Oh my lord, Lardy’s back

Lardy Davids is adding weight, in every sense, to the Cheetahs Currie Cup campaign.

The former Springbok and Western Province lock, who left Western Province amid claims that his exclusion from the squad was based on race, has returned to South Africa where he may find the race card still carries more weight than his 120 kilogram frame did in the English Premiership.

Davids has been contracted to the Cheetahs after Gloucester refused to renew his contract. Davids was flown to London a month before the Premiership to do an additional fitness course and then still could never crack it, making just six first team appearances in a season of 40-odds games. He also only started in two of these matches.

When Davids left Gloucester there was not talk about him being too black to make the team. He kind of acknowledged he was just not good enough to play, by quietly seeking solace in South Africa.

149 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.wpw: Reply to this comment

vincenzo is here. watch how quick dawn appears now. vincent, is there something btwn the 2 of you?

• 102.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

QD should not do any motivational public speaking in Bloem

• 103.KWV: Reply to this comment

Cab,

Just KAK Rossouw – cause that’s what he is.

• 104.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

She’s my mother wpw.

• 105.cab: Reply to this comment

wpw – don’t reckon the swinging arm on Chabal was intentional, Chabal made it into something it wasn’t. AJ must calm down, but the fire these guys bring to the side should not be underplayed.

The Province pack is crying out for players like this.

• 106.gecko: Reply to this comment

I live in the UK – and watch a lot of Premiership rugby, – and Visagie (while I rate him but that is just because I’m a Capetonian and a ex-Matie) and he was not the stand out tighthead performer this year in the Premiership this year, nor last. And his club was relegation bound till the later part of the season.

But Eddie has been slated before Visagie scrummed Carstens 3″‘s shorter – so my question still stands – of the currently fit props running around on SA telly, who is better?

• 107.Murph: Reply to this comment

Kat

i will consider you a member of my QD fan club in that case.

Prepare to lend ure undying support to the Great One !

And what makes it that much better is that i dont have to support a wp player while im at it !

• 108.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Gecko,

The silence is deafining ….

• 109.cab: Reply to this comment

lol fuzzy at 102

fair enough KWV, your opinion.

Murph – what about Schalla the Magnificent? your posi too.

• 110.rugbyboy: Reply to this comment

stupid…stupid cheetahs!!!!

• 111.Murph: Reply to this comment

Cool it cool it …… We wont tolerate slating of the Great One on this or any other forum !

Cab Chabal get clobbered into next week … unlikely not unless it was The Great One swinging his hip… i mean forearm !

• 112.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

he was swinging his gut when he turned around.
    TGHMQ unfortuantely doesnt come close to the one.
    The one known only as “The Fleck”…

• 113.wpw: Reply to this comment

vinnie, if dawn is your mother it means you are a ‘half-naai’tjie’ :lol:

Dunno if the souties will get that one…

• 114.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

lol wpw.
    dont think so either mate.

• 115.cab: Reply to this comment

Murph – seriously that Danie is not called Pakslae for nothing, he was lining one up on Chabal, which could have knocked all the whiskers off his chin, even the medics were reaching for the strecther…

Gecko, ya probably true, worrying.

As for Visagie, interesting, defer to your opinion on the front row, but it sure looked like Visagie was buckling our scrum bigtime. also see that Sky voted Visagie into their Premiership team of the season at 3 this year. Granted, it is picked by Dewi Morris and Stuart Barnes.

Early start in the UK this saturday, the NZ-Ireland game starts at 8am and the Aus-Pom fixture at 10am.

• 116.gecko: Reply to this comment

Visagie got shunted by Lensing and Sheridan this year.

• 117.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

I just read on Business Web that 43 new Dougnut Businesses have applied for trading permits in Bloem.

strange coincidence that.

• 118.cab: Reply to this comment

got to be the three most powerful scrummagers around.

• 119.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

sheridan is one strong bugger.

• 120.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Top 20 posters…
    cab do you ever work?

# Stan (3593)
    # cab (2861)
    # CSI:Rugby (1741)
    # jondood (1706)
    # bliksem (1635)
    # Grrrr….I’m a Lion! (1455)
    # TheTackler (1439)
    # RedCard (1380)
    # Bluecap (1326)
    # PissAnt (1323)
    # bigg (1305)
    # Vinnie (1245)
    # Ig (1221)
    # wpw (1112)
    # BrumbyIV (1057)
    # Rudebud (1007)
    # wls (953)
    # Hmmm (898)
    # Langman (886)
    # Dawn (884)

• 121.cab: Reply to this comment

lol, as little as possible, job bores me too tears…

• 122.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

No gecko…. if Visagie was soooo kak in a losing side then how did he pick up two man of the match awards over the past seaosn?

• 123.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

What do you do cab?

• 124.Murph: Reply to this comment

yoh vinne

thanks be you didnt take those stats lst year !

I have made a conscious efort to avoid posting ….

but now that the Great One will be in Bloem ….

• 125.cab: Reply to this comment

as little as possible Vinnie…

i’m StM’s shift manager at the local Burger King.

Murph – yes good idea was thinking the same.

• 126.gecko: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – because there are kak sides in the UK too.

The question remains who is SA is better. If CJ was playing no one would call for Visagie, but Eddie has been laid into since he started playing.

• 127.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Mate – no need to get sarky.
    Im actually well-versed in the goings-on at vicarage raod as my rugger club is a saracens partner club…

As for alluding them to being a kak side – two of their players just smashed the boks on saturday and add the like of taine randell etc to the side they would clean up wp and most of the provincial sides.

• 128.gecko: Reply to this comment

Vinnie – I alluded to Saracens sometimes playing kak teams. Matt Stevens won two man of the match awards in 6 Nations – but still can’t really scrum when up against top compitition – and Visagie destroyed him. Not all the props in Premiership can scrum like Rowntree/Sherindan.

And no, they couldn’t clean up Worcester and a few other mediocre clubs. I’ve watched Saracens since ’96 – from that old **** hole field they played on in North East London – and it’s fair to say as a club they’ve been going backwards for a few seasons.

• 129.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

If Ollie Can get a position at the Cheetahs, why not Davids, the got Davids specifically for the Bulls game, it’s just a way to ensure they win set phases against monster packs, it worked for them last year and may just work again. and lets not forget there still underdogs, Go Cheetahs, and Go Lardy!!!

• 130.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Murph don’t mention my name in vain.

And I’m no-one’s mother, although my fave phrase is “JOU MA”.

• 131.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Like Vinnie you are a shyster.

• 132.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

huh??

• 133.folanke: Reply to this comment

I wonder if anyone is in position to help me out ?
    I need a few stats on Freestate rugby, specifically their whole record against overseas opposition…as I am stuck in China, I can’t get a hold of it anywhere !
    Nothing on the net…

Thanks

Frank

• 134.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

So frnaky folanke, do you want us to find the stats for you on the internet?

• 135.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Well may you huh.

Murph owes me a drink.

• 136.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Frank try Google. Oh **** sorry that kak is not allowed to be searched :oops:

Lets see how good they are.

Down with the Chinese Goverment!

• 137.folanke: Reply to this comment

If you find it on the net let me know…no luck so far for myself…folanke@hotmail.com

Regards

• 138.Murph: Reply to this comment

when did i refer to you in any context of that nature ??/

suggest you check again , seriously !

I mentioned ure bad debt with me and ig , i think you read the posts too quickly and have attributed someone else **** to me.

i await my apology

• 139.Murph: Reply to this comment

my new Bok XV

1. The Female Bouncer who tossed Tana hulle UIT!

2.The Dollie who is So Hard her Handsak laat Masoe huil.

3.That Dollies boyfriend for being so tough he has stood up to that for years.

4. My Garden Gnome Gambrinus ( a rassie mind tactic )

5. Jacob Zuma to moer the other locks and hooker and never get caught/carded, oh the banter in the shower afterwards !

6. Buck Rogers , any ou who can dos for a 100 years and still be alive , can easily go at 100% pace for 80mins without breaking a sweat.

7. Batman , what better Blind side could you want ? and the look on Richie Mcraw’s face when he is pinned at the botom of a ruck , he looks up and asks ” WhhAaat are YOU ? ” …

“im Batman … tell ure friends about me”

8. Chewbacca !

9. THGHM QD ( other 1/2 of raasie mind trick )

10. Capt Willard (apocolipse now) anyone who can slice up a guy as hard as Col. Walter E Kurts with a mashete , will cut any backline up with out the help of … see 12.

11. TJ Hooker , if anyone can out run TJ hooker there’s always his nightstick to contend with …

12. Jake The Mas , what the matter you got a problem with your eye friend ? who else !

13. The Twins that Jake works for ( two players in the squad at the expense of one squad position) , These guys are the only ou’s that ever dissed Jake and lived.

14. James Small

15. Emmit Smith ( Dallas Cowboys ) you want a running fullback who returns any ball punted into his half with interest , with out kicking it ??? i give you Emmit Smith , watch and learn !

Substitutes

Tight Forwards: Forrest Gump What cant he do … huh … huh ?

Loose : Murph , WHATchSHOUT !!!

Backs: Wielie Waalie , with that backline why not !

• 140.jb: Reply to this comment

gloucester coach to QD:
    “if you don’t pull your weight I’ll pull you off at half time”

QD
    “jislaaik, at WP I got oranges”

• 141.Dawn: Reply to this comment

For what apologise.

I have no bad debt. Ig would not be seen dead drinking with me!

• 142.wilfred: Reply to this comment

keo
    mallet was involved in this so-called race issue.
    therefore the necessity for you to attack QD like the coward you are.
    did you ever try and interview QD?
    this incident was reported in a tabloid you called thrash, but yet you attack QD based on what was written in this tabloid.

• 143.Onlooker: Reply to this comment

It’s a good idea to have QD in Bleom,
    The stringent training regim there will finish him off quickly, he won’t enjoy the cotton ball treatment he got at WP

• 144.BMM: Reply to this comment

Ihave never met this dude so cant cuss him personally. In the media he has been cussed enough – I hope for his and Rassies sake he pulls finger and has a blinder of a currie cup!

• 145.folanke: Reply to this comment

He will be back shoring up the failing Boks pretty soon…

• 146.sarky: Reply to this comment

Glad to see Rassie’s up for the challenge of getting a useful performance out of QD.

If he could not crack the fitness required at Gloucester, then he obviuosly is a lazy chap. It will be interesting if Rassie can get him back to his best.

• 147.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Lardy — ” former WP and Springbok lock” — can you see how these quota affirmative-action transformation players water down the respect one should have for the Springbok and its illustrious history. Even waters down pride in the famed hooped Province jersey!

• 148.pompies: Reply to this comment

Post 147 you really hurting mate.

• 149.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

It’s true,hey? Once upon a time every Bok was a genuine sporting aristocrat. Now they have blooody talentless toilet-scrubbers like Lardy wearing the jersey in the name of “transformation”…

Sis man!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.