Ruan’s like gold

Sharks scrumhalf Ruan Pienaar is worth his weight in gold, according to Bok coach Jake White.

Pienaar, who played flyhalf for the SA U21s last year, is probably the most versatile player in the Bok squad, which also makes him one of the most valuable.

“Ruan can play almost anywhere in the backline,” said White on Boots & All. “And that makes him like gold for a touring team and for a tournament like the World Cup.”

White said he had been left with no choice but to include Pienaar after the scrumhalf’s efforts in the Super 14 this year.

“If he’s good enough to go to the World Cup next year, then he should be involved with the side now,” he said. “The quicker I get him involved, the better. I want him to understand the ethos of the Springbok team and brand.”

Pienaar is on the bench for Saturday’s game, and should replace Ricky Januarie at some point in the second half.

94 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

I think as we have seen over the past two years the players under JW are actually much different, and play much more different game plans.
    You cant compair that to current S14 form, sorry rugbystudent.

• 52.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

RS, don`t believe it, Petoors is forced into a gameplan and not allowed to deviate from it. Trust me on this…
    If he was allowed to play he normal game, it`d be a different ballgame.

• 53.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Fuzzybear

Well, I certainly hope so. Otherwise Jake is sitting with half of his squad that’s seriously below par and he has a problem at the very crucial eighth man position!

• 54.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Van neikerk has been in the same situation before where he was injured for the super season – jake picked him and all hell broke loose.

Long story short – Joe came to the party and was sublime against the all blacks. If I remember correctly.

• 55.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

RS, when Joe pulls on the Bok jersey, he never plays a bad game. Look at Trinations last year, he was awesome after being pretty average in the Super 12.

• 56.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie, (54) spot on.

• 57.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Fuzzybear, i spat my coffee all over my.
    Classic

I’d rather have AJ at 8.
    You have fetchers in Juan and Schalk, you need a strong carrier.

AJ’s presence scares the **** outta opposition,

It’s going to be very interesting to see everyone fit again. By the world cup I would like to see this team.

1.Os du Randt
    2.John Smit
    3.CJ vd Linde
    4.Bakkies Botha
    5.Victor Matfield
    6.Schalk Burger
    7.Juan Smith
    8.AJ Venter
    9.Ruan Pienaar
    10.Jaco vd Westhuizen
    11.Bryan Habana
    12.Jean de Villiers
    13.Jacques Fourie
    14.Akona Ndungane
    15.Percy Montgomery

• 58.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Well, the statistics don’t lie. When Jaco was playing at 10, more tries were scored. Simple as that. I don’t believe the gameplans are THAT much different at 10. And I don’t think you should tell any number 10 before a game how to play. A number 10 should ‘feel’ the play on the field. That’s what separates great 10′s from good 10′s. I can’t think of any coach that’ll tell Dan Carter, Stephen Larkham or the rest, they should play in only a certain way.

• 59.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Jake_White

I’d love to see Akona get a run! He certainly put his hand up to be ‘developed’. He’s a good, honest player!

• 60.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

I dont see a problem at 8 RS, and AJ is for ****** sure not the answear if there was one!

I liked your team though post no.20, everyone other than AJ, Id play Joe, he compliments that side.

• 61.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Just remember I picked that side for NH conditions. As I said, on form I’d pick Joe any day! But you can’t win on potential.

• 62.big g: Reply to this comment

jaco at flyhalf, u okes crazy, that little poof allows more people thru than the gates at great wall of china… he cant tackle, tripple tripples on attack, and in general is a bit of a joke… he should become spokesperson for the michale jackson foundation, he has the voice..

• 63.big g: Reply to this comment

im a a big aj fan but will find it hard to leave joe out, he is a special talent… aj on bench will be great tho..
    and would start snyman on wing… he’s a demon!!
    and maybe just maybe we should start replacing percy and just maybe shift fourie to fullback…

• 64.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

RS, you`re not hearing me. Petoors IS forced into a gameplan, like I said, trust me on this!

• 65.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

Who would win in a game between……

Team A

Forwards:
    1.du Randt,2.Smit,3.vd Linde,4.Botha,5.Matfield,6.Burger,7.Smith,8.van Niekerk

Backs:
    (9.Pienaar,10.vd West,11.Habana,12.de Villiers,13.Fourie,14.Snyman,15.Monty)

Against…..

Team B.

Forwards:
    (1.Steenkamp,2.Shimange,3.Andrews,4.Rossouw,5.vd Berg,6.Tyibilika,7.Venter,8.Cronje)

Backs:
    (9.du Preez,10.Pretorius,11.Gaffie du toit,12.Barry,13.Olivier,14.Paulse,15.Jantjes)

And what would the score be?

• 66.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

big g (63). I`d hate to break up the JDV and JF midfield partnership.

• 67.Redox: Reply to this comment

Tony Moneo

id like to believe u too but the thing is in all the games ive never seen Pretorious play 4 both sa ,cats and the lions ive never seen him play differently so i cant see how its coaches instructions.

• 68.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Agreed Tony, but if god forbid one should get injured would you put Snyman in ?

• 69.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Id play Bosman at flyhalf

• 70.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Redox (67), cannot agree with you there. You cannot compare the way he plays for Lions and Cats to his Bok play. Have you ever seen him take on his opposition flyhalf when playing for the Boks? He`s not allowed to…

• 71.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Dont know if you guys heard but I read on news24 that the handbag that Umaga used to hit Masoe is being auctioned off over the internet! What the hell!

• 72.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Fuzzybear, (68) NEVER!!!

• 73.Tony Moneo: Reply to this comment

Fuzzybear, Bosman hasn`t got it just yet. He`ll be a good player but is way too rough around the edges at the moment.

• 74.Koos: Reply to this comment

supa, a few hours ago the bid was at NZ$6,250!

• 75.ricane: Reply to this comment

newsflash; bidding on tana’s handbag has now reached nz$12,000 !!! on trademe.co.nz

• 76.yoda: Reply to this comment

HAHAHAHAAA

you lot must be joking, bosman at 10, joe at 8.

Whatever, joe and bosman are overrated! Joe used to be a special talent in the days when he was with the lions. These days, he just crashes it up, no skill from him anymore. Even his great tri nations game last here was only good because he made some strong runs. No great skill involved, just alot of strenth. When is this guy gonna start performing like we all know he can. Every CC and Super 12/14 and EOYT he plays kak. Then he has one, maybe 2 good games during the tri nations and he’s a super hero again!!!! Give me a break. Look at the other guys who play good rugga every week in and week out. Enough of this pri madonna ****!

Bosman could become a good player for our next WC but he is nothing special right now, and there is no way he is better than Jaco or petoors, or even butch for that matter. He got lucky last year when everyone got injured for the EOYT. And played ONE good game this season, and the rest was KAK!

• 77.gecko: Reply to this comment

Koos – Gysie scored that try against the Lions in 1980. Famous photograph with Bruce Hay on his knees in the background.

• 78.yoda: Reply to this comment

ricane

who wants to buy that thing for that much money!!! rather use your money on something that is truelly historic(on the field) and worth it!

• 79.Koos: Reply to this comment

Thanks Gecko, that will be the one, they have a poster size one, framed and all, at the FS offices.

• 80.ricane: Reply to this comment

I totally agree, kiwis are crazy!
    if you want a good laugh read some of the questions and answers about it though!!
    It has had over 360,000 views which is almost 1/10th of our population!!!

• 81.gecko: Reply to this comment

Koos – some people might not know, but Gysie only made the Bok team due to Pierre Edwards being injured in the second test vs South America just before the Lions series – and then got voted by the Lions as the player that had the biggest influence in that series.

Is does seem trange that although Pienaar played 1st class rugby till ’87, after ’81 he never got a sniff of the Bok team again.

• 82.cab: Reply to this comment

rugbystudent, there’s very little separating Andrews, Barnard and Rautenbach, all kak. Sephaka’s a better scummager.

The best TH’s are: CJ, BJ and Visagie.
    The best LH’s are: OS, Lensing (Nam) and Guthro.

• 83.cab: Reply to this comment

rugbystudent, nice side at 20, leaving out Os is a big call tho.

• 84.schalla: Reply to this comment

im a sharks man…but credit where its due, aj will get his arse handed to him on a platter by joe.my bok team on form and fit would be
    1) Os
    2) smit
    3) CJ
    4) Bakkies
    5) Matfield
    6) ME!!!jks schalk- i play fullback
    7) Juan
    8) Joe
    9) Ruan
    10) Butch (i said i was a sharks man)
    11) habana
    12) de villiers
    13) joubert
    14) willemse
    15) fourie-we could make him something special at fullback

• 85.big g: Reply to this comment

now scahlla, if you were to replace willemse with snyman and joubert with just about anybody (maybe cook, barrit or olivier and maybe move jean to outside) i’d give stan’s lefty to watch that team play!!!

• 86.schalla: Reply to this comment

ja big g, point taken. Joubert these days is pure KAK…but the truth be told, i still have dreams about the way he shredded those all blacks at ellis park.other then that, we get that team or a team close to that, and those all blacks could have a thing or two to worry about.

• 87.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

fuzzy 25,

Habana’s chick has never gotten anything. Waiting for the big day he says.

• 88.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

HMMM … me thinks thats very sad, she must be or have one hell of a kisser then.

• 89.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

FUZZY

Do not agree though, Habana has skill and was my favourite player at a stage. But he is surely the laziest winger in world rugby.

I would think she gives him nothing.

• 90.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

FUZ,

Can I post you stats later on loose forwards later, since you have brought up that argument several times on various threads.

• 91.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Further to 89, I think his buck teeth surely makes kissing difficult.

• 92.FoxAche: Reply to this comment

gecko,

1981 demo tour of NZ. Enter Johan Heunis. Came on as a sub, without a no. on his back, courtesy of coach Nelie Smith, who had allegedly seconded a whole set of rugby jerseys for his private use and distribution. Heunis was an instant success. Safe as houses under the high ball (Gysie’s downfall) and pulled off a front-on try-saving tackle on Andy Haden a few metres from the line. Thanks for coming, Gysie!

I played against both, and also in the same team as JH. Gysie was special. Heunis was a genuine great. Ask Ray Mordt.

• 93.iceman: Reply to this comment

Can any one please tell me why Boots & All is not on CSN at 19:30 on a Thurday night any more? And when and where it now showing?

It still shows in the MNet guide that it is showing in the above mentioned time slot.

What is going on?

• 94.twojays: Reply to this comment

I would prefer young Pienaar to be groomed as a fly- half where he played quite brillinatly in the World Under 21. S A already has a couple of really good srumhalves with strong back ups. In my opinion not one fly-half of International standard compared to New Zealnd who have five or six. Lack of a good number 10 has been the Springboks downfall for some years now. Quite extraordinary. Any reasons? Hamba Kahle

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.