Monty’s boot saves Boks

Nine penalties from Percy Montgomery gave the Boks an unconvincing 30-27 victory over the World XV at Ellis Park on Saturday. The home side led 15-11 at half-time.

Pity those fans who forked out R300 to watch this drivel. In fact, pity anyone who managed to stomach the full 80 minutes.

Apart from Joe van Niekerk, who made three memorable linebreaks and offloads in the first half, the Boks lacked direction and inspiration.

Without John Smit, Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger, the soft under-belly of the Bok pack was brutally exposed. Deon Carstens was totally outscrummed by Cobus Visagie, who must surely now be a candidate for the World Cup squad, while the World XV loose forwards managed to slow down Bok ball at the breakdown.

Fortunately, South Africa’s line-out was as reliable as ever with Hanyani Shimange delivering one of his best performances. AJ Venter was the main ball winner up front, and it was only in the second half that the World XV claimed one against the throw.

Jaco van der Westhuzyen, who started his first match at flyhalf for the Boks since the Mandela Test in Sydney last year, generally failed to get the backline going. In the first two minutes of the match he had a pass intercepted and then put a kick directly into touch. He will have to seriously up his game in order to prevent the injured Andre Pretorius from reclaiming his No 10 jersey this season.

The World XV, meanwhile, were outstanding considering they spent as much time in the pub as on the training field this week. That they came so close to pulling off an upset victory was mainly down to scrumhalf Justin Marshall – who was driven over for his side’s first try early in the match – flyhalf Carlos Spencer – whose brilliant cross kick set up Isa Nacewa’s try soon after half-time – and Matt Burke, who kicked five penalties and a conversion.

In the end, a match that promised so much in terms of running rugby delivered very little.

Montgomery and Burke exchanged early penalties, before Marshall was driven over for the World XV’s first try and an 8-3 lead. Only a fourth penalty from Montgomery and a massive 55m strike from Gaffie du Toit after the siren, gave the home side a four-point lead at the break.

The Boks were expected to come out firing in the second half, but were disrupted when Venter was sent to the sin bin. A minute later, Spencer put in a cross kick for Nacewa, Montgomery inexblicably never left the ground, and the World XV right wing scored under the posts.

A string of penalties from Montgomery and Burke saw the scores locked at 27-all with four minutes remaining. However, the whistle-happy Henning awarded the Boks a dubious penalty in front of the posts, allowing Montgomery to kick his ninth penalty and save Bok blushes.

Springbok XV - Penalties: Percy Montgomery (9), Gaffie du Toit.
World XV – Tries: Justin Marshall, Isa Nacewa. Conversions: Matt Burke (1). Penalties: Burke (5)

By Simon Borchardt, at Ellis Park

241 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.rastafox: Reply to this comment

What a weekend of schoolboy rugby it was again and some interesting results:

Bishops 18-16 Paul Roos
    Maritzburg College 19-15 Affies
    Paarl Boys High 16-14 Boland Landbou

• 152.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Well I read up till about post 40, when the usual drivel usually gets the best of most, so apologies if I say something already mentioned.

I was generally disappointed with the game, there was no structure or flair so to speak, and I find it hard to see what good teh camp did.

I know our best was not on show, and in some cases our third best player took the field yesterday, but apart from one or two, these guys are not new to the Bok-setup. And I guess that is what bothers me.

Yet again I did not see any player, or rather the team move forward from last year.

First the good stuff.

Don’t worry too much about the result, yes it was poor but we beat a team with some brilliant individuals in the World team. The fact that our pack suffered and we still managed to pull off a win is positive.

Speaking of the pack, it really pisses me off that Joe seems to be a completely different player when he pulls the Bok jersey on.

Joe was the stand out guy in the pack for me with AJ doing allright but I was really disappointed with the yellow. After this year’s S14 I really believed AJ left that **** behind him, seems not – but did anyone actually see a punch? I did not and they weren’t exactly revealing with replays.

Anycase, I don’t want to stand up for the guy if I dont have evidence so lets leave it at that.

But Stan old buddy, he was not the player of the day in my view.

I would like to invite everyone to go watch the game and see how Joe attacked space next to players and not run over them as is the norm in SA rugby, and look how much meters he gained.

True, he did fade a bit in the second but he was the best player on the park in the first 40.

Danie and Albert were disappointing, we have a serious problem with depth at lock.

The front row debate…

Well I always said I am not an expert and nothing has changed. I would just like to figure out why, when the prop issue comes up, do people refer to Os, Carstens, blah blah when they want Cobus in the team.

Carstens is by no-means the best LOOSEHEAD we have and everyone expected him to have a torred time.

Sephaka has become the Shimmie of the Cats with the amount of game time he got so it did not surprise me that he looked rusty, I still rate him though but he is also a LOOSEHEAD.

I am interested in Cobus simply because I believe, apart from BJ and our other injured TIGHTHEAD, we are in deep **** in this department, like we are at lock.

Some guys name 6 props on this blog but fail to realise that we are, or I am, talking about our depth at TIGHTHEAD, yet you name a host of loosehead props.

If anyone can name me 4 decent tightheads I will shut it, and no, not conversions Jake has made, or is trying to make tightheads, the real deal.

Reason for this is every single person that does know a thing or two about playing in the engine room that I spoke to, says tighthead is a specialist position, but also, you only become great as you get older, i.e. late twenties.

Name me any class tighthead who is a specialist, not converted, and over the age of 25.

The World team’s first try also came from a brilliant right shoulder on our 5 meter line which gave them oodles of space on the blindside with very little defenders – this is test match rugby stuff, and obviously, to me at least, Cobus is the unsung hero of that first try.

On the backline, January was piss-poor but then I never quite rated him, simply because I think he is not a thinking type player and he has more brainfarts than moments of brilliance. His service is also bloody slow lately, and this hop-skip-pass bloody tactic pisses me off and puts your whole backline under pressure from the word go.

I have yet to see Jaco run straight since 2004.

Our problems in the backline starts at 9 and 10, and those two were beyond kak yesterday.

Jean Div had an interesting game. I really thought his work rate was brilliant, as was his defence. he also seems to gain meters in the tackle and takes 2 defenders with him all the time, but I guess that is the problem I have, he is becoming another DeWet.

It is fine when you click with your flyhalf and outside center and you are able to off-load after you have taken in 2 defenders, but they and he always go to ground and set up another ruck.

Not a bad game from him though, but nothing to make me believe he is our saviour in backline play and heaven forbid, has the most flair in SA.

Fourie and the two wings did not have much to do, because they did not get much ball, but I would like to ask some of you okes to tell me why Snyman and Gaffie were kak?

What did they do yesterday that was so kak?

They had one or two runs, provided cover at the back for Percy and Gaffie’s boot yet again proved crucial.

Talking of Percy, his one mistake again brings out all the Percy haters – it is quite pathetic really.

I guess you forget that Johan Roets made the same ****-up last year and it basically cost his team the CC.

Percy was never caught out of position at the back, and as Marshall said, they kicked a **** lot more.

When he did attack or join the line he looked good and if it wasn’t for a slightly forward pass we would have had a try in which he was heavily involved in.

Scoring 27 points on his own also highlights his value to the team.

The subs did nothing to impress or give the necesary fire I expected them to.

Man of the Match: Chabal – can’t believe he is not in the French setup.

• 153.gecko: Reply to this comment

PA – some quality comments. Good judgement on JdV – I hope he only seemed another DWB due to the flyhalf play yesterday. Never once did he get good running ball.

As for your prop debate – which is well laid out – I think you would only find 3′s like that in the Boland/Valke/Pumas/Griquas sort of teams, players that have been serving the team for 3/4/5 years scrumming their guts out – and they never get a representitive look-in anyway.

Percy screwed up by trying not to screw up. Great judgement pulling out the tackle, but then forgot to carry on playing.

• 154.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

CHeers gecko,

I actually think he thought Nacewa has gone to ground, or will…

It was just bad luck, but he should have competed a bit more for the ball, i.e. jump perhaps.

We find Ozzies are very good in these situations, but our SA guys, apart from Habs & Ndungane (who were great chasers) and what happened with the BUlls this year an FDP’s box kicks, no-one seems to want to commit on a 50/50 ball.

• 155.gecko: Reply to this comment

Percy was about 2m to far away to jump for it.

• 156.veltie1: Reply to this comment

Pissand

Good comments my man.

• 157.Skim: Reply to this comment

Whashappening?

• 158.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Not to catch it out of the air gecko, but only once it bounced, that is what Nacewa did, but it is easier to jump going forward when the ball is going forward too.

Anycase, a mistake, but it happens to anyone, I saw far worst **** on the field yesterday.

Cheers veltie

• 159.veltie1: Reply to this comment

goeiemore kerels.

Hoe lyk dinge?

• 160.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

PA – very good comments.

You mentioned everyhting except for Wickus.
    I cant believe these guys can say he was poor or average yesterday! How many tackles did he make, I lost count at 6 turnovers after 50 minutes. If wasnt tackling he was 1st to the brakedown everytime, so to these guys out there -OPEN YOUR f$^&*ING EYES!!!

What did AJ do in the game?? and Joe only played well in the 1st half!

You guys make me madd :evil:

• 161.veltie1: Reply to this comment

Were any of you boys at the 7′s yesterday? Kenya klapped the aussies. I almost felt sorry for them. Whenever tehy touched the ball the Poms were booing the **** out of them. Last match of teh day, Oz got their revenge though by beating the Poms very convincingly.

• 162.French: Reply to this comment

No no no no no no NOOOO! We’ll get our buts kicked by the aussies and the kiwis if we keep on playing like this! First of all, our forwards were bullied and didn’t win the fight. Cobus Visagie had an outstanding game and Jake has too pick him with BJ and Os on the bench. Then secondly, the ball never went passed Jean de Villiers in first fase atacking. We should have won this game much further. I’ve accepted it but it’s bloody bad if you think about it, SA teams will always play boring, oldfasioned and conservative rugby. The only team who plays good running, exciting rugby is the Sharks. Come on Jake! Wake up and start playing like the kiwis or the sharks.

• 163.Skim: Reply to this comment

Any enemy of Australia is a friend of mine.

• 164.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

lol skim

just add the poms

• 165.veltie1: Reply to this comment

Skim – maar vir wie skreeu jy as Engeland en Aussie teen mekaar speel? Gelykop?

• 166.Skim: Reply to this comment

And the yanks….

• 167.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Veltie

Jy boo altwee :lol:

• 168.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

…nee wag beter: Skree vir die ref

• 169.veltie1: Reply to this comment

hahahahah. Bloemleeu, dit was lekker. Aan my linker was kakies bek-af en aan my regterkant was aussies bek-af. Ons boertjies kon nie minder omgee nie.

• 170.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Bloem,

I did not – weird.

Anycase, he was not bad, he did the hard graft – but as you know, I am a big believer in combinations, and to me the combo in the loose forward department simply did not gel well.

But yeah, to say he was kak is a bit rich. Actually I cannot remember him making one mistake, but also, he was not prominant – but ask the WP loosies what happens when you have ot play of the backfoot…

• 171.cane: Reply to this comment

Skim,
    Your postings using only numbers showed you in better light.

(like your off the stuff)

• 172.gecko: Reply to this comment

Wikus only looked poor as we played with AJ on the other flank – so Wikus was expected to play fetcher. Not his role, never has been. AJ was much worse yesterday than W.

• 173.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

PA -The biggest disappointment wasnt the score, but the way the tight 5 played, they were totally over shadowed.

JDV as you mentioned are starting to play like Barry. Where are the times when a 12 got the attention of both centres and then offload to a speeding 13 on his shoulder. The bad thing is he never looked like passing the ball

• 174.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Bloem,

As a Stormers supporter I knwo all too well what a kak tight 5 means, luckily we had better class at the back and Monty’s boot.

• 175.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Pissant
    yes Pecy kicked dmned well. Not saying he shouldnt be in the team etc etc ,but i prefer Jaco at 15 as he can take a high ball. Percy has been around since 97 I think. He is our veteran and 1st choice 15. That similar mistake keeps reoccuring. And it results in tries against us rather often.
    If it was some or other mistake,hey as you say mistakes happen ,and yes he was good for 27 points….but its the (in)consistency of his taking the high ball that has me crapping on the couch each game. It is his weakness. Unless there’s nobody around.
    Yes Roets screwed it last year at CC final and also got ripped for it. When it turns into points against which can be crucial they need to take the wrap.These guys are our last line of defence. Imagine Chris Latham doing that. I dont think so. A little more balls please boys. Oh ,and while about it….eyes on the balls too please.

• 176.rastafox: Reply to this comment

Good points PA

Taking a rational look at what is available in this country I have found the following:

Loosehead Prop
    There is of course Os the elder statesman,he is ably supported by Gurthro Steenkamp and I do believe given opportunity Sephaka will be a Test standard LOOSEHEAD,not a tighthead.Eddie Andrews has covered this position adequately in the past.In Heinke v/d Merwe there is a huge talent coming through,but he still needs to be nurtured.
    Deon Carstens did himself no favours yesterday and still has a lot to proove.

Tighthead Prop
    CJ v/d Linde fit and in form is a huge talent, but is still on a learning curve.Pat Barnard is another who is reaching maturity now and must not be forgotten.BJ Botha is yet to be tried at the highest level,but has really impressed of late.Cobus Visagie is undoubtedly the best South African tighthead in the game at present.

Hooker
    John Smit is a much undervalued performer and is without peer as player and captain.Gary Botha is another superb player and has good leadership qualities.In Schalk Brits we have possibly the most dynamic hooker in world rugby at present. Hanyane Shimange will get the job done,but adds little to any team.Tiaan Liebenberg was for me the form SA hooker in Super 14 this season and if he can maintain this form will always be a threat.There are also some fine talents in this department,none more than Chilliboy Ralepele. Danie Coetzee is also an experienced campaigner and solid performer

Locks
    What is there behind Bakkies and Vic?Albert is getting on and Danie Roussouw I’m afraid is not of international standard.The return of Selborne Boome and good form of Hottie Louw should be noted and in Skeate,Bekker,Muller and van Schouwenburg there is a bright future.Add to this the availability of Johan Ackerman who is a massive presence and true enforcer.

Openside
    Schalk is the best in the business and must be played here.In Tiyabilika and Dlulane we have two solid back-ups and Luke Watson is a fine fetcher,wether liked or not.Kabamba Floors has done well for the Cheetahs,but lacks mongrel. Hendro Scholtz has never attained the heights expected of him.Warren Britz has shown the way for the old-dogs and Cobus Grobler has shown he has plenty talent.Jaqcues Botes of the Sharks is for my money the real deal,versatile and super value he will wear green and gold at this rate.

Blindside
    No shortage of options here.There is all-star Juan Smith,the hardman AJ Venter,the tireless Wikus van Heerden and throw in Jacques Cronje,though he has performed poorly this year.

No.8
    Joe van Niekerek seems to raise his game for the Boks and will vie with the in-form Pedrie Wannenburg.Pierre Spies is an amazing talent and needs only to decide where to play.Ernst Joubert of the Cats had a good season and will be a man to watch in the Currie Cup.

Of the overseas loosies Shaun Sowerby is reportedly in good form and Jake Boer is a legend in the UK.

Scrumhalf
    An embarrasment of riches for sure.Fourie,Ruan Pienaar and out of form Januarie all have the ability.One feels Bolla is passed his expiry date as with de Kock and Davidson.Paul Delport leads the charge of the youth with Vermaak, Carse and Adams coming through the ranks.Michael Claasens is for my money not good enough.

Flyhalf
    This is a real headache.With the flaky Pretorious and unreliable v/d Westhysen top of the pile.Wether or not Butch James can return successfully remians to be seen and Meyer Bosman has a lot to learn.Naas Olivier is a good talent and in Hougaard we have a mercurial talent.Steyn has not enhanced his reputation this year and the rest are a pretty poor bunch.

Wings
    Another area of concern the retreaded centre Habana leads the way and when fit Willemse has shown good form.The Ndungane twins had good seasons,but are not top class.Gaffie du Toit is an absolute anomaly.Perhaps the veteran Andre Snyman can add some much needed value.Henno Mentz has shown great form at regional level,but didn’t grab his chances at higher levels.There are a few exciting youngsters,but players like Tonderai Chavangha,Jongi Nokwe and Rayno Benjamin have been found wanting.Giscard Pieters is simply not Test material and Wylie Human is past his prime.

Centre
    Cursed or Gifted?anyones guess.There is no doubting the talent of Jean de Villiers and Jacques Fourie and De Wet Barry and Marius Joubert have played well before.The youth brigade led by Wynand Olivier,Brad Barritt and Ronnie Cooke are as exciting as they come.The playmaking abilities of Wayne Julies are not to be discarded either.There is depth in the midfield.

Fullback
    Percy is still the oldhand.In Johan Roets,Brent Russell and Conrad Jantjes there is experienced backup.The youth are again well represented and JP Pietersen is a sublime talent.Throw in the youngsters like Gio Aplon,Shandre Frolick and Marius Delport and there is plenty yet to come.
    Earl Rose is no doubt talented,but needs to up his defensive game.

• 177.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

gecko and PA

Lets have a look at the loosies yesterday and the work they was required to do and what they actually did.

-WvH was the fetcher- He got about 7 or 8 turnovers, and he made a lot of takckles. He did his job 100%

-Joe made good tackles too and carried the ball well in the 1st half but then faded I will give him 90% first half rating and 50% secondhalf.

-AJ was he even on the park yesterday, except for the lineouts. Did he make any yards? I cant even rate him on that performance if I can call it that.

-Pedrie made a lot more impact in the game even though he made a mistake or two.

So the question we have to ask ourselfes, was it the combination that didn’t work or if one guy didn’t do his job!

• 178.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Rasta,

Well summed up buddy.

It is all about the right combinations for me. We have the quality, but we are getting our combo’s wrong.

Hooker; You hit it, I am on record not being a huge Schalk fan, but he reminds me of Uli but just need the mongrel I love in hookers. Liebenberg was also my hooker for the S14, but John is our best – still.

I really hope Jake has a look-in at Boome, he is back in SA and he can only add value in a department we are not looking to good at if we consider the WC.

I am afraid, that although the Bekkers, Skeate’s and Van Schouw’s (who for me will become a legend) we have run out of time to properly blood them.

On the loosies, I believe that Botes, like Smith is a thinking player, and will be one of the best in years to come – but I would seriously consider him for blindside or 8th man. His vision and skills will be a great asset as a link between backs and forwards, a skill or job not needed for an opensider.

Flyhalf is a majot concern, I will like to see Bosman at 12 in the future – but yeah, headache of note.

ddrek,

It is a major weakness of Monty, there is no doubt and I also cringe when a bomb goes up. I used Roets just highlighting that **** happens, Roets is actually the best under the high ball in my opinion. But it was just to shut some neigh-sayers up jumping on the hate-bandwagon because a player they dispise made one mistake.

Hate me for it, but I would play Monty at 10.

• 179.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Bloem,

I will stick by my point on combinations – for me that did not work.

AJ is not a good blindsider imo, much better 8th man, same with Wikus, not a fetcher – which is why I guess Joe looked the part for a bit in the game and not the others.

Some comment above also mentioned the World team playing extremely negatively yesterday, and I agree fully, and I believe it is also something we need to consider.

Does anyone have the penalty count?

• 180.gecko: Reply to this comment

PA – yip, currently the lack of 10′s puts Monty in the picture, with Jaco at 15 where he can counter, and not be expected to get a backline away.

Anyway, sun in shining, girlfriend has at last got up so off to a wine bar in the sun I go.

• 181.rastafox: Reply to this comment

PA

19 -13 in favour of Boks

• 182.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

PA

Its all water under the bridge. Well Im looking forward to the tests because we can only get better.

As for Monty at 10 wouldn’t be a bad Idea, because I dont rate Jaco as a flyhalf, he even had a poor game against the Shimlas.

I will pick monty at 10 until Petoors are back.

PS JDV must play wing with Snyman at 12 and Bosman should play 12 asswell :)

• 183.gecko: Reply to this comment

36 penalties (22-14 to the Bok XV)

maybe this explains it all:

http://www.suparugby.co.za/Pages/Default.asp?More=Bokke%20Tap%20dance%20to%20Henning’s%20tune&FeatureID=7172&SectionID=1

• 184.gecko: Reply to this comment

My penalty count from http://www.superrugby.co.za

• 185.cane: Reply to this comment

Is it possible that all of you(thats all you Saffa Bloggers on here)so weight down your team and coaches with criticism that the weight and expectation is too much for them to carry.

If any of them ever logged onto this site they would be hard pressed to remain positive thereafter.

Look at the positives;
    -you won.
    -this was probably going to be the worst performance of the yr.
    -many of your star players are yet to return.
    -it does appear JW has “a plan”
    -there were many old foxes in that w15.

• 186.gecko: Reply to this comment

Snyman played 12 in Straueli’s first test, then got dropped. Why, he can’t pass. Never could.

• 187.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

gecko

Is that any different from Barry or JDV??

• 188.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

… if you have to crash ball, Andre is heavier and more powerfull :roll:

• 189.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Can’t believe everyone is on Tappe’s back … had he let the game flow, the World XV would have put at least 50 points on the board. I’ll say it again, Tappe and the injury to Carlos saved the Boks from embarrasment.

Sorry, Bloem Leeu, cannot agree with you on Wikus – he is **** and Pedrie should have started. Unfortunately form doesn’t count in SA anymore.

• 190.gecko: Reply to this comment

Not from Barry, but JdV can pass. The problem, we took so long so get the ball down the line, by the time the ball got JdV, Castaignede was serving tea and biscuits next to Fourie, so we never could shift the ball.

• 191.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Kevin

On form from the S14 Wickus is the best no 7 by far twat,

• 192.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

gecko – that brings us back to the Flyhalf, which played ****, so point taken :)

• 193.kevin w: Reply to this comment

cane,

Rugby is entertainment and probably the biggest entertainment money spinner in the country. If Jake and his OUT-OF-FORM plonkers don’t entertain, then I have every right to criticise – that’s what they are paid to do. It’s like going to watch the Metallica and the do Backstreet Boys covers!!!!

The only real entertainment was old Chabal … what a character – he looks and behaves like Monster from the Muppits!!!

• 194.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Bloem Leeu,

That’s why the Cats had more success when he wasn’t playing!!!

• 195.kevin w: Reply to this comment

And how **** were the commentators … they had the two World XV centres wrong the whole game. I sometimes wonder what people in all spheres of SA rugby get paid for?

• 196.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

What success??

And if you are a Bulls supporter, then I dont need to argue with you!!… your mother is calling run off!

• 197.kevin w: Reply to this comment

okay, Bloem Leeu – the Cats had more success when their inspirational captain (who looks like he is always about to burst into tears) and form no. 7 according to you was injured.

So i’ll run off to my mom now – she knows more about rugby than you clearly

• 198.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Kewin

Wickus is the or close to the best no7 in SA and if you didn’t or cant see it…

Go **** yourself!!!

Sorry IG

• 199.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Kevin W (197)

LOL…

• 200.cricketman: Reply to this comment

no comment

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.