Griquas won’t be pushovers
7 Jun 2006
Cheetahs Super 14 star Ronnie Cooke insists Griquas won’t be the whipping boys of this year’s Currie Cup.
“Obviously everybody wants to win the cup,” Cooke told keo.co.za, “but we are just realistically looking to make the semi-finals this year. But that doesn’t mean we won’t be competitive.”
Griquas qualified for South Africa’s premier domestic competition by obtaining the third best standing in the Vodacom Cup amongst the other non-Super 14 unions. They have since been on a three-match tour of Argentina and Uruguay and only arrived back in South Africa earlier this week.
“We played some quality rugby against the very physical club sides from Rosario and Montevideo,” said Cooke. “In the third game against the Buenos Aires Eagles, the Argentine club champions, we went down 33-23, but this is not a true reflection of the game. The referee was terrible and three of our players were yellow-carded.”
Griquas also suffered some serious injuries to key players. Fullback Jose van Rensburg is out with a broke ankle while MJ Mentz sustained a shoulder injury.
Cooke himself has been ruled out for the next six weeks with a stress fracture. “It’s the same leg injury I had in the Super 14, and it has only gotten worse as I continued to play. I will only be back in the third round of the Currie Cup at the earliest.”
Griquas’s Currie Cup campaign kicks off against the Cheetahs on Saturday 23 June.
By Jon Cardinelli

18 Comments
7 Jun 2006, 15:54 pm
these okes can beat the bulls in kimberley
7 Jun 2006, 15:55 pm
Jon, we could not care less…
7 Jun 2006, 15:57 pm
Then don’t read it Swapo.
Fact is this website covers Currie Cup rugby and Griquas happen to be in the tournament.
7 Jun 2006, 15:58 pm
simon are de jongh borchardt related to you?
7 Jun 2006, 15:58 pm
Sorry but that is real dutchmen mentality. Why go to Argentina and play against those monsters who play the man and not the ball before the cc? Makes zero sense to me you are only going to pick up injuries. Heloooo!!!
7 Jun 2006, 16:08 pm
Cape Shark
They just needed to get a feel of what is going to be in store for them when they play the Blue Bulls later in the year.
7 Jun 2006, 16:10 pm
Fact is this website gives opportunity for comments – that was mine.
7 Jun 2006, 16:15 pm
23rd of June is a Friday!
7 Jun 2006, 16:27 pm
not a fan of markgraft as a person, but he did drill these guys well in a rugby sense, should carry on and will be a good outfit. Ackerman’s been huge for them in previous seasons.
7 Jun 2006, 16:36 pm
Yes Bliksem, they are very much related, for like, and spend muches time to share info. The oke that works for the newspaper gets all his stuff from his nephew, Simon.
7 Jun 2006, 16:44 pm
No Bliksem, I believe they are not related and don’t know each other all too well. They only share the same surname.
7 Jun 2006, 16:50 pm
FoxRiver, you are kinda funny in the head!
7 Jun 2006, 16:53 pm
jon did ronne cook really say :“but we are just realistically looking to make the semi-finals this year. But that doesn’t mean we won’t be competitive.†he must be a bit dumb
7 Jun 2006, 17:00 pm
Bliksem lay off the Monarchs.
Jy’s net jaloers.
7 Jun 2006, 17:52 pm
Cooke, Go to Bloem you doos.
8 Jun 2006, 09:30 am
YoMama
Foul mouth. Did you know that Kimberley is where Ronnie was born and raised? At least he knows that you do not need to go to “bigger” unions to get chosen for bok duty. Think, if you can, about all the current boks who learned their trade on the hard, dry grounds of Kimberley!
8 Jun 2006, 17:54 pm
Ginamar,
I know that he could still get noticed and I for one hate players leaving their home team, I support the Cheetahs, remember.
The problem, is though, that Ronnie will get to do very little apart from learn how to tackle this season.
The Griquas will be relegated and I can assure you that this time next year, Ronnie will not be with the diamond diggers.
I apologize for coming across as foul mouthed, I simply meant it like: dork.
9 Jun 2006, 01:54 am
YoMama
I also support Cheetahs, but why be so damn bitter and negative about Griquas’ chances for this years CC? I hope they make you eat your words – give them a sporting chance man. Seems that all the negative comment about Cheetah rugby by everyone else did not teach you to be more generous and open minded…