Fans’ no-show for Boks

The Springboks could open the international season in front of a half empty stadium on Saturday.

This embarrassing scenario is a distinct possibility after Ellis Park officials confirmed that sale of tickets had been “far worse than expected.”

By late on Thursday afternoon less than half of the tickets for the Springbok XV v World XV match at Ellis Park had been sold. Usually at this stage – approximately 48 hours before kick-off – of the build-up to a real Test match, Ellis Park officials are preparing to put up the “Sold Out” sign.

Instead less than 30,000 tickets for the 65,000 capacity stadium have been sold. Ticket prices range from R250 to R300 each. Scholars get a special price of R100 per ticket. But clearly the fans are not happy with these prices for a match missing many first-choice Boks, while the World XV have some excellent players, but most are well past their prime.

“The ticket sales are not going as well as we would have liked,” said Golden Lions Rugby Union’s commercial manager Andre Homan. “We have sold around 30,000, and usually for matches involving the Boks we sell out by the Friday or early on Saturday morning.

Homan said he was expecting a late rush and hoped to have at least 45,000 people in the stadium by the 3pm kick-off on Saturday. “Our initial aim was a minimum of 45,000 and hopefully we can still achieve that.”

The ticket prices were decided by the South African Rugby Players’ Association (SARPA), who have already acted to public lethargy by reducing the cost of scholars tickets from R250 to R100 behind the poles.

The proceeds from the match are to go to SARPA (70%) and SA Rugby (30%). SARPA will use their portion to fund projects in the coming montha that will benefit the players in the long run.

Tickets are available from any moneymarket counter at Shoprite/Checkers stores countrywide or at shoprite.co.za.

By Andrew Hollely

179 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.Skim: Reply to this comment

Boks 36 – 21 World XV

• 52.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Rude – and then some!!

Vinnie 46 – spot on!

• 53.bylies: Reply to this comment

SA 36 – World 28

• 54.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Bring the game to Newlands, it will be full even if it’s raining!! Ellis Park is never full!!!!

• 55.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

If its not a test are the players still taking test salaries? You bet your *** they are.

• 56.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

if you don’t hv DSTV or M-NET – just go down to your local pub and watch in there. Problem solved.

OR; visit a mate with DSTV.

Just don’t pay the stoooopidy high ticket prices!!!

• 57.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Sien die meeste mense dink die Sharkies gaan die ccup vat. Weet darem nie, hulle het kon net Cats en Stormers wen is s14 van SA spanne. Wie is ou wat dink die Valke gaan wen? Naas, is jy hier?

• 58.Skim: Reply to this comment

Stoooopidy. Hahahaha.

• 59.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Yeah brains_trust – but if you’re a young boy living in a shanty town thats not really an option.
    So what do you do? Watch the Chiefs Sundowns game or soemthing and this kid is lost to rugby forever. No matter that he was the next Ndungane or Tjibilika.

• 60.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

great post 59

i must also add tv shows soccer games and not the rugby games.

• 61.Mongril: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – who wants to be the next Tjibilika??!

We don’t even have one now!

• 62.Skim: Reply to this comment

Im sure SABC will show the game on Thursday night or something.

• 63.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

well i think gov sld think about supplying running water, elec, food & sanitation b4 getting the boks on TV…

• 64.Skim: Reply to this comment

BT, you should get your priorities in order.

• 65.KEA: Reply to this comment

So if I go and watch it’s going to cost me R500, because the handbrake will want to go aswell.

• 66.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

its very noble to be PC and take a liberal stance but in the greater scheme of things watching a game of rugby is secondary..

• 67.mossel: Reply to this comment

yeah skim- “delayed live” coverage!

• 68.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

KEA – ‘handbrake’ – nice one. i can feel the love there.

• 69.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

yes bt get your priorities right.

why show cricket and soccer but no rugby? They force us to go out and drink @ the pubs and this force us to break the law by drinking and driving.

• 70.Skim: Reply to this comment

The government can be so cruel.

• 71.yoda: Reply to this comment

haha KEA(65)

• 72.suparugby: Reply to this comment

KEA

Maak net haar ketting korter…

• 73.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

No BT – how do you compare supplying running water to flipping a switch and televising a game?
    Surely its easier to flip a switch and the two are mutually exclusive anyway.

It could be so easy to televise a game but they dont.

• 74.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

redirection:

Did Jake White ever play rugga?

If yes, what position did he play?

• 75.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Come on okes. DSTV is not so expensive anymore.

• 76.Skim: Reply to this comment

• 77.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

And by the way – a tv is the first luxury most people in a shanty town buy. They run it off car batteries. Sonder kak boet.

• 78.big g: Reply to this comment

but the re -rebroadcast of day 37 of the zuma trail is way more interesting than a live game people…

• 79.mossel: Reply to this comment

Will this match be on SKY? If not I’ll have to depend on RSG and this site for running commentary again!

• 80.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Hmmmm… I think I might go….

• 81.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

capeflatsboy,

R400 a motnh for dstv is fooking expesnive if you’re living in a shack mate.
    Not everyone is a chartered accountant as you so happily bragged to us the other day.

• 82.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Sky sports 3 at 2 o’clock mossel.

Can you believe it? They hardly show a game in the s14 but then go and show a friendly…

• 83.bliksem: Reply to this comment

dstv has a special on.then you only get access to 16 channels.All channel O and **** like that that no one watches anyway.

• 84.Coach: Reply to this comment

These okes are idiots.
    Why not reduce the price of the ticket, ensure a sell out. You will make the money back on booze and food

• 85.ben: Reply to this comment

Apparantly Jake White used to play for the Jeppe 1st XV…..I think it was at hooker

• 86.Skim: Reply to this comment

Where you at Mossel?

• 87.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

I would argue that the Cats poor performances are affecting the turnout for Bok games at Ellis.

I’d bet that had the game been played at Loftus or Kings Park we’d see a pretty good turnout.

• 88.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ja coach that much has been proven over and over again. That theyre idiots anyway…

• 89.mossel: Reply to this comment

Thanx Vinnie

Damn! Now I’ll have to go to the pub and spend hard earned £££’s

• 90.bliksem: Reply to this comment

part of the proceeds are going to the players fund.stuff those overpayed pansies i reckon.

• 91.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

R400 is a bargain, what the street price of a nicked cell phone these days?

• 92.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Vinnie, take a drive along one of the freeways in CT and u’ll see plenty of satelite dishes amongst those shacks my bru.

• 93.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I think I’m gonna miss it – got the London Sevens at Twickers on Saturday!

• 94.ben: Reply to this comment

Yeah,the game may be on SKY Sports 2 but I dunno if you have checked,but there is a soccer game on at the same time Eng\Jamaica – the only ‘safe’ bet to watch is gonna be somewhere like Zulu’s or Bok Bar in Covent Garden
    Normally I’d hit ‘O Neils in Putney for a rugby game but it might be full of English thugs!

• 95.spokie: Reply to this comment

Is hulle MAL???? Kan jy jou indink jy betaal R300 vir 2 kaartjies op Nuweland teen die Franse,jy reen nat en die bokke verloor in hul kas in…Nee wat hulle kan hulle kaartjies steek waar die son nie skyn nie……….!Lyk my rugby het n sport vir die elite geword en is nie meer vir jan-alleman bedoel nie.

• 96.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

:roll: at CFB.

I never said nobody had it but dont go tell me they’re common place in the majority of Khayelitsha or Cross Roads china.

• 97.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

ok back to the ticket prices ….. i would rather go to pub and watch it. Now if u was a kid would u pay r250 to go watch rugby?

• 98.KEA: Reply to this comment

TV’s a bit difficult to watch in Shanty Town, especially if you’re tapping your electricity from a robot.

• 99.big g: Reply to this comment

• 100.Skim: Reply to this comment

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.