Boks to score 50
2 Jun 2006
The bones, after an extended spell in rehab, are back and predicting carnage for those yesterday’s heroes, who on Saturday will parade as a World XV.
Bob Dwyer’s all-star European club XV, at least that’s the media spin, is really a combination of some great players who are long past their sell by date and some players who never quite cracked the great descriptive.
You only had to look at the World XV’s schedule to know that they’re here for the golf, the golf and the golf. They’ve been living it up at Sun City all week and their liver has taken more of a pounding than their calves. They’ve partied more than they’ve tried and rightly so when you consider the tradition of these World XV teams.
The aim in putting together such a team is simple. Pick name players, who inspire thoughts of greatness because of their past exploits. But make sure these players are exactly that — past players. No local team invites a World XV with the capacity to embarrass the home team.
The Boks will get just what they need prior to the two-test series against Scotland, which is a decent workout. They’ll be forced to make a few tackles, they’ll get to play expansive footie and they’ll score big on the field. The World XV will score bigger off the field, which means both teams leave Johannesburg victorious.
The five Kiwis will have to be monitored afterwards and it would be wise to ensure no handbags are left within the reach of this quintet. But the Carlos Spencer and Justin Marshall-inspired Kiwis will probably prove more of a nuisance in the pub afterwards than they will do on the field.
Individually, there are some in the World XV who will give it horns, but collectively they will be unable to find the structure needed to be successful against an established international team.
The Boks will play with the greater structure and purpose because they are the ones with everything to lose. The World XV have nothing to prove to anybody and nothing to gain from the match.
The greatest beneficiary is the South African Rugby Players Association. Had they had half a commercial brain cell they would have dropped all the ticket prices to R150 and ensured they got 60 000 to the game. Instead they will be lucky to get 40 000 at what they’re asking. The former would have given them more dollars in the kitty.
It is ironic, though, how they now have no problem with ticket prices (as they are the ones who’ll see the cash), just like they have no problem with an additional match (as they are the ones to benefit). Cash … it’s a killer to the morality of SARPA.
But I digress.
The Boks, despite fielding a second-string pack, have put out their first choice back division (with the exception of Bryan Habana) and they will win comfortably enough. Of more interest than the scoreline will be Ruan Pienaar’s first introduction to the international arena, although he would have played tougher matches in this year’s Super 14.
For the record, the bones have picked a high scoring match, with the Boks to triumph 55-30.

528 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All
2 Jun 2006, 18:37 pm
THE BIG 500!
Mighty 500! None of you stood a chance!
2 Jun 2006, 18:38 pm
That was probably my last chance……
Unfortunately there are far too many people who get reeled in by St M.
Eg Jondood
Vinnie even when not trying you get, you arse
Now that I’ve missed 500 my dreams are shattered. I will bid you farewell.
Cheers chaps, on that happy note im off.
Please remember I was the happy winner of all tons on this thread bar the first and a few fifties for luck.
Enjoy the weekend and up the bokke!
2 Jun 2006, 18:39 pm
Vinnie you skelm.
2 Jun 2006, 18:41 pm
I am a gonna too.
I gotta soccer game today and have not had much sleep this week i dont think I am going to score goals.
2 Jun 2006, 18:42 pm
Cheers mates!
2 Jun 2006, 18:51 pm
Well, at least now you will have an excuse bok
2 Jun 2006, 18:57 pm
ja
Dawn does not flirt with me she just ##### my ######
2 Jun 2006, 19:15 pm
Jondood,
2 Jun 2006, 19:17 pm
#47 is hilarious. Thanks Erichh
3 Jun 2006, 05:30 am
BokinOzzie, who do you play soccer for?
Go Bokke!
I will have to stay off the computer come Saturday, Foxsports are only showing the game on Sun morning 10am!
3 Jun 2006, 06:54 am
Bryce
I dont even log on till after ive watched all the S14 games I want to,in order they were played. i loath knowing the results,its so much less exciting.
This w/e there’s only 1 game so I wont be off the web that long. its tough cos I never get to comment during a game or update people who dont get to see it live. Someday i’ll work it all out.
3 Jun 2006, 07:13 am
It’s a worthy sacrifice when the Boks win eh?
Go Bokke!
3 Jun 2006, 08:06 am
Too right…..Are you an Oz or Bok supporter. Bryce is quite an Ozzie name ,is it not? Actually its Bruce,but Bryce is pretty close.
Last year w all the habana and JvD tries from deep and the good wins it was just great to not have read anything about it. I just watched the Bok top 10 tries on kuduclub to amp myself up for this test and season. Sure hope Habs clears up his injury completely. problem is we expect so much of him now. He remains a wonderful player.
Where are the articles? Its 8am in SA and nothing new to read of post about. Come on Keo,these thread are OOOLLLDDD. Big day today. This side of the world we gotta sleep and then awake to beer for breakfast and te game !
BBOOKKKKEE !!
3 Jun 2006, 11:07 am
To be fair, DD, both Supoersport and IOL hardly have any new story that Keo et al. can copy and paste;-)
3 Jun 2006, 11:26 am
got here a bit late.
the bones are obviously on way more than prescription drugs. the score is way too high. and i think the has beens that are being talked about will cause our back serious problems. marshall is in form, and he alone could rip us apart with some inspirational play. likewise for carlos.
why we so dam cocky?
3 Jun 2006, 14:08 pm
Bryce
I play for our local team in cherrybrook west pennant hills soccer club.
More of a competitive social game good to go out and get the aggression out.
Today the opposition were a bit feisty and complaining a lot. We were quite physical with them.
3 Jun 2006, 16:59 pm
Keo you can’t score 50 in penalties
3 Jun 2006, 17:09 pm
Some more egg on your bones (and face) Keo. Perhaps you should steer clear of predictions and try to understand the game first.
3 Jun 2006, 18:55 pm
KEO SUX JACO VAN DER WESTHUIZENS BALLS
3 Jun 2006, 23:39 pm
Keo throw dem bones away boet.
4 Jun 2006, 09:14 am
Boy did you get it wrong MK. The writing was on the wall the moment JW opened his flappy lips about not watching Kobus visagie. The Ex Bok then destroyed Deon Carstens and made the AA Separka looked what he is “Stupid”. I wish that we could have tested like against like and had the other AA Eddie Andrews try to cope with Visagie….Men against boys.
So we have the boks always going back against the push always on the back foot.
Also Mark someone must have told Chabal that ***** ****** look-a-like at No.8 that you had accused him of being on the booze all week playing Golf and basically a has been past his sell by date. I hope you don’t meet him in a dark alley mate. He was an absolute machine..
Best toss those bones out Keo.
5 Jun 2006, 10:13 am
Agree Jester, Keo your bones suck, and this is not the first time you get it horribly wrong, remember the Sharks Bulls prediction? Like Jake you should rather keep your mouth shut until after the game…!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] Show All