Bob’s Bok disappointment
31 May 2006
World XV coach Bob Dwyer has expressed regret that his team will not be facing a full-strength Springbok XV on Saturday.
He did concede, however, that despite a slew of injuries to key Bok players the team announced by Jake White was filled with talented players.
“I’m a bit disappointed for the injured Boks that will miss out on the game. We would have liked to have played against the best possible team,†Dwyer said.
“But given the squad that Jake put together any 22 would be worthy of a Springbok jersey. You also have to be capable of proving your depth and this is an ideal opportunity. That said, I’m sorry they are missing certain guys.â€
Dwyer was probably referring to the likes of stars such as Os du Randt, John Smit, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Andre Pretorius and Bryan Habana. All those players would, if fit, be picked in White’s strongest possible squad.
World XV captain, Justin Marshall, has had many classic tussles with the Boks as All Black scrumhalf and is relishing the prospect of locking horns for one last fling.
“Our team is totally filled with international quality players and for us to play South Africa is good. I’m personally really looking forward to it.â€
“It is a great opportunity for us to see whether we can still compete at this level against the younger guys.â€
The World XV is currently in Sun City enjoying a round of golf as well as the sights and sounds of one of South Africa’s biggest tourist attractions. They return to Johannesburg on Thursday for a training session ahead of Saturday’s match.
By Andrew Hollely

35 Comments
31 May 2006, 10:11 am
Fleckie is a LEGEND!!!
31 May 2006, 10:14 am
Pity it is not the best “rest of the world team”…Bob…
31 May 2006, 10:21 am
This is more of a “hasbeen” team than a world team!! They could play in the golden oldie league. Lol. And still they might beat the Bokke come Saterday.
31 May 2006, 10:27 am
For us to “plat” south africa. WTF does that mean Andrew???
31 May 2006, 10:27 am
Not really. While all the major nations are gearing up for internationals the current young stars would need to leave their national setup. This aint gonna happen. This is a far bbetter team than many a barbarian team. Not dissapointed. Many of these guys have troubled the best of the boks in the not too distant past.
Watch Joe Roff put a couple past us !
31 May 2006, 10:29 am
Ja King Paul and you might one day learn to spell the queens english, it is spelt Saturday you doos!!!
31 May 2006, 10:30 am
Hey julle dom poepolle!!
Hoe gaan dit vanoggend?
Hey you dumb Fartasses!!
How are you all doin this morning?
31 May 2006, 10:39 am
Old Bob knows that when he whips the boks on Saturday that Jake will say that it wasn’t his best team and blah blah blah. Jake always has excuses for everything.
31 May 2006, 10:47 am
Cape – forgive andrew – he is drugged up to the hilt on flu medicine…
31 May 2006, 10:47 am
and the aggresiveness cape shark?
31 May 2006, 10:54 am
dwyer is playing mindgames again. he’s trying to get into the heads of the guys. trying to tell them that they are jw’s next best players and that they will always be seen as 2nd stringers no matter what they do.
31 May 2006, 10:59 am
Bob has almost summed it up in a sentence.
Since the game went professional it is a recurring theme on Bok rugby. Just when are the Boks ever going to field a decent team again? Its been over 10 years.
31 May 2006, 11:09 am
St Mich
youre a joke
31 May 2006, 11:18 am
ST MTCH
For a country fielding a non-decent team we did pretty well to get to the number 2 spot in the rankings don’t ya think.
31 May 2006, 11:22 am
If it’s any consolation, Bob, your horde of barbarians will still get snotted this weekend regardless of whether our first choice players are out injured. Tricky Ricky to make Marshall look like a journeyman.
31 May 2006, 11:26 am
St Mic – considering where the English are languishing on the world rankings at present, imagine where you would have been with injuries to a dozen or so key players. Struggling to stay ahead of Italy, methinks.
31 May 2006, 11:57 am
katman – they struggled to beat Italy, lost to Scotland, lost to Ireland and got caned by France; with that sort of record, one would think the best option would be silence.
31 May 2006, 12:08 pm
Yep Cab, silence from his corner would be nice, wouldn’t it?
31 May 2006, 12:21 pm
katman, i’m waiting for all the praise to be heaped on the boks, since he keeps telling us he is a big bok supporter.
31 May 2006, 12:30 pm
Where can i see the world XV team?????
31 May 2006, 12:39 pm
tompig – not sure that a starting 15 has been announced……squad is available – do a search on the left
31 May 2006, 12:39 pm
Yes, I bet he’s a big supporter. Probably about 120kg of couch-blubber.
31 May 2006, 12:40 pm
tompig – http://www.keo.co.za/2006/05/31/visagie-starts-against-boks/
31 May 2006, 12:46 pm
no, he is quick to tell us that he has played sport at the highest level, but retiscent to specify which sport.
31 May 2006, 13:00 pm
My guess is darts. And by “highest level” he means completely ratfaced on Bacardi and Coke.
31 May 2006, 13:03 pm
31 May 2006, 14:44 pm
The South African Governments Best XV Springbok Team.
1.Lawrence Sephaka
2.Hanyani Shimange
3.Eddie Andrews
4.Quentin Davids
5. Any whitey with ANC ties.
6.Solly Tyibilika
7.Tim Dlulane
8.Luke Watson
9.Ricky Januarie
10.Meyer Bosman (sounds close enough)
11.Akona Ndungane
12.Wayne Julies ( Captain )
13.Bryan Habana
14.Chavanga
15.Conrad Jantjes
Replacements :
16.Gurthro Steenkamp
17.Kabamba Floors
18.Bolla Conradie
19.Eddie Fredericks
20.Adi Jacobs
21.JP Pietersen
Coached by Chester Williams
Managed by Brian van Rooyen
Springbok name should also be changed to Ama Tsotsi.
Logo changed to the AK-47
New Sponsor will be Lifebuoy soap.
31 May 2006, 14:53 pm
This is a dress rehersal for the Scottish tests.
The world team chilling out playing golf, getting the sights in etc …
Cmon chaps …. this is a laugh of a rugby match.
I will be more excited for Scotland.
31 May 2006, 15:17 pm
will they use the soap as a ball
then they will have no excuses for dropped passes
how you brickwall
31 May 2006, 15:29 pm
This match doesn’t mean much, but I’m looking forward to seeing Snyman in action.
StMichael used to play Jukskei I think.
31 May 2006, 23:07 pm
Still havent heard from Bob regards my £40 refund from Sat.
1 Jun 2006, 01:41 am
at least the boks can still play in green and gold,only cos ANC have those colours too lol
1 Jun 2006, 11:29 am
Jake_White. **** YOU YOU RACIST SON OF A *****!!!!!!!!!
1 Jun 2006, 12:45 pm
Jake_White,
Why not become a Springbok selector, must say that the team that you have selected could beat the current Springbok team on any given day….
1 Jun 2006, 12:48 pm
Jake_White,
Rather ad Wayne Van Heerden @ 5 and Ismaeel Dollie @ 10…