Boks have Test attitude

Springbok coach Jake White has a proud unbeaten record on home soil. And he is not about to let that slip against the World XV tomorrow.

“The law of averages will dictate that we will eventually lose at home,” White said at Friday’s press conference. “But we are working hard to maintain that record for as long as we can. A defeat against the World XV is not an option.”

Stand-in captain Jean de Villiers says everything has gone according to plan. “The preparation this week has been very good. Although it is not official, we are approaching this match as if it is a Test. The only thing that has changed is the captain,” grinned de Villiers.

The Boks are favourites to beat an experienced, but ageing World XV at Ellis Park tomorrow, which will provide a fantastic launching pad for the more important assignments later this month. Two Tests against Scotland should be easily negotiated, before the crunch June fixture against a full-strength France in Cape Town.

The altitude is also expected to be a major factor for the team that was thumped 46-19 by England last weekend.

The team that runs out at Ellis Park is likely to change dramatically by the time the Boks take on France, especially with several first-choice players due back from injury.

However, the team de Villiers leads out tomorrow has exactly 400 Test caps between them – and they are considered a second-string outfit. When White started his career as Bok coach against Ireland in Bloemfontein in 2004, the team that gave him an opening 31-17 win had just 179 caps.

It illustrates just how far the Boks have come under White’s guidance.

By Andrew Hollely

179 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

• 51.gecko: Reply to this comment

cab – he probably had them pulled, a capetonian habit from the flats

• 52.wls: Reply to this comment

asha1 good point. But i think the main reason for the Boks sticking to the gameplan is, because it actualyl works. Bear in mind the only time it does not work is when the Bosk dont implement the plan properly.

Cab how right you are. I just get gatvoel of the total negativity that we read week in week out.. Hell who has beaten us at home in 2 seasons under white? no one. Away from home we have come mighty close in the last two seasons (a minute and three minutes) from beating the AB’S at home.. no other side in the world can claim that, yet before every season we have the same nobjockys claiming the worst BOK season yet lol.

• 53.cab: Reply to this comment

ha ha … no seriously, it was horrific, the whole front row went for a six in a tackle.

• 54.jondood: Reply to this comment

• 55.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Watchit Gecko

• 56.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Oaks, I think White is doing well. I think he treats players with respect. I was watching boots and All last night, and in the highlights it showed the guys celebrating the trinations win, did you see how they were hugging the oak – shows respect, they all dig him. He not stuoid like streaulie

• 57.gecko: Reply to this comment

Dawn – No critism on Capetonians. I am from Bellville after all.

• 58.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Biggest looser coaches since re -admission:
    1st: Streulie
    2nd: 1992- John Williams I think
    3rd: Markgraaf

• 59.ben: Reply to this comment

Jake White’s strong points are that he is a traditionalist and believes in continuity.3 years ago supporters were complaining that the team was chopped and changed on a weekly basis,3 years on we have the continuity SA rugby has been craving and supporters now want to change a winning team.

I think Jake is doing a fantastic job in the face of stern challenges and coming up on top more often than not.

• 60.gecko: Reply to this comment

Bowlouw – Carel Dup for his record, although not his ideas.

• 61.jondood: Reply to this comment

Snoek selling well today?

• 62.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Best Coach: Kitch, White, Mallet, Mac??

• 63.ben: Reply to this comment

jondood – snoek always sells well in CT

• 64.cab: Reply to this comment

agree boylouw.

• 65.ben: Reply to this comment

Kitch – 14 wins in 14 games……can’t argue with that!

• 66.gecko: Reply to this comment

good: Kitch, Mallet, White.

ok: Sonnekus, Markgraaf

average: Mac, Carel Dup

bad: Williams, Straueli

• 67.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Agree ben, SA supporters are weired. i minute they hate too many changes, the next they complain that Jake always chooes the same players, one minute they are complaining there are not enough players of colour, the next there are too many, one minute there are not enough over seas players being considered, the next there are too many etc etc poor ******* – and he has to deal with all the muppit politicians who know squate about ruggers

• 68.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Jean would “FLECK” Robbie Fleck like a “pup snoek”

• 69.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

MAc was good, but the dutchies did not like him

• 70.gecko: Reply to this comment

bl – ja, but his record wasn’t great either

• 71.big g: Reply to this comment

dawn doesnt sell snoek, its just a body odour so leave her alone…

• 72.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Flek was a good province player – average International player.

• 73.ben: Reply to this comment

I think Mac laid alot of the foundation for the RWC success in ’95 but he did not have the authority & ability to create a disciplined environment like Kitch did.
    Kitch’s greatest ability was that he kept things simple and they worked.

• 74.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ja en nee. If you look at the ’95 team – Mac could never settle on Joubert as his fullback, he never played the Stransky and Le Roux combo. The front row had to be re-jigged. Kruger was brought in at flank, and Christie settled on Joost as 9. That’s quite a lot of changes.

• 75.Jim Jones: Reply to this comment

Jean a legend? He is very good, but not a legend. Tim Horan, Danie Gerber legends.

• 76.asha1: Reply to this comment

guys
    what we had over the last two years was consistency, which is good. as jw like to say when asked about certain players is that he know the guy’s ability at test level.

thats exactly the reason why you need to test someone else. if the experiment doesnt work, you can always fall back on your player who proved his worth at test level.

but what if, just what if, you’re experiment work.

one word for it…..

depth!!!!!

2,3 players in nearly every position keeping each other on their toes. players can be rested/ managed without weakening the team, to make sure they peak at the ultimate time….

the world cup!!

• 77.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

did oom kitch ever take a team overseas?

• 78.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

jdv is goed olivier is net better check hoe het easy het olivier driee gedruk

• 79.gecko: Reply to this comment

Yes – 1994. They played Wales & Scotland in test – beat both, won all the other games except Scotland A in the rain. Beat Swansea 0 then the top Wales team 78-7.

1995 – Tests against Italy & England – won both.

• 80.ben: Reply to this comment

They also played against the Baa baa’s in Dublin but they lost that 25-15 playing ‘the brains game’ as Kitch called it.

• 81.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

cheers gecko.

i wasnt sure.

• 82.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Jake Here…..

I pick who I want to pick, becase I can… so waa wa wa waaa waaa.

• 83.wpforever: Reply to this comment

yes PISSANT Kitch took the Boks to several major victories,in CARDIFF;EDINBURGH;ROME;TWICKEHAM
    http://www.genslin.us/bokke/SARugby.html

• 84.wpforever: Reply to this comment

yes the BOKS lost to Scotland A ,the game was played at ABERDEEN GRAMMAR SCHOOL in Aberdeen

• 85.gecko: Reply to this comment

Ben – indeed.

• 86.big g: Reply to this comment

why?

• 87.cab: Reply to this comment

actually markgraft was a good coach, helluva talent spotter, pity he was such a tyrant.

• 88.asha1: Reply to this comment

do you guys know where one can bet a few rands on this years test results? given the attitudes of a few muppets here, i may be able to retire at the end the year!!

• 89.cab: Reply to this comment

the oke knew his rugby tho…

• 90.ben: Reply to this comment

dunno about SA betting sites,but ladbrokes in the UK are quite good.

• 91.cab: Reply to this comment

ben, old StM suggested oddschecker, reckon SA are at 6-1 to win the RWC. lets hope they trip up this weakend and the odds lengthen.

• 92.ben: Reply to this comment

that’s a tough call cab…..get rich or SA lose their unbeaten home record!

• 93.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I’ll put good money on the ozzies to sort soemthing out by next year.
    WOnder what their odds are.

• 94.asha1: Reply to this comment

was actually meaning getting rich and sa losing their unbeaten home record!!!:)

• 95.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

_
    | |
    ___| |___
    | |
    — —
    | |
    | |
    | |
    /-\
    / \
    / \
    / \
    / \
    / \
    /_____________\
    | | |
    | | |
    | /|\ |
    | / | \ |
    |____/__|__\____|
    | \ | / |
    | \ | / |
    | \|/ |
    | | |
    | | |
    —————–

Better pray for wins this year….

• 96.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I’d happily replace an unbeaten home record for a better away record.

• 97.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

What the hell is that? An ostrich?

• 98.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

• 99.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

• 100.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

100 is mine!

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.