Jaco’s our best bet
6 Jun 2006
Jaco van der Westhuyzen remains the best option at flyhalf for the Springboks. Deal with it and move on.
Springbok coach Jake White, feeling the pinch for the first time since an adoring media gave him the red carpet treatment two years ago, went on the defensive in Durban this week post the 30-27 win against the World XV.
White described it as a bad day at the office, but then asked for the public to back Van der Westhuyzen as the test flyhalf. Really, it shouldn’t have needed the national coach to go cap in hand to ask for this support.
Van der Westhuyzen is the best option at flyhalf … not just because White has asked us to believe him but because the Boks looked at their most dangerous and lethal among the backs when he played flyhalf for 17 successive tests. In that time there were two indifferent performances, one against England at Twickenham and one in Sydney against the Wallabies.
But the good times outweighed the bad ones and Van der Westhuyzen’s talents outweigh any negatives.
He is the most skilled No 10 in the country and the most balanced of all test flyhalf contenders when it comes to assessing the package deal. Hell, he’s even managed to grow some bloody hair since excelling as the balding flyer at the 2003 World Cup.
It is a question Superrugby’s Gavin Rich has for a year wanted to put to Van der Westhuyzen: ‘What’s the secret to the hair growth, implants or lazer?’
The remarkable hair growth aside, Van der Westhuyzen has too many good qualities to ignore in a test flyhalf. He just needs to be playing there regularly.
Where Van der Westhuyzen is vulnerable at times is when he is asked to play conservatively and to a game plan that relies solely on structure. This was the case against the World XV.
If White asked the public for patience then he needs to be asking the player for forgiveness in expecting him to play to such a premediated style.
Van der Westhuyzen’s strength is in his ability to read the game and to attack the blind side. He is one of the quickest flyhalves over the first 15 metres and the Boks were awesome on attack in 2004 and the early part of 2005 when he probed this area so effectively.
He has a decent out of hand kicking game, that functions better when he has a kicking option playing inside of him at No 9. He will have this comfort against Scotland on Saturday.
Let’s not forget the last time Van der Westhuyzen played against Scotland he produced his most complete performance for the Boks. And he kicked three drop goals on the day just for good measure.
He is a quality footballer and the Boks struggled more in his absence than they did with him at No 10 when White gave Andre Pretorius an extended run during last year’s Tri Nations.
Van der Westhuyzen had a huge impact on the match against the All Blacks in Dunedin when he replaced Pretorius and he generally has flourished more than he has floundered under White’s tutorship.
The problem against the World XV was not Van der Westhuyzen’s performance at flyhalf. The problem was with the pack, who were disjointed in the primary phases, lacking in creativity with ball in hand and pedestrian to the breakdowns.
White has corrected that by selecting his first choice pack for the Scottish challenge. What he needs to do is give Van der Westhuyzen the necessary comfort in the game plan.
If the coach wants the public to back Van der Westhuyzen, then he too needs to back the talents of his flyhalf and not stifle his natural strength in the way he plays the game.

374 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All
6 Jun 2006, 21:29 pm
and ricky dont sleep and take for ever like fdp to pass the ball to the backs.
6 Jun 2006, 22:33 pm
It’s amazing,of the top 20 only one talks any sense and he’s in third position.
7 Jun 2006, 01:10 am
still think butch is our best flyhalf since Lem. jaco has some unique skills, but doesnt offer a physical challenge in the first channel.
this is probably why jake has held onto de wet for so long. he knows you have to have someone who can attack the first channel to draw in the loosies. having jaco and jdv says we are looking to go 2nd channel and wider.
butch has kicking game and has defence too. if jake can give him a chance and he stays injury free i think he will be our best option for WC. then jaco can help percy out at fullback.
7 Jun 2006, 07:20 am
Butch is a clever flyhalf but he’s too slow and cumbersome, he’s built like a loosie and you rarely see him take the gap or beat the man with a sidestep. I consider him a test centre, AP and Jaco offer far more at first receiver
7 Jun 2006, 08:21 am
Oh bugger me did I have a laugh last night.It was not the replay of Saturday that had me in stitches but the poor commentary.I just have to single out one Thando Manana for a ragging.This fellow clearly has no knowledge of rugby,let alone the players involved in the game.
I had to laugh when Joe v/d Merwe made an appearance at No.8 for the Bokke or better yet Johan Botha the reserve hooker.There was also the hugely confusing Radike Samo who was referred to mostly as Sadike,at times Samoa and even the lock for Samoa and clearly none of the above apply.There was the inside and outside centre of the World XV “Castain” who played in both 12 and 13 jerseys.These were just a few highlights for me,but there was so much more.
7 Jun 2006, 08:35 am
Agreed, he is the best amongst the rest. I would just like to see, Joel Stransky or Naas Botha, or both, work with him more. I mean Grant Fox has moulded Dan Carter into a superstar!!!
My run-on team, without any injuries would be:
15.) Percy Montgomery
14.) Ashwin Willemse
13.) Jacque Fourie
12.) Jean de Villiers
11.) Bryan Habana
10.) Jaco van der Westhuysen
9.) Fourie du Preez
8.) Joe van Niekerk
7.) Juan Smith
6.) Schalk Burger
5.) Victor Matfield
4.) Bakkies Botha
3.) CJ van der Linde
2.) John Smith (c)
1.) Guthro Steenkamp
I think Jake should be also looking at a development team that plays, lets say 3 games during the Currie Cup against the Boks. My development team would be:
15.) JP Pietersen
14.) Tonderai Chavanga
13.) Ronnie Cooke
12.) Wynand Olivier
11.) Gio Aplon
10.) Meyer Bosman
9.) Ruan Pienaar
8.) Jacque Botes
7.) Luke Watson
6.) Pierre Spies
5.) Ross Skeate
4.) Andries Bekker
3.) BJ Botha
2.) Schalk Brits
1.) Deon Carstens
7 Jun 2006, 08:42 am
stoffel
When last did you see any fly half take a gap? Butch is the man, but until he is fit again, Jvdw has got the most out of the backline.
7 Jun 2006, 08:48 am
A good flyhalf is not about taking a gap, the defence these days is just too good for that except for the odd occasion, its all about getting your backline on the way and thats why Jaco is our best
7 Jun 2006, 09:58 am
Superrugby’s voter’s poll on:
If all the candidates were fit who would you play at flyhalf for the Springboks?
Andre Pretorius 26.47%
Butch James 20.72%
Jaco van der Westhuyzen 15.96%
Derick Hougaard 7.52%
Morne Steyn 6.39%
Ruan Pienaar 5.61%
Meyer Bosman 5.52%
Jean de Villiers 3.54%
Willem de Waal 3.01%
Peter Grant 1.76%
Gaffie du Toit 1.59%
Naas Olivier 1.27%
Louis Strydom 0.63%
11919 votes have been cast.
7 Jun 2006, 09:59 am
That was for all the people outside SA tha do not have access to superrugby.
7 Jun 2006, 10:03 am
There are 2 positions where Boks don’t have any depth at the time.
1. Tighthead prop – there is no one good to cover CJ.
2. Lock – there is no one good to cover Bakkies and Victor.
But at least we have CJ, Bakkies and Victor.
What is really warrying boks don’t have good flyhalf. 1. Pretorius – can be briliant one game but terrible next one and very valnerable under pressure.
2. Jaco – very good with ball in hand but when there is a tight game like on SAt he has poor tactical kicking.
3. Butch – injury prone and ellow card creater.
4. Stayn – good with ball in hand but poor tactical kicking.
5. Hougaard – good kicker but bad with ball in hand.
6. Bossman – have we even saw him play at 10 to make any judjment?
the rest are far below requared level.There is no one as good as Carter, Larkham or Wilkinson.
There are flyhalfs in SA who can run, kick, pass, be stable under pressure, disciplinned but not in the same time. SA don’t have a flyhalf who would have all the atributes of a good flyhaf. And that is our biggest problem.
7 Jun 2006, 10:12 am
ClothesL,
Ricky is my favourite, but he played real bad on Saturday.
For that matter, even Vermaak that played the later half of the S14 kept him out of the Cats team and was in a different class.
When all are on form Ricky is my favourite though and hope he regains what his lost and lose what his gained ‘£’s’
7 Jun 2006, 10:20 am
cicciono
The problems in the second row are not a lack of depth,but rather poor selection and availability.
In Selborne Boome and Hottie Louw alone there are two quality locks in good form and with vast experience.In Johan Ackerman we have an enforcer that stands toe-to-toe with the worlds best. There are also the youngsters like Skeate,Muller and Bekker.Throw in seasoned campaigner Albert v/d Bergh and the solid Pieterse of the Cheetahs.
No sir there is no lock crisis it is a selection crisis.Danie Roussow is not an International class player period.The sooner this is realised at the highest levels the better.
It is well worth watching replays of Saturdays game to see this.Roussow was barely used as a lineout option,with AJ Venter coming in at 4 in the libneout.He spent more time in the midfield giving away obstructions and interfereing with planned moves than in the tight-loose where we were being murdered.He is a poor ball carrier and tends to either have the ball ripped off him or looses it in the tackle.He is too upright on the drive and fails to generate momentum.I could go on and on,but enough is enough.The man is palpably not good enough and should be dispatched as soon as possible.There are far better than him in all aspects,I haven’t even mentioned Francois van Schouwenburg yet!!
Lock is a specialised position and can be further divided into 2 or 4 jumper.It is also essential to have a balanced combination in the engine room.It is here where the blame put on Deon Carstens is unfair as he was poorly assisted by his locks and his hooker was simply pulverised by Ibanez.Carstens must take some blame,but was by no means the only culprit in a pathetic scrumming effort.
7 Jun 2006, 10:21 am
sorry AJ in at 2 in the lineouts (did a momentary Manana)
7 Jun 2006, 10:24 am
Rugbystudent 356.
That would be interesting, but would never happen.
the development team you mentioned should get a game against Fiji, Tonga, USA etc.
would give us a chance to sort out who is who.
Anyone know what the ticket prices are for Saturday?
Ellis Park management, hope you felt like tits when you saw how empty your stadium was @R250 per ticket.
maybe you will learn next time.
7 Jun 2006, 10:50 am
ciccino, spot on, those are the positions of concern, depth at 3, 4 and 10.
7 Jun 2006, 11:13 am
A flyhalf isnt just there to get the backline going, he needs to be able to run the ball himself and this requires a turn of pace and an eye for space. Jaco and Pretorius have both, James doesn’t. Why are we always looking for the next Honiball? He was a one off, lets play a flyhalf with the necessary skill set at flyhalf instead of looking for a big breeker who is ‘physical’
7 Jun 2006, 11:37 am
Rastafox,
There are good lock in the counry but I’m not sure they are the same quality. In fact boks could find someone to replace Matfield (Albert, Skitte, Muller ect.) most warrying is 4 there is no enforser Ackerman was good this season but he is 35-36(?) and will he be around next year is a question. There was one whom I rated as an adequate replacement to Bakkies but he got sqrewd in 2003 and won’t play again a guess.
7 Jun 2006, 11:40 am
Eat garlic, beetroot and lemon, Manto repeats
[ South Africa ] The consumption of garlic, beetroot and lemon delays the development of HIV into “Aids-defining conditions”, Health Minister Manto Tshabalala-Msimang has reiterated to parliament.
7 Jun 2006, 11:57 am
my new team selection based on merit and proven performance
1. The Female Bouncer who tossed Tana hulle UIT!
2.The Dollie who is So Hard her Handsak laat Masoe huil.
3.That Dollies boyfriend for being so tough he has stood up to that for years.
4. My Garden Gnome Gambrinus ( a rassie mind tactic )
5. Jacob Zuma to moer the other locks and hooker and never get caught/carded, oh the banter in the shower afterwards !
6. Buck Rogers , any ou who can dos for a 100 years and still be alive , can easily go at 100% pace for 80mins without breaking a sweat.
7. Batman , what better Blind side could you want ? and the look on Richie Mcraw’s face when he is pinned at the botom of a ruck , he looks up and asks ” WhhAaat are YOU ? ” …
“im Batman … tell ure friends about me”
8. Chewbacca !
9. THGHM QD ( other 1/2 of raasie mind trick )
10. Capt Willard (apocolipse now) anyone who can slice up a guy as hard as Col. Walter E Kurts with a mashete , will cut any backline up with out the help of … see 12.
11. TJ Hooker , if anyone can out run TJ hooker there’s always his nightstick to contend with …
12. Jake The Mas , what the matter you got a problem with your eye friend ? who else !
13. The Twins that Jake works for ( two players in the squad at the expense of one squad position) , These guys are the only ou’s that ever dissed Jake and lived.
14. James Small
15. Emmit Smith ( Dallas Cowboys ) you want a running fullback who returns any ball punted into his half with interest , with out kicking it ??? i give you Emmit Smith , watch and learn !
Substitutes
Tight Forwards: Forrest Gump What cant he do … huh … huh ?
Loose : Murph , WHATchSHOUT !!!
Backs: Wielie Waalie , with that backline why not !
7 Jun 2006, 12:01 pm
ha ha Murph…Buck Rogers dossing for 100 years.
ciccino, if you’re talking about Labuscagne, nah he’s ****, **** for the boks and **** for the cats this year when he broke down again.
7 Jun 2006, 12:08 pm
Murph you owe me.
7 Jun 2006, 13:39 pm
Dawn,
Everyone owe’s you!?!
7 Jun 2006, 21:17 pm
Keo
Jaco was very shaky and insecure for first 6 or so games, bad option taking.
Later he did show blinding speed when he broke the line and has a reasonable kick.
He may well be a better choice than Meyer Bosman and Morne Steyn, but I am not convinced he has BMT. Perhaps somebody with more of the Gafster in him.
Apart from his perpetual frailty, I think AP is probably a better option.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All