Bob’s Bok disappointment

World XV coach Bob Dwyer has expressed regret that his team will not be facing a full-strength Springbok XV on Saturday.

He did concede, however, that despite a slew of injuries to key Bok players the team announced by Jake White was filled with talented players.

“I’m a bit disappointed for the injured Boks that will miss out on the game. We would have liked to have played against the best possible team,” Dwyer said.

“But given the squad that Jake put together any 22 would be worthy of a Springbok jersey. You also have to be capable of proving your depth and this is an ideal opportunity. That said, I’m sorry they are missing certain guys.”

Dwyer was probably referring to the likes of stars such as Os du Randt, John Smit, Victor Matfield, Bakkies Botha, Schalk Burger, Andre Pretorius and Bryan Habana. All those players would, if fit, be picked in White’s strongest possible squad.

World XV captain, Justin Marshall, has had many classic tussles with the Boks as All Black scrumhalf and is relishing the prospect of locking horns for one last fling.

“Our team is totally filled with international quality players and for us to play South Africa is good. I’m personally really looking forward to it.”

“It is a great opportunity for us to see whether we can still compete at this level against the younger guys.”

The World XV is currently in Sun City enjoying a round of golf as well as the sights and sounds of one of South Africa’s biggest tourist attractions. They return to Johannesburg on Thursday for a training session ahead of Saturday’s match.

By Andrew Hollely

35 Comments

• 1.wpw: Reply to this comment

Fleckie is a LEGEND!!!

• 2.Swapo: Reply to this comment

Pity it is not the best “rest of the world team”…Bob…

• 3.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

This is more of a “hasbeen” team than a world team!! They could play in the golden oldie league. Lol. And still they might beat the Bokke come Saterday.

• 4.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

For us to “plat” south africa. WTF does that mean Andrew???

• 5.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Not really. While all the major nations are gearing up for internationals the current young stars would need to leave their national setup. This aint gonna happen. This is a far bbetter team than many a barbarian team. Not dissapointed. Many of these guys have troubled the best of the boks in the not too distant past.
    Watch Joe Roff put a couple past us !

• 6.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Ja King Paul and you might one day learn to spell the queens english, it is spelt Saturday you doos!!!

• 7.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

Hey julle dom poepolle!!

Hoe gaan dit vanoggend?

Hey you dumb Fartasses!!

How are you all doin this morning?

• 8.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

Old Bob knows that when he whips the boks on Saturday that Jake will say that it wasn’t his best team and blah blah blah. Jake always has excuses for everything.

• 9.Ig: Reply to this comment

Cape – forgive andrew – he is drugged up to the hilt on flu medicine…

• 10.yoda: Reply to this comment

and the aggresiveness cape shark?

• 11.asha1: Reply to this comment

dwyer is playing mindgames again. he’s trying to get into the heads of the guys. trying to tell them that they are jw’s next best players and that they will always be seen as 2nd stringers no matter what they do.

• 12.StMichel: Reply to this comment

Bob has almost summed it up in a sentence.

Since the game went professional it is a recurring theme on Bok rugby. Just when are the Boks ever going to field a decent team again? Its been over 10 years.

• 13.yoda: Reply to this comment

St Mich

youre a joke

• 14.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

ST MTCH

For a country fielding a non-decent team we did pretty well to get to the number 2 spot in the rankings don’t ya think.

• 15.katman: Reply to this comment

If it’s any consolation, Bob, your horde of barbarians will still get snotted this weekend regardless of whether our first choice players are out injured. Tricky Ricky to make Marshall look like a journeyman.

• 16.katman: Reply to this comment

St Mic – considering where the English are languishing on the world rankings at present, imagine where you would have been with injuries to a dozen or so key players. Struggling to stay ahead of Italy, methinks.

• 17.cab: Reply to this comment

katman – they struggled to beat Italy, lost to Scotland, lost to Ireland and got caned by France; with that sort of record, one would think the best option would be silence.

• 18.katman: Reply to this comment

Yep Cab, silence from his corner would be nice, wouldn’t it?

• 19.cab: Reply to this comment

katman, i’m waiting for all the praise to be heaped on the boks, since he keeps telling us he is a big bok supporter.

• 20.tompig: Reply to this comment

Where can i see the world XV team?????

• 21.Ig: Reply to this comment

tompig – not sure that a starting 15 has been announced……squad is available – do a search on the left

• 22.katman: Reply to this comment

Yes, I bet he’s a big supporter. Probably about 120kg of couch-blubber.

• 23.Ig: Reply to this comment

tompig – http://www.keo.co.za/2006/05/31/visagie-starts-against-boks/

• 24.cab: Reply to this comment

no, he is quick to tell us that he has played sport at the highest level, but retiscent to specify which sport.

• 25.katman: Reply to this comment

My guess is darts. And by “highest level” he means completely ratfaced on Bacardi and Coke.

• 26.cab: Reply to this comment

• 27.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

The South African Governments Best XV Springbok Team.

1.Lawrence Sephaka
    2.Hanyani Shimange
    3.Eddie Andrews
    4.Quentin Davids
    5. Any whitey with ANC ties.
    6.Solly Tyibilika
    7.Tim Dlulane
    8.Luke Watson

9.Ricky Januarie
    10.Meyer Bosman (sounds close enough)
    11.Akona Ndungane
    12.Wayne Julies ( Captain )
    13.Bryan Habana
    14.Chavanga
    15.Conrad Jantjes

Replacements :
    16.Gurthro Steenkamp
    17.Kabamba Floors
    18.Bolla Conradie
    19.Eddie Fredericks
    20.Adi Jacobs
    21.JP Pietersen

Coached by Chester Williams
    Managed by Brian van Rooyen

Springbok name should also be changed to Ama Tsotsi.

Logo changed to the AK-47

New Sponsor will be Lifebuoy soap.

• 28.snoop: Reply to this comment

This is a dress rehersal for the Scottish tests.

The world team chilling out playing golf, getting the sights in etc …

Cmon chaps …. this is a laugh of a rugby match.

I will be more excited for Scotland.

• 29.norman: Reply to this comment

will they use the soap as a ball
    then they will have no excuses for dropped passes
    how you brickwall

• 30.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

This match doesn’t mean much, but I’m looking forward to seeing Snyman in action.

StMichael used to play Jukskei I think.

• 31.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

Still havent heard from Bob regards my £40 refund from Sat.

• 32.wpforever: Reply to this comment

at least the boks can still play in green and gold,only cos ANC have those colours too lol

• 33.Veii: Reply to this comment

Jake_White. **** YOU YOU RACIST SON OF A *****!!!!!!!!!

• 34.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Jake_White,

Why not become a Springbok selector, must say that the team that you have selected could beat the current Springbok team on any given day….

• 35.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Jake_White,

Rather ad Wayne Van Heerden @ 5 and Ismaeel Dollie @ 10…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.