Jake: We were poor

Springbok coach Jake White admitted the team’s performance in the opening match of the season was well below par.

“To be fair of course I’m not happy. To say we played well would be fibbing,” White confessed at the post-match press conference. “We missed our experienced players.

“The biggest disappointment was we never got going. The guys did look a little dead in the legs. We also struggled up front and the experience we left out in the tight five definitely impacted,” said White, who maintained his 100% win record as Bok coach on home soil.

The coach admitted there were several areas to work on ahead of the first Test against Scotland in Durban next weekend. He was expecting to have Schalk Burger, Jan Smith, Os du Randt and John Smit back in the mix.

But lock Victor Matfield would probably not be considered. “Victor is not in the mix right now, but Albert van den Berg hurt his shoulder so we will have to see.”

The Boks fly to Durban on Sunday were they prepare to take on the Scots in the first Test of two-Test series. They have had one game to shake off their rustiness and another performance like this against a Scottish team with a good Six Nations campaign behind them could spell disaster.

“A win is a win and that is what it is all about I suppose. If we had played really well and lost I would have felt worse,” White added.

By Andrew Hollely, at Ellis Park

69 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.ddrek: Reply to this comment

We must be the supporters who hate their own players the most ????

• 52.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Same BS again from Jake White.

Waiting for the experienced players to help him out. I can just see the panic if 5 of these experienced players get injured before the World Cup.Last year we were laughing at the Ausies, yet we forget we are only 4-5 injuries away from the same fate. This team Jake has assembled can’t even win overseas, even at full strength against a weakened Aussie side! Ruan was the only highlight for me. He actually looked like he wanted to score more tries than the opposition.

And saying, this is our first game together is BS! A professional rugby player and especially a South African one, should be able to slot in, anywhere. New Zealand mix and match every week. You don’t here them saying its our first game together. That you leave to a high school u/19 c team.

• 53.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Jake should’ve had a 3 game 60 minute trials. To see what kind of players he really has. I’d rather pay R300 to watch the two following teams if everybody was fit!!!!!

15.) Percy Montgomery
    14.) Ashwin Willemse
    13.) Jacque Fourie
    12.) Jean de Villiers
    11.) Bryan Habana
    10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen
    9.) Fourie du Preez
    8.) Joe van Niekerk
    7.) Juan Smith
    6.) Schalk Burger
    5.) Victor Matfield
    4.) Bakkies Botha
    3.) CJ van der Linde
    2.) John Smit
    1.) Guthro Steenkamp

15.) JP Pietersen
    14.) Akona Ndungane
    13.) Andre Snyman
    12.) Wynand Olivier
    11.) Tonderai Chavanga
    10.) Butch James
    9.) Ruan Pienaar
    8.) AJ Venter
    7.) Luke Watson
    6.) Pedrie Wannenburg
    5.) Ross Skeate
    4.) Danie Rossouw
    3.) Cobus Visagie
    2.) Schalk Brits
    1.) Os du Randt

• 54.wilfred: Reply to this comment

we are not the most knowledgeable supporters in the world.
    we wait for keo (the snake) to tell us what is right or wrong.
    if we don’t do well we blame quotas.
    we played poorly yesterday, but so what? it was a practice game. we called for JAKE to experiment, he did that and we still complaining. cobus visagie can only scrum , in general play he is non existent. in his last season for the stormers, he was often penalised for illegal scrumming.

• 55.cane: Reply to this comment

Wilfred,a man who looks beyond the headline, a rarity.
    You can only go up from here & it could have been worse.

Can you Saffa’s imagine the smile on Justin Marshalls face if they had won.
    There, you see, it could have been a lot worse.

• 56.milena: Reply to this comment

The game couldn’t have been much worse, it was irritating to watch !!!
    The highlight was the fight btw Chabal and Rossouw when they started playing ” Do you really want to hurt me” by Boy George over the loudspeaker.

• 57.cane: Reply to this comment

Milena,
    “do you really want to hurt me”.

almost as good as playing “cocaine”
    when the waratahs played the hurricannes in the semi-final of the S14 in wellington.

• 58.milena: Reply to this comment

• 59.milena: Reply to this comment

what they gonna play for Masoe and Umaga?
    “Handbags and Gladrags”

• 60.BMM: Reply to this comment

I have a serious question with regard to the shouting and screaming at Tappe Henning. Having watched the game again I found maybe 2 or 3 of the penalties maybe on the 50:50 side or where a little bit more advantage could have been played. BUT please gentlemen how can Tappe be blamed for the other 30 friggin penalties????? He did transgress the laws the friggin players did!!!! Don’t shoot the messanger blame the 30 to 40 players on the park!!!!

I just can’t believe how much kak the ref and coaches get when the players stuff up!

• 61.cane: Reply to this comment

Milena,
    Maybe , but lyrics of “Lola” go a bit like this;

She walked up to me and she asked me to dance
    I asked her her name and in a dark brown voice she said Tana

Well Im not the worlds most physical guy
    But when she squeezed me tight she nearly broke my spine
    Oh my tana ta-na-ta-na tana
    Well Im not dumb but I cant understand
    Why she walked like a woman and talked like a man.

She picked me up and sat me on her knee
    And said dear boy wont you come home with me
    Well Im not the worlds most passionate guy
    But when I looked in her eyes well I almost fell for my Tana

etc

I pushed her away
    I walked to the door
    I fell to the floor
    I got down on my knees
    Then I looked at her and she at me

Girls will be boys and boys will be girls
    Its a mixed up muddled up shook up world except for Tana Etc

Well I left home just a week before
    And Id never ever kissed a woman before
    But tana smiled and took me by the hand
    And said dear boy Im gonna make you a man

Well Im not the worlds most masculine man
    But I know what I am and Im glad Im a man
    And so is Tana
    ta-na-ta-na Tana ta-na-tana-ta na etc

(Sorry to inflict this on you all.)

• 62.kaballas: Reply to this comment

Here is a list of the Boks that played a fine game of rugby on Saturday:
    1)
    2)
    3)…

…the list goes on and on…

• 63.sarky: Reply to this comment

Comment 22. Spot on. The World XV pack were strong enough. They also played the ref well.

Viasgie is a liability, got the same warnings when he played in UK. Think he should be bought as a CC player for Stormers! Tappe made him look good!

Albert, Monty,AJ, Pienaar, Jean played well enough but the run on nos 8,9 and 10 were shocking, squandering possession and position. The hookers and locks, excluding Albert, looked quite ordinary.

I’m not sure whether Jaco can play 10 at all because he always looked hesitant to me but he might have performed better if the pack did not have that slapper Rousouw at lock and Januarie stuffing it up. Our no 8 should have the nick name sideways.

• 64.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Here starts the Boks annus horribilus.

• 65.Veii: Reply to this comment

Wilfred, I would rather have a prop who knows how to scrum than have one who can run around like a headless chicken and get his arse wooped at scrum time. The problem with you is that you most propebly only watch the backs. Cobus was at most of the rucks, he was tackling, he was suporting in the lineout and he provided the neede right shoulder.He did his job. The times he was penelised at the scrumms were almost never his foult. If you know anything about scrumms or if you watched what was hapening in the scrum you would have noticed that Deon didnt bind as he was suposed to, so when Cobus aplied presure Deon poped inwards becouse he wasnt bound. Cobus did his job and more. Now Deon, who is “mobile” and can run standoffs wasnt at most of the rucks, at scrum time his arse was wooped. These are the two reasons why props are on the field and he didnt fulfill his purpose on the pitch.

• 66.wpforever: Reply to this comment

wrong tackler you are the **** HORRIBLUS

• 67.bunce: Reply to this comment

The boks were a load of ****, not once did the ball get to
    the wings in 80 mins, not once was it even attempted.

Shine the f**k up bokke.

• 68.paddysid: Reply to this comment

brads !!

how am i an ‘utter defeatest’ ?

i am saying what i saw on saturday, and also what i have seen from the jocks in the six nations, remember, they beat france and england at home, not because they are agreat team, but because they have a belief in themselves.

regardless of who wore the green and gold on saturday, those players should have been good enough, fit enough and proud enough to beat the world xv at home.
    i seem to remember the second string all blacks batter ireland at landsdowne rd last november, that is strength in depth that the boks can only ever dream about.

i am as passionate about the boks as anyone, but i am also a realist !!, not a defeatest as you might think, but what came out of saturdays game that worries me was the complete lack of imagination from players that we might have to rely on at some stage if we have an injury crisis. and i dont buy into the players are jaded and tired bullshit !!.

• 69.TWINKEL TOES: Reply to this comment

The boys relied on penalties on sat and not on each other…….luck isnt always there!!!! theyve gotto change there mind attitude.i agree with paddysid, its bullshit!

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.