Ollie backs the champs

Veteran prop Ollie Le Roux is enthusiastic about the Cheetahs chances of winning two Currie Cups in a row, despite their mediocre Super 14 campaign.

The Cheetahs started promisingly in the regional tournament, but finished poorly, losing to the Blues and Force at home. Many said the Bloemfontein franchise could not be expected to do well as newcomers to the competition, but others were disappointed with their performance, as they are currently the champions of South African rugby.

Le Roux told keo.co.za that no one will be resting on their laurels in the 2006 Currie Cup.

“The past is the past,” he said when asked about their current Currie Cup champion status. “The only pressure to retain the trophy is the pressure we place on ourselves.

“The Super 14 was good for us in that we really developed as a team. Except for the Bulls, we beat the other three South Africa sides. That gave us a lot of confidence and shows our capabilities of winning the competition again.”

The reintroduction of the strength versus strength structure is something that a competitive player like Le Roux has been looking forward to and he describes it as being a “more complete” competition.

“It brings out the best in the players and also brings back the idea of honour to the Currie Cup. It brings pride back into the competition when there are only a limited number of teams, as players now have to fight for the chance to play Currie Cup rugby.”

On his own game and contribution, Le Roux, is equally enthusiastic. “Even at this age, I am still learning.”

He laughs off suggestions of retirement, stating that he will probably be 40 by the time he calls it a day.

“They can’t get rid of me that easily,” he chirps. “I still have a lot of goals to achieve, like 100 Super Rugby games and 400 first-class games. And we know how things can change if a new Springbok coach comes along. I still have a lot to offer.”

By Jon Cardinelli

48 Comments

• 1.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Enter the Dragoon :mrgreen:

• 2.Brickwall: Reply to this comment

What this Dragon all about?

• 3.cab: Reply to this comment

i wonder if ollie and the cheetahs will give the bulle another PK in the CC this year? Will he light up that delightful cigar afterwards?

• 4.CGKM: Reply to this comment

cab, you mean like the on the Bulls gave them at the start of the S14

• 5.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Can I enter as feisty 5?

• 6.cab: Reply to this comment

ya like that. lol.

• 7.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Who cares …. Cheatahs didnt deserve it ermmm. Kaplan did.

• 8.capebull: Reply to this comment

Ollie has retired last year already.

• 9.Swapo: Reply to this comment

Another masterpiece by JC…

• 10.tackler_of_note: Reply to this comment

Hey STUPIDMONKEY how you doin?

• 11.big g: Reply to this comment

who cares what ollieburger think anyho… his opinion is like his weight, a jke of note… he comes to the 1st scrum after 3min and is already heaving and panting, WE or at least I then DONT CARE WHAT OLLIE THINKS!!!

• 12.bigg: Reply to this comment

Ollie should be with the boks!

• 13.tompig: Reply to this comment

Burger boy talks about possibilities with new Bok coach, did he and Jake have a fall out???

• 14.big g: Reply to this comment

ollie should ne where?!?! ollie should be carrying their bags maybe, if he is lucky, but he will probably be too slow with that to…

• 15.big g: Reply to this comment

no, jake just said, hey spurman, ur way too fat and and outta shape, stop munchin and put some tekkie on road… ollie is surely one of the most useless props at the moment… things change with a new coach for ollie bwahahha hahah ha!!!

• 16.tompig: Reply to this comment

I thought it was a bit too hopeful on burger boy’s side. Where can I get a team list for the wotld XV for Sat????

• 17.spokie: Reply to this comment

the creamcake has spoken!

• 18.min_gepla: Reply to this comment

Die laaste keer toe doe vrystaat n currie cup gewen het was hulle vir jare nerens. Dieselfde gaan weer gebeur!

• 19.JC: Reply to this comment

Swapo great to know i have at least one fan

• 20.cab: Reply to this comment

JC, a good Ollie story never fails to be appreciated by the SA rugby public.

• 21.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Vet Ollie is n has been en hoort in die wereldspan…

• 22.Swapo: Reply to this comment

My pleasure J-Obvious-C!

• 23.Stoffel: Reply to this comment

You guys talk a lot of kak dissing guys like Ollie. Sure he might be past his best now but the oke can still play a good game of rugby, his fitness might not be as good as other players but he’d put most of you guys to shame. It seems once a player hits thirty everyone on here is ready to kak talk them

• 24.yoda: Reply to this comment

ja stoffel, dis als waar, mar dit maak dit nie so dat almal moet stil bly as ou vetgat ollie praat nie jong

• 25.Stormer: Reply to this comment

That’s Ollie the CC Champion to you lot.
    Champion. If he was so kak, then he wouldn’t be the champ would he? Say it with me…. Champion

• 26.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Stormer

So you agree then that all the bulls are champions then! well every single one that played in die three finals from 2002 – 2004?

en stormer, moet nooit weer iets sleg se van n bul nie, bv. JC nie, want onthou hy is n champion!

• 27.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Supa Rugby, PissMonkey and the other Bulls Tossers,

I knew this article would get you guys going even before I read the posts.

You are so predictable, it’s actually pathetic.

• 28.Swapo: Reply to this comment

It’s hunting season Kudu, show your face this side of the river so that I can knock you over…

• 29.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Swapo,

Who says I’m not that side of the river already. You more stupid than I thought.

• 30.Swapo: Reply to this comment

I’ll bet you case of pure german brew that you are not on my side of the river…

• 31.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Swapo, make it Amstel, and I’m in…!

• 32.Swapo: Reply to this comment

OK then, Amstel it is, now show yourself!

• 33.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Didn’t think I’d fall for that, did you, Swapo ?

• 34.Stormer: Reply to this comment

suparugby. No I don’t agree that they ARE champions. They WERE champions. Now they have been dethroned and Cheetahs ARE the champions.

• 35.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Swapo,

can’t wait any longer for your reply, boet….

I’ll be off…. keep the WP flag flying while I’m gone ! ( or at least try ! )

• 36.suparugby: Reply to this comment

the WP *** flag flying

• 37.Viper6: Reply to this comment

LOL does Jake hate Ollie too ?

Now we have a list… Davidson, Watson, Brits and Ollie. Pity Ollie ate too many pies and can’t even make the Cheetahs!

• 38.Swapo: Reply to this comment

The WP flag…never in your life boet!

• 39.tompig: Reply to this comment

Swapo, I’ll help you

WP flag flying

• 40.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Flying out the window…

• 41.tompig: Reply to this comment

Who do you support supa

• 42.madasaScot: Reply to this comment

Swapo,

WP forever, mate! Prosit!

• 43.CGKM: Reply to this comment

Ollie Like Bob Skinstead were great impact players – last 20 min, shouldn’t play a full game.

• 44.folanke: Reply to this comment

Ollie is a champ, just like the whole Freestate team…

• 45.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

Sorry Ollie, but this year it will be the Sharks and the Bulls.

Next year it will be the Bulls and TeamX, the following year the Bulls and TeamY etc, get the picture?

• 46.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

And then it will be back to the late 1990s and early 2000s for the Bulls. Full circle, again and again, remember.

• 47.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Skinstad played many a full game for the Stormers and for the Boks.

• 48.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

The cheetahs won’t even make the semis, Ollie must stop smoking the weed, it is bad for him. The 4 top teams Bulls, Sharks, Lions and Falcons?? Can’t see WP making it unless they do some serious spending and get some decent players before the CC.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.