Win a Bok jacket worth R600

Tell us what you think of the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, with Madiba, Smittie and Jake on the cover, and you could win a Bok jacket from Wellington VO Brandy.

We want to know what you liked, what you didn’t and how you think the mag can be improved. Sucking up won’t win you the jacket, constructive feedback will.

Just to remind you what’s in the mag:

- BJ Botha on why he loves playing tighthead prop

- Mat Rogers on how the death of his father almost ended his career

- Why French coach Bernard Laporte doesn’t believe in game plans

- How Frank Hadden turned Scottish fortunes around

- Johan Ackermann on his Bok ambitions

- Why Os is still No 1

- New All Black captain Richie McCaw answers his critics

- All Black coach Graham Henry thinks outside of the box

- How John Connolly plans to restore Wallaby pride

- Mallett: Why Bok contracts should be centralised

- SA Super 14 wrap: the winners and losers

- At home with Frik du Preez

- Trevor Halstead: Munster marvel

- Up close and personal with Bakkies Botha

- Jeremy Mansfield’s Dream XV

45 Comments

• 1.Koos: Reply to this comment

and you can turn out as a GREEN dragon, very smart!

• 2.yoda: Reply to this comment

I particularly enjoyed the ackerman and rogers articles. Laporte piece also interesting. All in all another good issue

• 3.wpw: Reply to this comment

Very good issue. I particularly enjoyed the ‘difficult’ crossword… I really enjoyed the article about Frik Du Preez and also the 5 former test players who spoke about their passion for the Bok jersey.

• 4.yoda: Reply to this comment

Can I have my jacket now?

• 5.handbagslasher: Reply to this comment

The Rogers piece was excellent, the guy has had it tough, but he himself is one tough kid. But what does J. Mansfield know about rugby, it’s enough listening to the oke on the radio, I don’t want to read about him as well. The mag has really upped it stakes in the last few months, can’t wait to see what the future holds for it.

• 6.steyn: Reply to this comment

I think this issue was good not as good as the one before……the 5 legends chatting about there careers was good but i don’t see John as a legend as yet….the story on Frik was really good..but please buddy’s stop putting page pictures of cats players in the book…i think all of us don’t want to see that jersey for a while……but ja a good issue will give it 7 out of 10….keep it up can only get better…i think you need to put a story in the next issue about Spies he is the next biggest thing for SA rugby….you know how he feels about the game and a bit on his dad the gteat bulls player….i would love to read that.

Keep it up boys

• 7.sharky: Reply to this comment

I enjoyed all the articles. Good reading. Maybe put in more girls in bikinis in between articles! Keep up the good work.

• 8.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

Got a magazine and sub for my birthday, so I cannot really compare it to previous issues.

I like the layout and especially the editorial columns by past players and coaches such as Naas and Nick Mallett. I think these add more value than other magazine’s that do rugby articles such as SASI (to which I also subscribe).

• 9.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

The magazine is not too bad. However there is still lots of scope for improvement. The highlight for me, was 1 of my comments was posted. Keo how about a piece on the ex SARU players. In the cricket magazine, they regularly feature an ex player from the ex SACB. I enjoyed the visit to Frik du Preez home, but a similiar feauture on Salie Fredericks who was the Frik du Preez of SARU would be appreciated too.

• 10.Spook: Reply to this comment

I thought Mansfield Dream 15 was very good!!

And enjoyed Richie Mccaw’s article, the guy is a excellent rugby player, and driven for success!!

• 11.paincity: Reply to this comment

i enjoyed sveral articles – Matt Rogers – just gives one a reality check that professional rugby is not all about glamour but also laced with personal problems like the rest of us couch rugby springboks. He is also an inspiration to many people in the sense that when the going gets tough one needs to fight through it as there is always light at the end of the tunnel.
    Halstead article was good – people are exposed to south african stars on an international stage. The 2 feature articles on the old men of rugby( Ackers and Os) – Ackers was the most physical lock in the super 14 and believe that he was a vital cog in the revival of the sharks wheel – lets just hope that the powers that be take note!!
    No real negative comments – although i would rather see a dream 15 constructed by someone more relavent – how about Pienaar, Mallett, hell lets see what Madiba would have to say!!
    Due to the fact that many youngsters read this mag,i think that it is important to to add articles which would encourage them to higher levels – maybe a nutrition and training guide that school boys can look towards, off season training, insight into the Bok training regime – bleep tests.
    I am also a firm believer that contoversial articles sell – interview outspoken people – look at campo – he calls a spade a spade. Interview Jake Boer – what really happened between Straueli and him in 2003 – i know but i doubt that many do!

All in all a fantastic mag

• 12.DurbanShark: Reply to this comment

The magazine is quite good but there need to be articles of a critical nature thus helping our old farts rugby fraternity to ease into a kind of transition and evolving into a more useful, youthful and energized look.

• 13.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Test or Box XV jacket :oops:

• 14.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

yes it was a good read and the photography was top dolla

• 15.StMichel: Reply to this comment

I dont wish to appear ungrateful but these jackets are a little ‘chav-esque’ for my taste.

Are there any other prizes you could offer – more appealing those gentlefolk with taste and discretion.

• 16.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

StMichel a day/night on the Capeflats. So we can donner you

• 17.Ig: Reply to this comment

ST M – Congrats you a winner you get to pick up the tab when i hit the UK !

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Freaking Tracy with Daniel Carter …. YUCK.

I’m sooooooooooooooo jealous. :mrgreen: bollocks.

• 19.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Frik du Preez is short on furniture.

All his chairs are too small for him.

• 20.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

I second that capes

• 21.Koos: Reply to this comment

Hey Dawn, I’m still up for grabs…!

• 22.Koos: Reply to this comment

…or should that be crabs! Get so confused!

• 23.lenny: Reply to this comment

Thank you to Keo.co.za and SA rugby magazine for this opportunity to win the jacket.

I think that the magazine has grown in leaps and bounds. My veiws are that this issue spent too much time on overseas players and their lives. If they are going to have articles on overseas players, why not try and catch up with ex South African players.

I also agree that Jeremy isn’t really a rugby icon, so his dream team has no relevance to most readers.. Perhaps Naas’ dream team may have been a better idea.

I feel more promotions should be held with the magazine, which will increase their sales. I can remember quite a number of years ago, I subscribed to SA Rugby just to get the free ball with Bob Skinstad’s autograph.

I think if they do this once a year a so, sales will soar.

Anyway, it’s still a fantastic magazine!

Lenny

• 24.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ag Lenny, if I win it I will give it to you, have not read your piece yet but the intro was enough to convince me.

PS Please try and post a little more if not for the comps…the little family we have would like to hear more!

• 25.John Bull: Reply to this comment

I tried to buy a copy last month through the UK link (that you’ve now taken down I see). I paid the money via paypal and a month later still have no magazine and no refund. I’ve emailed Shosoloza and Keo’s website asking for a refund, magazine or even just a response and haven’t had anything back!
    I’ve told everyone I know that might buy your mag not to, not that that’ll make any sort of dent in your sales but it’s the principle of it.

• 26.Ig: Reply to this comment

John Bull – i mailed you ! You certainly didn’t mail me !

• 27.John Bull: Reply to this comment

Ig, I didn’t get it. Not sure who I emailed but I’m sure I didn’t get a response. I’m not too fussed, it’s not a lot of money but as I said, it’s the principle of it.

• 28.Ig: Reply to this comment

Have a look at the email i sent for a bigger picture……

• 29.John Bull: Reply to this comment

Fair enough, cheers Ig.

• 30.Ig: Reply to this comment

No worries – the offer stands if you want a sub – i will sort you out ! Drop me a mail !

• 31.Blou_Bok: Reply to this comment

SUPERB !!! :)

• 32.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

Lenny deserves the Jacket, come on, the guys basically begging for it.

For starters my local newagent in the far north of Johannesburg never seems to have the mag in stock, but he has that other one, Rugby365 or something. So after going on an excursion to Pretoria to see Afffies play i managed to pick up a copy at a Garage. think the mag was alright, enjoyed the article by Rogers.
    But i do also feel that the Mag lacks Objectivity, Keo seems to have a definite opinion on many issues and exudes his opinion threw out the magazine far to much!!

All in All an interesting mag.

• 33.Ig: Reply to this comment

Future – whose your local ….will chase up and see what i can find out ?

• 34.Futurebok: Reply to this comment

Cna Fourways.

• 35.ebay addict: Reply to this comment

ig,

what happened to gary lemke and the shosholoza thing in the uk, he used to be good, then he took my money and dropped off the face of the earth?

• 36.Ig: Reply to this comment

Ebay – i sent you an email.

• 37.ebay addict: Reply to this comment

thanks ig

• 38.Bertus Baarmoeder: Reply to this comment

Yes yes, nice mag whatever. No point cause Lenny’s nose is brown enough by now. Poephol. Anyways Ig, can I get the mag in Australia?

• 39.mustang: Reply to this comment

Great mag. SA Rugby has become a must read for me. Don’t listen to Sharky, we don’t need girls in bikinis, there are enough mags around with those if you want them.

• 40.gigalo: Reply to this comment

I was reading the piece on Botha, du Preez, Teichman and Smit saying what the bok jersey meant to them last night. 3 of them thought that the ’95 world cup was our greatest ever moment, which brought back some awesome memories. Made me realise just how much it means for the host nation to actually win the thing. So I will be backing France next year (after the boks of course) and thereafter every host nation (except if it is ever held in England).

• 41.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Gave my comments ages ago Keo, but you guys here seems a bit slow?

I enjoyed the Mallet piece alot! Seems he knows we need to pay players for what they do on the field and not what they look like off it. If you compare that with the thinking methods of Graham Henry article you understand why we will stay no2 and not beat them for top spot.

Rogers piece was good….Damn didnt realize he had those tattoos!!
    Would like to see some more of players overseas… since JW does…

• 42.bigg: Reply to this comment

I enjoyed Naas Botha’s article – Nick Mallet never has anything positive to write about anything. Maybe he should move to England and become one of the old farts as Will Carling would put it…

• 43.Skim: Reply to this comment

Excellent issue. I really enjoyed the article about John ‘Knuckles’ Connolly, the guy seems to know what he’s doing. Unfortunately Naas is stil just bitching and moaning and not doing anything usefull.

• 44.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Is there a South African Rugby and a SA Rugby?

• 45.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

The magazine is a true collector’s item. Here are a few comments.

The cover is okay but isn’t the Madiba bandwagon a little bit overcrowded? I presume Mbeki was out of the country and therefore not available.

Naas is 100% right when he states that we haven’t got enough depth to support five franchises. I’m wondering why he hasn’t voiced that opinion more often on television.

The linebreaks article is concise and to the point. It makes good reading.

Faan and Daan is kak.

The Frik du Prez article is a nice blast from the past. I saw some of his best performances and met him at a Defence Force rugby week. One of his famous stories could have beefed up the article.

The Munster Marvel article gave us a good indication how well he coped over there.

Up close and personal was interesting although it carries a distinct Huisgenoot flavour.

When I saw you are listing Jeremy Mansfield’s dream team, I laughed out loud. The poor Cats had SAA as a sponsor and Mansfield as their official cheer leader. How low can you go? I must admit the team he picked does’t look too bad.

Faan & Daan showed a slight improvement.

One sentence in the Jake White article caught my eye. “There will be lots of emphasis on our scrums …” Well he could have fooled me!

Andrew’s article about BJ made good light reading.

The article on John Smith contained a “factual error”. Capostagno stated that Natal has got a rich history of providing Springbok captains. He mentions Wynand Claasen but Wynand played most of his rugby in Northern Transvaal (for Tukkies).

Regarding your four legends: I don’t think Teichman and Smith qualify for that status. Players like Jannie Engelbrecht, Danie Gerber, Jan Ellis and Piet Greyling as well as Gys Pitzer would fot the bill.

Your selection of greatest Bok victories can not be faulted.

The rest of the articles are well researched, the quiz cuts the mustard and Mark’s X-factor is dead on target.

In general: the best value for money on the magazine stand if rugby is one’s pashion.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.