really give a **** where you stay or what there is to do in sydney.

• 423.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Cab,

Who can’t spyker every night, Ok except BokdrolinOzzie, I am good to go every night, every morning as well, **** how do am I going to approach it tonight……. I wonder.

Hehehe.

• 424.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Cab, (414)

Even if that was directed at me it was humerous.

• 425.bliksem: Reply to this comment

grootbulsmile on verwys na daai ooi met die vrotpootjie.as hulle nie rus en goeie weiding kry nie vrek hulle.jaapinozzie,druk dai poot in petrol,dit help baie vir die vrotpootjie.

• 426.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

LOL !

I still think you are a doos. But 421 was funny. You’re a funny doos.

• 427.bliksem: Reply to this comment

jaapinozzie please mail me at tui@webmail.co.za and then you can deliver your hillarious jokes to me in person if youd like to come dec.

• 428.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Yea I dont have a life as I am studying and that is what needs to be done.

I have taken quite an extended break as I am being entertained on this blog.

Got an exam in the morning.

• 429.cab: Reply to this comment

bokinozzie,

ja sydney was lekker when i went, stayed in drumoyne, took the good with the bad, big mofo festival in paddington, but many white tips at bonzai. apparantly the westies are hot to trot.

• 430.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

japie pasop bliksem gaan jou goed bliksem.

• 431.bliksem: Reply to this comment

cheers manne ek moet nou gaan.geniet haar.

• 432.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

cheers blikkies

• 433.cab: Reply to this comment

bonzai, wtf am i talking about, worse than drunkmonkey, whats the name of the big beach again?

• 434.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Should say later on.

What the hell this is fun

• 435.RedCard: Reply to this comment

I wonder who will be last on this thread..

• 436.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Cheers manne; moet ook nou waai !

Nag Ou Grote !

• 437.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote

Cheers mate, go and check out that answer of mine.

• 438.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Japie,

Are you leaving?

• 439.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Cab,

Bondi

watch out for the westie, take his girlfriend and you will be finished.

• 440.John_Psycho: Reply to this comment

Jean is now going to keep the ball move after move & its never going to get to the wings because as captain he’s going to want run himself every time… Watch!

• 441.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Ou grote

Should I be staying.

• 442.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

John

Do you watch rugby, or do you just want to talk kak?

• 443.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Japie

Its up to you mate.

• 444.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote,

It was some Ozzies who were shouting the stuff.

I was at one match and the stuff that was coming out of those ozzies mouths was disgusting.

The ozzies complain about sa supporters in SA they have not had the luxury of facing their own supporters.

• 445.jondood: Reply to this comment

You playing with fish anals again?

• 446.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

BokdrolinOzzie,

Pleasssssse don’t stay, go and if you move past Go don’t collect your dollars, now f-off swine!!

• 447.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bliksem,

I hope I have not stirred you up too much.

• 448.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot,

My dollars are worth more than your rand.

• 449.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Japie

Over here it was reported that it was the expats shouting stuff to players.

• 450.jondood: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

Dont worry bliksem is on his way to bend Kurt Darren

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.