Monty’s boot saves Boks

Nine penalties from Percy Montgomery gave the Boks an unconvincing 30-27 victory over the World XV at Ellis Park on Saturday. The home side led 15-11 at half-time.

Pity those fans who forked out R300 to watch this drivel. In fact, pity anyone who managed to stomach the full 80 minutes.

Apart from Joe van Niekerk, who made three memorable linebreaks and offloads in the first half, the Boks lacked direction and inspiration.

Without John Smit, Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger, the soft under-belly of the Bok pack was brutally exposed. Deon Carstens was totally outscrummed by Cobus Visagie, who must surely now be a candidate for the World Cup squad, while the World XV loose forwards managed to slow down Bok ball at the breakdown.

Fortunately, South Africa’s line-out was as reliable as ever with Hanyani Shimange delivering one of his best performances. AJ Venter was the main ball winner up front, and it was only in the second half that the World XV claimed one against the throw.

Jaco van der Westhuzyen, who started his first match at flyhalf for the Boks since the Mandela Test in Sydney last year, generally failed to get the backline going. In the first two minutes of the match he had a pass intercepted and then put a kick directly into touch. He will have to seriously up his game in order to prevent the injured Andre Pretorius from reclaiming his No 10 jersey this season.

The World XV, meanwhile, were outstanding considering they spent as much time in the pub as on the training field this week. That they came so close to pulling off an upset victory was mainly down to scrumhalf Justin Marshall – who was driven over for his side’s first try early in the match – flyhalf Carlos Spencer – whose brilliant cross kick set up Isa Nacewa’s try soon after half-time – and Matt Burke, who kicked five penalties and a conversion.

In the end, a match that promised so much in terms of running rugby delivered very little.

Montgomery and Burke exchanged early penalties, before Marshall was driven over for the World XV’s first try and an 8-3 lead. Only a fourth penalty from Montgomery and a massive 55m strike from Gaffie du Toit after the siren, gave the home side a four-point lead at the break.

The Boks were expected to come out firing in the second half, but were disrupted when Venter was sent to the sin bin. A minute later, Spencer put in a cross kick for Nacewa, Montgomery inexblicably never left the ground, and the World XV right wing scored under the posts.

A string of penalties from Montgomery and Burke saw the scores locked at 27-all with four minutes remaining. However, the whistle-happy Henning awarded the Boks a dubious penalty in front of the posts, allowing Montgomery to kick his ninth penalty and save Bok blushes.

Springbok XV - Penalties: Percy Montgomery (9), Gaffie du Toit.
World XV – Tries: Justin Marshall, Isa Nacewa. Conversions: Matt Burke (1). Penalties: Burke (5)

By Simon Borchardt, at Ellis Park

241 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

• 1.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Bokke

• 2.Blou_Bok: Reply to this comment

Kak game – man of the match should have been Tappe Henning !!!

• 3.wpforever: Reply to this comment

JACO IS A DRAGON

• 4.wpforever: Reply to this comment

HENNING IS AN INFRINGEMENT lol

• 5.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

how about gaffies boot?

• 6.Skim: Reply to this comment

Monty is a little *****.

• 7.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

I think this game proves that a number of players should not be in the test side

namely :

1.Janurie: poor passing , poor defense – same from S14 kaak…
    2. Dannie Roussow… he is like a dinosoar … no skill
    3. shimmie – just proved that the only reason why he is there is because he is black … not even good enough for currie cup .
    4.van heerden too slow for a international loosie …soory mate
    5. eddie andrews … do I have to say anything kak , kak ,kak
    I think Jake should take another look at his squad we need guys like Britz, watson , Ackermann , Visage( he made our props look like winkes today )Spies

• 8.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ok maar ****** net-net, nie goed genoeg nie bokke!!

Baie werk voor die Skotte, hoop Matfield, Bakkies, Schalk, Habanero, CJ & Os kom bliksems vinnig reg

Keo, your bones were wrong AGAIN!!!! You said the Boks were going to put 50 over the World XV. Stop throwing your bones, buddy, you’re just looking for quick hits on this blog and it shows how little you are able to read the game we love so much.

• 9.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

one more thing …. todays game also proved that tappa henning is the worst ref that sa has ever had , thank god it was his last game …

• 10.wpforever: Reply to this comment

news just in,Carsten and Shimange just fell through their own arseholes

• 11.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot aka Jondood.

Has spoken.

Keo I wish for you to listen to him if not he is gonna break those bones of yours.

• 12.Test: Reply to this comment

grootblou
    Every time keo roles his bones we know that exactly the opposite of what he says will actually happen. Give up the bones keo! Learn from Tappe and dont bring them back for a swan song.

• 13.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Deutsche

I thought Henning was bad but not the worst, yes he is in the top 5, but spannenburg remember him, i thought he was the worst ref out of SA, worst ref of all time is out of australia, any of them.

• 14.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

Henning had absolutely no control over the game, none whatsoever!

• 15.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

BokfokopinOzzie,

Man you’re a dimwit, Jondood show your face buddy, show this poepol that we both blog seperately.

Ozzie, I would rather put up with Keo’s wayward predictions than your pathetic posts……now fark off.

• 16.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Keo cant give up the bones because he has no clue about rugby.

While he has them and they ‘lose’ he has an escapegoat.

• 17.Test: Reply to this comment

CSI
    Agreed Spanneburg and Tappe were nipping at each others heels for that worst spot but Tappe still takes it for me. To whistle happy and his games always degenerate into lots of niggle. He just could never stamp his authority on a game or let it flow. You could see that players just dont have any respect for the guy.

• 18.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Test,

You’re right bud, maybe Keo should continue rolling the bones, then we’ll know to expect the exact opposite!!

• 19.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Jondood/Groot

The bulle mentality getting the better of you again.

• 20.Test: Reply to this comment

Bokinoz
    Agree …How can keo explain being out on his prediction by such a massive margin except that he doesnt have a clue?

• 21.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Ya CSI but our was really looking forward to todays game ( we dont get much rugby in Germany )and for me he just detroyed the game …

• 22.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Little Oz,

Your mentality is irking me, nothing wrong with my Bulls mentality.

Come on Jondood, I need your presense here!!

• 23.Test: Reply to this comment

Groot
    Good suggestion :lol:

• 24.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Are u guys getting the tri-nations footage in Germany?

• 25.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Good to hear Shimange played well!Just watch some pathetic people decry him now. So sad.

• 26.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Ya we got some highlights last year but not much … its dam sad … i love watching the boks play

• 27.Dooster: Reply to this comment

Keo het sy naam dooster gemaak soos al baie kere tevore.

The Boks’ frontrow was not in the game. Kobus Visagie gave us a lesson in scrumming.

Jauarie, and Jaco vd Westhuizen should both apply for Greenland citizenship and just **** off from and form of rugby.

Percy’s judgement was shocking but hell who will replace him.

Van Heerden?? Well now you know why he should not have been in the squad.

Van Niekerk started like a star and then became a disaSTAR.

Who was the other losie? Oh yes I saw him when he was yellow carded.

Jean de Villiers ran so many lines that he got entangled in them.

Donker…donker…middernag….
    Buite poep ‘n Zoeloe sag!

• 28.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Jondood aka Grootblouwinkie

I am sure to you the bulle mentality is fine.

One dimensional!

• 29.BMM: Reply to this comment

Mikeybrass – I have no opinion on Shimmie because I have not seen him play much – but please do not believe the article above Shimmies throwing was terrible! He also did not do much else but nor did botha

• 30.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Ozzie,

I am not in the mood to converse with you, leave me alone, go suck your boyfriends ****

• 31.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Grootie

Are you suffering from Schizophrenia,

Just sign off and sign on as Jondood.

• 32.wls: Reply to this comment

THAT WAS KAK.
    I forked out R750.00 for my family to go watch this drivel, OFFICIALLY THE VERY LAST TIME I VER GO TO ELLIS PARK.
    The Rugby was KAK.
    Got harrased yet again by some ******* outside regarding parking.
    The power in the Stadium cut, FFKS and we want to host the world cup LMFAO.

PS : Boks have a huge task ahead of them this season, because based on that Scotland will give them a snot klap.

• 33.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Drol,

Which part don’t you understand, LEAVE ME ALONE, before you lose the fight again like the other night (twice)!!!

• 34.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Grootie

See you cant at least keep the wit without being callous.

Shame!!

• 35.Deutsche_bok: Reply to this comment

Gotta love you and leave you guys … lets hope next saturday is an improvement … See ya then

go bokke

• 36.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Grootie

My love.

You over rate yourself.

• 37.Stan: Reply to this comment

Montgomery saved nothing.
    Any decent kicker would have slotted those kicks. The only difficult kick was gaffie’s.
    Monty did give a try away.
    Forget about Tappe, the captains had no control over their players.
    Januarie proved himself to be a fat unfit flash in the pan. Shimange and Andrews are thorougbred quotas and vd Bergh is a toothpick.
    AJ was outstanding and Chemical Joe had some good moments. Gary was good and Cobus bent Carstens like a twig.Sephaka is the same as Shimange.
    As individuals some played well, but this was very dissapointing.

• 38.Sage: Reply to this comment

Visagie DESTROYED Deon Carstens entire Sprinbok career.

Danie Rossouw spent more time farking up every backline move than doing his primary job. He is **** and should NEVER play Bok rugby again.

Shimange is a total larde-arse and was a non-entity

The entire Bok front row got hammered today. Visagie and co. were LAUGHING to themselves.

The fact that AJ Venter still throws punches should signal the end of his days. Same with Rossouw who took a crack at Chabal. They are an embarrassment to SA Rugby. What for, I ask??

Januarie needs to up his game enormously

vd Westhuizen had no control over this game. He was clueless and opted for too many aimless and useless downfield kicks.

What the FARK was the point of bring Olivier on at wing??? HE DOES NOT PLAY THERE!!!!

Generally a piss poor attempt by all of the Sprinbok XV. No excuses, they have been in training camp for weeks now.

This World XV were a bunch of has-beens who have lived it up at Sun City for the entire week and we could not score ONE SINGLE try against them??

Alistair Coetzee, what have you to say about this??

Granted, this was the first game up for the Boks, but there was nothing positive in it. No structure, no apparent gameplan, no inventiveness, nothing.

Disappointing to say the least

• 39.wpforever: Reply to this comment

how would the Crusaders done today against our beloved Boks ?

• 40.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

BokfokopinOzzie,

You are very far away in Oz, therefore pretty safe, however, do me a favour and give yourself a Piellewapper Klap on my behalf!!

I said, LEAVE ME ALONE BOETIE!!!

• 41.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Jondood

then dont answer me then.

But the Bulle mentality always gets the better of you and you just want to donner me.

Kiss Kiss.

I bet you a weasel.

• 42.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Groot come and talk rugger on the other Blog.

Just rugger.

• 43.Daggles: Reply to this comment

Boks were kak, I hope they improve next weekend or the Scots will kill us….load of ****

• 44.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

OzzieDrol,

I don’t want to talk to you at all!!

• 45.wls: Reply to this comment

Sage, I think Chabal desearved what he got there lol. But on a whole i really was dissapointed.
    And to think i paid to watch this ****, im even more pissed of.
    Niceot see one or two of King Carlos moves.

• 46.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

I did not say talk to me but talk rugger.

• 47.superbok: Reply to this comment

Jake is right in saying that he has enough props. However, the problem is that two of those props had their heads shoved up their backsides by the prop he rejected.

• 48.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Correct me if I’m wrong, as I could only hear the game, but did the Boks use the short lineout all game?

Oh and Grootblou, you appear to be lacking as much grey matter as those other BB plods in the
    Bok side!

• 49.gecko: Reply to this comment

My few cents before I hit the wine:
    Was Fourie or Snyman playing? It’s like having Naas at 10. The ball never went past 10, and if it did, Danie Rossouw was there to screw it up.

On Sephaka ‘going down’ – you can see it’s Visagie pulling him down. Sneaky, but clever. Very clever. Great lesson in tactics and winning penalties. Fitzpatrickesque.

Carstens was a particular dissapointment. He use to be a tighthead, I really thought he would come through at 1.

My biggest worry – the only players I saw hitting a ruck was De Villers, Andrews and v/d Berg. What happened to Danie Rossouw – o ja, he was standing at 1st receiver thrying to run over someone everytime. And Venter?

Eddie Andrews must be pretty happy today as the problems was all on the other side of the scrum. So no-one can pick on him.

One positive – learning how to win ugly.

• 50.kevin w: Reply to this comment

I can’t wait for the excuses from Jake and his many merry muppits on this site that throw so much support behind him. There is no substitute for form and jake was shown up today. But he will talk up a big story tomorrow again.

Januarie was pathetic, and was actually made to look a fool by Spencer. The two quickest passes from rucks came from Eddie Andrews and Pienaar showed more in his short spell than Januarie did the whole game.

Gaffie and Snyman – **** and players like the Ndungame’s should be there.

Jaco – another **** performance / never has been, never will be a decent test no 10. SA is lucky Spencer and Chaval went off injured.

van Heerden – never has, never will deserve the Bok jersey. Emotion and inspiration doesn’t put points on the board, form players do like wannenburg who should have started.

Rossouw / Venter – dumb boneheads … when you are being completely outplayed – hit the guy????

The front row and Jake were handed their asses on a plate today and now Jake is pretty close to having enough stupid comments for a book by now. I’m sure Cobus is having a good laugh.

Unfortunately, i’m beginning to enjoy watching Jake fail. Soon enough, he might pull his head out of his *** – let’s just hope it is not too late.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.