Fans’ no-show for Boks

The Springboks could open the international season in front of a half empty stadium on Saturday.

This embarrassing scenario is a distinct possibility after Ellis Park officials confirmed that sale of tickets had been “far worse than expected.”

By late on Thursday afternoon less than half of the tickets for the Springbok XV v World XV match at Ellis Park had been sold. Usually at this stage – approximately 48 hours before kick-off – of the build-up to a real Test match, Ellis Park officials are preparing to put up the “Sold Out” sign.

Instead less than 30,000 tickets for the 65,000 capacity stadium have been sold. Ticket prices range from R250 to R300 each. Scholars get a special price of R100 per ticket. But clearly the fans are not happy with these prices for a match missing many first-choice Boks, while the World XV have some excellent players, but most are well past their prime.

“The ticket sales are not going as well as we would have liked,” said Golden Lions Rugby Union’s commercial manager Andre Homan. “We have sold around 30,000, and usually for matches involving the Boks we sell out by the Friday or early on Saturday morning.

Homan said he was expecting a late rush and hoped to have at least 45,000 people in the stadium by the 3pm kick-off on Saturday. “Our initial aim was a minimum of 45,000 and hopefully we can still achieve that.”

The ticket prices were decided by the South African Rugby Players’ Association (SARPA), who have already acted to public lethargy by reducing the cost of scholars tickets from R250 to R100 behind the poles.

The proceeds from the match are to go to SARPA (70%) and SA Rugby (30%). SARPA will use their portion to fund projects in the coming montha that will benefit the players in the long run.

Tickets are available from any moneymarket counter at Shoprite/Checkers stores countrywide or at shoprite.co.za.

By Andrew Hollely

179 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

• 101.Skim: Reply to this comment

Hell Yeah!

• 102.big g: Reply to this comment

skim jou peuster…

• 103.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

ben,

Can you read mate? THE RUGBY IS ON SKY SPORTS 3 AT 2 O’CLOCK. Not sky sports 2 or sky sports 1.

Skysports 3 china. I wouldnt have posted it if it were not on.

• 104.Skim: Reply to this comment

Wies die meester?

• 105.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Go to Ivory Park.There’s a dude who is known as Elvis.He has a double story shack which is known as Graceland.Has even been featured on CNN a good couple of years ago.

• 106.Frazer: Reply to this comment

You okes are funny! Everyone’s whinging today. I’m going to go. I don’t care where the money goes. It might be the last time we get to see some of the World team live at Ellis Park. I reckon R 250 or R 300 aint bad at all.

• 107.mossel: Reply to this comment

Skim

In die land van winter, grys en o ja, £.
    Damn football will ruin the rugby season!

• 108.ben: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – I’m not worried about what channel it is on joe,I’m worried about finding a place to watch it without soccer jackasses!

• 109.wls: Reply to this comment

These Dooses dont understand FFKS. The onloy reason i am going is i got some tickets for R150.00 a match like this should be R100.00 per ticket firstly, Secondly have any of the Ellis park morons parked outside of there own stadium?
    its lekker when they have private parking neh,
    IG what ever happened to the ticket results for the competition you put up here?

• 110.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Die Kaapse manne moet maar gaan tickets koop. Kan nie by die huis kyk as die krag dalk afgaan nie…met die Power cuts weet jy nooit!

• 111.big g: Reply to this comment

meester peuster big g for you…

• 112.Skim: Reply to this comment

Mossel
    Ek simpatiseer met jou my friend.

• 113.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

yeah fair enough ben.

• 114.bliksem: Reply to this comment

o ja if you wanna go into ivory park first speak to big joe,he is the local leader last time i was there.

• 115.big g: Reply to this comment

Kaapse manne ha ha ha ha

• 116.squirrel: Reply to this comment

veronderstel ‘n gesin van 4 wil die rugby gaan kyk (pa ma em twee tieners)
    dit gaan hulle dan R800-00 kos
    nee dankie ek kyk liewer by die huis waar ek baie beter kan sien!!!!!!!!

• 117.Frazer: Reply to this comment

wls – That’s what the Park and Ride is for boet….

• 118.zama: Reply to this comment

jake played flyhalf for jeppe boys…

• 119.Staal: Reply to this comment

brains-t (74)

“loose canon”

• 120.ben: Reply to this comment

zama – now ways boet,that oke is way too chubby for a fly-half!

• 121.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Sorry big

Kaapse dames…

• 122.DurbanShark: Reply to this comment

NICK MALLET WAS RIGHT : THE PRICE OF TICKETS IN THIS COUNTRY IS TOO EXPENSIVE. BRING EM DOWN BEFORE A REVOLT STARTS BREWING OVER THE PRICE OF TICKETS!!!!

• 123.Frazer: Reply to this comment

Squirrel – I have a suggestion – Leave the family at home!

• 124.Skim: Reply to this comment

Jake’s not chubby. Is he?

• 125.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Agreed Durbanshark – funny thing is those morons wont realise it unitl it is too late and rugby has lost its fanbase.

• 126.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Jake played lock for Jeppes…and he kicked for post

• 127.zama: Reply to this comment

got that info from a jeppe headboy…
    He to has the school badge on his cheek…
    Amazing

• 128.Andrew: Reply to this comment

It’s gonna be a 3-3 draw.

• 129.big g: Reply to this comment

thanx supa…

• 130.big g: Reply to this comment

jake played goalkeeper..

• 131.mossel: Reply to this comment

Skim
    The place is crazy nowadays- every 2nd pom’s car is adourned with english flags and other **** in anticipation of the WC. Rugby is not really that big over here- if you can’t find a sa pub- it’s up to rsg to keep me informed

• 132.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Jake was Rigby Wing, now he’s left.

• 133.Andrew: Reply to this comment

I mean Right :shock:

• 134.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Its actually quite amusing for some of the poms that we compete so fiercely with them in rugby as most of them couldnt give a **** about rugger anyway.

• 135.zama: Reply to this comment

it’s a pity the poor poms will get knocked out before the 1/4′s…

• 136.Skim: Reply to this comment

Lekker Nicky van der Walt!

• 137.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Like i said zama most of them really couldnt care less about what their rugby side does.

• 138.Frazer: Reply to this comment

mossel – I feel really sorry for you guys in the UK with all the poofball hysteria there. Don’t worry though, they’ll stop talking about poofball alltogether when they make an early exit out of the WC.

• 139.zama: Reply to this comment

i mean soccer worldcup vinnie

• 140.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Oh okay zama. Didnt realise you were referring to that.
    I dunno about that hey. WC’s are funny and they still have a decent side.

• 141.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Jake wing? yeah right…for their tabletennis team

• 142.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I thought Jake was a tailgunner?

• 143.mossel: Reply to this comment

Yeah Frazer- they already have the excuses lined up: ronney injury, coach leaving…etc etc etc

• 144.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Does anyone know what the ticket prices were for the Heineken Cup final cos it sure as hell didn’t put those thousands of fans off.

Our support compared to that Final is pathetic.

• 145.Andrew: Reply to this comment

And he was chess captain.

• 146.yoda: Reply to this comment

And drama captain

• 147.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Cheapest were £25 Dawn.

But that was the Heineken Cup final.
    And tickets are normally ridiculously expensive in the UK because everyone can afford to go.

• 148.suparugby: Reply to this comment

If we beat England in RWC we play wales and then France in Semis. If we lose, Aus and the kiwis waits for us…

• 149.yoda: Reply to this comment

Thats a final of a huge comp. These are 2 second string teams playing, u cant compare….

• 150.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

It shouldnt matter suparugby – to win the world cup you have to be able to beat everybody.

And france is the last tema you want to meet in a knock-out game. Just ask the kiwis.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.