Jake fires up Visagie

Springbok coach Jake White has made another outrageous selection outburst.

And his latest comments could come back to haunt him by the time the match against the World XV is concluded.

Comments by veteran Bok prop Cobus Visagie earlier this week that he would like to challenge for a spot in White’s World Cup squad next year have received the cold shoulder from the Bok coach on the eve of the first match of the international season.

White says he has more than enough front-rowers at his disposal and will only be watching the performance of Deon Carstens – who will be directly opposed to Visagie – at Ellis Park on Saturday. Visagie, he says, does not feature in his immediate or future plans.

He could surely have reserved judgement until after his Springbok XV play the World XV. What happens if Visagie scrums Carstens into the ground? White could again be left with large amounts of egg on his face.

Furthermore, White’s comments will surely add fuel to Visagie’s fire as he will now be extra motivated to prove the Bok coach wrong and give Carstens the working over of his life.

“We’ve got more than enough props in South Africa and we’ve given them a lot of time and attention,” White told Beeld’s Hennie Brandt. “We have Eddie (Andrews), Lawrence (Sephaka), Deon (Carstens), BJ (Botha), CJ (Van der Linde), Os (Du Randt) and Guthro (Steenkamp). We don’t need another prop to join us.”

“There’s no benefit in it for us to exclude one of our players now after all the work and attention we’ve given them. I’m quite anxious to see how Deon performs against Cobus. I’m not going to watch how Cobus plays,” he said in Beeld.

32-year-old Visagie, a veteran of 29 Tests for South Africa before leaving for Britain in 2003 to further his rugby career at Saracens, was always keen to deliver a commanding display back on home soil.

And now he has the perfect reason.

248 Comments

• 1.jondood: Reply to this comment

VISAGIE DRAGON

• 2.jondood: Reply to this comment

Cobus use to shove Os’s head up his poepel.

• 3.grey: Reply to this comment

Jake White has turned into a arrogant prick … I actually hope Visage punishes Carstens now , just to show Jake that he must think before he makes these comments …

• 4.jondood: Reply to this comment

grey

JW is a just a pawn.

He has 2 quota props and therfore does not dare look elswhere.

• 5.grey: Reply to this comment

jondood ,

he is still a prick … actually he has always been one …

• 6.yoda: Reply to this comment

ag fok ouens, moet nou nie weer onteld raak oor niks nie, hy het mos sy keuse gemaak toe hy die land verlaat het. net omdat jake n paar ouens oorsee gan haal het, beteken nie hy moet elke “30 something player” wat oorsee speel kies vi die span nie. mens kannie jou brood aan altwee kante gebotter he nie…

• 7.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

It seems that Jake white is a motivator.

Good on him if he can get people performing at their best.

• 8.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

At 30-33 props are in their prime and if Cobus has not ‘turned heads’ now he never will.

• 9.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Jake shoud see a shrink he might be suffering from torrets syndrome. You ******* moron. :oops:

• 10.The King: Reply to this comment

Jake kak en kerm mos so oor experience. Cobus Visagie het mos baie experience en dit kan hom net help. As hy goed genoeg is moet hy speel.

Jake mag maar partykeer n doos wees

• 11.rastafox: Reply to this comment

My only reasoning for Jake’s for reaction is that he wants to test the commitment Cobus has to these statements.It is unfortunate that someone like Pat Barnard will read these comments and quite rightly may decide to persue the England route.

I really don’t understand why Jake can’t just shut up and coach the Bokke.The boks are desperately in need of a PR coach that can add some intelligence to their dealings with the media and players through the media.It is another irritating outburst by Jake and will win him no support amongst the fickle rugby supporters in this country.

Everybody has to believe there is a chance and something to play for and though Jake says the door is never closed this week,he comes up with drivel like this the next.As it stands Jake your mighty group of props is in no great shape.

What with Gurthro returning in 2007 with a seasons rust and little top flight experience to play the world cup and CJ in the same boat although his break will be less significant.BJ Botha will also undergo surgery and need to recover and has no international experience.Os is wether we like to admit it or not rather long in the tooth and has had seriuos injury before and could yet not make it as far as RWC 2007.Then we have the returning 2 Test Deon Carstens who may well find the step up to International rugby a step too far this remains to be seen.The duo of Andrews and Sephaka are also not established Internationals and still have to convince many critics they are the real deal.

With all this in mind I have to ask Jake what exactly inspires him to be so patently stupid as to tell a 29 Test veteran of highest quality that he might as well try represent China as he has more chance than a Bok call-up.

• 12.Paws: Reply to this comment

Hahaha .. pretty soon ‘foot in mouth’ disease is going to be rename Jake White disease ..

• 13.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Well, what JW is actually true, its just the manner of how he said it that disturbs us all, enough props in SA to choose from, though Visagie is a great prop, but JW has more than enough to pick. JW could have been more sportmanship like have said what he said.

• 14.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

I watched Boots and All and this isnt exactly what Jake said.

He said he wont close the door to ANYONE, but that currently Cobus was not in his immediate plans.

Must everyone who plays overseas be in Jakes plans?

So this article is a bit sensationalistic.

• 15.Swapo: Reply to this comment

Again, Jake a little quick, go Cobus…

• 16.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Jake you inconsistent *****!!!
    “Blah blah blah experienced squad at world cup…blah blah blah don’t dish out new caps…blah blah blah Andre Snyman experience of NH conditions.

And then you Snub one of the most highly rated props in the NH, who already is a Springbok, with some bullshit excuse. Its almost as pathetic as the “he’s never been part of a losing team.”

Just be honest you coward…we are not idiots!!

• 17.wls: Reply to this comment

Got to laugh again at Journalisim. Put the whole thing into contest, i watched the show last night and unless im really dof, thats not what he said at all.
    He did say we have enough props he also said no one is out of the Bok lineup yet, and a game like this on Saturday would be a chance for players to put there hands up.

• 18.Tisme: Reply to this comment

Jake really is a tosser…. good coach maybe but as Grey said an arrogant prick!

Lets get Os “way past his prime” Durant
    Eddie “Quota” Andrews
    Lawrance “bench press” Sepaka
    CJ “sick brief” van der Linde
    Guthro “broken hand” Steenkamp

and go to war!

I hope Cobus shoves Deon’s head up his arse, just to prove a point!

And what made Andre Snyman so special in the UK?
    Paulse couldnt even cut it in France, and what the f@ck do the Ndugane bro’s still have to do to at least go to the Bok training camp?

• 19.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Tell me, would all you whingers prefer if Jake was more like Rudolph Straueli and not say anything?

At least Jake talks his mind and you can get an idea of what is going on.

• 20.Tony: Reply to this comment

Once again Cobus’ desicion to leave the country, where personal agenda’s are rife, is vindicated!

• 21.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Nicksteroonie, (14) thanks for clearing it up. In fairness, Supersport ran the same story this morning which went along the same lines as Andrew`s.

• 22.Tony: Reply to this comment

btw JAKE, how much time and effort have you put into Mr Deon Carstens?

• 23.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

I think we are in desperate need of a PR Manager.
    Preferably a woman…..

Lets get Patricia Lewis, she can peroxide the Springboks Nut sacks blonde and we can call ourselves teh springballs.

• 24.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Exactly WLS, Jake didnt say this at all.

Amazing how easily the hordes fall for propaganda.

• 25.wpw: Reply to this comment

nicksteroonie

didnt you know these guys are all experts? they know better than the Bok coach.

• 26.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Nicksteroonie and wls,

Jake never said these comments on Boots. He said them on the side of the field after practice yesterday afternoon.

• 27.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Andrew, that is the type of thing that got Nick Mallett fired.

When he spoke to a journalist in “confidence” about Ticket prices!

• 28.Tisme: Reply to this comment

Nick,

Nothing you say to a journalist is in “confidence”!!!!

• 29.Tony: Reply to this comment

Andrew???

Would you like to comment on Nick’s post (14)?

• 30.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Some reporters thrive on creating controversy and rightfully so, that is how they make thier trade, on the note of Jakes comments, why can’t we just praise ex boks for the contribution they made in the past and what they could offer for the future

• 31.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Tony -

I already did. See post 26.

• 32.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Lees nou net op news24 dat die handsak waarmee Umaga vir Masoe geslaan het opgeveil word vir duisende dollars oor die Internet! Wat de hel gaan aan!

• 33.bigg: Reply to this comment

Jake White is a wanker of note…

• 34.Bokpiel: Reply to this comment

You freeking journalist are freeks..

cause more controversy than needed.!!

funny how **** sells… you must all remember that there are only 15 players in a team, you cant let everyone play..!!

• 35.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Anyway, this is all a storm in a tea cup. Jake isnt stupid, he knows what Visagie is capable of.

There are other factors at play too. As far as I know Jake is only allow to “import” a certain number of overseas players.

Secondly, when he imports players, everyone ******* that he didnt pick local guys who played well in the Super 14. So Jake’s between a rock and a hard place.

Also, Visagie would probably need a huge salary, and then the bosses at Sarfu wouldn’t be able to take their annual 40% increase.

• 36.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Andrew, this article is ****! I watched boots n all last night and Jake said that he would not close the door on someone, he did say he had quality propos, but he would not close the door on Cobous. The rest of you who slam Jake must all piss off. At least he is not some stupid ******** coach to the likes of Straulie, Markgraaf or our cats idiot Frans ‘Ludicrous’. White has a brain.

• 37.steyn: Reply to this comment

Yip dudes don’t believe everything you read…if you where there and you know first hand what is going on…then don’t make idiot comments like the ones on here now….i wonder who is the real wankers

• 38.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

I agree with nicksteroonie. Jake is between a rock and a hard place. Damned if he doea, damned if he does not

• 39.Tony: Reply to this comment

Thanks Andrew I did… but sumtimes folk post while I’m reading or typing.

I wonder if Jake is as arrogant as he comes across in his quotes.

• 40.Tony: Reply to this comment

Nick Cobus’s contract overseas ends in May this year or next, not sure.

Time to play in SA before RWC

• 41.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Just a thought here, Cobus is an awesome player,but which of starting props would you leave out to accomodate him, in my book, players should not be sledged, but lets get real our frount row excluding Eddie Andrews can stand up to the best of them

• 42.Braders: Reply to this comment

There is no doubt that Visagie is a great scrummager but his weaknesses have always been handling skills, speed around the field and defence.

• 43.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Tony -

Don;t think Jake is arrogant, just honest. It’s really what he thinks, but sometimes he should reserve comment either say til after carstens has stuffed up Visagie or not at all.

He is the Bok coach and is entitled to his opinion. Sometimes he is too forthright. He should just keep that to himself.

The guy he spoke to is a well-respected journailist so if he printed those quotes then I’m convinced jake said those things…

• 44.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

This is a a difficult situation because these guys all bugger off to play overseas and then they expect the Bok coaches to pick them over the local guys when they decide they want to come back for the glory of a World Cup or for a “golden handshake” before retirement.

• 45.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Nick, should all overseas based players be excluded?

• 46.Stan: Reply to this comment

Fans bid for infamous handbag

Posted on 02 June 2006 – 06:03

New Zealand rugby fans are bidding thousands of dollars for the chance to own the handbag that reduced a burly All Blacks player to tears.
    To get final scores from international rugby matches sent to your cell phone, send RINT to 34911. This is a SuperSMS service, with each SMS costing R2.

In one of the more bizarre off-field sporting incidents, former New Zealand captain Tana Umaga tangled with Hurricanes club team mate Chris Masoe in a nightclub after losing the prestigious Super 14 tournament final last Saturday.

Masoe, who has played two tests for New Zealand, tripped over a man’s feet in the Jolly Poacher bar in Christchurch early last Sunday and then hit the unidentified man in retaliation.

Umaga, one of New Zealand’s greatest players who played 74 tests for the All Blacks, stepped in to break up the scuffle, picking up a woman’s handbag and hitting Masoe twice over the head.

Rugby players are among the toughest in sport, regularly ignoring the pain of dislocations, head cuts and other aches and sprains but being hit with a handbag was too much for a tired and emotional Masoe.

The hefty 1.83 m, 106 kg (233 lb) Samoan-born forward dissolved into tears, New Zealand media reported this week.

Adding to the indignity, rugby officials fined him NZ$3,000 ($1,890) after an inquiry into the incident but let Umaga off because he was trying to calm things down.

The unidentified woman who owns the small black handbag has put it up for sale, as well as a broken cell phone that was inside it.

The Trade Me Web site (www.trademe.co.nz) had received 71 bids for the handbag and phone by Friday, the latest offering NZ$5,500.

“Is there any guarantee hitting someone with this will make them cry?” one potential bidder asked on the Web site.

“Does it come with any makeup included? Do you have any matching belts or shoes?” asked another.

• 47.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

ExPlaya, no, that is not what I am saying, as we all know what a huge impact players like Percy made on the team.

All I am saying is that playing overseas, doesnt mean automatic inclusion into the Springbok team.

They need to compete on an equal footing with the local players.

• 48.Braithwaite: Reply to this comment

Jake is spot on – he has more than enough props and Visagie has never been in his plans. This Website is just trying to stir it up. Visagie might be the best in England at the moment but he isn’t the best in SA.

• 49.Viper6: Reply to this comment

White and his muppets are a bunch of wankers. How can these clowns be running SA rugby?

Nice article Andrew :)

• 50.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Viper6, maybe we should bring back Straueli or Harry Viljoen and make you happy?

• 51.Andrew: Reply to this comment

• 52.Ig: Reply to this comment

Wether Jake is right or wrong…Carstens must be muttering under his breath about Jake and his mouth….Come Saturday Cobus is gonna be fired up !

• 53.katman: Reply to this comment

Cobus was never going to play in these immediate tests (World XV, Scotland, France) and if we’re talking about props for the 2007 WC – between Gurthro, CJ, BJ, Os and Lorrie, we have more than Cobus can offer. Add Carstens and Eddie as cover and you start to see where White is coming from.

I do think he was quoted out of context here in the name of sensationalism – “another outrageous selection outburst”? He’s just speaking his mind.

Most SA rugby fans seem to have a built-in outrage reaction device. The Outrageo 2000. Whenever a coach or administrator says something or a journalist writes something, it kicks in and they all feel automatically outraged. Then they quickly try and think of possible reasons for their indigntion. But listen and understand… perhaps even agree and support? Never!

• 54.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Carstens is going to send Visagie back to the old age home.

• 55.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Nick, I can only but agree, but should the proving ground not be the S14 where the levelis almost that of test rugby

• 56.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

ExPlaya and Katman: absolutely.

• 57.steyn: Reply to this comment

Then i hope that carstens can stand up and show why jake has put him in the side………who cares about Cobus…the only reason he wants to come back to the boks is because he is in SA now make the papers take it back to England to go and show the mates that is all….now he wants to play for the boks again….why has he never said anything a year ago…a few months before the world cup…come now…

• 58.Tony: Reply to this comment

Katman, I still think Cobus is a better scrummer than CJ who is next in my opinion.

Your tighthead you select FIRST. before you captain and before your kicker.

And Cobus is basically the best we’ve had post isolation (bar Tommie Loubsher)

• 59.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Jake has confidence and that is a pre-requisite for the position.Journalists will always try to work an angle and create a reaction,if not they would not have work.Unfortunately for Jake wether plain honest and forthright or not,he does seem to have a major shortcoming when dealing with the media.As with the SA public our media are a fickle bunch and have to be dealt with carefully.It is either foolishness or a willingness to create controversy that seems to lead Jake into these situations.We have seen what he can do with the Boks and all know he is an astute coach,but he has rightly or wrongly earned a reputation as an oaf in dealings with those outside his Bok setup.

The Boks are not yet the mighty machine the All Blacks are and results are not exactly dominant. Yes we are ranked 2 in the world,but if we are honest with ourselves it is a precarious position at present.Our home form has been superb and we have picked up one or two nice wins away under Jake,but can we forget that this very team was demolished in Aus,outplayed in Paris and thumped at Twickenham.They managed to implode against Ireland along the way too.All this in a time where the All Blacks swept all before them.A Grand Slam would have done nicely.

It would be prudent to excercise caution and humility with this seasons fixture list.The Aussies will again have many injured stars available that missed last year.The All Blacks are still the team to beat and France in a one off is always a huge challenge.The two Tests at Twickenham will be the acid test.If the Boks can win one it will be a good result,win both it will be a huge result,if however they are beaten in both we will still be where we have been for a decade.Rampant at home and unable to win the big games abroad.This is why we failed to defend our Tri-nations title last year and is not good enough if we really want to be number 1.

• 60.katman: Reply to this comment

Then I think that we should search high and low for a tighthead who is also a captain and kicker. Then it doesn’t matter who else plays in the team.

• 61.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Carstens should not be muttering he shouldstand up and be counted

• 62.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Am I the only one that sees this issue as not simply being a prop, but more a tighthead prop?

A position a team is built around, and a position we do not have a quality guy or one of world class standard?

BJ has entered the scene this year. According to all players that has played at the highest level, you only mature in your late 20′s in this position.

• 63.Wolverine: Reply to this comment

I hope everyone who is bagging JW on this site is prepared to eat their slice of humble pie when the Boks play like we all know they can!

He has one of the toughest jobs in South Africa, and instead of supporting him based on his successful track record, individuals allow their one-eyed opinions to cloud what the man has done and fire shots at him. Pathetic!

Which one of you who guns for him could do a better job?!?!?! SFA of you IMHO

• 64.B16: Reply to this comment

Guys, guys, guys – pull up your panties and dry your eyes – Jake White is no moron – he badly wants to win the World Cup just like the rest of us. The difference between Jake and any other poepol coach we’ve had (excl Kitch and Nick), is that Jake has the intellect to achieve that goal.

Who gives a **** who runs out in the Green ‘n Gold – the main thing is that he gets our Bokke to win..!!!

Tekkelllllllllllllllllllll………!!!!!!!

• 65.Paws: Reply to this comment

Well said rastafox (#59)

• 66.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Let’s fire Jake and bring back Rudolf, I believe Jake is the best man for the Job, but should use the media as an effective tool not give them ammo, and for the record quotes out of context mean ****

• 67.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

AND well said B16!

• 68.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

B16, I will be there tommorrow with the rest, and you are spot on

• 69.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Jake was apointed till after the worldcup next year. He can decide for himself what’s good for the team. I also think his got a point by not selecting and outsider at the moment. I am not saying that Visagie is no good , but jake’s been working with a couple of guys and he know’s what he has in these players. No one will ever be happy with something Jake does or say. But i don’t think there’s something wrong with his coaching.

• 70.gecko: Reply to this comment

Could White jsut be firing up Visagie – to see if he still has it in him? Visagie hasn’t played for over a month, he has been on holiday in the US.

• 71.B16: Reply to this comment

Good point – AndreWP

No coach can ever pick a side that meets with public opinio, because there is no such thing as constant public opinion. I’ve looked at the teams that various readers have put forward on this site, and every one of them is different.

When picking a XV, there are not always obvious choices – how the individuals combine as a team is probably the thing that sits first on the coaches mind – whereas we the readers just choose the 15 individuals that impress us the most.

• 72.B16: Reply to this comment

Ex-playa – see you there – come to the PWC box for a dop afterwards.

• 73.tompig: Reply to this comment

I think Jake is revving him up to establish the full potential. no one can be that dumb to make a comment like that. there must be a hidden ajenda.

• 74.capebull: Reply to this comment

Visagie has never scrummed any one to pieces, I actually agreee with Jake, he’s backing the guys in his team , what else should he do ??

• 75.Wolverine: Reply to this comment

I think people have forgotten the circumstances in which Visagie left SA.

Tested positive for Nandrolone, banned for 2 years, took 1 year to fight it and overturn it. Then wasn’t immediately reselected and then sued SARFU for lost earnings (walked away with R3 million if I recall correctly – a lot of money back then!).

How many employers do you know who would be willing to re-employ someone after that individual has sued them and won?!?!?!

BTW – I am based in Ireland and have seen what Cobus has been doing for Saracens . . . he is a machine! CJ may be better one day, but he has a long way to go to be on a par with Cobus!

• 76.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Redcard – you say JW is a moron and he has torrets syndrome. What is this torrets syndrome that you say this moron has?

• 77.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

This article is hugely sensationalistic.

“outrageous” and “outburst” in one short sentence?

Andrew, couldn’t you have seen your way clear to fit “slammed” into the sentence as well?

• 78.B16: Reply to this comment

Wolverine – interesting what you say. Looks like a lot of us are going to pay a little more attentiont to Cobus’s performance.

• 79.cab: Reply to this comment

gecko, i hope he’s just firing him up, Visagie is a great prop, but i think Carsten will want to prove something too, could be a big tussle.

• 80.tsiko: Reply to this comment

Jake please put a sock in it! (Keo’s words some time ago, not mine.) Why can’t he shut his trap or try to be diplomatic.

“We have very good props in our squad and we have a lot of faith in them…..bla bla bla, having said that, Cobus has played for the Boks and has a lot of experience …..”

I have said it before and will say it again, JW should stop trampling all over players’ dreams and ambitions. He should remember what it felt like when he was overlooked as Springbok coach and he said the same things S Britz said, i.e. do what is best for me …. when he threatened to take over the English u/age teams

• 81.cab: Reply to this comment

yeah, i think pussycat has a point, andrew is this not a bit OTP, was Jake White really so outspoken?

• 82.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

B16 :roll: another damn auditor on this site…

• 83.Tony: Reply to this comment

Wolverine…

he and Mr Strauli did not see eye to eye and like Fleck he was ne of the players who had to balls to tell him where to get off.

Thats the other side of the coin!

• 84.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Nicksteroonie & WLS……*** lickers.
    Take your heads out the sheeps *** to get the wool off from over your head…..

• 85.Tony: Reply to this comment

Tsiko, very good point relating to JW’s early comments after been overlooked

• 86.katman: Reply to this comment

Yes Tsiko, why don’t we just train all our coaches and players in the art of the ambiguous interview? Fuzzy diplomacy, tired clichés and rehashed generalisations. A bit like an Anto Leonard post-match interview.

• 87.B16: Reply to this comment

Hey Vin – the mother of all assumptions, dude. I’m a guest – not one of them.

• 88.bunce: Reply to this comment

maybe he wants visagie to play with a bit of fire and show his worth aswell as testing carstens

• 89.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Pussycat -

How’s this?

Springbok coach Jake White was surely slammed out of his mind as he has made another outrageous selection outburst!!!

• 90.tompig: Reply to this comment

agree 100% with bunce (88)

• 91.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Smellthis – let me guess, you are Bulls supporter?

• 92.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

The point is that Jake must learn to be a little more diplomatic. It just may have served him better to keep his comments till after the game. Somebody is going is going to look stupid. Who is it going to be: Kobus or Jake ?

• 93.Andrew: Reply to this comment

PS Cab,

The quotes came from Beeld not my own. I’m merely presenting them here, but like I said White is capable of such rants. And basically its his indaba. Personally I thin he should just keep quiet. But who cares as long as he keeps winning.

He will NEVER make everyone happy. EVER.

• 94.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

LOL at Andrew (post 89) !!! :lol:

• 95.Tony: Reply to this comment

Andrew it aint about making everyone happy here. The agenda is how many tightheads do we have with basically 30 test caps, experience in NH conditions and scrummed against top players from around the world (regular Baa Baa player) in the past three years, who is still in top form?

Its not about making anyone happy but appyling good common sense. I am a JW fan, but think he must be arrogant to think what he thinks sometimes!

• 96.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

Jake pluk n lat vir sy eie gat.

• 97.jondood: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

You sound like you are in a good mood this morning.

I take it your handbag is in good working order along with all the “province” accessories?

• 98.cab: Reply to this comment

ja Andrew, oh ok Beeld, say no more, the northerners reckon JW has a conspiracy to undermine them, unless all of the bulls are selected, JW will be catsigated as a soutie with a vendetta.

all i can say is thank goodness, they play the hoff at loftus to relax the locals.

• 99.tompig: Reply to this comment

morning jondood

• 100.Wimbledon_Shark: Reply to this comment

Clearly no one watched boots n all. what is this an anti jake white site? Yes maybe he does put his foot in his mouth a lot of the time, but this is time it is being blown out of the water. Can’t you see you are being fed exactly what you want to hear by the media.

You guys are as bad as english football supporters… never happy with the guy in charge. It drives me mad.

• 101.jondood: Reply to this comment

morning tornpig

The sun is shinning on mud island.

Perhaps the oppertunity for a quick braai before going out on the lash is in order.

Weather permitting.

• 102.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Wimbledon_Shark

Jake made the comments to a journalist. Not on Boots and All. See post 26 and 43.

• 103.cab: Reply to this comment

Beeld and Rapport, in my personal opinion, have to be the crappest publications on the planet, surely Pretoria is crying out for some intelligent afrikaans comment.

It is quite clear that there is a very knowledgeable base up there these days. Just the other day there was a bulls supporter talling about Descartes, (unfortunately Drunkmonkey spoiled it a bit by talking about Descrates, but I have’nt heard of him, is he a local?).

• 104.tompig: Reply to this comment

Jondood

sounds good. pitty you hjave to mix with the poms. I will have a good SA T Bone during the game for you tomorrow, hows that

• 105.Wimbledon_Shark: Reply to this comment

Lovely day isn’t it! saying goodbye to mud island for two weeks, going back to Durbs!

• 106.Wimbledon_Shark: Reply to this comment

well if that is the case i withdraw my comment… although it screams of sensationalism to me!

• 107.tackler_of_note: Reply to this comment

Watch how Carstens show’s visagie why he is needed in the bok camp!

• 108.Wolverine: Reply to this comment

Imagine being JW, everywhere you go there are these flies (journos) buzzing around and whatever you say gets scribbled down, distorted and regurgitated.

The guy can’t even have a joke with one of his management team without it being repeated.

So you can imagine it must be tempting to throw some shite in the air and sit back and watch the reaction!

• 109.jondood: Reply to this comment

tompig

Deal.

End of the year I will be back and living the good life back in SA.

• 110.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Jondood

You going back to Pretoria ?

• 111.big g: Reply to this comment

#96 he he yes, i was wondering why so many stormers were playin.. he he ‘n lat vir sy eie gat indeed..

• 112.jondood: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

Most probably.

I will visit Cape Town every now and again and do my bit to keep their economy afloat.

• 113.big g: Reply to this comment

is it just me or is it time for a real interesting thread where we reach a 1000 or so post without blinkin an eye again.. the stories this week has just about bn pillow breaking stuff…
    how about bolla dumps ricky for qd: cause he needs even more meat than ricky at the moment

• 114.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Jondood

Lemme know when you in town. Will buy you a cold one.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

jond, how long has your tour of duty been?

• 116.jondood: Reply to this comment

cab

4 years on the 9th September.

I am moeg.

• 117.jondood: Reply to this comment

Rudebud

Will do

• 118.cab: Reply to this comment

bliksem, not surprising.

• 119.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Big g

The only time a blog gets to 1000 is when one talks of race or when bloggers diss each other about nationality, race and sexuality.

Hence me and Grootblou.. aka Jondood the other day.

I was enjoying the fact that groot got the wrong side of the humour.

• 120.Wolverine: Reply to this comment

On the previous tour to Eire, JW was asked a loaded question by an Irish journo as to how many Irish players he would select in his team. Of course he couldn’t diss his own side so he said only 1 or 2 would make the side (flattering IMO). There was murder here, and the Irish were all whining in the media about how arrogant he was.

Funny thing though, later the same day I was at the team hotel to wish the team good luck (must have been a curse!) and I overheard JW joking with Kobus Wiese and referring to his distorted statements he laughed and said; “What I meant to say was that not one of them would make the team!” If something like that had been said in the lobby of a SA Hotel it would be smeared all over the papers!

IMO the SA public should just leave the guy alone and let his results speak for themselves!

• 121.norman: Reply to this comment

good to see that something like this drives you mad
    woer what wil happen to you when something of importance comes around

• 122.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Well you can expect the White haters and lovers having a go at each other regarding this.

But this is not my issue personally.

White, being the national coach, has put himself in a position where he has to live with criticism. But it is what brings the criticism on that he seems not to understand.

Cobus, rated by many of his peers as being one of the best in the world is a case in point.

On the one hand, Jake advocates experience and caps as vitally important to his campaign and vital for WC glory.

He justifies, or proves this by bringing back Percy, Jaco, Os, Breyton, Snyman etc.

He sticks by his players which is commendable, he does not just give away caps which brought some honour back – great stuff.

He also recognises weaknesses in his current setup and even recognises shortcomings of his own and thus, he brings back 32 year old Snyman to cover center and wing, and he gets Balie and the Ozzie to help him with scrumming and flair in the backline – a great move and to be commended.

He then does a complete about-turn in saying we have enough props, and he names them.

Thing is, those guys are not just tightheads, but they include loosehead props, and more to the point, looseheads converted to tighthead or players that cover both.

I am no prop, but from what I heard experienced players say, tighthead is an extremely specialised position, and some go as far as to say a whole team is built around that.

Problem: Out of the whole bunch only BJ was rated in the last while by many ‘experts’ including old Kees. Other than that we sit with injuries.

Sephaka hasn’t played a decent game of rugga since PE last year, not all Jake’s fault but still.

Andrews is not rated, not by me, but by opposition and ‘experts’ – he is able at best.

This leaves him with one guy, BJ, he has spent no time on as he claimed with other guys and why he does not want to shaft him.

Further, he brings back Snyman to cover wing/center where we have Paulse, Habs, Gaffie, JDV (as cover for wing as well) being established guys he has played there (wing) before. Then we have the Ndungane twins, Mametsa (who had a good CC last year), Nokwe (part of the squad and one he rates) for the future.

At center, well we have enough I do not need to go through them.

For me, this is a clear contradiction of his policies. Visagie, is matured, experienced and rated and we do not have 20 world class props (tightheads).

It seems either White does not think before he talks, to which he does not make life any easier for him.

Or, his reasons highlighted is not the real reason, and he is playing or satisfying agendas or people lurking in the background.

Either way, he makes himself look like a fool and being a supporter of White, he must rather keep quiet if he cannot give straight answers.

The;

“he won’t make Stellenbosch’s 7th team”
    “biggest Bok pack in history”
    “he is not a line out option”
    “he has never been in a Bok losing team”
    “only one or two of the Ireland players will make my first team”

type comments need to stop.

He has a bloody difficult job but he knew what he was getting himself into, it is difficult enough with axes flying around everywhere and having to satisfy political agendas as well as try and become the best team.

But feeding the public BS like this is insulting.

Do the talking on the field Jake, and if you believe for whatever reason, Cobus is not good enough, prove it with performances on the field.

• 123.jondood: Reply to this comment

bokinoz

GBS is going to have the TROTS when he sees you online today.

• 124.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Make Gcobani Bobo a flank.

• 125.JUSM: Reply to this comment

yes we have a lot of props but if jake hasn’t noticed our scrum hasn’t exactly been awesome. fck sake jake.

• 126.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

PissAnt

Well said. Exactly how i feel.

• 127.big g: Reply to this comment

make bobo a rugby player first…

• 128.Andrew: Reply to this comment

:lol: @ big g. But seriously…

• 129.Wolverine: Reply to this comment

Just be thankful that as Springbok supporters we haven’t had a coach that has talked the same amount of shite that Eddie Moans and Clive Woodward talked!

JW did the world a favour by exposing the Aussie scrum and Moans’ bullshit!

• 130.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Jondood,

I was beginning to think it was you who was using the name GBS the other night.

I noticed when he was online you wernt and vice versa. So I thought I go with the flow and add a few comments.

• 131.cab: Reply to this comment

PA,

yes, but he is the coach after all and it is the media asking him the questions. Remember we’ve had strong silent types as coaches before who try and keep everying secretive and contained behind the laager and look what happens there.

JW seems like a direct sort of bloke. If the media asks him a question he gives them an answer. Is it his fault that the questions are loaded or his answers spun?

• 132.cab: Reply to this comment

we must clasp Jakie to our bosoms, not kick him in the bollocks.

• 133.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bossom buddies!!

• 134.big g: Reply to this comment

trompie en die boksom bende, jake white the dog

• 135.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

cab,

No problem with him speaking at all, the problem is this situation he contradicts himself as said in my post.

We have enough props – we don’t, not tightheads.

He wants experience, Cobus has it.

He does not want to give away caps, he is a Bok already.

The reasoning stinks.

I am a White fan, and I believe no-one currently in SA is better suited for the job, but if he wants to be straight and honest, be straight and honest.

• 136.Ig: Reply to this comment

cab – i tend to agree with PA – its good that Jake communicates with the media but he could do with a lesson in answering loaded questions…as opposed to saying only two irishmen making his starting 15 he could say that Ireland are a bloody good team with a lot of good players a couple he would mind having in his team……

• 137.cab: Reply to this comment

true, some strange reasoning, he just likes winding ppl up.

• 138.jondood: Reply to this comment

bokinoz

I only use this name.

Have been tempted to stir under another name though.

• 139.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Tomorrows game between the Springboks and World XV should provide rugby fans with an exciting festival of running rugby.The World XV brings some real creative talent to the game and this will be offset by a Bok team that has yet to impress with any form of fluid attacking ability.

The battle up front will be colossal and Deon Cartsens will have his hands full containing former Bok strongman Cobus Visagie.Visagie is an experienced and highly regarded tighthead with 29 caps for the Boks.In the middle Hanyane Shimange will be measured against Raphael Ibanez an experienced campaigner that is renowned for his scrumming prowess.Eddie Andrews will need to be on his toes against experienced Kiwi Dave Hewitt. As a unit the World XV front row is not only experienced,but enormously capable.As neither front row are tested units,both will look to find some cohesion early on.I expect the World XV to have the upperhand in this area.

In the second row Radike Samo brings some explosive power to the party,whilst lesser known Tom Palmer will want to impress.For the Boks Danie Roussow will be hoping to silence his critics and counteract the exciting Samo.Albert v/d Berg is an experienced campaigner and his athleticism is a major assett.Boks to shade the World XV.

The Bok looseforwards are an exciting combination and should overshadow their opponents.In Wikus van Heerden the Boks have a tireless worker who may adapt well to the fetcher role.AJ Venter is a pillar of strength and experience on the blindside and if Joe van Niekerk can rediscover the form that made him a star on the international stage he will be immense.The World XV have in Rush,Magne and Chabal an abrasive unit that will not be shy of a little confrontation.

Should the World XV halfbacks receive good ball and hit their straps it could be all over for the South Africans.In Marshall and Spencer the World XV have an experienced and exciting combination.Their opposite numbers are both trying to find some form and may well be shown up in this match.The out of shape Januarie has a huge task after a really poor return from injury.

The midfield should belong to the established combination of De Villiers and Fourie.Thomas Castaignede is another great player that has tended to blow hot and cold and little is known of Fraser Waters.

At the back the experience of Snyman,du Toit and Montgommery should be the pick of the day.Matt Burke is however one of the finest and most complete players to wear jersey 15.Issa Nacewa has shown good form in a struggling Blues team this year and has talent in abundance.Bruce Reihana is another experienced campaigner with a nose for the goal line.

All told I expect the Boks to have a tough task up front and this will decide the game.If the Boks can subdue the World XV pack and provide their exciting backs with good ball it will be a solid victory to the Bokke.If however the pack takes strain it will take blood and guts to steal the win.It is highly unlikely the Boks would lose this one,but it may well be a lot closer than many expect.

• 140.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Jondood,

Okay I believe you although many wont.

I will log on later tonight when I get back to see if he is around and see if he is still sulking in the Bullring.

Gotta get ready the wife she is grumpy.

• 141.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Rastafox (139)

Bugger your post is too long.

Keep it short my vocabularly is limited.

• 142.big g: Reply to this comment

we are surely blessed with awesome loosies!!

• 143.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

They are always grumpy.

• 144.big g: Reply to this comment

bokinozzie
    one line at a time ‘meid’

• 145.cab: Reply to this comment

decent report rasta, could be close. some great players and they’ve had a game under the belt, boks could be up against it.

• 146.KEA: Reply to this comment

When I read this article, I am thankfull I am not in JW’s shoes. JW was interviewed on Boots & All last night and what has happened is some prick of a journalist has taken his words and twisted them around.

All those people calling JW names should take a good look at themselves and decide who’s the big Doos, themselves or JW. As for the prick who published the article…..say no more.

• 147.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

KEA

See post 26 and 43. Jake made these comments to a journalist and not on Boots and All. Also read PissAnt’s post 122 for a balanced view.

• 148.KEA: Reply to this comment

Rudebud, I know he made the “comments” to a journalist of the Beeld. I am saying the journalist of the Beeld twisted his words around.
    Why would he say one thing to the Beeld and then another on Boots & All.

I bet if you ask JW he will tell you his words have been twisted once again.

Anyway, my opinion is Visagie in the past was a liability to the Boks, the amount of times he gave stupid penalties away used to have me tearing my hair out.

• 149.jondood: Reply to this comment

KEA

I take it your sack is as smooth as a baby’s bum?

• 150.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

Perhaps we can start a small fund to buy a spoon for Jake with which he can eat the egg from his face?

Just a thought…

• 151.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ja KEA but the same can be said regarding Os, AJ, Klein Schalk, DWB etc.

They all gave away penalties but thats because they play on the edge of the rules.
    The same can also be said of George Smith, Richie McCaw (especially him) Tana Umaga etc

• 152.KEA: Reply to this comment

Jondood, spot on, what am I going to do is he plays for us again, Lord have mercy.

• 153.saffa: Reply to this comment

viper6

why dont u like JW? You always come on here and abuse the **** out of him. calm down!!

• 154.jondood: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

Go outside and let some sunshine into your life.

You still cranky?

• 155.KEA: Reply to this comment

Vinnie, Schalk, Geaorge Smith, McCaw, I can live with. When it comes down to stupidity and no discipline it’s another story. DB is another one that freaks my mind at times.

• 156.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Not cranky at all jonyyd!
    Its a gloriously sunny day and Im off to watch the sevens tomorrow and get gloriously pissed in the sunshine!

• 157.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Hi guys

I think JW has got it spot on. It gives Visagie motivation, and it gives Carstens motivation to prove JW is right, and it shows JW has faith and trust in Carstens to stand his ground.

How old is Visagie?

Is there any truth to this story, or is it another Keo spin?

• 158.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Are there no better quota props than Eddie and Lawrence?

• 159.saffa: Reply to this comment

Bagel.
    No.

• 160.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

ag ek dink white gebruik die media…wek meer belangsteling in hierdie non test match.

• 161.cab: Reply to this comment

ahh Drunkmonkey old chom, how goes it today?

in your opinion, should wessel roux get another shout or danie thiart?

• 162.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

This story is old news – JW did not say he would not give Visagie a chance, in fact he saud the opposite in saying that he would not close doors on anyone. White is a legend, at least he thinks..not like old coached (Exl mallet, Kitch and Ian Mc).

• 163.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Vissagie is old, slow and cannot run with the ball. He is an old style Blue Bull prop who adds no value!

• 164.tompig: Reply to this comment

jondood, will you be supporting the dumb poms when you return

• 165.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Boylouw,

When last did you see him play?
    I’ve seen him a few times this year and he has been awesome so either you’re basing your opinions on 2003 play, are flying a kite making a ridiculouos claim or dont know ****-all about rugby.

I’ve seen him up against all the English and French props and he smashed them all.

• 166.kevin w: Reply to this comment

i see Jake’s bout of “foot in mouth” disease has come early this season.

Strange some parts of the front row can come from overseas and not have been worked with like Danie Coetzee but not the props??

• 167.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

kevn w,

I think for Jake its about him approaching the player and not the player approaching him.
    Breyton, Andre, Danie, Jaco etc were all approached by Jake.
    Luke, Schalk, Cobus etc have all declared themselves available and have been side-lined.

I think Jake has the opinion of “I make the decisions around here”.

• 168.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Shanme Bokfokopin Ozzie,

See you’re still not over the pounding you got from me!!

I confirm Jondood’s remark, we are 2 distinctly seperate muppits, seemingly with a similar distaste for YOU!!

• 169.steyn: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

I think you have it spot on there…he wants to be the man bringing the player back and if it is a success then him self can take all the credit….when they say they want to play it takes the shine out of the hole thing……the only player in this group …..the said he wants to play 50 test made it must have slipt past old jake there

• 170.kevin w: Reply to this comment

vinnie

probably … but in my opinion Jake likes the sound of his own voice far too much and is too full of his own importance.

Personally, i don’t think we stand a snow ball’s chance in hell next year.

• 171.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Decisions decisions.

England vs Jamaica friendly match, or the weirdo Bok team vs the boring old World XV.

• 172.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Ja I know what you mean kev,

I’ve got excited about SA Rugby too many times in the past and get let down more often than not.
    Every year I get excited for the s12/14… every single damn year.

I dont think we’re looking good for next year at all actually. Time will tell but there are sides at there that are just getting stronger and stronger while we just get more injuries and more injuries.

I’m actually less concerned about next year but more as to what will happen thereafter as by that time half our side will retire.

• 173.tompig: Reply to this comment

Kevin,

Without going through the holw debate again about the resting of players etc, I reckon we have a great chance next year. We have all pretty much agreed that Jake is the man, although his comments to the public have alot to be desired. I reckon that if we are injury free at the WC next year the biggest challenges will be the Kiwis, as I believe they are the most hungry for it and the Frogs, we can not underestimate them on their own home soil.

Ought to be a hell of alot more fun to watch than WC 2003 thats for sure

• 174.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Dont write off the English tompig,
    They’re playing in their backyard in conditions that suit them with a side that is getting better with every game.

• 175.cab: Reply to this comment

apparantly the roundball version of the worldcup is starting shortly, all the poms are jumping around and the whole office is invited to a screening of the Trinidad game, anything’s better than work, but what a dreadful alternative.

• 176.tompig: Reply to this comment

I doubt that England will ever be as strong as 2003. I agree on conditions, but dont see them being the same side at all. Excluding wilki, the team was awsome with the likes of Neil Back

• 177.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

lol cab – did you watch that celebrity England v the ROW last Saturday night with Robbie Williams and co?
    Did you see how slow the game was?

• 178.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Howdy all

• 179.tompig: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote, welcome, how you doing???

• 180.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Yeah tompig, I seem to remember most pundits saying that 3 years ago too.

• 181.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Its Friday, and there’s some ruga on tomorow. What else can a guy ask for?

• 182.kevin w: Reply to this comment

tompig,

I’m going for the Frogs, they have always been my second team and I think it’s their time.

Not sure about the kiwis – like us, all the talent but not the execution. Our problem is taht we are so focussed on the WC 2003 and Rudi Strauli – that’s why we believe Jake is the saviour.

What has he really done, that any coach with this much talent at his disposal couldn’t have. He has beaten ONE top 5 country away from home in his entire time. Away from home in the NH for the WC – semi’s if we are lucky, perhaps we can bring Jannie de Beer out of retirement to get us thrrough the quarters.

• 183.tompig: Reply to this comment

Weather in JHB looks pretty good too. Light a fire, tan a chop, drink for death. Another crappy day in SA that the Queen doesn’t know about. Apologies Jondood, this must have brought a tear to the eye.

• 184.superbok: Reply to this comment

Like a school teacher showing his class who’s in charge. Whether players would like to play for the Boks is irrelevant. He’s got to stop shooting down their aspirations in public. Another egotistical rant.

• 185.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

kev

I agree you. One thing JW must show us this year is that the boks can win away from home. If he gets the right me thinks we will win the WC otherwise semi’s if we lucky.

• 186.cab: Reply to this comment

Vinnie,

ya hate to admit it, but i did, the only one with any talent is that fast ******* Le Tissier, Robbie Williams looks like a loved-up oompalumpa with an ecstacy fetish which has lead to the goofy grin that appears fixed on his mug.

I see the poms have shot someone else this morning, wonder if this one’s brazilian?

• 187.tompig: Reply to this comment

hi Kevin,

yeah, its a tough call. If memory serves correctly Kiwis have only won twice which were the first two WC’S. They have such a reputation of being chokers that they can not allow it to happen again. Yesterday we had a great debate about the resting of players. I really believe that the Kiwi coach might just do that through the S14 next year to ensure the best possible squad for the WC. My best mate stays in Kiwi land and he reckons the public are totally rugby mad and are tyred of being known as the chokers. They will come out with guns blazing. I definately rate we will be in the top 3, hopefully a final. As stated earlier, the froggs also worry me.

• 188.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I think we are way to focussed on the WC making it the be-all and end-all of our success.
    Think we should place less emphasis on the WC and more on being the best team in the world all the time instead of trying to win a knock-out tournament where one slip-up or poor ref decision can relegate you from the best in the world to fourth.

Personally I’d rather be the best in the world all the time and lose the world cup like the kiwis than be fourth or fifth in the world but then fluke a WC win every four years like the wallabies.
    Personal choice though adn everyone will have a different opinion.

• 189.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

The 3 big guns next year at the WC will be the Kiwi’s, Boks and Frogs.

• 190.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

tompig, the kiwis only won the first WC in 1987.

• 191.big g: Reply to this comment

kiwi will take the cup next year…
    we have nothing that can combat carter (unless butch is ready) and our winger (unless snyman plays) will be shown up by the millions of great wingers they have…

• 192.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ig it’s vokken cold outside can I borrow you for tonight?

• 193.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

big g,

How do you even begin to compare butch to carter?

• 194.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Dont think his skinny *** will be able to keep you warm Dawn…

• 195.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

big g,

carter is good, but not god.

newlands proved that.

• 196.Ig: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – what do you know about my *** ? Ferking problems supporters ….

Dawn – i am double booked this evening…..making three might make the lying a little difficult

• 197.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Vinnie

Disagree with you. Do you think the All Blacks didn’t want to win all those World Cups. Course they did. To rephrase: What would your view have been had the All Blacks win all those World Cups ? However, one should always strive to be the best, including alround tests outside of WC year.

• 198.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

PissAnt

We all thought Carter was good last year, this year he has been the God of the oval ball.

• 199.tompig: Reply to this comment

Thanks Vinnie, wasn’t too sure. that will make them even more hungry.

• 200.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

200 !!!

• 201.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Yeah !!! Waar is Skim nou ??? :mrgreen:

• 202.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Hello maatjies

• 203.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Groot

Wat se jy?

• 204.Ou Grote: Reply to this comment

Meeting. see you okes later

• 205.tompig: Reply to this comment

what are the chances ao making a few strategic calls and get the Kiwi’s and Carter in particular framed for match fixing…..seems to be the latest thing, even soccer on the soggy island

• 206.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ou Grootste,

Ek is vandag soooooo ****** lui, jy kan met my koekies bak…..wag net tot Bokfokopin Ozzie sy neus hier uithang….dan sal jy my sien wakker word.

Lekker dag buite hier in Verre Oos Jozi, of laat ek dit sommer reguit sê..Brakpan!!

• 207.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Why not just slip something in his drink and claim he was mates with big dell?

• 208.big g: Reply to this comment

not comparing butch to carter at all, think he is the only SA flyhalf that when on song can contain and give carter a good run for his money…
    piss ant, carter is just about god of flyhalf and probably the best player in the world and even of the decade…

• 209.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ig. A likely story.

Your prowess is legendary!

• 210.rastafox: Reply to this comment

The World Cup is more than a year away and there is much to be done in the mean time.The Boks as they stand right now are not world beaters and have their work cutout this season.The poor form of many first-choice Boks this season is cause for concern.Jake White has done reasonably well without dominating world rugby in any sense.

If we take a rational and calm look at the Boks under White we see a competitive team that has done far better than their predecessors and done much to erase the pain of the 2003 World Cup.The team that played at that World Cup were poor by any standards and still made the knock-outs.Hell would sooner freeze over than the Boks missing the playoff rounds.This is the order of world rugby.

So it is no superhuman effort to win all ones home games,it would be expected by any of the top 6 nations and appreciated by those lower down the order.It is away that truly good teams win and it is here where Jake and his boys have been poor.

In perspective winning against Argentina home or away should be a given despite the Pumas huge improvement in recent years.Beating the likes of Scotland,Wales and Ireland home or away should not represent a major obstacle.The French too should be regularly beaten and Italy despatched anywhere with ease.It is however in the South that we struggle most and Australia and New Zealand must be cracked away for us to establish any form of world dominance.

Our last 5 away games have yielded a good win vs Australia (22-19 in Perth),a scrappy win vs a weakened Pumas XV (34-23 in Beunos Aires),a convincing win against a woeful Wales (33-16) in Cardiff and two narrow losses to New Zealand and France.All told a decent effort and worthy of our No. 2 ranking in world rugby.

This year we need to go one better and this team needs to show that they are indeed ready to accept the challenge of world dominance.Looking at this years fixtures it will be make or break.

There are two tune-ups vs Scotland who must be despatched in style on home soil.A loss to the resurgent Scots at home is unacceptable and unlikely.The French are as ever a dangerous proposition anywhere and with an experienced squad must be beaten,this is Test may well set the tone for the season.

Then it is off to Australia and New Zealand for 2 against the Aussies and 1 against the All Blacks.Fortunately the draw favours us in having 2 home games against New Zealand,with one vs the Aussies and this may well provide the opportunity to regain the Tri-nations trophy.We must however win at least one away game against Oz and all our home games to secure this.It does not seem too much to ask.

We then have the question of revenge at Landsdowne Road and this will be a tough assignment as ever.The climax of the year will be successive Tests vs England at Twickenham and these two fixtures could be the make or break of the year,we simply have to win at least one of these Tests to be satisfied with this year.

• 211.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Ou Grote,

He wasn’t that impressive at Newlands this year either when he came on, maybe he hates CPT?

• 212.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I dunno big g, I’ve never seen Butch on song.
    I’ve heard everybody talk about the mythical Butch James diva of the pocket but have yet to actually witness it and I’ve pretty much seen every game he has ever played.

He was either yellow carded or injured but never really seen him attain the mythical status that you hear the sharks fans and Jake White claim.
    Maybe it was when he was in hgih school.

• 213.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ag no man rasta,

This was a fooking long post, didn’t read it, am to lazy today

• 214.tompig: Reply to this comment

Vinnie, do what you want as long as it works. remember the 95 cup final, the kisi’s complained about food poisoning, who knows any chefs in france and what would it cost???

• 215.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Why you guys arguing about Carter.

He’s gorge.

End of debate.

• 216.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Could always have a word with Arsene Wenger’s chef buddy at the Radisson…

• 217.cab: Reply to this comment

vinnie, he had a very good season just before he was injured, stepped up a level, by far and away the best 10 in SA at that time. Place kicking was superb, tackling solid (headhigh stopped), and distribution shithot, dont know if he’ll ever get back tho.

• 218.kevin w: Reply to this comment

never write off the aussies boys … and carter can be controlled with a decent quick loose trio, not Jake’s friggin carthorses like Cronje and co.

you can control the game from the breakdown and compete for the ball, preventing Carter from getting every opportunity available – that’s why Watson should be there.

• 219.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Derick Hougaard also had a great season once cab.

Butch James has never lived up to the hype.

• 220.cab: Reply to this comment

Depends what you mean by great, Hougaardt invariabaly kicks like a machine, but cant ever get his backline moving. we’ll have to disagree on butch, when he calms down with his tackling, best 10 we’ve had since Honiball.

• 221.tompig: Reply to this comment

Cab, i agree with the James tackeling thing. I reckon the referee’s have him marked before the start of a game. I might have been a good thing he has been injured so long, hopefull ref’s would have forgotten all about his antics. Also makes him want to make a huge come back.

• 222.tompig: Reply to this comment

Can you believe it, must go from sandton to Midrand in Friday afternoon trafic for aq 3 o clock management meeting that will probably go on till 5. This is cutting into my drinking time. Some people are so inconsiderate…..

• 223.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Dawn 215,

I am sure that’s what the dabate was about.

• 224.jondood: Reply to this comment

vinnie

I am envious re 7′s.

I am working overtime tomorrow.

But I will make it to the pub for kickoff.

• 225.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

I agree with Vinnie, especially since Butch’s tackling was closely watched he wasn’t the impact he was when he came into the fold.

• 226.jondood: Reply to this comment

My sack is itchy, care to scratch?

• 227.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

I don’t suppose that anybody might think JW is deliberately firing Visagie up in order to test Carstens against a pissed off top ranked front rower.
    If Visagie destroys Carstens I don’t see why JW would have egg on his face he would merely have answered another question.
    If Carstens holds up well against Visagie or even dominates him JW will know he has a world cup prop able to absorb pressure at a higher level.

Keo, JW is our best chance at RWC glory he is doing a great job perhaps you could start putting a positive spin on some of your posts and then perhaps that could filter through to the squad. It seems you have an agenda against JW he has implemented a lot of common sense initiatives within the bok set up, steps that this site has begged for in the past and now it is happening you change your stand point and criticise. I just can’t understand it!!!!

• 228.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Always knew you had pubic lice. Itchy buggers huh. And what about that herpes.

• 229.jondood: Reply to this comment

You crude cow, I was taling about the sack where I keep my dice in.

I am gambling this weekend.

• 230.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Nick Mallet started doing this when it was the beginning of the end for him. You can’t really undersatnd why he would say something like this even if he doesnt want Visagie in the team. It definitely appears to be arrogance

• 231.jakesfourie: Reply to this comment

Jake is making it harder 2 root fully 4 the boks.Im a bok supporter but the things that jake has said so far&the kak selections hes made,makes me wanna hope the boks loose so that he can realise that he is not gods gift 2 rugby.I really believe that he likes the sound of his own voice.No bok coach has ever been so arrogant.

• 232.Veii: Reply to this comment

I think Jake went too far this time. He is an arogent son af a ***** and a blind one at that. I agree with jakesfourie. I hope the springboks get such a hiding that Jake can shut his dam mouth. Despite the fact that it is good for a coach to have faith in his players Jake has a little too mutch faith in Deon. Its just as stupid as putting Brent Russel onto the field and saying: “I know you can do it. Now go out there and tackle the **** out of Jonah Lomu”. I think Deon Carstens is shiting in his pants becouse he knows Jake has put alot of presure on him. Visagie is going to kill Deon.

• 233.bigg: Reply to this comment

Jake has shot himself in the foot yet again… So pressure on DC now. Cobus has nothing to lose – Go Cobus!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 234.jondood: Reply to this comment

ag dont be silly.

A true supporter should not wish for his/her team to lose.

pathetic

• 235.Weepee: Reply to this comment

Ouens, Kiwis won the first world cup in 1987, since then they’ve been the bookies favourite entering every single event and have lost. Perenial underachievers is the label they’ve inherited! Their public want the World Cup above everything else in terms of results, being No.1 in the World means little to nothing – if you seriously believe SA are the 2nd best team in World Rugby, I’d suggest our 4th to 5th position later this year may come as a surprise to you!( I sincerely hope not but I have to take a view that we’ll lose to England and New Zealand away – having not beaten them at home since before 2000 – 7 years ago). Scotland won’t be easy not when we’re yet again putting players on the park out of position and not taking form or injury into account when making selections!

Jake got us out of the Rudi-mentary days of our plan. It’s time that either Jake adapts or moves on. The Ndugane twins selection into the squad would have resolved a number of concerns, allowed Jake to select Schalk Brits and VIsagie if required because he could drop Shimmie and Andrews – 2 perinial underachievers!

Wake up and smelll the reality that no one on the Top 10 is scared of SA, anyone of them can beat us! Until we build and develop a team out of consistant selection, in position, in all 3 of the CC, S14 and Bok teams i.e JDV playing 12 at all 3 levels, Juan Smith 8, Jaco 10, Snyman – 13 (the only position for a player of his calibre). SA will produce good teams but no great ones. Jakes needs to stop giving the press soundbytes that come and haunt him. Be more diplomatic, media savvy, think before he passes comment. Keo’s right that he should have waited until Sunday. If Cobus is the real deal, then we should keep the option open. But I agree with his 2nd point even more – have we just given Pomville another SA Prop – Pat Barnard? With Matt Stevens coming on leap and bounds within the English Setup.

Jake has got the toughest season ahead of him:
    World XV, 2 x Scottish, 1 x France – at home
    Tri-nations – 3 home and 3 away
    England at Twickenham x 2 and another match away.
    Hence 12 Tests and a warm up game.
    With 6 of the Tests away. 3 against teams we havn’t beaten at home since before 2000, 7 years ago!!!!

If he succeeds, then I will accept his vision and belief have made a mockery of my arm chair selectors position. If he fails, then he will be vilified by the 10′s of thousands of likeminded Armchair selectors around the world. The issue is, if he does fail he’s got 12 months to fix the problem which is 12 months to little, too late!

• 236.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

Well, whether Jake said what he said or not, it’s obviously the way he chose his words that people can construde it. Let’s face it, this is not the first time and he is obviously not the sharpest knife in the drawer when it come to PR work.

• 237.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

A

• 238.sean123: Reply to this comment

Visage is a ***. I think Jake might have some insight into this and know that he doesnt want a guy like visage in his squad.

• 239.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Weepee

Bravo and well said I expressed much the same sentiment in an earlier post (#59).It is high time we in SA were a little less reactionary and a lot more pragmatic about where we stand.I do believe that we will slide this year as the fixture list is a tough one.It will not be necessary to fire the coach and dump the players as it will be in keeping with the order of things.We still have every chance to win the RWC next year,as do France,England,Aus and New Zealand.That makes 5 and one “power” team to face heartbreak.Somebody will not make the semi’s and it could just as easily be us as anyone else.

• 240.Skommel: Reply to this comment

Not only is New Zealand finally about to introduce the humble post code (as Wayne noted Cozzie 1, Cozzie 2, Cozzie 3) they have some really intelligent Rugby players…all this and handbag fights as well…

“Nobody in Rugby should be called a genius. A genius is a guy like Norman Einstein.” – Jono Gibbs – Chiefs

“I’m going to graduate on time, no matter how long it takes.” – Rodney So’ialo – Hurricanes – on University

“You guys line up alphabetically by height.” and “You guys pair up in groups of three, then line up in a circle.” – Colin Cooper – Hurricanes head coach

Chris Masoe (Hurricanes) on whether he had visited the Pyramids during his visit to Egypt: “I can’t really remember the names of the clubs that we went to.”

“He’s a guy who gets up at six o’clock in the morning regardless of what time it is.” – Colin Cooper on Paul Tito

Kevin Senio (Auckland), on Night Rugby vs Day Games “It’s basically the same, just darker.”

David Holwell (Hurricanes) when asked about the upcoming season: “I want to reach for 150 or 200 points this season, whichever comes first.”

“Andy Ellis – the 21 year old, who turned 22 a few weeks ago” (Murray Mexted – ex Wellington player)

“Colin has done a bit of mental arithmetic with a calculator.” (Ma Nonu)

“He scored that try after only 22 seconds – totally against the run of play.” (Murray Mexted)

“I’ve never had major knee surgery on any other part of my body.” (Jerry
    Collins)

“That kick was absolutely unique, except for the one before it which was identical.” (Tony Brown)

“I owe a lot to my parents, especially my mother and father.” (Tana Umaga)

“Sure there have been injuries and deaths in rugby – but none of them serious.” (Doc Mayhew)

“If history repeats itself, I should think we can expect the same thing again.”(Anton Oliver)

“I would not say he (Rico Gear) is the best left winger in the Super 14, but there are none better.” (Murray Mexted)

Murray Deaker: “Have you ever thought of writing your autobiography?” Tana
    Umaga: “On what?”

“Well, either side could win it, or it could be a draw.”(Murray Mexted)

“Strangely, in slow motion replay, the ball seemed to hang in the air for even longer.”(Murray Mexted)

• 241.JB Cowper: Reply to this comment

Rastafox’s comments on 11 and 139 are appropos.

There’s only one way to decided this and this is on Saturday on the field (Carstens v. Visage) – our current props are the aged and walking wounded – or quota – if Visage is as he was at his best then this is a no-brainer.

John Cowper – Detroit

• 242.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot (168)

If you think I got a pounding, mate, that was only the tip of the iceberg and if that is all you got.

Shame – you will find the world too big for you.

If you call that a pounding then I feel sorry for your missus because your ratings are shocking – I can imagine that you after a session with the missus you will say that it was lekker but during the time of your elation she is having tea and biscuits.

• 243.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot

I seemed I made more of an impression on you as you seem to not have gotten over it.

You seem quite bittered from the other night and dont quite see the humour.

You posts since then have a taste of reflection from the ordeal,

Anyway this is a rugby chat sight where other bring their views and opinions – other than the failings of the bulls outside the bull ring.

• 244.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

(243)
    I seemed – it seemed

• 245.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

Jondood,

From now on we should call you breindood. Os is a legend and Visagie a druggie. How you can even mention them in the same sentence is beyond understanding…

• 246.wilfred: Reply to this comment

katman
    # 53
    spot on.

• 247.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

The journalist from Beeld got it wrong (as usual). The tabloid (Die Son) is the only Afrikaans paper that gets the gossip right. In today’s Gauteng (northern) edition Gaffie is branded as a “has been”. What can I say: the truth hurts.

• 248.Mistral: Reply to this comment

Obviously more **** reporting.
    Listened to Jake on this subject on boots.
    He said what should have been the right thing, was a large portion of the viewers not so f..ing thick!
    He first mentioned and supported his currently selected props, intimating that it would be dificult to drop them, and then said he was not closing the door.
    really the standard of reporting, is really almost beyond belief, we need to take it from where it comes.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.