Jake fires up Visagie

Springbok coach Jake White has made another outrageous selection outburst.

And his latest comments could come back to haunt him by the time the match against the World XV is concluded.

Comments by veteran Bok prop Cobus Visagie earlier this week that he would like to challenge for a spot in White’s World Cup squad next year have received the cold shoulder from the Bok coach on the eve of the first match of the international season.

White says he has more than enough front-rowers at his disposal and will only be watching the performance of Deon Carstens – who will be directly opposed to Visagie – at Ellis Park on Saturday. Visagie, he says, does not feature in his immediate or future plans.

He could surely have reserved judgement until after his Springbok XV play the World XV. What happens if Visagie scrums Carstens into the ground? White could again be left with large amounts of egg on his face.

Furthermore, White’s comments will surely add fuel to Visagie’s fire as he will now be extra motivated to prove the Bok coach wrong and give Carstens the working over of his life.

“We’ve got more than enough props in South Africa and we’ve given them a lot of time and attention,” White told Beeld’s Hennie Brandt. “We have Eddie (Andrews), Lawrence (Sephaka), Deon (Carstens), BJ (Botha), CJ (Van der Linde), Os (Du Randt) and Guthro (Steenkamp). We don’t need another prop to join us.”

“There’s no benefit in it for us to exclude one of our players now after all the work and attention we’ve given them. I’m quite anxious to see how Deon performs against Cobus. I’m not going to watch how Cobus plays,” he said in Beeld.

32-year-old Visagie, a veteran of 29 Tests for South Africa before leaving for Britain in 2003 to further his rugby career at Saracens, was always keen to deliver a commanding display back on home soil.

And now he has the perfect reason.

248 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.jondood: Reply to this comment

VISAGIE DRAGON

• 2.jondood: Reply to this comment

Cobus use to shove Os’s head up his poepel.

• 3.grey: Reply to this comment

Jake White has turned into a arrogant prick … I actually hope Visage punishes Carstens now , just to show Jake that he must think before he makes these comments …

• 4.jondood: Reply to this comment

grey

JW is a just a pawn.

He has 2 quota props and therfore does not dare look elswhere.

• 5.grey: Reply to this comment

jondood ,

he is still a prick … actually he has always been one …

• 6.yoda: Reply to this comment

ag fok ouens, moet nou nie weer onteld raak oor niks nie, hy het mos sy keuse gemaak toe hy die land verlaat het. net omdat jake n paar ouens oorsee gan haal het, beteken nie hy moet elke “30 something player” wat oorsee speel kies vi die span nie. mens kannie jou brood aan altwee kante gebotter he nie…

• 7.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

It seems that Jake white is a motivator.

Good on him if he can get people performing at their best.

• 8.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

At 30-33 props are in their prime and if Cobus has not ‘turned heads’ now he never will.

• 9.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Jake shoud see a shrink he might be suffering from torrets syndrome. You ******* moron. :oops:

• 10.The King: Reply to this comment

Jake kak en kerm mos so oor experience. Cobus Visagie het mos baie experience en dit kan hom net help. As hy goed genoeg is moet hy speel.

Jake mag maar partykeer n doos wees

• 11.rastafox: Reply to this comment

My only reasoning for Jake’s for reaction is that he wants to test the commitment Cobus has to these statements.It is unfortunate that someone like Pat Barnard will read these comments and quite rightly may decide to persue the England route.

I really don’t understand why Jake can’t just shut up and coach the Bokke.The boks are desperately in need of a PR coach that can add some intelligence to their dealings with the media and players through the media.It is another irritating outburst by Jake and will win him no support amongst the fickle rugby supporters in this country.

Everybody has to believe there is a chance and something to play for and though Jake says the door is never closed this week,he comes up with drivel like this the next.As it stands Jake your mighty group of props is in no great shape.

What with Gurthro returning in 2007 with a seasons rust and little top flight experience to play the world cup and CJ in the same boat although his break will be less significant.BJ Botha will also undergo surgery and need to recover and has no international experience.Os is wether we like to admit it or not rather long in the tooth and has had seriuos injury before and could yet not make it as far as RWC 2007.Then we have the returning 2 Test Deon Carstens who may well find the step up to International rugby a step too far this remains to be seen.The duo of Andrews and Sephaka are also not established Internationals and still have to convince many critics they are the real deal.

With all this in mind I have to ask Jake what exactly inspires him to be so patently stupid as to tell a 29 Test veteran of highest quality that he might as well try represent China as he has more chance than a Bok call-up.

• 12.Paws: Reply to this comment

Hahaha .. pretty soon ‘foot in mouth’ disease is going to be rename Jake White disease ..

• 13.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Well, what JW is actually true, its just the manner of how he said it that disturbs us all, enough props in SA to choose from, though Visagie is a great prop, but JW has more than enough to pick. JW could have been more sportmanship like have said what he said.

• 14.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

I watched Boots and All and this isnt exactly what Jake said.

He said he wont close the door to ANYONE, but that currently Cobus was not in his immediate plans.

Must everyone who plays overseas be in Jakes plans?

So this article is a bit sensationalistic.

• 15.Swapo: Reply to this comment

Again, Jake a little quick, go Cobus…

• 16.Smellthis: Reply to this comment

Jake you inconsistent *****!!!
    “Blah blah blah experienced squad at world cup…blah blah blah don’t dish out new caps…blah blah blah Andre Snyman experience of NH conditions.

And then you Snub one of the most highly rated props in the NH, who already is a Springbok, with some bullshit excuse. Its almost as pathetic as the “he’s never been part of a losing team.”

Just be honest you coward…we are not idiots!!

• 17.wls: Reply to this comment

Got to laugh again at Journalisim. Put the whole thing into contest, i watched the show last night and unless im really dof, thats not what he said at all.
    He did say we have enough props he also said no one is out of the Bok lineup yet, and a game like this on Saturday would be a chance for players to put there hands up.

• 18.Tisme: Reply to this comment

Jake really is a tosser…. good coach maybe but as Grey said an arrogant prick!

Lets get Os “way past his prime” Durant
    Eddie “Quota” Andrews
    Lawrance “bench press” Sepaka
    CJ “sick brief” van der Linde
    Guthro “broken hand” Steenkamp

and go to war!

I hope Cobus shoves Deon’s head up his arse, just to prove a point!

And what made Andre Snyman so special in the UK?
    Paulse couldnt even cut it in France, and what the f@ck do the Ndugane bro’s still have to do to at least go to the Bok training camp?

• 19.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Tell me, would all you whingers prefer if Jake was more like Rudolph Straueli and not say anything?

At least Jake talks his mind and you can get an idea of what is going on.

• 20.Tony: Reply to this comment

Once again Cobus’ desicion to leave the country, where personal agenda’s are rife, is vindicated!

• 21.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Nicksteroonie, (14) thanks for clearing it up. In fairness, Supersport ran the same story this morning which went along the same lines as Andrew`s.

• 22.Tony: Reply to this comment

btw JAKE, how much time and effort have you put into Mr Deon Carstens?

• 23.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

I think we are in desperate need of a PR Manager.
    Preferably a woman…..

Lets get Patricia Lewis, she can peroxide the Springboks Nut sacks blonde and we can call ourselves teh springballs.

• 24.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Exactly WLS, Jake didnt say this at all.

Amazing how easily the hordes fall for propaganda.

• 25.wpw: Reply to this comment

nicksteroonie

didnt you know these guys are all experts? they know better than the Bok coach.

• 26.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Nicksteroonie and wls,

Jake never said these comments on Boots. He said them on the side of the field after practice yesterday afternoon.

• 27.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Andrew, that is the type of thing that got Nick Mallett fired.

When he spoke to a journalist in “confidence” about Ticket prices!

• 28.Tisme: Reply to this comment

Nick,

Nothing you say to a journalist is in “confidence”!!!!

• 29.Tony: Reply to this comment

Andrew???

Would you like to comment on Nick’s post (14)?

• 30.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Some reporters thrive on creating controversy and rightfully so, that is how they make thier trade, on the note of Jakes comments, why can’t we just praise ex boks for the contribution they made in the past and what they could offer for the future

• 31.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Tony -

I already did. See post 26.

• 32.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Lees nou net op news24 dat die handsak waarmee Umaga vir Masoe geslaan het opgeveil word vir duisende dollars oor die Internet! Wat de hel gaan aan!

• 33.bigg: Reply to this comment

Jake White is a wanker of note…

• 34.Bokpiel: Reply to this comment

You freeking journalist are freeks..

cause more controversy than needed.!!

funny how **** sells… you must all remember that there are only 15 players in a team, you cant let everyone play..!!

• 35.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Anyway, this is all a storm in a tea cup. Jake isnt stupid, he knows what Visagie is capable of.

There are other factors at play too. As far as I know Jake is only allow to “import” a certain number of overseas players.

Secondly, when he imports players, everyone ******* that he didnt pick local guys who played well in the Super 14. So Jake’s between a rock and a hard place.

Also, Visagie would probably need a huge salary, and then the bosses at Sarfu wouldn’t be able to take their annual 40% increase.

• 36.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

Andrew, this article is ****! I watched boots n all last night and Jake said that he would not close the door on someone, he did say he had quality propos, but he would not close the door on Cobous. The rest of you who slam Jake must all piss off. At least he is not some stupid ******** coach to the likes of Straulie, Markgraaf or our cats idiot Frans ‘Ludicrous’. White has a brain.

• 37.steyn: Reply to this comment

Yip dudes don’t believe everything you read…if you where there and you know first hand what is going on…then don’t make idiot comments like the ones on here now….i wonder who is the real wankers

• 38.Boylouw: Reply to this comment

I agree with nicksteroonie. Jake is between a rock and a hard place. Damned if he doea, damned if he does not

• 39.Tony: Reply to this comment

Thanks Andrew I did… but sumtimes folk post while I’m reading or typing.

I wonder if Jake is as arrogant as he comes across in his quotes.

• 40.Tony: Reply to this comment

Nick Cobus’s contract overseas ends in May this year or next, not sure.

Time to play in SA before RWC

• 41.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Just a thought here, Cobus is an awesome player,but which of starting props would you leave out to accomodate him, in my book, players should not be sledged, but lets get real our frount row excluding Eddie Andrews can stand up to the best of them

• 42.Braders: Reply to this comment

There is no doubt that Visagie is a great scrummager but his weaknesses have always been handling skills, speed around the field and defence.

• 43.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Tony -

Don;t think Jake is arrogant, just honest. It’s really what he thinks, but sometimes he should reserve comment either say til after carstens has stuffed up Visagie or not at all.

He is the Bok coach and is entitled to his opinion. Sometimes he is too forthright. He should just keep that to himself.

The guy he spoke to is a well-respected journailist so if he printed those quotes then I’m convinced jake said those things…

• 44.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

This is a a difficult situation because these guys all bugger off to play overseas and then they expect the Bok coaches to pick them over the local guys when they decide they want to come back for the glory of a World Cup or for a “golden handshake” before retirement.

• 45.ExPlaya: Reply to this comment

Nick, should all overseas based players be excluded?

• 46.Stan: Reply to this comment

Fans bid for infamous handbag

Posted on 02 June 2006 – 06:03

New Zealand rugby fans are bidding thousands of dollars for the chance to own the handbag that reduced a burly All Blacks player to tears.
    To get final scores from international rugby matches sent to your cell phone, send RINT to 34911. This is a SuperSMS service, with each SMS costing R2.

In one of the more bizarre off-field sporting incidents, former New Zealand captain Tana Umaga tangled with Hurricanes club team mate Chris Masoe in a nightclub after losing the prestigious Super 14 tournament final last Saturday.

Masoe, who has played two tests for New Zealand, tripped over a man’s feet in the Jolly Poacher bar in Christchurch early last Sunday and then hit the unidentified man in retaliation.

Umaga, one of New Zealand’s greatest players who played 74 tests for the All Blacks, stepped in to break up the scuffle, picking up a woman’s handbag and hitting Masoe twice over the head.

Rugby players are among the toughest in sport, regularly ignoring the pain of dislocations, head cuts and other aches and sprains but being hit with a handbag was too much for a tired and emotional Masoe.

The hefty 1.83 m, 106 kg (233 lb) Samoan-born forward dissolved into tears, New Zealand media reported this week.

Adding to the indignity, rugby officials fined him NZ$3,000 ($1,890) after an inquiry into the incident but let Umaga off because he was trying to calm things down.

The unidentified woman who owns the small black handbag has put it up for sale, as well as a broken cell phone that was inside it.

The Trade Me Web site (www.trademe.co.nz) had received 71 bids for the handbag and phone by Friday, the latest offering NZ$5,500.

“Is there any guarantee hitting someone with this will make them cry?” one potential bidder asked on the Web site.

“Does it come with any makeup included? Do you have any matching belts or shoes?” asked another.

• 47.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

ExPlaya, no, that is not what I am saying, as we all know what a huge impact players like Percy made on the team.

All I am saying is that playing overseas, doesnt mean automatic inclusion into the Springbok team.

They need to compete on an equal footing with the local players.

• 48.Braithwaite: Reply to this comment

Jake is spot on – he has more than enough props and Visagie has never been in his plans. This Website is just trying to stir it up. Visagie might be the best in England at the moment but he isn’t the best in SA.

• 49.Viper6: Reply to this comment

White and his muppets are a bunch of wankers. How can these clowns be running SA rugby?

Nice article Andrew :)

• 50.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Viper6, maybe we should bring back Straueli or Harry Viljoen and make you happy?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.