Fans’ no-show for Boks

The Springboks could open the international season in front of a half empty stadium on Saturday.

This embarrassing scenario is a distinct possibility after Ellis Park officials confirmed that sale of tickets had been “far worse than expected.”

By late on Thursday afternoon less than half of the tickets for the Springbok XV v World XV match at Ellis Park had been sold. Usually at this stage – approximately 48 hours before kick-off – of the build-up to a real Test match, Ellis Park officials are preparing to put up the “Sold Out” sign.

Instead less than 30,000 tickets for the 65,000 capacity stadium have been sold. Ticket prices range from R250 to R300 each. Scholars get a special price of R100 per ticket. But clearly the fans are not happy with these prices for a match missing many first-choice Boks, while the World XV have some excellent players, but most are well past their prime.

“The ticket sales are not going as well as we would have liked,” said Golden Lions Rugby Union’s commercial manager Andre Homan. “We have sold around 30,000, and usually for matches involving the Boks we sell out by the Friday or early on Saturday morning.

Homan said he was expecting a late rush and hoped to have at least 45,000 people in the stadium by the 3pm kick-off on Saturday. “Our initial aim was a minimum of 45,000 and hopefully we can still achieve that.”

The ticket prices were decided by the South African Rugby Players’ Association (SARPA), who have already acted to public lethargy by reducing the cost of scholars tickets from R250 to R100 behind the poles.

The proceeds from the match are to go to SARPA (70%) and SA Rugby (30%). SARPA will use their portion to fund projects in the coming montha that will benefit the players in the long run.

Tickets are available from any moneymarket counter at Shoprite/Checkers stores countrywide or at shoprite.co.za.

By Andrew Hollely

179 Comments

• 1.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

None of you fairies can make a stupid comment now.

• 2.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Yippee – First!

• 3.Mongril: Reply to this comment

damn..

• 4.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

The Lions Sales and Marketing team…like their rugby team…..are kak.

• 5.cab: Reply to this comment

this is a poor show, i’d definitely go along to this one if back home. some big stars.

• 6.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

5th

• 7.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

tickets overpriced thats all

• 8.wild-africa: Reply to this comment

That is cheap for rugby tickets, it’s got to be rich jo’burg people who doesn’t want to dish up! Even if it isn’t a test, they still deserve the support. Try living in Dublin, then you can complain about ticket prices….

• 9.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

oh no

• 10.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Andrew, any idea what these long-term projects for the players are. Seems to me its gravy train stuff again.

Im not surpirsed ticket sales are slow – the tickets are damn expensive and its effectively a second string bok side and a second string world side.

At some point the fat cats have got to start realising that the average guy in the street cant afford to take his family to the rugger anymore.

So much for the development of the game – you’re basically pricing rugby out of the hands of the majority of the population.

Seems rugby is still the game of the rich and elite.

• 11.big g: Reply to this comment

DRAGONS… he he & of them…

• 12.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

its overpriced ……. where must a scholar get r250 bucks from? No wonder soccer stadiums always packed tickets about r50

• 13.MikeJ: Reply to this comment

I wasn’t even planning on watching this, never mind showing up.

• 14.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

More like R10 for a big pirates or chiefs game drunkmonkey

• 15.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

i vote tickets over priced!!!

• 16.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

SA Rugby is delusional if they think fans will put up with this **** forever.

• 17.Ig: Reply to this comment

Tickets should be no more than R 70 Bucks….you get enough from endorsements, kit sponsors, car sponsors, clothing sponsors, foot wear sponsors etc etc

• 18.MikeJ: Reply to this comment

The tickets are overpriced and Ellis Park is a nightmare to get to. The Lions sales and marketing team needs to pull finger if they expect crowds.

• 19.bylies: Reply to this comment

I just think that because it is not really a test as such…the guys would rather watch it in a pub or at home.
    I must say though the tickets are a bit expensive.

• 20.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Agreed Ig – R70 is more than enough and is reasonable for an afternoons entertainment.

• 21.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – Sarpa wish to fall in line with the rest of the world’s players’ bodies. They want to prepare the player for life after rugby. Skills in that regard and other basic skills such as computer literacy.

Remember some of these guys finished school and have done nothing but play rugby since so Sarpa are trying to educate them with courses and so on. And this will help, apparently.

• 22.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

andrew i will remember that when one of them fly past me in there new bmw sports car… while my car just .. just make 100km/h hehehe

• 23.bigg: Reply to this comment

Agree with you Vinnie – I bought tickets for the French test at Newlands for R150.00 each. They have demolished the standing room on the grandstand side and made it seating for R150.00, which is reasonable. The rest of the seats on the grandstand, railway stand, Danie Craven & Jan Pickard stands are R350.00.

Jake don’t call them greedy or you might end up in France!!!

• 24.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Cheap skates! Maybe R200 for regular tickets, and R50 for kids…

Can’t really go lower than that (compare to music concert tickets – R500 and up).

Each city only has 1/2 bok games a year. You can cough a bit to go to one.

• 25.Andrew: Reply to this comment

I think they may have got greedy in pricing the match. Sure 300 bucks for a T-N Boks v NZ is only almost acceptable, so how they think R300 for Boks B v Golden Oldies is ok, is beyond me.

Maybe R150 and R70 school kids? Spoke to one of the Bok players today and he was a bit shocked to hear it was only half full.

This will be big reality check…

• 26.mossel: Reply to this comment

I like to think the stadium is half full…

• 27.bylies: Reply to this comment

We got an offer from one of our clients …tickets for R85 rand. They only had a hundred…were all gone in about 15 minutes.

• 28.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Funny that Andrew – did somebody pay for you to learn your trade? Nobody except my folks helped me.

Surely when you’re taking your million bucks a year you can afford to put yourself though a computer course?

So what you’re saying is those fans going to watch Saturdays game are not only paying the players million rand salaries but also for their computer studies? Thats the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever heard.
    95% of the fans going to watch dont see a quarter of what these guys take.

I’m telling you SA Rugby is going to force their fans, esp the younger one, to find other ways of amusing themselves.

Why is a whole day at the cricket only like a hundred bucks?

• 29.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Die mense wil nie kaartjies koop nie want hulle dink seker dis nogsteeds die Cats wat daar speel…

• 30.banana boy: Reply to this comment

way overpriced for SA,
    Tickets in the UK are a lot more expensive though(if you can ever get hold of them) ;)

But agreed for SA this is too much, especially for the the type of game it is…..

• 31.Andrew: Reply to this comment

mossel – :mrgreen: Great chirp re 26!!

• 32.MikeJ: Reply to this comment

These players need to grow up and stop being spoonfed are they not capeable of thinking they may need some career in the future?

What’s wrong with studying by corrospondence? I and hundreds of thousands of others do it despite having full time jobs.

• 33.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I went to watch England versus the Baabaas last year at Twickers and that wasnt even this expensive. And believe you me everything is double in the UK.

• 34.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

rather buy a good bottle of wine and watch the game @ home!!

Ellis park is trying to make up for loss of ticket sales during a dysmal S14

• 35.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Vinnie, no I paid.

Good point. Why the hell shoul Joe Public pay for a Bok, who earns 50k a month, to learn to type?!?

• 36.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Let me guess though brains_trust – the game is only on Mnet?

So 70% of the population cant even watch it.
    Maybe parliament should be asking these questions instead of quizzing Jake on his selections.

• 37.mossel: Reply to this comment

they charge these prices because the can- tickets sales will probably increase before the game and then they got away with it.

• 38.MikeJ: Reply to this comment

mosssel or twice the size it needs to be?

• 39.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Ja mossel that as one of the better chirps you hear from this site…

• 40.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Andrew (21)

“..and other basic skills such as computer literacy.” Sarpa gaan maar sukkel met De Wet Barry….

• 41.bylies: Reply to this comment

So what you guys reckon the score is gonna be?

• 42.Skim: Reply to this comment

• 43.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Stop complaining about ticket prices guys , you all go and buy dop weekends even if the price go up by R50 hahaha

No realy it’s to expensive

Think it’s going to happen during the CC aswell

• 44.Simon: Reply to this comment

You can’t charge these prices for a non-Test match.

• 45.norman: Reply to this comment

i agree with vinnie
    tickets are hopelessly overpriced and on top of it to have been charging scolars 250 rand to sit behind the posts is a disgrace
    how can you build a game with those exorbitant prices
    and the players association is a waste of time
    the players make far more than they deserve and as long as the gullible public continue with this type of support so long the unions will take advantage
    i bet not many people could name more than 5 world players participating
    all money making ,nothing else
    same in cape town with the exorbitant prices to view has beens And season ticket holders got preferetial bookings Magnanimous gesture on the unions side

• 46.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

So Andrew,

Out of the R250 the ticket price is only actually R75 and the other R175 is to pay more the secretary classes the players are supposedly taking?

Its a disgrace. At R75 a ticket you could still fill half the stadium with youngsters and drum up interest in the game.
    At R250 you get no youngsters and a stadium full of businessmen who take out clients.

• 47.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Boks by 13

• 48.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Its all about the money ta..dum..dum.

I would say s.a rugby only drop money when they need some publicity otherwise they all getting rich these fat cats.

• 49.Viper6: Reply to this comment

They should pay us to watch the bumbling Boks.

• 50.mossel: Reply to this comment

we love rugby too much and end up paying ridicilous prices for these games. the professional era cashes in on fans

• 51.Skim: Reply to this comment

Boks 36 – 21 World XV

• 52.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Rude – and then some!!

Vinnie 46 – spot on!

• 53.bylies: Reply to this comment

SA 36 – World 28

• 54.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Bring the game to Newlands, it will be full even if it’s raining!! Ellis Park is never full!!!!

• 55.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

If its not a test are the players still taking test salaries? You bet your *** they are.

• 56.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

if you don’t hv DSTV or M-NET – just go down to your local pub and watch in there. Problem solved.

OR; visit a mate with DSTV.

Just don’t pay the stoooopidy high ticket prices!!!

• 57.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Sien die meeste mense dink die Sharkies gaan die ccup vat. Weet darem nie, hulle het kon net Cats en Stormers wen is s14 van SA spanne. Wie is ou wat dink die Valke gaan wen? Naas, is jy hier?

• 58.Skim: Reply to this comment

Stoooopidy. Hahahaha.

• 59.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Yeah brains_trust – but if you’re a young boy living in a shanty town thats not really an option.
    So what do you do? Watch the Chiefs Sundowns game or soemthing and this kid is lost to rugby forever. No matter that he was the next Ndungane or Tjibilika.

• 60.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

great post 59

i must also add tv shows soccer games and not the rugby games.

• 61.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – who wants to be the next Tjibilika??!

We don’t even have one now!

• 62.Skim: Reply to this comment

Im sure SABC will show the game on Thursday night or something.

• 63.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

well i think gov sld think about supplying running water, elec, food & sanitation b4 getting the boks on TV…

• 64.Skim: Reply to this comment

BT, you should get your priorities in order.

• 65.KEA: Reply to this comment

So if I go and watch it’s going to cost me R500, because the handbrake will want to go aswell.

• 66.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

its very noble to be PC and take a liberal stance but in the greater scheme of things watching a game of rugby is secondary..

• 67.mossel: Reply to this comment

yeah skim- “delayed live” coverage!

• 68.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

KEA – ‘handbrake’ – nice one. i can feel the love there.

• 69.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

yes bt get your priorities right.

why show cricket and soccer but no rugby? They force us to go out and drink @ the pubs and this force us to break the law by drinking and driving.

• 70.Skim: Reply to this comment

The government can be so cruel.

• 71.yoda: Reply to this comment

haha KEA(65)

• 72.suparugby: Reply to this comment

KEA

Maak net haar ketting korter…

• 73.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

No BT – how do you compare supplying running water to flipping a switch and televising a game?
    Surely its easier to flip a switch and the two are mutually exclusive anyway.

It could be so easy to televise a game but they dont.

• 74.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

redirection:

Did Jake White ever play rugga?

If yes, what position did he play?

• 75.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Come on okes. DSTV is not so expensive anymore.

• 76.Skim: Reply to this comment

• 77.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

And by the way – a tv is the first luxury most people in a shanty town buy. They run it off car batteries. Sonder kak boet.

• 78.big g: Reply to this comment

but the re -rebroadcast of day 37 of the zuma trail is way more interesting than a live game people…

• 79.mossel: Reply to this comment

Will this match be on SKY? If not I’ll have to depend on RSG and this site for running commentary again!

• 80.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Hmmmm… I think I might go….

• 81.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

capeflatsboy,

R400 a motnh for dstv is fooking expesnive if you’re living in a shack mate.
    Not everyone is a chartered accountant as you so happily bragged to us the other day.

• 82.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Sky sports 3 at 2 o’clock mossel.

Can you believe it? They hardly show a game in the s14 but then go and show a friendly…

• 83.bliksem: Reply to this comment

dstv has a special on.then you only get access to 16 channels.All channel O and **** like that that no one watches anyway.

• 84.Coach: Reply to this comment

These okes are idiots.
    Why not reduce the price of the ticket, ensure a sell out. You will make the money back on booze and food

• 85.ben: Reply to this comment

Apparantly Jake White used to play for the Jeppe 1st XV…..I think it was at hooker

• 86.Skim: Reply to this comment

Where you at Mossel?

• 87.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

I would argue that the Cats poor performances are affecting the turnout for Bok games at Ellis.

I’d bet that had the game been played at Loftus or Kings Park we’d see a pretty good turnout.

• 88.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ja coach that much has been proven over and over again. That theyre idiots anyway…

• 89.mossel: Reply to this comment

Thanx Vinnie

Damn! Now I’ll have to go to the pub and spend hard earned £££’s

• 90.bliksem: Reply to this comment

part of the proceeds are going to the players fund.stuff those overpayed pansies i reckon.

• 91.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

R400 is a bargain, what the street price of a nicked cell phone these days?

• 92.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Vinnie, take a drive along one of the freeways in CT and u’ll see plenty of satelite dishes amongst those shacks my bru.

• 93.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I think I’m gonna miss it – got the London Sevens at Twickers on Saturday!

• 94.ben: Reply to this comment

Yeah,the game may be on SKY Sports 2 but I dunno if you have checked,but there is a soccer game on at the same time Eng\Jamaica – the only ‘safe’ bet to watch is gonna be somewhere like Zulu’s or Bok Bar in Covent Garden
    Normally I’d hit ‘O Neils in Putney for a rugby game but it might be full of English thugs!

• 95.spokie: Reply to this comment

Is hulle MAL???? Kan jy jou indink jy betaal R300 vir 2 kaartjies op Nuweland teen die Franse,jy reen nat en die bokke verloor in hul kas in…Nee wat hulle kan hulle kaartjies steek waar die son nie skyn nie……….!Lyk my rugby het n sport vir die elite geword en is nie meer vir jan-alleman bedoel nie.

• 96.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

:roll: at CFB.

I never said nobody had it but dont go tell me they’re common place in the majority of Khayelitsha or Cross Roads china.

• 97.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

ok back to the ticket prices ….. i would rather go to pub and watch it. Now if u was a kid would u pay r250 to go watch rugby?

• 98.KEA: Reply to this comment

TV’s a bit difficult to watch in Shanty Town, especially if you’re tapping your electricity from a robot.

• 99.big g: Reply to this comment

• 100.Skim: Reply to this comment

• 101.Skim: Reply to this comment

Hell Yeah!

• 102.big g: Reply to this comment

skim jou peuster…

• 103.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

ben,

Can you read mate? THE RUGBY IS ON SKY SPORTS 3 AT 2 O’CLOCK. Not sky sports 2 or sky sports 1.

Skysports 3 china. I wouldnt have posted it if it were not on.

• 104.Skim: Reply to this comment

Wies die meester?

• 105.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Go to Ivory Park.There’s a dude who is known as Elvis.He has a double story shack which is known as Graceland.Has even been featured on CNN a good couple of years ago.

• 106.Frazer: Reply to this comment

You okes are funny! Everyone’s whinging today. I’m going to go. I don’t care where the money goes. It might be the last time we get to see some of the World team live at Ellis Park. I reckon R 250 or R 300 aint bad at all.

• 107.mossel: Reply to this comment

Skim

In die land van winter, grys en o ja, £.
    Damn football will ruin the rugby season!

• 108.ben: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – I’m not worried about what channel it is on joe,I’m worried about finding a place to watch it without soccer jackasses!

• 109.wls: Reply to this comment

These Dooses dont understand FFKS. The onloy reason i am going is i got some tickets for R150.00 a match like this should be R100.00 per ticket firstly, Secondly have any of the Ellis park morons parked outside of there own stadium?
    its lekker when they have private parking neh,
    IG what ever happened to the ticket results for the competition you put up here?

• 110.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Die Kaapse manne moet maar gaan tickets koop. Kan nie by die huis kyk as die krag dalk afgaan nie…met die Power cuts weet jy nooit!

• 111.big g: Reply to this comment

meester peuster big g for you…

• 112.Skim: Reply to this comment

Mossel
    Ek simpatiseer met jou my friend.

• 113.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

yeah fair enough ben.

• 114.bliksem: Reply to this comment

o ja if you wanna go into ivory park first speak to big joe,he is the local leader last time i was there.

• 115.big g: Reply to this comment

Kaapse manne ha ha ha ha

• 116.squirrel: Reply to this comment

veronderstel ‘n gesin van 4 wil die rugby gaan kyk (pa ma em twee tieners)
    dit gaan hulle dan R800-00 kos
    nee dankie ek kyk liewer by die huis waar ek baie beter kan sien!!!!!!!!

• 117.Frazer: Reply to this comment

wls – That’s what the Park and Ride is for boet….

• 118.zama: Reply to this comment

jake played flyhalf for jeppe boys…

• 119.Staal: Reply to this comment

brains-t (74)

“loose canon”

• 120.ben: Reply to this comment

zama – now ways boet,that oke is way too chubby for a fly-half!

• 121.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Sorry big

Kaapse dames…

• 122.DurbanShark: Reply to this comment

NICK MALLET WAS RIGHT : THE PRICE OF TICKETS IN THIS COUNTRY IS TOO EXPENSIVE. BRING EM DOWN BEFORE A REVOLT STARTS BREWING OVER THE PRICE OF TICKETS!!!!

• 123.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Squirrel – I have a suggestion – Leave the family at home!

• 124.Skim: Reply to this comment

Jake’s not chubby. Is he?

• 125.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Agreed Durbanshark – funny thing is those morons wont realise it unitl it is too late and rugby has lost its fanbase.

• 126.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Jake played lock for Jeppes…and he kicked for post

• 127.zama: Reply to this comment

got that info from a jeppe headboy…
    He to has the school badge on his cheek…
    Amazing

• 128.Andrew: Reply to this comment

It’s gonna be a 3-3 draw.

• 129.big g: Reply to this comment

thanx supa…

• 130.big g: Reply to this comment

jake played goalkeeper..

• 131.mossel: Reply to this comment

Skim
    The place is crazy nowadays- every 2nd pom’s car is adourned with english flags and other **** in anticipation of the WC. Rugby is not really that big over here- if you can’t find a sa pub- it’s up to rsg to keep me informed

• 132.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Jake was Rigby Wing, now he’s left.

• 133.Andrew: Reply to this comment

I mean Right :shock:

• 134.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Its actually quite amusing for some of the poms that we compete so fiercely with them in rugby as most of them couldnt give a **** about rugger anyway.

• 135.zama: Reply to this comment

it’s a pity the poor poms will get knocked out before the 1/4′s…

• 136.Skim: Reply to this comment

Lekker Nicky van der Walt!

• 137.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Like i said zama most of them really couldnt care less about what their rugby side does.

• 138.Frazer: Reply to this comment

mossel – I feel really sorry for you guys in the UK with all the poofball hysteria there. Don’t worry though, they’ll stop talking about poofball alltogether when they make an early exit out of the WC.

• 139.zama: Reply to this comment

i mean soccer worldcup vinnie

• 140.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Oh okay zama. Didnt realise you were referring to that.
    I dunno about that hey. WC’s are funny and they still have a decent side.

• 141.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Jake wing? yeah right…for their tabletennis team

• 142.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I thought Jake was a tailgunner?

• 143.mossel: Reply to this comment

Yeah Frazer- they already have the excuses lined up: ronney injury, coach leaving…etc etc etc

• 144.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Does anyone know what the ticket prices were for the Heineken Cup final cos it sure as hell didn’t put those thousands of fans off.

Our support compared to that Final is pathetic.

• 145.Andrew: Reply to this comment

And he was chess captain.

• 146.yoda: Reply to this comment

And drama captain

• 147.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Cheapest were £25 Dawn.

But that was the Heineken Cup final.
    And tickets are normally ridiculously expensive in the UK because everyone can afford to go.

• 148.suparugby: Reply to this comment

If we beat England in RWC we play wales and then France in Semis. If we lose, Aus and the kiwis waits for us…

• 149.yoda: Reply to this comment

Thats a final of a huge comp. These are 2 second string teams playing, u cant compare….

• 150.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

It shouldnt matter suparugby – to win the world cup you have to be able to beat everybody.

And france is the last tema you want to meet in a knock-out game. Just ask the kiwis.

• 151.katman: Reply to this comment

Let me guess – all of you defending the ticket price are pretty comfortable at home – nice car, DSTV, secure job etc.

In the real world (not the leafy green pretend place where you spend your days) R250 is way too ****** much. No argument.

And don’t compare us to the UK, because there is absolutely no comparison. I’s way easier to spend 25 pounds there than it is to spend R250 here.

This is just greed and a total disregard for the roots of rugby.

As for that **** about SARPA’s career guidance plan for players and sponsoring their courses – I hope that was either a joke or just misinterpreted. If a poor kid from a tough school has to beg for a study loan to further his studies, why on earth should an overpaid rygby player be subsidised? With the fan’s money, nogal. Must be a bullshit story.

• 152.ben: Reply to this comment

Jake White

Jeppe Boys High School 1st XV – Hooker

Jeppe Old Boys Under 20 – Hooker

Johannesburg College of Education 1st XV – Hooker

Founs on the SA Rugby site.

Zama you are crapping on jim!

• 153.suparugby: Reply to this comment

True Vinnie and in front of their home crowd it will be a huge ask…

• 154.yoda: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

Ja in front of their own crowd they’re gonna be tough to beat, maybe its easier playing the ausies and kiwis. You never know though. All 5 top teams have a chance. Cant wait…

• 155.squirrel: Reply to this comment

Frazer
    wil jy nie jou laaities die rugby gaan wys nie?

• 156.Skim: Reply to this comment

• 157.rastafox: Reply to this comment

R250 to R300 buys a months suscription to M-Net and rugby 4 Saturdays a month.Plus travel costs and security concerns about the location and its no wonder.I’d be in a pubb with me mates too!

Besides who can bear to go to the stadium where the Cats play rugby without depression.

• 158.suparugby: Reply to this comment

yoda stop saying what im saying!

• 159.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

My sentiments exactly katman.

And to put £25 in perspective that less than 10 beers in a pub over here…

• 160.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Andrew – could we maybe get a statement form hennie le roux regarding the ticket prices and his justification of it.
    He loves to talk **** and hear his own voice.

• 161.Skim: Reply to this comment

me too.

• 162.saffaukmatt: Reply to this comment

I went to the England vs Barbarians game and had front row seat for 15 pounds, a bargain. Better view than Ellis Park, safer to get to and we had the big screen near us.

• 163.Loucint: Reply to this comment

Shocking prices really, i paid R1400 for 4 tickets to watch Scotland, i mean *Cough* *Cough*
    For 80 mins.. but you can guarantee i’ll be there when the gates open and crawl out when they’re closing :)
    I might even tackle a ref, get my monies worth!!

• 164.katman: Reply to this comment

They had hoped to attract 45 000? Even if 5 000 of those were scholars, they’d still be netting R10.5 mil at the gates. Just how many times are these players going to have to take the same Windows course before they pass?

• 165.yoda: Reply to this comment

sorry supa

• 166.cab: Reply to this comment

vinnie at 134, yes but they’re not proper sportsmen.

besides no-one else can understand why they take soccer so seriously when they get beaten all the time.

• 167.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

lol katman… priceless…

• 168.Skim: Reply to this comment

Cheers guys.

• 169.yoda: Reply to this comment

katman

since SA havent got the cleverest rugby players, I would reckon windows training coarses will take up all of that money in no time

• 170.katman: Reply to this comment

Plus it costs them a new monitor and hard drive every time they ask Pakslae to reboot his computer.

• 171.yoda: Reply to this comment

En hy verdwyn soos die skim…..

• 172.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

Well – supply and demand talks. I dont really give a flying twang what happes between Boks C and Old C%$nts.

If they are serious about getting crowds in, they will reduce the prices.

AS the man said:
    “Bring down the prices, and they will come….”

• 173.katman: Reply to this comment

Good idea to get Hennie le Roux to justify the cost, since SARPA are supposedly getting 70% of the proceeds. Would be interesting to hear his explanation.

• 174.Ig: Reply to this comment

Katman – i asked journos to get on this !

• 175.Quinntessential: Reply to this comment

I think the tickets are way overpriced and the fact that Ellis park sits in a dodgy part of Jo’burg doesn’t help either.

• 176.cab: Reply to this comment

LMAO at 170 … ahaha bwahahaha

• 177.katman: Reply to this comment

Thanks Ig. Maybe he can also be asked to explain their involvement in the players’ life-after-rugby careers. I suspect Andrew hasn’t quite got his head around that.

• 178.katman: Reply to this comment

Cab, it took them an entire semester to convince Pakslae that “hard drive” didn’t refer to the road back to Pretoria after a liquid Saturday night in Brits.

• 179.sarky: Reply to this comment

Like Hennie / SARU, I’ve drawn a blank!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.