Boks to score 50

The bones, after an extended spell in rehab, are back and predicting carnage for those yesterday’s heroes, who on Saturday will parade as a World XV.

Bob Dwyer’s all-star European club XV, at least that’s the media spin, is really a combination of some great players who are long past their sell by date and some players who never quite cracked the great descriptive.

You only had to look at the World XV’s schedule to know that they’re here for the golf, the golf and the golf. They’ve been living it up at Sun City all week and their liver has taken more of a pounding than their calves. They’ve partied more than they’ve tried and rightly so when you consider the tradition of these World XV teams.

The aim in putting together such a team is simple. Pick name players, who inspire thoughts of greatness because of their past exploits. But make sure these players are exactly that — past players. No local team invites a World XV with the capacity to embarrass the home team.

The Boks will get just what they need prior to the two-test series against Scotland, which is a decent workout. They’ll be forced to make a few tackles, they’ll get to play expansive footie and they’ll score big on the field. The World XV will score bigger off the field, which means both teams leave Johannesburg victorious.

The five Kiwis will have to be monitored afterwards and it would be wise to ensure no handbags are left within the reach of this quintet. But the Carlos Spencer and Justin Marshall-inspired Kiwis will probably prove more of a nuisance in the pub afterwards than they will do on the field.

Individually, there are some in the World XV who will give it horns, but collectively they will be unable to find the structure needed to be successful against an established international team.

The Boks will play with the greater structure and purpose because they are the ones with everything to lose. The World XV have nothing to prove to anybody and nothing to gain from the match.

The greatest beneficiary is the South African Rugby Players Association. Had they had half a commercial brain cell they would have dropped all the ticket prices to R150 and ensured they got 60 000 to the game. Instead they will be lucky to get 40 000 at what they’re asking. The former would have given them more dollars in the kitty.

It is ironic, though, how they now have no problem with ticket prices (as they are the ones who’ll see the cash), just like they have no problem with an additional match (as they are the ones to benefit). Cash … it’s a killer to the morality of SARPA.

But I digress.

The Boks, despite fielding a second-string pack, have put out their first choice back division (with the exception of Bryan Habana) and they will win comfortably enough. Of more interest than the scoreline will be Ruan Pienaar’s first introduction to the international arena, although he would have played tougher matches in this year’s Super 14.

For the record, the bones have picked a high scoring match, with the Boks to triumph 55-30.

528 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

• 251.big g: Reply to this comment

he’s just getting his 5dollar sakkie sakkie me laff you looong time… he’l be back soon..

• 252.bigg: Reply to this comment

Rude – Where you watching the rugby this weekend? Come to Peddlars on the bend in Constantia!!

• 253.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Rudebud,

Your funny.

• 254.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Peddlars… Mmmm, such fond memories… :D

• 255.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Yeah redcard – thats my point. Some oke growing up in Soweto could be the next Naas Botha but instead will start playing football and end up playing in bafana, which is no real achievement at the moment.

There were other too – errol stewart and gary kirsten spring to mind.

• 256.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Grrr (244)

It has taken awhile – I am a bit slow

• 257.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Bigg

Like BokinOzzie i have a grumpy one at home. Wouldn’t want to get her more revved up than necessary. :mrgreen:

• 258.ben: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – that’s an issue that SARPA has to answer to,I don’t have a problem if they want computer courses with the money I pay for tickets,hell,I’ll teach them myself!

We wouldn’t be having this discussion if SARU aligned the ticket prices with reality in the first place.

• 259.ben: Reply to this comment

RedCard – Jonty was a hockey player

• 260.ben: Reply to this comment

And we all now that hockey and rugby are 2 different sports :-)

• 261.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Peddlars and Brass Bell is still my fav drinking holes. Man, miss those lazy drunken afternoons in the Southern Subs…

• 262.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

You studied ?

• 263.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

La Med on Sundays for a bloody mary for breakfast and beer for lunch….

• 264.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Rudebud (257)

Sorted out the missus she has a big smile now.

Took her to the big village and the rest

• 265.ben: Reply to this comment

Grrr – good spots,I also enjoy Red Herring…..and la Med is a jol!

• 266.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

ben, i agree with that 100%. It is SARU’s problme but this all got started when Hennie le Roux tried to justify the ticket prices by comparing them to test tickets.

I thikn the SA rugby public has spoken quite looudly with their feet and I hope there are empty seats there tomorrow.

They really must come right becuase one day is one day that somebody in parliament snaps and gets really gatvol and then its overs kadovers.

SARFU arent playing their part in transformation and definitely not development – that part is painfully clear.

• 267.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Round the day off with coctails and girls in short skirts or bikini’s and you have had the perfect weekend…

• 268.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I did study Rudebud… too damn long actually…

• 269.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Nooit okes – Caprice in Camps Bay…

• 270.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Man… and trow in a Lions win at Newlands and drinking with the boys at Billy’s. I feel like getting hammered!!!

• 271.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

I went to the Ribs and Rump grill and seafood which is a south african restuarant with bloody good food.
    Very popular place the aussies love it.

1Kg ribs was on the menu.

• 272.ben: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

I feel that Hennie has every right to compare them to test tickets given the array of talent on display.When will we ever see the likes of Spencer,Burke,Caistagnede\Roff in one team (and thats just the backline).
    I think that everyone is coming hard at Hennie when it’s clear that the real villain is the South African Rugby Union.

• 273.bigg: Reply to this comment

I recon we should arrange our own muppit day out in Cape Town? MAybe one of the home tri nations games at a pub in Cape Town… Grrr you are more that welcome to come down to CPT for that moerse party.

• 274.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Had 1 kg ribs and 300g fillet with chips stuff the veges.

I was a hungery bugger.

• 275.cab: Reply to this comment

the only proper sports are rugby and cricket, there’s no point to any of the others.

• 276.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Bigg

Boet, I am in CPT!!!!

• 277.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Make it the France game, we don’t get any Tri-Nations thanks to Rustenburg… :roll:

• 278.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

Will try that as a cure. Maybe i can get her from this: :-( to this :razz: Amazing to think that all over the world they are the same.

• 279.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Its the whole damn industry ben.

Hennie simply perpetuates the problme. If they had made the tickets cheap there would have been more of a buzz aorund the game and the public would have asked why tickets cant normally be that price.
    And baabaa games in england are half the price (if not more) of a normal england game.

And you’ll see all these clowns again next week a newlands and in the next baabaa’s game.

• 280.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Hey Ben that post was at # 52, didn’t the topic change? :lol:

• 281.cab: Reply to this comment

bloody hell 300 smackers does sound like alot.

• 282.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Gents (& Dawn) have a super weekend. Adios.

• 283.ben: Reply to this comment

RedCard – touche

• 284.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Lions to win CC!!!! Cheers

• 285.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Rudebud,

A suprise dinner always works a treat.

• 286.ben: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – I don’t think that he perpetuates the problem,he is the figure head of an organization piggy backing on the existing policies of another organization.
    To blame him is unfair,I lay the blame squarely at the feet of SARU – but then again when have they ever done anything right?

• 287.bigg: Reply to this comment

Okes – Enjoy your weekend!

Great Grrrr…

• 288.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Why don’t you guys just do what my gabbas do and steal the tickets.

• 289.ben: Reply to this comment

Dawn I would do that if I was in SA….I’m battling to find a place to watch the game at tomorrow!

• 290.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Where do you stay ben?

• 291.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Richmond?

• 292.ben: Reply to this comment

I’m in London – near Wimbledon

• 293.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

You and Jondood also stay near Wimbledon ?

• 294.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

There will be plenty places showing the game – try zulus fullham, the walkie in wimbles…
    aardvark in canada water, numerous places in the city…

• 295.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Nah brew – Im in Willesden Green.
    jonny stays in Wimbledon though – southfields i think.

Your Rudebud?

• 296.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Cape Town; Durbanville

• 297.big g: Reply to this comment

everyone gunning for 300?!

• 298.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I grew up not far from there.

• 299.Skim: Reply to this comment

300 !

• 300.ben: Reply to this comment

Zulu’s not a fan of watching rugby there,I normally go to ‘O Neils in Putney but they will probably show the England football game.Walkie in Wimbledon gives preferrential treatment to football (I am told).Thinking the Bok Br in Covent Garden will be the best choice.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.