Scots boost ahead of Bok Tests
1 Jun 2006
Scotland boosted its confidence before the two-Test rugby tour of South Africa by dispatching the Barbarians 66-19 at Murrayfield on Wednesday.
Winger Chris Paterson starred for Scotland with 31 points, including conversions of all nine of Scotland’s tries, of which he claimed two. He also took over the captaincy when Jason White was rested at halftime, with a 24-12 lead in hand.
Inside center Andy Henderson scored tries in each half, as did Paterson, and Marcus Di Rollo, Dougie Hall and Blair’s replacement Sam Pinder, on debut, also crossed.
Man-of-the-match Blair scored his second try as a second-half temporary substitute at center to take Scotland past 50.
“Scotland have every right to be confident at the moment,” Barbarians coach Pat Howard told the Associated Press. “I played in a game five years ago when the Barbarians put on a similar scoreline against Scotland. Scotland have come a long way.”
Scotland plays the Springboks on June 10 (Durban) and 17 (Port Elizabeth).

35 Comments
1 Jun 2006, 08:44 am
grant 1st
1 Jun 2006, 08:47 am
If the Scots beats us, then I will not support SA rugby any longer.
1 Jun 2006, 08:55 am
hanbagslasher – Dont worry it wont happen!
1 Jun 2006, 08:58 am
I will support SA no matter what happens. However I will be mighty unhappy if the Scott’s do beat us.
1 Jun 2006, 08:59 am
Look it’s one thing beating a slap-dash-together-for-2-days side (and this is not the quality barbarian side beaten by England that form the basis of the World XV in SA currently) and beating a well drilled unit that has been playing good rugby together for he past 2 years.
Still feels strange saying that about the boks?!
Thanks Jake!
1 Jun 2006, 09:00 am
I reckon we will beat the Scots, as well as the world xv.
1 Jun 2006, 09:11 am
The Scots will be no match for the Boks.
Scots will be outclassed in all aspects of the game.
1 Jun 2006, 09:22 am
The boks sould beat the world15 and the Scots quite convincingly .. the first real big test is against the French there after.
1 Jun 2006, 09:29 am
Paws
Agreed
1 Jun 2006, 09:33 am
Yep, the French are the only Northern Hemisphere team (have the requisite pace and skill)that can currently beat the Big 3 Southern Teams on the hard and fast Southern Hemisphere fields.
1 Jun 2006, 09:34 am
We are setting ourselves up for alot of pain (just like france and england) if we dont take them seriously…..
1 Jun 2006, 09:53 am
That result says nothing about the Scots, and a lot more about their opposition. It was a KAK Babaas side. It had Pieter Dixon in it FFS!!
1 Jun 2006, 09:55 am
Does anyone know who was in the Baabaas side, besides the mecurial Peter Dixon?
1 Jun 2006, 10:01 am
The Baabaas were really poor. It was more of an English league select team, and not the best players either. Chris Malone of Bath at 10, Steve Hanley of Sale at fullback, Will Greenwood (walking stick and all) started at inside centre for gods sakes! Hell, even Bob Skinstad made an appearance as sub after 60 mins!!!
No this result is no indicator of how good the Scots are, it was just a training run before the serious stuff. 2 concerning things for me were Marcus di Rollo hobbled off with a knee injury of some sort and worst of all the outstanding Ali Hogg seemed to do a hammy whilst chasing down a long kick! He will be sadly missed if he doesn’t tour as Simon Taylor is already out.
1 Jun 2006, 10:02 am
Cape Shark – Here’s the side –
Steve Hanley
L Lloyd
W Greenwood
S Parker
L Robinson
C Malone
J Spice
K Tkachuk
Pieter Dixon
John Davies
James Hamilton
H Louw
Kieron Dawson
Jason Forster
Dan Browne
Reserves:
Olivier Azam
Simon Miall
Darren Crompton
Robert Skinstad
Jake Rauluni
Kevin Maggs
Ugo Monye
Tony Marsh
1 Jun 2006, 10:07 am
Thanks Frazer, a few names I don’t know there!! Think maybe UCT 1st side would beat them. LOL
Jonny – Apparently it was Greenwood’s last game? If Hogg and di Rollo are injured, it’s a huge blow to the Scots.
Yippy yay, so Scotland beat the baabas,
They are still no match for us.
Neither are wales or Ireland.
We must please oh pretty pretty please, just beat those POMS at Twickenham…
I am committing suicide if I have to get another call from friends in london ragging me about another pathetic bok loss to those ******** at twicks.
1 Jun 2006, 10:09 am
Cape Shark – Yep, when you include Bob, Dixon and Greenwood in your side, you know you’re scraping the bottom of the barrel!
1 Jun 2006, 10:18 am
Frazer, I’d bet money that Hogg is a goner. He had to be helped off the field and looked in serious pain. Di Rollo looked in better shape and hopefully was just a precaution but with a knee you never know! Hogg would be a massive loss, he showed in the 6N what a class act he is at 7 but I think he’s better at 8 as he’s a terrific ball carrier and has good hands.
1 Jun 2006, 10:20 am
Holy hell is dixon still playing. Who in their right mind would pick him for their team. I would rather play with 14 men than chose him, and old Bob, he needs to get into shape before next Friday, would not want to dissapoint the Newlands crowd, standing on the wing swinging his arms like a helicopter and yelling like an ambulance siren.
1 Jun 2006, 10:22 am
I don’t think the Scots will beat us but I have a feeling they might run us close in the first game…
Second Game they won’t have a chance. We are also playing them at altitude, so I reckon they won’t last long….
Agreed the French Team will give us a good go, but it’s not the 1stXV we are playing, it’s more like an A-Team….. Bernard Laporte is using this test as a chance to blood some new players, again I reckon we will underestimate them and made to look stupid….
1 Jun 2006, 10:25 am
Jonny – Yep, Hogg was very good in the 6N. He gets through a hell of a lot of work on the pitch, and you’re right, he does punch it up nicely. Very effective player. Probably Scotlands brightest star at present. They don’t have the depth to cover his exit convincingly, and seen that he was such a big part of their gameplan, it could really be very bad news for the Scots.
1 Jun 2006, 10:33 am
I think the 1st test will be close due to Bok rustiness but I still think the Boks will win both tests. Scotland are a better side now than the team who toured a few years back without doubt but the Boks are also more settled under Jake White. Scotland can only ever hope to compete regularly with Wales and Ireland with the occasional shock against the big boys, there are probably more players playing club rugby in WP than the whole of Scotland!
1 Jun 2006, 10:37 am
Scotland are looking good this year, i think the tests could be close. Only thing is SA are a much stronger team at home.
Be interested to see who was in the babas team.
1 Jun 2006, 10:42 am
cab, see 15 above. A poor baabaas team by any stretch of the imagination!
1 Jun 2006, 10:50 am
jonny, yoh that looks like a shite team, did skinstad get a run?
1 Jun 2006, 10:51 am
cab – yep, Bob did get a jog.
1 Jun 2006, 10:59 am
any good frazer?
1 Jun 2006, 11:06 am
Which Barbarian side was this? As they are all in JHB at the moment? Are scotland here to?
1 Jun 2006, 12:01 pm
Scotland also beat France and England in the 6 nations. They are not a side to take lightly and they will show us our arses if we give them half a chance.
1 Jun 2006, 12:06 pm
I have to agree with yoda. The worst thing you can do is underestimate your oponents. You saw Scotland beating both England and France who won the grand slam. We can and most likely beat Scotland but lets not get ahead of ourselfs
1 Jun 2006, 12:24 pm
Handbagslasher
After that comment I hope the boks do lose simply so that the Boks can get rid of supporters like yourself. I know the type, fair weathered. Typical night out for you is a gallon of lager cause a fight and have your mates bail you out, then the next day slag your mate off cause you had it all under control. Next time Umaga picks up a handbag I hope he ******* hits you with it.
1 Jun 2006, 12:39 pm
DEE DAH,
No need to fall of your horse now, like I said earlier in the week, I’m just gatvol at politics in our sport (rugby,cricket,soccer, hell any sport we do) and the politicians that don’t know stuff all whats happening around them, but always want to interfere with our sports teams. We are going to underestimate the Scots and they are going to beat us. Then what are we going to say???
4 Jun 2006, 05:42 am
ja nou wel fine is what they will say and then they will say fire da coach.