Scots mean business
5 Jun 2006
Scotland has never beaten the Springboks in South Africa. Coach Frank Hadden and captain Jason White believe the time might be right for an inaugural win.
After viewing the Boks insipid display in beating the World XV at the weekend, Hadden and captain Jason White, must surely feel they have got a chance, but were not getting carried away upon arrival at Johannesburg International Airport on Monday morning.
“It has been a long season and we have had a good Six Nations campaign. The good thing for us is this tour is two Tests and hopefully we can carry on our improvement here,” said White.
Said Hadden: “We need to obviously respect to South Africa, being ranked No 2 in the world, and that shows how much they have improved since we played them in 2003 (in South Africa). We are coming here to challenge and it would be a massive achievement if we could win.”
The last time the Boks and Scots met was on the end of year tour in 2004, when following a disappointing Grand Slam tour they ended on a high, thumping the Scots 45-10 in Edinburgh.
However, the Scottish have come on tour on the back of a good Six Nations, while the Boks looked rusty at Ellis Park. “This is a great opportunity for a crack at them. We have not turned up just for the sake of it and this is also an important part of our World Cup preparation,” said the coach.
“To get a victory we will need to do a lot of good things and be on top of our game throughout the 80 minutes,” added Hadden.
Overall, the two old adversaries have squared up 16 times, with the Boks victorious 12 times and Scotland four. The Boks biggest win was the 68-10 thumping handed out by Nick Mallett’s team in Edinburgh in 1997, while the Scots best win came in 2002 when Rudolf Straeuli’s charges were humbled 21-6.
The Scots are nursing a few injuries, but a full assessement would only be made once the team arrive in Durban.
By Andrew Hollely

62 Comments
5 Jun 2006, 10:37 am
We are in for a tough game on SAT. Lets hope the regular boks can perform much better than the guys who played on SAT.
5 Jun 2006, 10:38 am
Wee need these games tough and best the Scots start tough,so we get through all our rust fast.
5 Jun 2006, 10:38 am
Morning andrew…
5 Jun 2006, 10:43 am
Oh Flower of Scotland…
Boks by 20
5 Jun 2006, 10:43 am
Didnt Ireland say the same thing when they came here in 2004?
After we were so kak in 2003?
New coach, complete new team?
5 Jun 2006, 10:45 am
PA,
If we play like we did on Saturday we will lose with 5-10 points. No doubt about it.
Seen a lot of JAson White over the last few months – he is hard as hell, and has this ability to really line up players for huge hits. Its all he really does though but he does it really well.
5 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
Not really a completely new time PA.
And they’ve played as a unit since the beginning of the year.
Oh, and of course when they play it really does look as if they want to be there, not like they’d rather be braaiing on the beach like our boys on saturday…
Our saving grace will be that we are playing at home and in international rugby over the last 5 years the home team has very rarely lost.
5 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
Hi wpw!
It’s gonna be draw in Durbs again. Just like last year against the French.
3-3 I think.
5 Jun 2006, 10:47 am
sorry – a completely new outfit…
5 Jun 2006, 10:51 am
If we play anything like we did on Saturday – its going to be a long Saturday afternoon at Kings Park……..
The Boks should take it….but hell we going to need to improve !
5 Jun 2006, 10:52 am
the scots are a bunch of **** and we’ll clean them up without much effort. i predict a big win for the Boks.
5 Jun 2006, 10:53 am
That wasnt springboks 1st team doesnt matter what white said about all the exp. ITs gonna be a good game … no doubt with scots thats gonna run at us
5 Jun 2006, 10:53 am
Hmmm , it’s going to be close one i think. But with our best guys back we might make it. But i don’t think it’s going to be a walkover.
5 Jun 2006, 10:54 am
Boks by 20, I will stick by it.
Saturday’s game means nothing to me.
5 Jun 2006, 10:55 am
brain,
go say that to them in their faces in a pub in Edinburg…
5 Jun 2006, 10:57 am
i wouldn’t but all i would see would be their asses
5 Jun 2006, 10:58 am
dont think the scots have it in them to beat the boks at home.its their end of year tour, they’re not used to play on this kind of pitches, weather, they’re tired etc. (just to use our excuses!)
5 Jun 2006, 10:58 am
no matter what the boks did not see saturday’s game as a test that is why they played so kak…this saturday it is a test and the boks will take it by 15-20 points……..
5 Jun 2006, 11:05 am
I like to see history made ,
so go the Jocks.
I wish them well on saturday.
I’m surprise they have beaten the Boks 4 times already.
5 Jun 2006, 11:09 am
I believe the Boks will win by a respectable margin. Scots to lose 2 nil…
5 Jun 2006, 11:11 am
Before the 6 nations I thought the baby Boks could murder the Scots.
After the six nations I expected a tough season opener for the Boks but still expected us to win.
After Saturday my money is on the Scots. All they need to do is not to concede penalties then we won’t get any points. They could leave the try line open we will find a way to stuff up try scoring opportunities.
Can someone please tell me why Carel du Plessis is helping the refs and not with the Boks teaching them to score tries?
Also why are we using the Aussie backline oke have we not learnt the lesson with getting Aussies involved, they don’t work in the SA setup. I personally think that they are used to players who take accountability and are willing to work on their weaknesses while with SA guys you need to bring out a big stick and moer them until they listen.
5 Jun 2006, 11:13 am
Scots to beat boks by 12 and atleast 3 new casualties after Sat game.
5 Jun 2006, 11:16 am
Back to Kamp Staaldraad for the boks… seems thats all that works.
5 Jun 2006, 11:18 am
Yea it worked wonders in 2003 Vinnie
5 Jun 2006, 11:24 am
last week i made a comment that a coach when proved wrong, should be man enough to admit/ rectify mistakes made (not picking in-form players, telling others they dont have a chance of making his squad etc.) think jw is man enough to rethink his strategy?
5 Jun 2006, 11:25 am
It did Ig… but this time I’d like to put Jake in the ring with Schalk.
5 Jun 2006, 11:26 am
Remember how kak the bokke were last year in the first seasons test against France, whent they managed to get a draw, thanks to Habana.
The very next weekend, we nailed them totaly, and they had no answers.
The bokke will be OK with their key players back. The problem comes if the core of players get injured like Australia last year, then we have trouble, because the backup second string can’t make the same impact.
5 Jun 2006, 11:27 am
The last Test against the Scots in Durban was on the 7th of June 2003.We won 29-25 with a young inexperienced side of which some will return this weekend.Players likely to feature on Saturday that were there in 2003 include:
Lawrence Sephaka,Victor Matfield,Pedrie Wannenburg,Andre Snyman,Juan Smith,Danie Coetzee and Jaco v/d Westhysen.That Test in 2003 saw debuts for Bands,Willemse,Smith,Hendrik Gerber and Wikus van Heerden.Of the players that are injured Bakkies Botha and Ash Willemse both played in 2003.
Since 1992 we have played the Scots on 8 occasions and only Rudolph Streauli managed a loss in those eight games.The average score is 36-16 in favour of the Boks and by all means we should put the Scots away in both Tests.
This is however a Scottish team that is on the up and they should provide a stern challenge without really posing a major threat.I look forward to two good hard Test matches and this is a far better start to a season than dishing out a hiding to Uruguy for example.
These Tests will set the tone for the season and it is vital that the Boks come out and play positive rugby.If we are to cement our place in the rankings or pressure New Zealand at the top nothing but two good victories will suffice.It is imperative that this year Jake and his team deliver on their talent.As a squad they have had enough time to settle into combinations and there can be no excuse for poor form.
Jake White has shown faith and in turn demands faith from the rest of the country.He will be given this and has set himself a high standard to maintain this year.It will be a tough year and there will be nowhere to run or hide.Up front and centre thank you very much lads.
Maybe we beat the Scots and then everything will be fine again until the France fly in and show us how to play.
There is a lot wrong with SA rugby and ignoring it after a win will not make it go away.
Look at our seven team in the last tournament they won the match based on aggressive defence and not constructive play.
Or cant make any impact welshbok.
Here’s a question – when last have the boks scored a try that wasnt opportunist?
5 Jun 2006, 11:31 am
Jacque Fourie’s try against France in Paris last year Vinnie.
Great pass from Bosman.
5 Jun 2006, 11:33 am
When last did we score a try??? Take Habana and JDV out the team and we will battle to score any tries.
5 Jun 2006, 11:39 am
we just don’t want to show our super hot moves that we’ve been drilling in Bloem
5 Jun 2006, 11:44 am
The Scots are touring with a good team and fancy their chances, but the boks will be a different team with Os, Smit, Matfield, Smith and the real difference, Burger.
That backline in the 2nd half was our best one at the moment. Olivier looks to be the best replacement for Habana, very sharp. Pienaar is a little maestro.
5 Jun 2006, 11:47 am
cab
what did olivier do?
ran faster into the tackler that anyone else?
5 Jun 2006, 11:49 am
handbagslasher,
Not even jdv could score on saturday… against men old ebough to be his father.
5 Jun 2006, 11:50 am
lol asha1…
5 Jun 2006, 11:50 am
atleast olivier sold albert with a classic quick throw at a lineout, maybe he should have first checked where the oposition was.
5 Jun 2006, 11:52 am
Someone help me who’s that cute blonde wing no 14 who shone so brightly for the Scots in the Six Nations.
5 Jun 2006, 11:52 am
Exactly PA,
I can count on one hand the number of tries coming in the run of play for the boks last year.
5 Jun 2006, 11:55 am
dawn
me!!me!!
5 Jun 2006, 11:58 am
lol asha…no he looked good, he’s quick, hungry and strong, watch that boy.
5 Jun 2006, 12:01 pm
What’s his name people.
5 Jun 2006, 12:02 pm
Vinnie
for all we know it was his father he played against, thats why he was so useless, he felt sorry for the guy.
5 Jun 2006, 12:04 pm
How about?
9. Pienaar 10. JdV
12. WO 13. Fourie
11. Snyman 14. Habana 15. JvdW
JdV basically controlled the game like a flyhalf on saturday in any event.
yoh, kiss your penetration worries goodbye.
5 Jun 2006, 12:05 pm
this is all cab’s fault. he used the word hungry to describe a rugby player. now dawn’s never let go. please guys, give her the name of that guy.(sorry dawn, i cant help – only got mnet – poor me!!!)
5 Jun 2006, 12:08 pm
I know who you’re talking about Dawn. He had a screamer againt somebody in the 6N, could have been England.
Is it not Chris Paterson? Somehow I think he played on the other wing. I’m not sure – when i know for sure i’ll let you know.
5 Jun 2006, 12:09 pm
Lamond is the big blonde winger for the scots, he is good.
5 Jun 2006, 12:14 pm
not a bad idea
5 Jun 2006, 12:30 pm
Spot on cab.
5 Jun 2006, 12:33 pm
68-10 again to SA.
5 Jun 2006, 12:37 pm
Nicksteroonie,
Fu@k me Nick, what sort of medication has your Doctor got you on?
5 Jun 2006, 12:44 pm
The Scots doing well in the 6N just goes to prove what a wet Marie Biscuit that competition is.
Linden Hoerskool could beat them.
5 Jun 2006, 13:29 pm
I like Linden ‘HOER”skool!
5 Jun 2006, 13:37 pm
Yuo pick up your wife at a sokkie there Fuzzybear…?
5 Jun 2006, 13:39 pm
Your best bet is Ruan Pienaar at 10.
Watch one of the best, Larkham running with the ball once he gets it from 9.
He angles slightly at speed and you find your 12,13 running up at pace. he then sends a fast
flat pass to 12 or 13 who have ran themselves into a gap and bobs your uncle you break the line.
then you mix it up sometimes, and you have the flat pass going to 12 with 15 running inside him, 12 pops it inside and 15 breaks the line.
I believe Pienaar has the vision to play like that, he would unleash the true value of our big and fast centres.
5 Jun 2006, 13:40 pm
Ya then I moered her amoungst the eyes Vinnie, I then I had to explain to your mom !
5 Jun 2006, 13:42 pm
Agreed JW but lets hope the flippin centre catches the dam thing!
5 Jun 2006, 14:12 pm
Fuzzybear let’s have the name of the meds.
Out with it.
5 Jun 2006, 14:59 pm
HTH
5 Jun 2006, 15:08 pm
Do you snort that or put it in your coffee?
5 Jun 2006, 15:24 pm
SMOKE IT