Bok prop fireworks
1 Jun 2006
The battle between props Deon Carstens and Cobus Visagie promises to produce fireworks on Saturday.
Carstens, back in the green and gold for the first time since his only two Tests in 2002, will be going all out to impress Springok coach Jake White with a commanding performance against the World XV on Saturday.
However, his task is made that much more difficult by the fact that the man directly opposed to him in the scrum, Visagie, is another with lofty Bok ambitions. Visagie has played 29 Tests for South Africa, the last against Argentina in 2003.
Neither man is expected to give an inch. Carstens told Die Volksblad’s, Hendrick Cronje: “I’m really looking forward to this tussle. If you want to wear the Bok jersey, you’ve got to be able to stand firm against someone like Cobus. There’re few tightheads in the world with the same class as Cobus.”
Carstens chance has come after injuries to first-choice looseheads, Os du Randt and Gurthro Steenkamp and he believes a good display against Visagie would go a long way to helping him realise his World Cup dream.
“There will always be competition for inclusion in the Bok squad, but I try not to think of it. I’m going to do my best and hopefully show that I can do what’s expected of me. It’s going to be a tough encounter, but I believe it will be a good experience,” he told the newspaper.
“It will be the first time that I’ve scrummed against Cobus, because I only started playing loosehead this year. I played tighthead (when Visagie was the opposing No 3). With Cobus in the engine room, you know your opponents will have a good scrum.”
“I’ve spoken to Os about Cobus, because he’s often scrummed against him and we’ve come up with a few plans that will hopefully work,” he added.

20 Comments
1 Jun 2006, 08:11 am
scootbok is a DRAGON!!!
1 Jun 2006, 08:26 am
I still rate Piet Bester
1 Jun 2006, 08:28 am
Deon gaan poep
1 Jun 2006, 08:33 am
Jannie Breedt should also still be in the mix. He is still better than Big Joe.
1 Jun 2006, 08:45 am
Koos, now I did laught at that I must admit, it actually had some purpose.
1 Jun 2006, 08:49 am
Visagie is going to kill Carstens, I hope the sharks will then sht up about their wonderboy Carstens.
1 Jun 2006, 08:53 am
I would’ve love to see a three match trial game with the following teams involved (when everybody’s fit!!):
15.) Percy Montgomery
14.) Ashwin Willemse
13.) Jacque Fourie
12.) Jean de Villiers
11.) Bryan Habana
10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen
9.) Ruan Pienaar
8.) AJ Venter
7.) Juan Smith
6.) Schalk Burger
5.) Victor Matfield
4.) Bakkies Botha
3.) CJ van der Linde
2.) John Smith
1.) Guthro Steenkamp
15.) Brent Russel
14.) Tonderai Chavanga
13.) Andre Snyman
12.) Wynand Olivier
11.) Akona Ndungane
10.) Meyer Bosman
9.) Fourie du Preez
8.) Joe van Niekerk
7.) Luke Watson
6.) Pedrie Wannenburg
5.) Selborne Boome
4.) Danie Rossouw
3.) Cobus Visagie
2.) Schalk Brits
1.) Os du Randt
Now that is a game I’d love to pay R250 for!! Wouldn’t you. This is just what I’D like to see.
1 Jun 2006, 08:54 am
Damn, we got some massive forwards. Thing is, who are the most clever among them?
1 Jun 2006, 08:56 am
And before anybody craps on my head, beside CJ, Guthro we don’t have any decent front rowers. Kees is going to destroy all the other guys in the CC mark my words. That was a good buy for the Sharks.
1 Jun 2006, 09:00 am
Didn’t Carstens have his head shoved down his arse the last time he packed down for the Boks? Was it against France? Or England? Also came off the back of some good performances for the Sharks, but then imploded spectacularly in the big league. Hope this isn’t another career-stalling endeavour for him.
1 Jun 2006, 09:06 am
Rugbystudent,
how about this team,
15.)Johan Roets
14.)JP Pietersen
13.)Frikkie Welsh
12.)Andries Strauss
11.)Odwa Ndungane
10.)Willem de Waal
9.)Stefan Basson
8.)Wikus van Heerden
7.)Jacques Botes
6.)Pierre Spies
5.)Johan Ackermann
4.)Francois van Schouwenberg
3.)Marius Hurter
2.)Danie Coetzee
1.)JD Moller
This team would definitely not stand back for any other team, there is 5 to 6 other players that I can also think of.
1 Jun 2006, 09:09 am
Glad you enjoyed it scootbok, had to wait a while before I got that one in
1 Jun 2006, 09:51 am
Cobus Visage… another drug cheat who escaped punishment.
1 Jun 2006, 10:30 am
What they should do is get Andre W*tson to ref this game and it wont matter a jot who props – after all this is the ref that declared UDI and announced (or rather decided) tat the game of rugby should be played with uncontested scrums in the biggest game of them all.
1 Jun 2006, 10:40 am
should be a good matchup, Visagie is still a helluva force and Carsten has been in good form.
1 Jun 2006, 11:02 am
seamus. Visagie did not use drugs. He was banned unfairly for three years. If you know anything about lactick acids that build up in your body when you have been runing or playing hard and in hot conditions, and that they are excreated thru urination, you would know that it is posible that they cought the lactick acids and thought it was drugs. And if you watched your rugby enough you would know that they cut his suspension becouse they found out after three years that he was inocent. He came off the bench and scrummed the living **** out of Carl Hoeft.
1 Jun 2006, 11:10 am
I dont think Deon Carstens stands a chance against Cobus Visagie. He was in fine form in the S14 but I still think Visagie is going to out scrum Deon Carstens.
I also think that Gurthro Steenkamp and C.J v/d Linde dont have it in them to be the S.A props come the world cup. Those of us who watched the 1999 world cup will remember the demage Visagie and Du Randt coused during that WC. They were rated the best front row in the world that year. And I think that if Jake will put them together at the world cup they will be the best front row again.
1 Jun 2006, 11:12 am
Veii, agree imagine a front row of Os and Visagie, yoh, big kak.
1 Jun 2006, 14:15 pm
Amazing how everybody seems to acknowledge that Visagie is the best SA tighthead and yet he was left in Watford while Danie Coetzee (only cracked selection 8 times this year) was brought back into the fold. A frontrow of Cobus, Smit and Os/Gurthro would even make the Argentines think a little.
1 Jun 2006, 15:24 pm
Let’s hope Carstens has learn’t how to scrum after his last test match performance in 2002 when he and Wessel Roux were severely shown up by the English pack and smashed and Twickers.