Monty’s boot saves Boks
3 Jun 2006
Nine penalties from Percy Montgomery gave the Boks an unconvincing 30-27 victory over the World XV at Ellis Park on Saturday. The home side led 15-11 at half-time.
Pity those fans who forked out R300 to watch this drivel. In fact, pity anyone who managed to stomach the full 80 minutes.
Apart from Joe van Niekerk, who made three memorable linebreaks and offloads in the first half, the Boks lacked direction and inspiration.
Without John Smit, Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger, the soft under-belly of the Bok pack was brutally exposed. Deon Carstens was totally outscrummed by Cobus Visagie, who must surely now be a candidate for the World Cup squad, while the World XV loose forwards managed to slow down Bok ball at the breakdown.
Fortunately, South Africa’s line-out was as reliable as ever with Hanyani Shimange delivering one of his best performances. AJ Venter was the main ball winner up front, and it was only in the second half that the World XV claimed one against the throw.
Jaco van der Westhuzyen, who started his first match at flyhalf for the Boks since the Mandela Test in Sydney last year, generally failed to get the backline going. In the first two minutes of the match he had a pass intercepted and then put a kick directly into touch. He will have to seriously up his game in order to prevent the injured Andre Pretorius from reclaiming his No 10 jersey this season.
The World XV, meanwhile, were outstanding considering they spent as much time in the pub as on the training field this week. That they came so close to pulling off an upset victory was mainly down to scrumhalf Justin Marshall – who was driven over for his side’s first try early in the match – flyhalf Carlos Spencer – whose brilliant cross kick set up Isa Nacewa’s try soon after half-time – and Matt Burke, who kicked five penalties and a conversion.
In the end, a match that promised so much in terms of running rugby delivered very little.
Montgomery and Burke exchanged early penalties, before Marshall was driven over for the World XV’s first try and an 8-3 lead. Only a fourth penalty from Montgomery and a massive 55m strike from Gaffie du Toit after the siren, gave the home side a four-point lead at the break.
The Boks were expected to come out firing in the second half, but were disrupted when Venter was sent to the sin bin. A minute later, Spencer put in a cross kick for Nacewa, Montgomery inexblicably never left the ground, and the World XV right wing scored under the posts.
A string of penalties from Montgomery and Burke saw the scores locked at 27-all with four minutes remaining. However, the whistle-happy Henning awarded the Boks a dubious penalty in front of the posts, allowing Montgomery to kick his ninth penalty and save Bok blushes.
Springbok XV - Penalties: Percy Montgomery (9), Gaffie du Toit.
World XV – Tries: Justin Marshall, Isa Nacewa. Conversions: Matt Burke (1). Penalties: Burke (5)
By Simon Borchardt, at Ellis Park

241 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All
3 Jun 2006, 18:09 pm
bryce,
Please don’t cimb on BokinOzzie’s bandwagon, have never insulted or taken you on, only have an absolute disgust for BokinOzzie.
Agree with you that Danie Rossouw was fenominally kak today — how in hell does he always allow smaller outjies to rip the ball off him and why oh why does he always try to run over the opponents.
Like I said in my first post, I hope our injured stars (not only Bulls) come back soon, otherwise this is going to be a loooooooooong season!!
3 Jun 2006, 18:11 pm
Groot
Maybe Bryce has found you out as well.
3 Jun 2006, 18:12 pm
BokinOzzie Mate,
You wanted me to talk rugby, I am, now sod off!!
3 Jun 2006, 18:13 pm
What a load of Shite, Jake i love you man and always defend you but holy ****,what a KAK performance what the hell have you done and where the hell is your depth in your squad, Why have you made stupid Quota selections when you had Form quat players who would never let you down in the green and gol I.E. Dulane who i hate to say it might be better than both Wikus and Schalk on current form and maybe an Nudungane on another wing then with habanna you have three Form quota’s in your showing that development in SA is strong now you are embarrasing some poor front row players who were never good enough to be picked on form.You have a massive PROP Dilema yet you prematurely write off Visagie who showed he was a very strong scrummager what thae hell were you thinking, **** stop being so arrogant and give guys a chnce before you go all high annd mighty Dammit JW dont make me loose faith in you!
3 Jun 2006, 18:14 pm
On a brighter note – Kenya klapped Oz in the 7′s.
3 Jun 2006, 18:15 pm
Stan,
No criticism of one Bulls player … why am i not surprised. Jaco was complete dogshit as usual as was Rossouw.
The try that Percy let in shows the guy is thinking and didn’t want to give away a penalty but clearly you are too dof to see that. He was unlucky and it shows our loosies were nowhere and should have been cover defending.
Gecko,
Hahahahahahaaaa, great news!
It seems that many of the opposing sides are going to be using the Sader’s ploy of ripping the ball out of our forwards hands, in the tackle.
3 Jun 2006, 18:16 pm
Gecko
Did they?
That is hilarious but unfortunately hardly anyone in OZ follows the sevens.
3 Jun 2006, 18:17 pm
Apart from Jaco & Danie the Bulls players all showed up well. But those two made up for the rest.
3 Jun 2006, 18:17 pm
Pool B 16:44 Australia 7 – 26 Kenya
3 Jun 2006, 18:18 pm
Bryce,
Damn man, Jake must focus seriously on sharpening the skills of our players to retain the ball and not to allow it to be ripped out of their hands – like you say, very quickly all teams are going to target the Boks and all SA sides in those respects.
3 Jun 2006, 18:19 pm
Groot (53)
that is the first time you have been courteous.
Well done – you see you can do it.
3 Jun 2006, 18:21 pm
Now how about some news from the post game press conference? Can’t wait to hear what Jake has to say.
3 Jun 2006, 18:22 pm
BokinOzzie,
It might have been the first time you have perceived me as being curtious, have been a blogger for a long time boetie, yet you have managed to be the second greatest DOOS after Tackler in my eyes, still want you to f@ck off!!
3 Jun 2006, 18:23 pm
Bryce (58)
The players will just need to learn t0 shield the ball when going into a contact situation.
It will sorted out it is one of the basics in the game.
3 Jun 2006, 18:26 pm
I have been a blogger since the start of this website and kept with the same name.
I dont remember seeing you at least a year ago unless you were under the name of Jondood and aka something else.
3 Jun 2006, 18:27 pm
Jaco Van der Westhuixen oh holy **** the worst modt *** rugby player to set foo on a field **** go back to japan where you are infact big enough to play rugby
3 Jun 2006, 18:30 pm
Windhoek, we’ll have to leave Jake’s match report to the Dan’s world crew!
3 Jun 2006, 18:31 pm
When has Jaco ever done anything worthwhile for rugby. Let him and Danie take there **** rugby to Th SPEARS
3 Jun 2006, 18:33 pm
Tappe henning BYE BYE and thanks for nothing you stupid piece of ****
3 Jun 2006, 18:33 pm
we are ****. No decent flyhalves, only test props are injured and stop this *** infatuation with Danie and Wikus Jake…get a room instead of playing them. They are not test standard and you still play them?
3 Jun 2006, 18:35 pm
Bokdiehard
I hope you are not Grootblou
3 Jun 2006, 18:38 pm
BokinOzzie, put a lid on it.
3 Jun 2006, 18:44 pm
Ikeys
I am having a bit of fun here with groot since he was dishing it to other bloggers and I made a comment and took exception to it. It started of humerous but obviously could not take what he gives out.
Because he is limited wit wise he started being callous and then being aggressive.
Which shows he has seriuos limitations.
3 Jun 2006, 18:45 pm
mmmmmmmmm
3 Jun 2006, 18:48 pm
The performance by the Boks was hardly surprising. It reflected the poor showing of the SA sides in the Super 14. This against a side where none of the players can make their national teams.
3 Jun 2006, 18:52 pm
NO i am still A bok die hard supporter but if things continue like they did today i might be terminal
3 Jun 2006, 18:53 pm
The Boks were crying out for a Luke Watson today. Jake Wickus is not in Luke’s class.
3 Jun 2006, 18:58 pm
hey guys, don’t be too harsh on tappe henning… who most definitely was pathetic for the past 2 years, but before that he was a good, repected ref, so don’t make him an anti-hero just now. Soem of you don’t even understand rugby, and shoot tapope like he was nobody, then come the rest of the muppit sheep and keep saying the same thing. Give Tappe a warm goodbye – he most centainly did his job, and i’m sure he knows himself that he has made a few mistakes in the latter years. Be reasonable, not just stupid idiots repeating what others say on this blog.
3 Jun 2006, 18:59 pm
The problem with Tappe, Watson & Kaplan is they want to steal the show. The best SA refs are Joubert and Lawrence.
3 Jun 2006, 19:00 pm
yes bokdiehard,
i’m sure you’re a better ref than tappe, i’d prefer you die and ******* hard you piece of ****.
Yes Tappe has become old and was lately terrible, but its a pity no one remembers him a few years ago. But still our refs looking good, with Lawrence and Fortuin taking over the scene.
3 Jun 2006, 19:02 pm
ehm capeflatsboy, i agree, but Watson??? jeeez you just proved you haven’t been watching rugby for the past 10 years or so.
3 Jun 2006, 19:05 pm
**** guys – **** off from Tappe, his had his days, he was a good ref, a little shaky recently and thats it. And whoever says anything wrong about Watson clearly is a ********. We should be proud of Watson, the best ever ref!!!
******* idiots on this site, including the tackler, who just makes me laugh, a guy who doesn’t know a **** about rugby. shame.
3 Jun 2006, 19:05 pm
Watson was like a little Hitler on the field. Remember that incident between him & Balie Swart? That was hilarious. But the worst SA ref I remember was Jimmy Smith Belton from PE.
3 Jun 2006, 19:08 pm
Ok, let Grrrr… tell you how it was. The Boks were k@k, Tappa was k@kker plus trow in that the World 15 played very negative. Bottom line: We were K@K!!! Now that is rugby wisdom.
3 Jun 2006, 19:09 pm
Thank goodness I didn’t spend R300 to go watch that bollocks… They should refund those poor okes that went to Ellis…
3 Jun 2006, 19:09 pm
taurus are u watson
He once cost WP a currie cup final. Ruled that a pass to Chester was forward. I think it was the 1999 final at Loftus.
Also bet you dont know who Jimmy Smith Belton is. Shows you’ve only been watching this game for 10 years. You still a novice which means you missed the 1995 world cup.
3 Jun 2006, 19:11 pm
The poor old Boks are going to get rammed this season me thinks. Good thing my Cats gave me lots of pratice in being dissapointed. Bring on the WC!!
3 Jun 2006, 19:12 pm
More wisdom: Did you know the human head weights 9 pounds…???
3 Jun 2006, 19:24 pm
Taurus, my wife says i must be nice to you … so I am sorry…… that you know nothing about anything Totsiens Tappe Ita adbout time.
3 Jun 2006, 19:32 pm
damn i wonder how many of you loud mouths ever played rugby???
visagie bent carsten ???? what rubbish he tried couldnt and did the ilegal and got caught out 3 times did he bend sipaka yes
vdb won 2 of their line outs and wqas good in the loose
also one must remember a prop is as good as the locks behind him sadly thats where we lacked and shimange is a very weak scrumager
those who always shout about j smit maybe bow in ur small little brain youll realise he is by far the best as he doesnt just throw the ball in the line out
gary botha did ok when he came on but he still couldnt strengthen the scrum
lineouts we did well
in the loose it was van niekerk that didnt play well
then back line
one cant blame them except for jvdw and the baldy man clown we used for a scrum half who believes hes the yes and amen of rugby who tries to do all himself
our backline got no ball to prove if they were good enough or not
and its not that we didnt get enough ball ,, we did
between FH and SH we screwed it all up …
to blame carsten shows the lack of rugby knowledge
without a lock pushing behind you you dont have a chance
3 Jun 2006, 19:33 pm
capeflat, you’re a funny oke. Remember Jimmy Belton in a few matches in Currie Cup, don’t recall him being ever a test referee. But he’s more from the late 80s or early 90s. Anyway, youre a funny oke.
You remember one mistake Watson has made and you call him a liitle Hitler, wtf?? come on grow up, who was better than Watson?? come on tell me!!! Chris White maybe… hmmm Spreadbury, Marshall? i don’t thing so. I believe Watson handled every match wat better than the rest. But ofcourse, i’m sure you being a ref would always see if the ball goes forward. **** you have no idea how hard it is to handla a match within its laws. I’ve been there, and i respect every ref.
3 Jun 2006, 19:33 pm
and the less said about tappe the better
he thought today was all about him sadly he stuffed up what could have been a good game
3 Jun 2006, 19:38 pm
we also tend to forget a lot of these players played so well a few weeks ago?? i wonder what jakes coaching did??? i reckon stuffed it up
heres one example i dont think youd find a better example
BRENT RUSSEL
he doesnt get a chance on the field, yet hes the one player in the whole squad that can turn a game on its head and he doesnt get sent on
it was also reported he looked the best of all players in the warm up game and in training>?
whats that tell you??
if one player could of sparked a game its him and he was given no chance ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????
3 Jun 2006, 19:40 pm
yes he stuffed up this match and a few from Super 14. But we can’t keep on saying that he’s **** et al. He was a good (not brilliant, not perfect, just good) ref in the past. PERIOD!
3 Jun 2006, 19:40 pm
Hahahaha , boks are sit.
Keo, What’s wrong with your bones ??
Sorry i am pissed but you been our big time.
First of all, Spencer is good , marchell is **** >Listen , guys i am pissed , but the boks are not up to standard. It was a sloppy game. Get the best team to play the best
Bye bye
3 Jun 2006, 19:46 pm
Yes Januarie did suck today, but not as much as Jaco Van der Westhuizen, Why oh why is he there he cant, kick he cant attack and when he does find space he never passes, he can’tackle his distribution is average at best Hey other than that he is The best Fly half ever
3 Jun 2006, 19:48 pm
yip, capeflat buddy
i see you hiding. But i forgive you. However i don’t like when somebody just throws in a stupid comment that i’m a novice and that i missed the ’95 final. That was plain stupid. But i’d did miss out on buying the final tickets. But gathered 3 faimlies in one house and had the time of our lives, a memorable day.
3 Jun 2006, 19:51 pm
Tappe thanks for a terrible game, but hey always remember, The_Taurus thought you were GOOD over your carreer THAT SHOULD MAKE IT ALL BETTER. I think you are only as good as your last performance which if it is true you could be the worst REF ever.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All