Sharks sharpen teeth

The Sharks will prepare for the Currie Cup with a friendly against the Western Force at Pietermaritzburg’s Woodburn Stadium on 7 June.

While the Natalians are using the fixture to give some of their younger players some experience ahead of the Currie Cup, the Force are looking to blood some of their academy players ahead of next year’s Super 14 as they attempt to bolster their squad depth.

The Sharks are currently without 20 players lost to either the Springbok training squad or the SA U21 side who will compete in the IRB World Championship taking place in France from 9-25 June, and this provides the ideal opportunity to see what back-up is available in the province.

The Sharks Invitational side will take on the Western Force Gold side at 6.30pm and in the two earlier matches, the KZN U13 Craven Week team take on NE Free State at 3.45pm and at 5.45pm, the Natal Schools team meet a Sharks Academy side.

Tickets cost R20 for the open stand, R30 for the main stand and are available at the ground from the “Kick and Whistle” or the Biltong Shop at Hayfields Mall.

17 Comments

• 1.jondood: Reply to this comment

BULLE IS BAAS

• 2.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

The force must be desperate. is this pre-season friendlies for next year or what??

• 3.TWINKEL TOES: Reply to this comment

GO SHARKS!!!!!!!

• 4.bigg: Reply to this comment

No way I would pay to go watch that kak…

• 5.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

Why are the Sharks offering the Western Force invaluable experience of playing in South Africa.
    Typical we spend all our time pissing down each others backs and then hand the crown jewels to the aussies! Go figure!!!

• 6.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

DD, give the youngsters exposure… otherwise they merely get used to playing against other SAs and then come unstuck when playing against overseas opposition. VERY good move…

• 7.banana boy: Reply to this comment

Agreed mikeybrass, a bit of forward thinking by a South African club for a change!

Dee Dah, I think thats far from the case. How are you expected to progress when you play the same type/style national teams all the time?

• 8.ktb: Reply to this comment

Bigg, no one is asking you go and watch, so why bleat

• 9.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

I really like the thinking of the Muir-Swart-Campese combo. If they stay together, I really do believe that Natal will become the No. 1 side in Sa again, supplying the most skilled players to the Bok side.

Their kind of dynamism reminds me of Christie at Transvaal and Solomons at the Stormers.

Now if only Solomons was invited back to WP…

• 10.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Ha ha, just read all you sharks boys are buying your supporters gear that are made in China! Sies man, where is the proudlly ‘Seff Efrican’??? Saying that it seems like a lot of Bok gear also comes from the land where dogs are toast so will have to go check if my gear is legit… :(

• 11.rugbyboy: Reply to this comment

GRRRR…im a lion……the new sharks jerseys are made at the exact same place as the lions jerseys are…at Canterbury of New Zealand’s factory in Cape-Town? Same as the bok gear, Aussie gear and Ireland gear…so every time we play them…they are playing in proudly south african!

• 12.banana boy: Reply to this comment

Nice one rugbyboy! :)

• 13.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Bigg howya bugga, see you are still posting kak on a sharks blog. Have you spoken to Ig (Ig can you hear me?) about a muppit golf day here in CT??? Played at Milnerton last week Friday, what a nightmare in the rain!!!

• 14.Simon: Reply to this comment

rugbyboy,

Mr Price makes the Sharks jerseys, not Canterbury

• 15.rugbyboy: Reply to this comment

its branded by mister price but still made at canterbury’s factory.

• 16.rebcraig: Reply to this comment

Yep Bigg I have been a lot of the c–p you write lately. Man i will agree with the others. You are a wanker!

• 17.bristolshark: Reply to this comment

Grrr, thought you were becoming a Sharks supporter this year – oh wait – you were saved!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.