Look who’s back

Ousted Spears CEO Tony McKeever expects to be back in office by the close of business today.

McKeever is expecting a ruling today on his Grahamstown High Court application and is confident he will be reinstated as boss of the Southern Spears some time today. “From the moment of the ruling it will take effect immediately and I will be able to resume my duties officially,” he told keo.co.za.

McKeever though has not been resting on his laurels during his enforced suspension by his own board – that he claims was a result of strong arm tactics by Sa Rugby.

Instead, McKeever has been in Cape Town fighting the good fight on behalf of the Spears on several fronts as he aims to win them back lucrative spots in the Vodacom Super 14 and Absa Currie Cup competitions.

The shocking news though, according to McKeever, is that neither SA Rugby nor the Spears opposed his urgent application, that would ultimately have resulted in more red tape for the beleaguered CEO.

“There has been no opposition to my application from either the Spears or SA Rugby, which was due by midday on Wednesday. The judge is aware of this and I fully expect to be reinstated immediately,” McKeever said.

McKeever expects his return as the first step in what will ultimately lead to the Southern Spears getting their places in the Super 14 (in 2007 and 2008) and the Currie Cup (2006) back.

The Spears were booted out of the Super 14 last month and on Friday heard they had been chucked out of this years’ Currie Cup in favour of Griquas – who themselves had threatened to take SA Rugby to court.

“The ruling will be a watershed moment which will vindicate the existence of the Spears. And this will come from an independent source,” explained McKeever.

It has been almost a year since SARU authored a document with 21 signatures from the board members that gave the Spears the right to play in both competitions.

“This was then ratified by the SA Rugby board on December 2nd last year. And I know people will say that was the old regime under Brian van Rooyen. But then this was further rubber stamped by SA Rugby’s legal manager Christo Ferreira in writing on March 15,” said McKeever.

“And (current SARU president) Oregan Hoskins confirmed to me on March 30 while in Port Elizabeth that the minutes of that meeting (on March 15) had been approved by the new board.”

While McKeever is confident that he is on the verge of making a breakthrough, one senses this Spears saga is still a long way from being concluded.

By Andrew Hollely

44 Comments

• 1.Koos: Reply to this comment

Speaking of dragons…how much longer do we have to go through all this?

• 2.Koos: Reply to this comment

Right, so can someone explain to me how reinstating McKeever will vindicate the existence of the spears?

Get over yourself mate!

• 3.princess: Reply to this comment

McKeever seems like a total idiot

• 4.bliksem: Reply to this comment

morning princess

• 5.Lawrence of Azania: Reply to this comment

Bliksem, daai laaste post klink nie so goed nie. Ek hoop nie jy is getroud nie.

• 6.Lem: Reply to this comment

The spares are hanging around like a bad smell…

• 7.Staal: Reply to this comment

McKeever = Houdini.

• 8.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

I wish that the spears would pack their suitcases and go and play their rugby in Zim or Kenia, they don’t belong in SA rugby. I can’t even see them beating a Cats 4th team.

• 9.hilke: Reply to this comment

He has a problem,he will not get the working suport from the rugby world no matter the noble intentions.

• 10.kevin w: Reply to this comment

You people are really ******* pathetic!!!

There is finally somebody in SA rugby who is not just sitting on his backside and letting **** decisions by the powers that rule the game unfortunately go uncontested. McKeever has always stuck to his word and put everything into this franchise. We need more people like him and we would maybe not be the laughing stock of world rugby.

It is now clear that he was suspended unfairly at a time when crucial decisions were being made. Makes you think doesn’t it – your type of mentality and that of SA rugby is what sent people to Robben Island a few decades ago. Remove those who speak out against indiscretions!

Go Tony!

• 11.Haymaker: Reply to this comment

Go Spears!

All power to your throwing arm.

May your aim be true!

• 12.David: Reply to this comment

What is amazing is that so many organisations and individuals made financial and career commitments based on the original decisions to award the franchise to the Spears and all SARU can say is “we made a mistake and didn’t think this through”. Somebody needs to be held financially accountable.

• 13.Haymaker: Reply to this comment

Well David.

If SA Rugby committed themselves through till December 2006 to financially support the Spears, let them do so and walk away at the end of the year, instead of now.

This is a job half done and SA Rugby must see it through.

The writing is on the wall.

• 14.welshbok: Reply to this comment

Agree Kevin W

All the allegations that SARU have made against him are still to be proven. If he had been guilty of corporate mismanagement, and they had all the proof of it, surely they would have opposed his appeal in court, and given proof of why he was ‘sacked’, but in stead, they hide like rats.

He has been totaly transparent till now, and they haven’t, hence them not opposing his appeal.

The bottom line is, SARU commited in a legally binding commitment, and on ground of that the Spears got themselves sponsors.

SARU then decided to pull the rugg with unproven allegations, the sponsors get let down massively.

If it didn’t suite SARU, why then did they commit in the first place, and give the Spears the go ahead?

If there is corporate mismanagement as they are claiming, why did SARU only pick it up now anyway. Had they been closely involved and had the spears at heart, they would have seen it soon, and managed the situation accordingly.

It’s a matter of principle, and at last somebody is taking SARU on on their own mismanagement and patheticness and their lies, lies, and more lies.

It’s not BvR or Francois Pienaar that cost us the bid, it’s the KAK organisation of SA Rugby as a whole that gave that bid away…. Thanks to SARU!! (********)

• 15.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Yup,

Smaak my daa is kak in die land van Kanaan.

Saru gets out of one courtcase straight into another.

This should be fun.

• 16.nondoda: Reply to this comment

Go Tony!

• 17.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Oh and as an indication of what this means to the people of the region, a local radio station had a phone in poll and 98% or something stupid like that of people phoning in said they would financially support the Spears if they asked.

• 18.Redox: Reply to this comment

Agree with kevin w Open ur eyes people if tony really was this seriously corrupt official , wouldnt sarfu and the sec executives have opposed the request to have him reinstated unless they dont have a case clearly this is some sort of strong arm tactics from sarfu to avoid a valid legal fight from the spears to be reinstated to the cc and s14. Ultimately though the the fact that the executive members of both the ec,border and swd are also trying to get rid of the spears because they are scared of being thrown off the gravy train which is what will happen if the spears are a success make things difficult. Miraculously sarfu have waived the 4mill (not sure about the exact amount) guarantee required from the ec for hosting the test match this season and right after tony was suspended I wonder why ? :) , If only the board members of all provinces acted in the best interests of sa rugby and their province rather than thinking about themselves sa rugby wouldnt be in the **** they are at the moment. Additionaly sarfu are now acting as if the spears are a badly run organisation because they cant pay their own players but by all accounts the spears agreed on request from sarfu that their sponsorship from vodacom be transferred to the cheetahs if sarfu would cover the finance required for the day to day running of the union , which sarfu obviously havent done.

Go Spears!

• 19.Koos: Reply to this comment

So where are the legal boffins, does he actually have a case at all? Does the Court have authority to reinstate him if a Board suspended him? Lets see how this one pans out…

• 20.Koos: Reply to this comment

On another point, why would saru oppose the application, it was not them that put him on suspension?

Does the spears actually still exists, maybe there was no oposition because none exist!

• 21.Redox: Reply to this comment

Koos,

the board members of the 3 prov unions making up the spears were the ones who decided to suspend him and who should have opposed his reinstatement although sarfu as the national body would be expected to come out and ensure that a supposedly “corrupt” official isnt reinstated. im no legal boffin but if they find that his suspension was without grounds i think they can reinstate him

• 22.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Viva Spears may the dream come true may the eastern cape also become a force.

Spear S.a rugby

• 23.Billy: Reply to this comment

A simple solution would be to make the Cats play the spears at home and away, then the winner would qualify for super14.

• 24.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Koos,

No legal boffin but I will share what I know.

The board suspended McKeever on grounds they alleged included financial mismanagement, and talking to Saru and the media making statements without the board’s approval.

He (Mckeever) then appealed against this so-called suspension and asked to be re-instated as the suspension was not only illegal according to general labour law, but the board actually cannot suspend McKeever and with him not there, the Spears cannot function as there is no-one to run the day-to-day business if McKeever is not there.

He gave them an ultimatum or a date to reverse the ‘illegal’ suspension. They said they were consulting their legal team with regards to this.

Since his suspension Saru not only booted the Spears out of the S14, but also the CC.

Since no-one could oppose these decisions, McKeever was the only one but he was conveniently suspended, McKeever had no choice but to lodge an urgent application to the Grahamstown High Court to immediately re-instate him as Saru is ripping the carpet out from underneath the Spears and he cannot do anything being suspended, convenient hey…

Anyhow, what you also need to remember, being the CEO, he can be held liable for the failure of the Spears to fulfill their obligations to not only the sponsors, but also the public (who bought suites and season tickets etc), employees at the Spears etc etc.

Now with Saru slowly stripping the rights of the Spears all these agreements and commitments the Spears has immediately comes into jeopardy and yet again, there is no-one to oppose Saru or fight back, Mckeever is conveniently suspended.

The application was done on Saturday by Mckeever after last weeks decision to boot the Spears out of the CC, I guess that was simply the last straw for him.

I mean the board was stalling reversing the decision citing the excuse that they are ‘consulting their legal advisors’ as to his re-instatement and while they are stalling, Saru is going ape-**** because no-one can oppose them.

The board, had the opportunity to also file papers with the court since McKeever did to oppose the decision by a judge to re-instate him. Think of it as someone saying you stole my pen, and he writes all the reasons down on paper and gives it to an independant party to read. The accused also has an opportunity to put down on paper the facts proving he did not steal the pen and the independant party (judge) then reads both papers, listens to arguments, and makes a decision.

Now the fact that the board did not submit papers from their side the judge only has Mckeever’s side of the story, or evidence. Obviously the chances are very good he will get re-instated because no-one is arguing his points.

It is because of that people question why the board did not submit an argument if the ‘believed’ his suspension was legal and they had a case.

Is it because the damage perhaps was done, and the suspension, served its purpose?

By removing Mckeever Saru and whoever else had a clear run-in to finally destroy the Spears because no-one could oppose them, the only guy that could, was suspended and not even allowed in the Spears’ offices.

Interesting hey?!

• 25.yoda: Reply to this comment

I still think 6 regions is a good idea, with the kakkest one maing place for the 6th team year after year…

Its bound to lift the intensity. At least(1996)when we used to do it in the old days we looked competitive(2 teams in semis).

But seriously, who knows if SA will ever be good good enough to be truelly competitve in the S14. We can only hope.

• 26.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Pissant
    Do the Spears still exist as an entity.
    If they have been disbanded does and McKeever is successsful would it mean the rebirth of the Spears?
    Whatever one may think of the Spears concept one has to admire this guys tenacity.

• 27.wpw: Reply to this comment

Good point kevin w. What is this world coming to, i’m agreeing with a sharks supporter. :smile:

• 28.wpw: Reply to this comment

Bok coach has his own recipe, says Stofile
    Boyd Webb
    June 01 2006 at 05:59AM

Sports Minister Makhenkesi Stofile has defended national rugby coach Jake White from accusations by African National Congress MPs that he is obstructing transformation in the Springboks.

“The selection of a team in South Africa, especially rugby, is very emotive and not the most objective thing,” said Stofile after his budget vote in the National Assembly, during which ruling party MPs again attacked the Springbok coach.

ANC MP Mgolodi Dikgacwi launched an offensive against the South African Rugby Union and White, accusing them of not using the black stars that came out of the Craven Week school rugby tournament.

“They seem to disappear into thin air,” he said, accusing Saru of not caring where they disappeared to.

“But we as the ANC will close ranks and intensify the manner and approach with which we deal with the challenges and responses to the federations who continue to vilify our government and the successes of our democratic state used as a port by minority groups to disqualify what’s just and fair. Federations need to transform,” Dikgacwi warned.

During the sport and recreation portfolio committee meeting on Monday, Saru president Oregan Hoskins and his provincial presidents also came under fire from Dikgacwi and other ANC MPs for giving White too much power. They did not agree with him having the freedom to choose the national team.

But Stofile said on Wednesday that it was Hoskins’ prerogative to do so even if he (Stofile) himself would not have been so accommodating.

“White has done his bit even if he is not perfect, but then again nobody is perfect this side of the grave,” he said. He believed White had the recipe to enrich the game of rugby by using the country’s diversity.

“Hoskins has confidence in his men and is prepared to put his head on the block,” he said.

• 29.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

“McKeever expects to be back in office by the close of business today”

When most people go to the office in the morning!

Have him up for ‘Break in and enter’

• 30.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Bob,

If you look at agreements that has been struck, yes the Spears still exists as an entity.

Saru basically, through agreements in the past, gave the Spears the right to exist.

IMO, and its not legal or right by any means, the only way the Spears can cease to exists is if all stakeholders and members decide it is over.

Then of course there is the small little problem of their financial obligations to sponsors, fans and employees as I mentioned so I reckon that Saru will not do that, because it will cost them millions.

IMO they would rather everyone just slowly disappear on their own without Saru having to tell them; “okoay people, party is over piss off” simply because of the danger of people taking them to court and labour court.

Hence, they strip away all support systematically to which the people will become so despondent that they will simply give up and walk away, or for a better word resign.

If you resign, you do not have any rights to sue for damages, but if you get fired you do.

At this stage, it looks like everyone, except Tony is willing to simply walk away. This is a problem for them. Because with Tony still there the Spears still exist.

With him still willing and able to fight for the Spears there is still a chance Saru might end up having to pay millions in damages, or re-instate the and uphold the agreements which was made in the past.

As indicated earlier, it seems that through the phone in done by a local radio station, people of the region seems to be behind Tony and the Spears – this is a problem for Saru. As long as someone, and in this case Tony, is still around it seems the Spears wont go away.

Saru sits with the problem that the agreements are legally binding, and yes they can accuse and stall as much as they want, the thing is, at the end of the day, the thing won’t go away.

Also, the High Court now brings a whole new dimension to proceedings.

Where before, decisions were made by Saru and people involved in unions, where everything happens internally, it is easy to change decisions or get rid of people.

I can only highlight the dozens of internal enquiries and disciplinary steps we have become accustomed to over the last years by Saru to highlight how inneffective these things are and that it can simply be swept under the carpet.

Now, we have a totally independant party that will consider all evidence, and make a decision.

The court will not stand for the bullshit of stalling and false allegations or suspensions, and will simply consider evidence in front of them, and make a decision.

If, Tony is guilty of financial mis-management, this will be exposed in a court of law, and he will be duly prosecuted I am sure. If not, and the court considers the agreements made by Saru in the past towards the Spears as legal and binding, Saru is in deep ****.

Sponsorships, employment, stakeholders in the tens of millions is involved here so either Saru will be forced to pay damages, or uphold agreements, and a court judgement can be appealed, but seldom overturned.

It seems McKeever is a sore for Saru that just won’t go away.

Griquas had a similar type gripe with Saru, and based on evidence, they probably would have won their court case. But since they have been included in the CC in place of the Spears, that court case was thrown out the window.

Interesting how one problem gets solved by Saru by eliminating another?

That is why I say, this thing will be interesting and if Tony goes all the way, and he is clean as he claims, this will be the single most important, and biggest event in the history of our rugby.

IMO, Saru is in big ****.

But I am quite keen to see what, if it goes so far, transpires out of a court case, and in my view, people will get exposed and we will learn a lot of secrets we are not aware off.

• 31.jb: Reply to this comment

kevin w (are you wakeford?); spot on chap
    If only Sa rugby was run by a bunch of Mckeevers we wouldn’t have the ongoing duplicity

• 32.Billy: Reply to this comment

Can,t the stakeholders be given their money back.Or has it all been spent? if so Where?

• 33.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Billy,

Let’s look at it this way.

Let’s say a company, or individual, bought a suite for R20K for the year at the stadium to watch CC and Super 14 rugby.

Now, because Saru reversed all the decisions, this guy’s R20K is worth nothing.

He will go to the Spears and say give me my money back.

The Spears will go and say hey buddy, we did not take the gloss away, it was Saru, go ask them for the money.

The Spears have been operating as a business for a while now, thus, they sell their product, suites, and with that money, they pay salaries and basic day-today expenses of running their business and build towards the CC and S14.

What is more serious though, is the one sponsor they have, the one for the kits.

These guys sponsored R15-mil. They have made kit, jerseys and other stuff for the team, but also for retail etc.

Now, they site with let’s say R5-mil worth of jerseys of a team that does not exist anymore, who do you think they will go to in order to pay damages for goods they cannot sell anymore?

• 34.David: Reply to this comment

PA
    Resignation does not imply voluntary surrender of rights. This a classic case of constructive dismissal.

• 35.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

That is the phrase I was looking for, cheers David.

• 36.Billy: Reply to this comment

Thanks PissAnt.
    My train of thought was that saru wouldn’t have much difficulty paying for players kit and salaries etc in the event of legal action,but i
    can see how things like the retail investment could prove tricky.

• 37.Haymaker: Reply to this comment

Hey PissAnt

You part of the rugby illuminati?

This is exactly the writing on the wall.

Makes sense fromwhat you say and reveals that SA Rugby has been consistent with their serial reneging of the deal with the Spears and their persistant violation of the Spears rights.

Makes you think how committed they are to this Transformation Charter launched with much fanfare last Friday.

The same day they put another boot into the Spears by yanking them from the competition.

Or was this just for the benefit of Parliament?

SA Rugby are pretty good with their boardroom “dummies” and “switches” – I belive they have just taken a hospital pass and can’t wait to see them stretchered from the field in a neck brace and splints.

• 38.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Not part of the Illuminati Hay, I just refuse to simply accept decisions without questioning their integrity.

Some see this as me supporting the Spears, but I don’t care.

I am simply gatvol of Saru and the clowns within the organisation who seem to get away with murder all the time and not being made to answer for decisions destroying our game.

I said it some time ago, today it is the Spears that get shafted, because by doing this, it satisfies certain needs, election promises made, or any other hidden or political agenda with regards to money, sponsorships and the shady characters that work very hard behind the scene to get a cut of a very profitable gravy train.

Tomorrow, depending on the situation, it might be WP, or the Bulls, it just depends what the flavour of the month is and what promises were made and by who.

It is time to clean up Saru and rid ourselves of these elements that is destroying a national treasure.

And if this means a court case, then so be it.

• 39.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Thanks Pissant
    But now coming back to the Griquas situation, if McKeevers application is successful does that mean that SARU has to relook at Griquas participation in the Currie Cup? Is there still a chance that the Spears could play Currie Cup?

• 40.Murph: Reply to this comment

Ge ha EANIE ma hack harage !

Ma ha ka heever the beaver !

• 41.Haymaker: Reply to this comment

Word just in.

McKeever has just WON his High Court application.

• 42.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

After this seasons performance I think it is fair to question whether the Cats have justified their Super rugby spot. I have always been against the Spears my feeling was that it was a political decision and not a rugby decision.
    Our franchises are not held accountable for their performances, there is a comfort zone where everybody knows for an agreed period of time Super rugby status is guaranteed. Rugby in SA operates outside of the real world, in all other professional spheres performance is monitored and graded and should an individual or organisation not come up to scratch they are discarded. Why should rugby be any different!
    I do not buy the argument that a new franchise should be given protection from relegation in their first season. Look to the English soccer premiership, any side promoted from the championship to the premiership has to strengthen their squad and hit the ground running. Should they fail, goodbye, back to the championship, this system helps maintain quality and forces clubs with varying budgets to be creative in their methods of survival.
    The only reason South African franchises have fought against the Spears the way they have is because they feel they are above accountability and show no real desire to implement change. Rather be mediocre but guaranteed of Super rugby than be challenged to evolve and improve. There is a word for this LAZY!

• 43.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Bob,

Sorry was out for a while.

No it does not change anything RE Saru’s decision last week to kick the Spears out and put Griquas in.

For that, McKeever needs to oppose their decision.

This might mean, once re-instated, that he will take Saru to court RE the Currie Cup participation to force them to reverse the decision. Basically doing the same Griquas did, threaten them with court action.

• 44.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Thanks PA
    Thats what I imagined – this could turn into a real “kerk basaar poeding”

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.