Hennie defends ticket prices
1 Jun 2006
SA Rugby Players’ Association president Hennie le Roux does not think the public is being ripped off by high ticket prices for the Springbok–World XV match at Ellis Park.
Less than 30,000 tickets for the 65,000 capacity stadium had been sold by the close of play on Thursday. Ticket prices range from R250 to R300 each, and scholars get a special price of R100 per ticket.
The proceeds from the match are to go to Sarpa (70%) and SA Rugby (30%).
Le Roux told keo.co.za that there was a reduction in the price of tickets from the Test match standard of R350 to R300: a total drop of R50.
“From Sarpa’s perspective, we are under the guidance of SA Rugby and Ellis Park as to what the price of a ticket to this game should be,” he said.
Le Roux tried to justify the amount as fair as hosting a World XV “does not happen every day.”
“The players are of the same calibre as those at Test level and a deduction of the Test match ticket price is fair,” he said.
He added that scholars and students will only need to pay R100 for admission to the stadium.
Le Roux expects a sell out, but a drop of R50 from the Test prices is not going to full up the ground for what is considered by many to be an exhibition match.
By Jon Cardinelli

52 Comments
1 Jun 2006, 16:57 pm
Dragons for all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Only 30000 Dragons ?
Damn…
1 Jun 2006, 16:59 pm
A millisecond to late Rude
1 Jun 2006, 17:01 pm
Of course the ticket prices are fair.
That is why you have a sell out
1 Jun 2006, 17:03 pm
You’re part of the problem Hennie.
Just because the public gets ripped off with the prices of test match tickets doesnt mean you also need to do it, especially as you so emphatically state that you dont need to take guidance from SARU regarding the prices of the tickets.
And thankd for telling us why we need to pay for Pakslae’s Windows course.
1 Jun 2006, 17:08 pm
I think consumer resistance is eventually kicking in.
Its a combination of boring bok rugby and high ticket prices and there is a definite limit as to what people are prepared to pay for it.
1 Jun 2006, 17:09 pm
The price is reasonable because it’s R50 cheaper than a test match? That’s the explanation? Who said the test match prices were anywhere near reasonable?
Oh, and Ellis Park and SA Rugby said so, so it must be okay? Bullshit. These privileged rugby gravy trainers have no desire whatsoever to make the game accessible to the people of SA. And they have no shame about it either.
I say: Let the MP’s take on SA Rugby and transformation in parliament. But instead of taking a swipe at Jake White and team selections, they should grill stadium managment, SA Rugby and the Union bosses about the ridiculous exclusivity of the game.
The game doesn’t belong to the players and coaches anyway. It belongs to the people. Time to take the power back.
1 Jun 2006, 17:10 pm
There is a difference between old test players and test match quality players.
Hennie was never going to admit that the prices were too steep though was he?
1 Jun 2006, 17:11 pm
hmm Hennie is forgeting that we also pay for season tickets (currie + super14), as well as many other events. Some are saving for the big matches (tri-nations) which are going to be played @ loftus. So yes, i would love to go for this match, but those prices do scare me a bit. If i manage i might scrap enough money also for the trinations match in Rustenburg – might be an interesting trip :]
1 Jun 2006, 17:18 pm
Part of the problem is the 2 sides.
Its not a full strength bok team (when has there been one in the last 10 years mind?) and an overhill opposition no doubt living it up in Sun City as we speak.
Its a match without test status for a reason – 150 bucks seems right.
1 Jun 2006, 17:21 pm
Except for the 10 years part this is one fo the only times I’ve ever sat on the same side of the fence as St Mich.
This disgusts me and confirms outside and finally – rugby in SA is a white elitist sport.
1 Jun 2006, 17:23 pm
Vinnie
If that is the case I advise you to stay far away from SA Rugby.
The loss to SA Rugby will be heart felt.
1 Jun 2006, 17:23 pm
The ticket prices are ridiculous. Always have been. Poor Mallett got fired for saying just that!
I say dish them out to the previously disadvantaged under the pretext: “growing the game” or “taking the game to the people”
If some fat ******** complains just tell him it’s affirmative ticketing, so shut up!
1 Jun 2006, 17:28 pm
St Michael – what are you crapping on about now?
You don’t even know what an average salary is in SA for a start or what R300 can buy in South Africa.
As to the chirp about there not being a good Springbok side in the last 10 years……….england are 6th in the world bud – SA are 2nd!
Enjoy “Tour from Hell Part II”!
1 Jun 2006, 17:29 pm
LOL StMichel….
post#5: Agreed, thats obviously why it’s sold out!
1 Jun 2006, 17:30 pm
OH bite me jondood. You didnt even know what a rugby ball looked like before i met you.
1 Jun 2006, 17:32 pm
Vinnie
Lost you handbag again?
1 Jun 2006, 17:34 pm
Where’s Tana Umaga when you need him?
1 Jun 2006, 17:38 pm
Ja left it in your dad’s shop… in the storeroom at the back…
1 Jun 2006, 17:44 pm
30,000 sounds like more than double the normal Ellis Park faithful!
But somehow I can’t see myself paying R 900.00 for a non test. SARU / Hennie are wrong again.
Apart from the silly stir about the low quality Poms sides St M, you’re right – about R 150.00 of course.
They’d probably make more money at R 150.00 a shot with kids at R 75.00 by filling the stadium. Can’t think why it’s not at Loftus, there’s more money in Pretoria. (Tshwane for Vinnie)
1 Jun 2006, 17:47 pm
LOL Ben….
1 Jun 2006, 18:05 pm
Load of bullocks this.
Everything in our rugby is money driven, the fans are starting to wake-up to these fat cats coining it, YOU SHOULD TOO!
It is NOT A TEST MATCH HENNIE, come up with another excuse please.
1 Jun 2006, 18:06 pm
Donner him Vinnie.
1 Jun 2006, 18:18 pm
Not much fun I’m afriad Dawn – he’s swiss and wont fight back.
1 Jun 2006, 18:21 pm
SWISS ??????
1 Jun 2006, 18:28 pm
Ok. I’m slow tonight.
Whatever, when you see him break his nose and say it’s from the toothless slapper.
1 Jun 2006, 18:31 pm
Ja he’s from the land of Cheese, chocolate and fence-sitters.
1 Jun 2006, 18:52 pm
R250 is not a lot of money for a game like this. Try to get a ticket for the NHL here in Canada. It is virtually impossible and if you are one of the lucky few to get a ticket you’ll pay up to $500+ CAD(R3000) for it…
1 Jun 2006, 19:08 pm
ST MICHEL i`ll slap you with my handbag,lol
1 Jun 2006, 19:12 pm
Mallet spoke the truth about prices being ridiculous
1 Jun 2006, 19:41 pm
Polar Lion – I aggree with you – It really isn’t a lot of money.
1 Jun 2006, 19:42 pm
They shouldn’t be playing at Ellis Park anyway. No-one wants to go there. South Africans love rugby because it takes our minds off the shithole that our country has become and gives us something to be proud about.
Ellis Park represents everything bad about SA. You have a greater likelihood of being mugged, raped, carjacked or murdered on your way home, than not.
SARugby should boycott Ellis Park until the Gauteng government cleans up that area, making it a place where all South Africans want to take their kids out to watch the Boks.
1 Jun 2006, 22:10 pm
Yomama you can afford to take your kids – that’s a grand before you even paid R30 for a stale Steers burger!
People should vote with their feet! Spend R350 on having a lekker day at home or the pub.
JD R350 is definatly a lot of money for some (read plenty).
It is time whities started sticking up for eachother and stay away from the game.
Hit them where it hurts.
But fair is fair, Damelin & all the other computer colleges should lower their prices too!
2 Jun 2006, 00:05 am
YoMama and the rest stop whining and get a life. I go to Ellis Park all the time I’ve never so much as seen a car window broken. If leaving your little whitey compound in Boksburg is too scary for you then stay home and watch teletubbies on TV. Its a great stadium and R300 is a fair price to pay.
2 Jun 2006, 07:10 am
It hardly matters what Hennie le Roux thinks one way or the other. If the public think it is good value they will buy tickets. If they think the price is too high, they will not buy them. The Market knows best.
2 Jun 2006, 08:05 am
Once again, all of you upper-middle class white okes claiming that R250 or R300 or R350 is a reasonable price (and read this slowly, because you seem to have a fair amount of trouble grasping it):
YOU DON’T REPRESENT SOUTH AFRICA.
Which means you’re not the average South African with the average income and average South African lifestyle. YOU may be able to easily afford whatever SA Rugby decides to charge. But that doesn’t mean that the rest of the country can share in the game. Which is probably exactly the way you prefer it.
I honestly think many of the people who post here have no clue what goes on in their own country. No clue and no interest.
2 Jun 2006, 08:08 am
SAme price here in NZ 4 the NZ vs Ireland game
2 Jun 2006, 08:18 am
You cannot compare SA’s situation with any other Western country. Everyone mentions the “same or higher” prices in the UK, Canada, NZ – so what? What do people earn there?
What would a match like this cost in Samoa or Fiji?
Do you think it costs the same to watch an England/India cricket test in Bombay as it does in London?
Does a ticket to an international soccer match in Mexico City cost the same as one in Paris?
Of course not.
2 Jun 2006, 08:33 am
R100 is way too much for a lightie to pay to watch a game. Besides, the kids sit in really **** seats – why make them pay so much..!!
The number of kids’ seats is so insignificant that they should pay fifty bucks. Maybe the stadium could give the little okes a free coke too. What the f*&^, man…
2 Jun 2006, 08:34 am
That’s a ripoff. I’ve got tickets to the Aus-SA game that cost me $40-00-the equivalent of R200 on excahnge rate, and R100-00 on buying power!
2 Jun 2006, 09:06 am
Ian
Where you get those tickets.
Bugger that is a good price!
2 Jun 2006, 09:15 am
Great comment katman! Ticket prices are expensive for international test matches. I wonder how much the ticket costs are for a soccer international in S.A (a so called black sport). I’m almost certain that they will be cheaper!
2 Jun 2006, 09:28 am
Around a tenth of the price of a rugby test ticket, rugbyboy. And it’s broadcast free on SABC.
2 Jun 2006, 09:28 am
Hennie praat alweer kak!
2 Jun 2006, 11:06 am
katman post 8 coudnt agree more with you
great piece
prices irrespective of who says what are astronomical and not only for this game
2 Jun 2006, 11:24 am
I see they’ve been giving hundreds of tickets away on the radio.
I would’nt have minded the price so much (although it’s a rip off) It’s where it’s going to that peeves me.
STM, I’m really looking forward to seeing your mickey mouse Pom side get thrashed Again by the Ossies.
2 Jun 2006, 11:33 am
By the way guys. I looked up the prices that the poms paid. It’s pretty much the same. Look at this :
Tickets for the Gartmore Challenge are available from Ticketmaster 0870 902 0000 priced £20/£35 for adults and £5/£15 for children
2 Jun 2006, 11:41 am
Bloubul, see my posts 37 and 39.
25 pounds for a ticket when you live and work in England is nowhere near R250 here in SA. Try not to see it from your perspective, but from the perspective of a guy who lives in Mitchell’s Plain, earns R3 000 a month and would like to take his sons to the game. That’s not going to happen.
Have a look around the stadium on Saturday and tell me you don’t think it’s a little lilly-white.
2 Jun 2006, 12:27 pm
Katman – you’re only partially correct.
Rugby remains a marginal sport in black communities.
Even if you gave the tickets away, along with a burger and coke, you would not pack Ellis Park with 65,000 passionate black supporters.
Rugby is entertainment. The question is, is R300 a fair price for 2 hours of potential excitement and entertainment?
For a game of this nature, I say not.
2 Jun 2006, 13:00 pm
It’s only marginal because it’s inaccessible. Which is how many people prefer it.
2 Jun 2006, 13:41 pm
Katman is right. If you can’t see the games on TV and you can’t afford to even think about going to watch a game, how on earth are you ever going to develop a passion for it? We restrict rugby the rich elite and wonder why it doesn’t have a broader following in the country.
Then they say ” Black people just aren’t interested in rugby “