Bok XV 30 World XV 27

Relive all the live action from the Springboks narrow victory over the World XV here.

Scorers:

Springbok XV:

Penalties: Percy Montgomery (9), Gaffie du Toit (1)

World XV:

Tries: Justin Marshall, Isa Nacewa
Conversions: Matt Burke (1)
Penalties: Burke (5)

Key moments:

78 mins: Final Bok onslaught. A scrum in the 22. They attack close and the World XV are pinged for offsides again. Monty makes no mistake. (Monty 9/10) BOKS 30-27

75 mins: The visitors are inside the Bok 22. Three reset scrums finally ends with Tappe awarding the World XV a penalty and it’s good. (Burke 6/7) LEVEL 27-27

73 mins: Boks steal the World XV lineout and attack, but Jaco kicks and they are able to regroup and clear, despite gifting the ball back to the Boks. Another Bok knock halts the move.

70 mins: The Boks get away with a knock in front of the poles and Pienaar breaks brilliantly, but is stopped short. The Boks get the penalty and Monty kicks it. (Monty 8/9) BOKS 27-24

68 mins: The Boks are trying to create something out of nothing. The ball barely gets down the backline and when it does it’s tight forwards who are standing there.

66 mins: More mistakes and knocks blight the game as the World XV get a scrum just outside their 22.

64 mins: To think that people actually paid money to watch this game is almost criminal. Anyway, Wynand Olivier comes on as Burke attempts to draw level. He succeeds. (Burke 5/6) LEVEL 24-24

62 mins: With de Villiers back on his feet the Boks defend a lineout near halfway. Lawrence Sephaka is on for Deon Carstens. another penalty to the World XV.

61 mins: The Boks have a scrum inside the World XV 22. De villiers attempts to punch through the midfield and is slowed by the World XV defenders and eventually stopped by another Tappe penalty to the World XV. He stays down injured.

59 mins: Burke replies immediately with a penalty of his own and the gap is back to three points. (Burke 4/5) BOKS 24-21

57 mins: The World XV players are incensed by Henning’s interpretations as he awards another penalty. They get a talking too and Tappe is making sure his last international will be remembered Monty splits the uprights. (Monty 7/8) BOKS 24-18

55 mins: Monty penalty reclaims the lead. (Monty 6/7) BOKS 21-18

53 mins: Gary Botha, Johann Muller and Pedrie Wannenburg are on, but still Tappe is commanding centre stage with pedantic blows all over the place. the game is stop start and nothing is allowed to flow.

50 mins: The Boks try and open things up, but a total lack of committment sees the move eventually break down. Another Monty penalty though levels matters. (Monty 5/6) LEVEL 18-18

49 mins: An injury break allows the players a chance to reflect. So far the Boks have lacked vohesion in almost all departments. The backline has not fired at all and the pack has been bullied by the visitors.

47 mins: Ruan Pienaar gets his first Bok cap, coming on for Ricky Januarie.

44 mins: AJ Venter is sin-binned. And the World XV attack. Jaco misses another kick for touch. Then a cross kick to Isa Nacewa sees Monty leave him totally alone and he scampers in for a try. Amazing stuff. Burke converts. (Burke 3/4) WORLD XV 18-15

42 mins: The second half starts with no subs on the Bok team yet. And still they continue to fiddle and fumble around. At one stage the Boks actually stopped playing and just watched as Bruce Reihana waited to clear from his 22. The is getting comical. Add to that the fact this is the Tappe Henning Farewell Show and their is very little to be excited about.

HALF-TIME: BOK XV 15 WORLD XV 11

40 mins: In a half dominated by the referee’s whistle, the final act is another penalty to the Boks inside their half. Gaffie du Toit steps up and slots it from 55m. (Du Toit 1/1) BOKS 15-11

37 mins: Another Bok penalty and this time Nonty obliges and the Boks lead for the first time in the match. (Monty 4/5) BOKS 12-11

34 mins: Some aimless kicking from both teams eventually results in the World XV coming away. Another penalty robs them of the chance to put some phases together. Monty lines it up and… it misses. (Monty 3/4)

31 mins: A skewed kick by van der Westhuyzen gives the World XV a lineout, but they then obstruct and the Monty drills the ball to 5m from the World XV line. Another penalty blown by Henning cancels the Bok drive over try.

29 mins: The Boks are looking devoid of ideas and nothing constructive is being created. However, Henning pings the World XV for offsides and Monty kicks his third penalty. (Monty 3/3) WORLD XV 11-9

26 mins: The World XV pack are giving the Boks a torrid time. A clever reverse kick from Spencer forces the Boks to obstruct and Burke slots the penalty. (Burke 2/3) WORLD XV 11-6

24 mins: The Boks knock at the ruck and the World XV are able to relieve the pressure back into the Bok half. The Boks attack again, but it breaks down again. It’s all far too scrappy at the moment. And too many mistakes from SA.

22 mins: More Bok pressure results in AJ Venter being pushed over, but after considerable deliberation by the TMO the try is correctly not awarded and the Boks have a 5m scrum in the corner.

19 mins: Big Joe is having a fine game and agin is responsible for the Boks edging into their opponents 22. Another penalty by the World XV, but the Boks kick to the corner and drive. Another penalty and the Boks opt for another lineout. Yellow cards could be produced.

16 mins: World XV are looking dangerous, especially in the set pieces. A lineout 5m from the Bok line is secured and atry looks on, but a knnock saves the Boks. From the scrum Gaffie du Toit clears far upfield.

13 mins: The Boks are slowly finding their feet and a great move results in a try but Tappe Henning pings them for a forward pass. From the restart the Boks again dominate and they earn a penalty about 35m out. Monty is on song again. (Monty 2/2) WORLD XV 8-6

11 mins: Boks get a free kick on halfway and van Niekerk makes a powerful run and sets Jaque Fourie away, but obstructive running by rossouw sees the World XV get a penalty and the clear over the halfway line.

9 mins: The World XV attack up the right flank and make good yardage. They are bundled out in touch, but earn a 5m scrum. The World XV power over the Bok pack and set captain Justin Marshall away for a try in the corner. Burke misses the conversion. (Burke 1/2) WORLD XV 8-3

6 mins: Boks attack from the off and good work by Danie Rossouw and Joe van Niekerk gets them into the World XV 22. And they earn a penalty at the ruck for holding on. Percy Montgomery knocks it over from in front. (Monty 1/1) LEVEL 3-3

4 mins: Penalty to World XV after the Boks stray offsides. Fulback Matt Burke makes no mistake. (Burke 1/1) WORLD XV 3-0.

2 mins: Scrum to the Boks on halfway is reset several times, before the Boks win it and Van der Wetshuyzen clears, but out on the full. Nervous start for both teams.

1 min: The World XV’s Carlos Spencer kicks-off in front of a half empty Ellis Park Stadium. The Boks gather through Percy Montgomery and Jaco van der Westhuyzen clears up to halfway. Lineout World XV.

Teams:

Springbok XV:
15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Andre Snyman, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Gaffie du Toit, 10 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 9 Ricky Januarie; 8 Joe van Niekerk, 7 AJ Venter, 6 Wikus van Heerden, 5 Albert van den Berg, 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Eddie Andrews, 2 Hanyani Shimange, 1 Deon Carstens.
Replacements: 16 Gary Botha, 17 Lawrence Sephaka, 18 Johann Muller, 19 Pedrie Wannenburg, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 Brent Russell.

World XV:
15 Matt Burke, 14 Bruce Reihana, 13 Thomas Castaignede, 12 Fraser Waters, 11 Ica Nacewa, 10 Carlos Spencer, 9 Justin Marshall (captain); 8 Olivier Magne, 7 Sebastian Chabal, 6 Xavier Rush, 5 Radike Samo, 4 Tom Palmer, 3 Cobus Visagie, 2 Raphael Ibanez, 1 Dave Hewett.
Replacements: 16 Mark Regan, 17 Christian Califano, 18 Julien Pierre, 19 Sam Harding, 20 Mark Robinson, 21 Ludovic Mercier, 22 Joe Roff.

By Andrew Hollely, at Ellis Park

224 Comments

• 1.Here Be Springboks: Reply to this comment

Here be Dragons and Boks

• 2.jondood: Reply to this comment

oh my sack

i am hammered

• 3.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Goeie More!

BOKKE!!!!

Vandag k*k die WXV.

• 4.Andrew: Reply to this comment

JD :shock:

• 5.asha1: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu
    you mean world has beens

• 6.jondood: Reply to this comment

Got in bed after 5am and then had to be at work at 8am,

What a **** up.

• 7.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Yep that’s right Asha1

• 8.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Glad Im not you Jon(dood) today

• 9.Harlequin: Reply to this comment

Correct me if I’m wrong but since this match does not qualify as a full on test, it won’t matter if we lose since our 100% record in home tests will still remain intact.

• 10.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

jack’s is from the devil

• 11.citizenc: Reply to this comment

I live in Jozi but I’m in Edinburgh today. Anyone know if this match is being broadcast in the UK, or from where I can pick up a broadband stream?

• 12.cane: Reply to this comment

World 15 to win by 10.

• 13.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

skysports 3 apparently.

• 14.jondood: Reply to this comment

skysports 3 is a definate.

• 15.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Babelas, babelas, laat my dan staan!!! Howzit Jondood! How you feeling buddy?? :)

• 16.jondood: Reply to this comment

Working overtime.

Leaving just before the game starts.

Hope I stay awake.

• 17.asha1: Reply to this comment

jondood
    you poor, poor thing!!

• 18.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

On the dwelms again Jondood…

No wonder you’re always in a mood!

Lol…Go the Boks!!!!

• 19.wls: Reply to this comment

Ahh how lekker Cane LMFAO i hope your a limey or something lol. Cause your as Optomistic as Only a pom can be.
    Well hi ho hi ho its of to the match i go :D :

• 20.jondood: Reply to this comment

dont do drugs.

beer, jack daniels and ***** jaeger bombs

• 21.sjb: Reply to this comment

Here Be Springboks you are a doos as dragions are old news. You irratating ****.

• 22.cane: Reply to this comment

wls,
    Enjoy the game.Look for positives where ever your can find them.

• 23.jondood: Reply to this comment

sjb

Do the honourable thing and terminate your life.

• 24.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Skysports 3 – great My B&B doesn’t have it, so i’ll need to find a pub that’ll show it. Any saffa pubs in edinburgh?

• 25.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

how long is it till kick off?

• 26.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Nobles Bar
    44a Constitution Street, Leith EH6 6RS

• 27.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

SAffa barman apparently.

Although it doesn’t look too inviting from the outside with dark stained glass windows, it is quite spacious and has a bit of character once inside with sea scene pictures on the walls – a far cry from the days before its’ refurbishment some years ago when it was a regular hang-out for the Docks workers. (Perhaps due to the strippers who used to perform there!) There are also 2 TV screens and a big screen for football/rugby fans.

• 28.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I would phone first though, there is some poofball game on as-well today.

• 29.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Thanks PissAnt, I’ll be making my way there shortly. Time for a first pint anyway:-)

• 30.citizenc: Reply to this comment

Cheers! I’m off.

• 31.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

No problem,

Here is a picture of the pub;

http://www.edinburgh247.com/pubs/nobles-bar.jpg

• 32.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke!!! Vat hulle hoog, met die elemboog. Give them lasting pain!!!

SNYMAN TO PARK 3 TRIES!!!

• 33.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

PA, is that your Bakkie standing out front?

• 34.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Yeah, got into so much **** with the missus as-well, bloody gaells never told me the **** was going onto the net.

• 35.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

At least you can’t see it moving from side to side, hoorah for stills.

• 36.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

damn right!

• 37.jondood: Reply to this comment

damn straight, skippy

• 38.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

SJB, stop wasting perfectly good oxygen, my dog needs it more. GO DRAGON BOKKE.

• 39.jondood: Reply to this comment

funk dat, I am leaving work now.

Still logging a full days work.

Silly wankers will be oblivious.

Chat to you guys later.

Go BULLE, oops BOKKE

• 40.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Well, me off to le pub, spy you fella’s later.

• 41.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Maybe you guys don’t care but Bishops just beat Paul Roos the number 1 in the country 18-16!!!**** yes Bishops is the GREATEST!

• 42.Groen_en_Goud: Reply to this comment

OP DIE BOKKE!!!

Bloody Fox Sports not showing it live. Only go up to Fox Sports 2. No spill over channels like Supersport.

Damnit!! Need a 3 metre dish to get DSTV, Bloody local council won’t allow it!!!

• 43.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Yep Groenie, it’s on @ 10am tomorrow!

RSG for me, gotta brush up on my dutch first though.

• 44.cane: Reply to this comment

Hold your ground, hold your ground. Sons of Africa, Southern Men, my brothers. I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields, when the age of men comes crashing down, but it is not this day. This day we blogg! For all that you hold dear on this good Earth, I bid you stand, Men of Africa!

JRR Tolkien

• 45.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

The world xv are going to score at least 15-20 points because the make up of the side is to play fast ball.

This not going to be a soft pitch unless it is raining now.

• 46.cane: Reply to this comment

If this world 15 is fully fit—look out saffa’s.
    If they are just a bunch of old croc’s, boks will win by 25.

There are some magnificent rugby players in this world 15.In the backs in particular
    Magne,Hewet,Spencer,Burke, Castiagnede etc,
    From what I have heard some of these Guys have been playing some great rugby in the NH.

Of course the big question is will their hearts be in it.They after all are not playing for their country.

• 47.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Well done Bishops !!!!!!!

• 48.Katsesnor: Reply to this comment

KEO,

I would like to know why so much is made of transformation in terms of the numbers of non-whites in the Bok team – but – games involving the national team are only accessible to a selected few on M-Net (as opposed to open national SABC) – and to those who can afford R300 tickets? What is transformation worth when 80% of the population have no way of watching the the national rugby team play – nor the S14 and CC teams?

Some whould argue that pubs (and shebeens) have M-Net and that those without M-Net can go there … but guess what is on TV at those places … soccer and soccer only … unless it is a pub in a traditionally “white” area serving a community that mostly has M-Net at home anyway.

Why’s government not handling transformation across the full spectrum – and where it really matters – broadcasting sport of national interest to all?

• 49.mossel: Reply to this comment

middag mense

• 50.SuperSize: Reply to this comment

Also was great watching the 1998 Trinations game of Supersport earlier. Great team…

• 51.mossel: Reply to this comment

demmit- 3-10 agter!

• 52.wpforever: Reply to this comment

http://live.planet-rugby.com/2006/06/03/1439.shtml
    pretty fast matchtracker

• 53.mossel: Reply to this comment

sorry 3-8

• 54.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Looks like JVW has got the kicking disease that is rife in Tshwane!

• 55.mossel: Reply to this comment

Jaco’s got all kind of disorientating ailments…

• 56.The Bill: Reply to this comment

**** this is an indication of how SA are going to play all year.

Some 10 man rugby to look forward to!

What is the crowd numbers like?

• 57.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

Katsesnor, post 48, I woud encurage you to write to the Chairperson of the Portfolio Committee on Sport an Recreation or your party representative(s) on that committee.

See link below for details.
    http://www.parliament.gov.za/pls/portal/web_app.app_committee_view?p_id=9558&p_page_name=PARLIAMENT_NA

• 58.mossel: Reply to this comment

kom aan tappe! gee die 3

• 59.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

even in a so called “exhibition game” we play this 10 man ****….

• 60.gecko: Reply to this comment

Visagie having Carstens for breakfast, lunch & dinner

• 61.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Jaco jaco what the hell r u doing

• 62.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Gecko, don’t know why you picking on Carstens, the pack is getting a hiding.

• 63.gecko: Reply to this comment

Bill, not picking on him, just commenting on the scrums.

Tappe doing a Dicko

• 64.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Is this the Tappe Henning testimonial?

• 65.gecko: Reply to this comment

Bill, ja, but is seems Tappe is a bit testosterone driven

• 66.wpforever: Reply to this comment

send him back to Japan!!!!!

• 67.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Seems to me that the W15 are taking it
    very seriously.

Def not carnival is it?

• 68.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

As expected the back 3 (Monty, Gaffie, Snyman) have looked old, slow and pedestrian on attack. Where are the Nduganes?

• 69.gretep: Reply to this comment

The Tappe show, of that there is NO doubt…..

• 70.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Jaco has no vision,his decision making is appauling.Forward passes,kicking out on the full,kicks that slice of his foot…..Jake sort this out

• 71.paddysid: Reply to this comment

Watch, visagie and watch a man at the peak

• 72.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Bring on the subs!!

• 73.wpforever: Reply to this comment

yes bring on russel

• 74.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Sounds like a good game is it a stop start kind of game?

• 75.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bugger. I dont think it is on foxsports.

• 76.The Bill: Reply to this comment

JVW to get off the field!

• 77.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

we not getting it here in NZ either, pity, this a game that should be televised, but then money wise, half empty stadium is not a game the kiwi’s and oz’s want to see i guess.

• 78.The Bill: Reply to this comment

CSI it is as boring a game as you could ever hope to see.
    JVW is making sure of that.

• 79.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

wow, world xv is actually showing its class.

• 80.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

BokinOZ it’s on Fox tomorrow from 10am, but from the sounds of things, I won’t be watching this kak…

C’mon Ruan lets get something rolling!

• 81.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Jake White how about showing some balls and putting Brent Russell to fly half? It is clear Jaco has actually gotten worse playing at the Bulls and can only kick out on the full or put up useless up and unders.

• 82.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

The Bill

Thanks mate, JVW playing 15 since he been back and now at 10, may have spent too much time out the back for the Bulls.

• 83.wpforever: Reply to this comment

CSI its the same boring kicking game employed by us SA,hell its disheartening to watch ,full credit to wXV for playing the thinking and attractive way

• 84.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

I have been a big fan of this Ruan kid since I first watched him play for SA U21′s, this kid is an amzing talent, good luck to him.

Burke is still class, what a player not to be playing international for the wallabies.

• 85.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

SA achilles heel is the number 10 spot? Agree, disagree?

• 86.gecko: Reply to this comment

Agree, play Butch/Ruan at 10.

• 87.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

AGREE X 100

• 88.wpforever: Reply to this comment

tighthead,hell where is the front rows pride,guess its with WXV

• 89.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Can the boks score a try.

Sounds to me that the boks need to win ugly.

• 90.wpforever: Reply to this comment

yep,butch or ruan now we talking

• 91.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

sounds like monty is getting kicking practise.

The trys will come as the world xv tire.

• 92.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Jake mouthing off about Cobus,Carstens is having a torrid time,

• 93.gecko: Reply to this comment

Yip, only positive, learning how to win ugly.

• 94.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Tappe thank f..k….you leaving.We need refs that lets the game flow.Not blow up all the time…

• 95.mossel: Reply to this comment

I’m glad i didnt pay R300 for this..

• 96.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Yeah, Jake White hasn’t learnt anything since last year.

“Stephen Larkham is an ordinary flyhalf..”
    “Bill Young will never play in his first team..”
    “Only two Irish players will ever be in his bok squad..”
    “We don’t need someone like Cobus Visagie..”

Why can’t this guy just shut up. All the other coaches know to shut their traps about player selections.

• 97.mossel: Reply to this comment

RSG kommentaar oor Danie Rossouw “..nie die skerpste mes in die laai nie!”

• 98.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

RugbyStudent Jake White has been taking lessons from the master: Graeme Smith

• 99.gecko: Reply to this comment

Rugby is so poor I’m finding myself flicking to the Pom soccer game.

• 100.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Jake White
    Ewen McKenzie
    Clive Woodward
    Eddie Jones

All can coach, what lets them down is their mouths. I’d rather see them mimic Mr. Henry’s sly little smile and cheekiness, keeps all of us guessing.

• 101.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Glad to know I am not the only one gecko! The England soccer team look more likely to score than the boks!

• 102.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

And England do score again…

• 103.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

9.Pienaar
    10.James
    11.Paulse
    12.JdV
    13.Fourie
    14.Habana
    15.Montgomery

• 104.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Good backline CSI just sub Paulse with a Ndugane.

• 105.mossel: Reply to this comment

how many goals do the poms have now?

• 106.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

5 to nil

• 107.gecko: Reply to this comment

Was Fourie or Snyman playing? It’s like having Naas at 10.

• 108.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

sounds like the boks are not up to it.

This blog is going to call for jakes head.

• 109.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Well, Jaco chose to stay at the Bulls and the kicking game is evident. I’ll go as far to say, under Heyneke Meyer, you won’t ever be the bok flyhalf.

• 110.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

James goes down injured this year, who does SA or JW bring in? Do u persist with Jaco, pretorius, do u blood Bosman in 2007 Tri-Nations or is it just a matter of who performs under JW’s scheme? I am asking this, coz the same can be asked for the AB’s and Oz. Rogers and McCallister both come to mind but its just not the same punch as the usual suspects.

• 111.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

who the poms playing

• 112.mossel: Reply to this comment

with a **** 10 is doesn’t really matter who plays ouside him

• 113.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Jamaica

• 114.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

steel shark

that pietersen kid from sharks is a scary talent not to be in the bok squad, i really rate that youngster.

• 115.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Isn’t this World XV, players out of their prime? How will SA handle the 1st or 2nd string All Blacks?

• 116.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Ok, so we can now confirm Allistair Coetzee isn’t worth anything to this bok team.

• 117.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

RS

with a different side and a different game plan.

Jake is shrewd he knows that coaches from oz and nz will be watching this game for telling signs.

• 118.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

CSI JP is the future bok fullback IMO.

• 119.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

one bad game and we are getting emotional.

• 120.The Bill: Reply to this comment

This leaves me with little confidence in JW, why not sub no 10?

• 121.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

it was all over in sa when the boks lost their first game to oz in oz last year and look what happened.

• 122.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

SA can play as badly as they want, when they play the AB’s they lift to another as does the AB’s, what gets the SA fans worried is that they dont stay at the high against all opposition, is there something about the black jersey that SA draw energy from?

• 123.mossel: Reply to this comment

we should sub the pack with that fancy new scum machine- maybe we’ll win some solid 1st fase ball

• 124.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Who said these are players out of their prime, merely because they decided to retire from the international stage… Almost all of them are good enough to walk back into their respective positions in their national teams.

• 125.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

another “level” is what it should say in post 122.

• 126.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

mikeybrass

agree, no substitution for experience.

• 127.wpforever: Reply to this comment

post 123 i enjoy that one.laughing like hell no thanks MOSSEL

• 128.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Mercier has played brillaint for the World XV his kicking has been impeccable.

• 129.kaballas: Reply to this comment

Carstens is rerig tos!!!!!
    Visagie is beter as Carstens, Eddy en Lorry saam!!!!

Die “Junior AB’s” of die Maori’s sou ons vandag uit ons boots gespeel het!!!! Dis ‘n feit!!!
    Ons kannie driee druk nie…en Habana is nie daar om ‘n onderskep-drie te druk nie…”sad but true”

• 130.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Good riddance to Tappe. No idea what he is like off the field, but I hated the ******* on the field. Pedantic, inane and illogical. He could have been a Pommie ref.

• 131.wpforever: Reply to this comment

SEPHAKA goes down for the upteenth time.DISGRACE BOKKE

• 132.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie

Thing is: we’ve been hearing all these theories and mouthing off from Jake White and since last year tri-nations, we haven’t seen much. His persistance in wrighting off players, is sheer ignorance. Never write off any player, you might need him in the future.

mikeybrass

You would think, players that didn’t play Super 14 this year or in a while or ever would struggle to keep to the pace of the players who’ve been playing it for the last 3 months!

• 133.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Monty has shoved his critics’ words back down their throats. The Boks would have lost without him.

SSSAAAAACCCCCCCSSSSSSSSSS

• 134.gecko: Reply to this comment

Winning ugly – a valuable lesson.
    And to think I gave up the best day yet this year of UK summer to watch this.
    No wonder the girlfriend is pissed off.

• 135.gecko: Reply to this comment

wpforever – I was a prop, and I tell you what – you can see it’s Visagie pulling him down. Sneaky, but clever. Very clever.

• 136.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

Ok Jake, let’s hear the excuses.

1st game together?
    Not enough time together?
    Fatigued from a hard S14?
    Bad conditioning?

• 137.mossel: Reply to this comment

ai gecko. Glad I stayed home- heading outside immediately for some sun!

• 138.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

RS (132)

Maybe he mouths off so that he can motivate his players opponent so he can see the potential of his player.

This was a nothing game but a good one for jake to see combinations and for some players to get experience. The other is to rotate for the international season.

• 139.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Visagie just schooled our entire frontrow

• 140.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

RS, so what? The players have been playing at the highest level for a number of years. They know what is required and they still play at a high club standard in Europe etc. Someone like Burke or Visagie are not going to come back down south and believe they will be run off their feet. These players have been there, done that. There is no substitute for experience, know-how and proven ability.

• 141.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

there isn’t much in that bok backline that will put fear into the wallabies, ABs and french backlines.

• 142.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

the question is gotta be asked about the world xv penalties and their tactics.
    if there were less penalties would there have been more try’s to the bokke.

• 143.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

JW sure doe know how to motivate the opposition, Visagie by the sounds of things taught his fellow countrymen the art of scummaging. DID SA AT ANYTIME DURING THE GAME LOOK LIKE THEY WERE GOING TO SCORE A TRY?

• 144.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

BrumbyIV

Not the full test side.

• 145.gecko: Reply to this comment

Brumby – the backline never got the ball. I can’t remember one backline move.

• 146.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

bokinozzie you got it reversed, there should of been more trys for the world xv…

• 147.gecko: Reply to this comment

CSI – the boks were over the line twice, both dissallowed. And on the way a third time, but Tappe spotted some infringment.

• 148.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Australia is probably the only place in the world that treats friendlies as serious when they win. eg

England Australia soccer when england lost

Greece Australia soccer recently where a lot of people were saying Greece are european champions. Greece have lost that aura they are a kak team.

• 149.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Did we have a backline? Did anyone see the ball go 10,12,13?

• 150.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Knew Visagie would come through. He should be in the Bok side. White will keep him in mind for the future.

This game was good experience for the Bok side, very good experience.

SA fans will never be satisfied: close game and its crying, runaway victory and “it means nothing”. A win against such a formidable side on solid ground (not wet Twicks) is a great win. They can take pride in their home win record being extended and build on this. People here are too readily forgetting the opening matches of the great 1998 season. This is good preparation and the intensity will gradually increase.

Better Jaco at flyhalf under White than fullback at the Bulls.

• 151.banana boy: Reply to this comment

KEO your bones are Kak! best you get some more!

• 152.gretep: Reply to this comment

As Justin Marshall said in the post match interview. There were 31 players out their today….

• 153.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

The important statistic, 2 tries to 0!!! In an ‘exhibition’ game!!!

• 154.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

well the flipside of this match is that these SA boys now know the level they must play not up to, but surpass to match the AB, OZ’s and french, mot the full bok outfit.

• 155.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Steel shark

Unfortunately I could not watch the game. I dont have access to Foxsports and I think it was not on either.

• 156.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

RS

The score board my dear fella, the scoreboard.

In tests it is about winning and then there are those games when one needs to win ugly.

• 157.wpforever: Reply to this comment

gecko,thats spot on exactly the kind EXPERIENCE and sneakiness that is needed to be a top front rower at international level.Sephaka and Carstens found out the hard way.Full credit to WXV for scoring tries.COBUS IS THE MAN

• 158.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Keo uses the bones to predict because he can blame them.

Keo does not know anything about rugby other than what is fed to him in his contacts.

He played break and enter when he was a kid.

• 159.bob: Reply to this comment

what a **** game. our scrum was pathetic, tactical kicking was poor(one kick from ruan was good), backline on attack was one dimensional (defence was ok). we did not stamp our authority on the game at all. not too sure what the game plan was. maybe jake told them to just run out and see what it’s like to play with no game plan?

glad i didn’t pay money to watch that rubbish..

• 160.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Well next week is where we all kick back and get our thinking caps on and prepare to critique and analyse the test matches.

what to look out for next week:

Oz pack
    kiwi midfield
    SA flyhalf

Should be an awesome weekend of rugby.

• 161.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

It is important to note England thrashed a barbar’s side 46-19 which made up the majority of the World XV.

• 162.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

If we did not play well and still won that is saying something good about test character.

• 163.Test: Reply to this comment

Tappe Henning must be the worst ref to ever come out of this country. The moment he was made the ref this game was doomed.

Boks played kak but have to say Wikus and Joe had good first halves. Shimange???

• 164.bob: Reply to this comment

The commentators on Sky Sports are giving Scotland a real chance to knock the Boks over next week. Dewi Morris was straining to hold back his laughter at how poor we were.

• 165.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

what “test” character? you do know this game doesn’t count as a official test and the SA players didn’t recieve test caps for this game?

• 166.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

to win the world cup, u just have to win, pretty or not.

• 167.gecko: Reply to this comment

wpf – true. Carstens was a particular dissapointment. He use to be a tighthead, I really thought he would come through at 1.

• 168.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

What a pathetic match! Spare a thought for the poor guys who paid R300 to watch this ****. Tappe should be behind bars.

• 169.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

bob Scotland are no joke they showed that in the 6N if we take them lightly we WILL get burned..

• 170.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Test character, agreed BokinOzzie:-)

Steel, remember that players of the calibre in the World XV merely get better the more they play and practice together. Also remember that more of those players have experience playing against SA than against England.

All in all, a satisfying win.

• 171.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Sebastien Chabal had a very good game for the World XV surely Bernard Laporte can’t keep overlooking him for the French national team…

• 172.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Carstens never stood a chance against Visagie.

Well done Tappe, you really left your mark and no one will miss you.

• 173.bob: Reply to this comment

I agree with you Steek Shark. They are a very good team. Underated, but consistently good. They knocked over England and France in the 6N. I fear the typical SA arrogance that we always display when playing a Northern hemisphere team.

• 174.gecko: Reply to this comment

Chabal & Laporte have personal issues.

• 175.Test: Reply to this comment

Ye Bob its worrying. I thought we were supposed to be playing with structure developed over the last two seasons but I was struggling to find anything good to take out of this …it looked pretty chaotic at times. Our players were getting in each others way more than once.

Got to say it again though Tappe spoiled this game big time. Glad to see the back of him at last.

• 176.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

steel shark

Chabal would be awesome to watch here in the super 14 comp. and u right he has got to be in that french team.

• 177.gecko: Reply to this comment

By biggest worry – the only players I saw hitting a ruck was De Villers, Andrews and v/d Berg. What happened to Danie Rossouw – o ja, he was standing at 1st receiver thrying to run over someone everytime. And Venter?

• 178.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Visagie het vir Carstens gedruk dat hy poep. Kyk maar hoe fucked-up was Carstens toe hy afgekom het. Nog ‘n Jake White floppie. Die Son (Noord) was vol in die kol met hulle spelersontleding.

• 179.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Now we are fearing scotland.

Different game with different players call for different game plan and the bok make will be different as well.

Please people stop being like Bull supporters. One bad game and the clouds have fallen.

• 180.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Wonder what Big Os thought of the scrum or was he even watching?

• 181.gecko: Reply to this comment

Lang Giel – Carstens was al ‘n Straueli flop ook.
    Maar nou ja, na Super 14 het die hele land gese hy moet speel.

• 182.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

bok in ozzie, doesn’t matter if the injuries continue there isn’t much there really.

regarding Greece v Aus. Melbourne has the second biggest greek community outside of Athens and the Greek players were very serious about impressing in front of their supporters. plus aus doesn’t get to play many games at home due to our geographical location.

• 183.Test: Reply to this comment

Gecko
    Agreed on Venter. Big disappointment. He didnt feature at all except when he got the yellow card. Guess he hasnt put that side of him to bed. Guess that might have something to do with Jake not making him captain.

• 184.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

spot on bob, Scotland have been competitive against us in recent times and I think they will be again next week. This will be a huge test for our loosies, the Scottish backrow is probably the 2nd best in Europe after the French they hit hard and contest the ruck like carrion on the dead, I am worried about this especially with the way our loosies act so pedestrian in the ruck.

• 185.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

CSI I think the best French backrow:

8. Chabal
    7. Magne
    6. Nyanga

Is enough to strike fear into the heart of any team.

• 186.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

I think this game proves that a number of players should not be in the test side

namely :

1.Janurie: poor passing , poor defense – same from S14 kaak…
    2. Dannie Roussow… he is like a dinosoar … no skill
    3. shimmie – just proved that the only reason why he is there is because he is black … not even good enough for currie cup .
    4.van heerden too slow for a international loosie …soory mate
    5. eddie andrews … do I have to say anything kak , kak ,kak
    I think Jake should take another look at his squad we need guys like Britz, watson , Ackermann , Visage( he made our props look like winkes today )Spies

• 187.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

BrumbyIV

I am just doing a wind up.

I am looking forward to the soccer world cup and I am behind the team.

Gonna be some early mornings.

• 188.gecko: Reply to this comment

That heavens our tight 5 selection should be stronger next week anyway.

• 189.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

one more thing …. todays game also proved that tappa hnning is the worst ref that sa has ever had , thank god it was his last game …

• 190.gretep: Reply to this comment

Deutsche_bok… It was Cartsens not Eddis Andrews getting a workover… Why pick on Eddie and leave Deon out of your list????

• 191.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

brumby

kiwis play brazil on monday, and maybe our boys will have there handbags ready to soften up the brazilians for u guys, just another ANZAC co-op ;)

• 192.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

the boks better put out a proper backline next week (if there are any fit players left). the scots backs look decent compared to the crew that played today (cusiter, lamont, paterson)

• 193.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Agree Brumby IMO Sean Lamont is the best winger in Europe and probably one of the top 5 in the world.

• 194.gecko: Reply to this comment

Yip, Eddie Andrews must be pretty happy today as the problems was all on the other side of the scrum. So no-one can pick on him. And he hit the rucks.

Carstens looked shell-shocked when he came off. The Visagie lesson can only make him a better pleyers.

• 195.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

DBok

It does not matter for SA whether Tappe is kak because he will never and never did ref us at test level.

• 196.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Gretep , ok Carsten was not great today .. cobus just proved that he still has it … but eddie was poor in the loose and did not feature at all in the game … hasn´t jake given eddie enough chances to prove himself …while carsten ha had only one so far

• 197.gecko: Reply to this comment

Deutsche Bok – I disagree – as mentioned earlier (post 177) he was one of only three that I noticed hitting the rucks.

• 198.bob: Reply to this comment

BokinOzzie, the clouds haven’t fallen! My comment was more general and aimed at Bok rugby over the last few years. Do you think it was a coincidence that there was so much chirping and off the ball rubbish? This was a friendly and was supposed to exhibition rugby. The wise old heads in the World fifteen know exactly was to disrupt a Bok team.

Our players always take the eye off the ball and game plan and get sucked into that ****. It was obviously their game plan(along with targeting our scrum). What disturbs me is that our (professional?)players fall for it every time. We cannot think on our feet and display little structure and discipline under pressure. Until we get that right, we will be sitting ducks.

• 199.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

White should stop picking all the teacher’s pets. Big Joe was nowhere on defense and Snyman and Gaffie were standing around like lampposts.

• 200.wpforever: Reply to this comment

NEWS JUST IN…CARSTENS AND SHIMANGE JUST FELL THROUGH THEIR OWN ******** !!!

• 201.gecko: Reply to this comment

Giel – the whole backline could have stayed at home. The ball never went past 10, and if it did, Danie Rossouw was there to screw it up.

• 202.gretep: Reply to this comment

I tend to see it along the same lines as Gecko. The whole team were prety poor in the loose. Eddie hit quite a few rucks, not saying that he was great, but does not deserved to be singled out.
    Do agree on Tappe…The only prob is that we still have to put up with him in the CC.

• 203.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

gecko, me thinks rossouw has taken a note out of Matfields book standing at outside centre for most of the game…

• 204.David: Reply to this comment

Brumbie
    My thoughts exactly. The problem is, where are we going to get one from?

• 205.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Gecko , you are obviously blind …

• 206.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bob

I agree with you one hundred percent, the bulle thing just ignore it.

I had an argument with Jondood aka groot the other night about how the aussies wind up the boks (supporters too) and the boks fall for it everytime.

The brisbane test mach was classic eg in 2003 trinations the ozzies played a lot of off the ball and mouthing and got away with it which made the boks fume.

• 207.gecko: Reply to this comment

DB – yeah right nazi

• 208.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

bok in ozzie forgot 5 out of the 7 starting backs are likely to be first choice players this year

• 209.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Gecko – thanks so much for your intelligent post (207) I was actaully born in cape town and moved to germany with my SA parents at the age of 2 … you **** wit

• 210.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Gecko I think the backline was pretty useless. As far as Matfield and Rossouw are concerned, they destroyed the Stormers a month ago. Andrews, Burger, Shimange, Big Joe and Luke were ripped apart up front.

• 211.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Gotta love you and leave you guys … lets hope next saturday is an improvement … See ya then

go bokke

• 212.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Brumby (208)

Then it sounds like a bad day at the office for the boks or they were Kak.

Are you in Oz if so did you watch it.

• 213.gecko: Reply to this comment

Giel, but who did Rossouw destroy today?

• 214.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

i am in oz so no but after watching the boks backs last year matfield look a more useful inside centre than the muppets that played in that position

• 215.kevin w: Reply to this comment

gecko,

his name … that’s about all he destroyed!

• 216.Sage: Reply to this comment

A list of players never to be sent to the World Cop next year:

1. Deon Carstens – Visagie fucked him up completely
    2. Shimange – there is NO WAY he is the 2nd best hooker in SA, fat, slow, very average all round
    3. Danie Rossouw – fucked up almost EVERY backline move. What was he doing there all the time???? Then he takes a cheap shot at Chabal FROM BEHIND!!
    4. Wickus v Heerden – first game back admittedly, but he is is ****. Would rather have Tim Dlulane there if we must
    5. AJ Venter – throwing a punch in a game of this nature, piss off completely!!
    6. Ricky Januarie – slow, inaccurate, way past his best
    7. Gaffie – say no more

Others who were really pathetic today.

1. Eddie – must shoulder the blame with the rest of the front row who were absolutely hammered
    2. vd Westhuizen – did not even come close to controlling the game or getting the backline away
    3. Snyman – saw very little ball, but did not come looking for it either
    4. Percy – poor judgement and is no longer prepared to put his body on the line for SA.

• 217.bob: Reply to this comment

” Yeah, Moe, that team sure did suck last night. They just plain sucked! I’ve seen teams suck before, but they were the suckiest bunch of sucks that ever sucked! ”

- Homer Simpson -

• 218.wpforever: Reply to this comment

give them all “MASOE” handbags

• 219.folanke: Reply to this comment

Gaffie was ok, one excellent line kick, one great penalty kick, took the ball cleverly once and nearly sent one of the other idiots over…good game under the circumstances…

• 220.pompies: Reply to this comment

That was a kak game bring on the real boks please.

• 221.Viper6: Reply to this comment

I really don’t want to relive any of those moments keo.

• 222.ddrek: Reply to this comment

We must be the supporters who hate our own team the most ???

• 223.wpforever: Reply to this comment

no i think the POMS hate their national football side more

• 224.pompies: Reply to this comment

Post 223 Really.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.