Smooth ride for Smittie

Saturday’s comprehensive victory against Scotland was a case of a job well done for Springbok captain John Smit.

“I thought the game went smoothly considering it was our first of the season,” said Smit. “Our communication was good and I’m very proud of the guys. I would have taken a one-point win today, so to win 36-16 was a great effort. However, there are still aspects of our game we can work on. While our defence was good, we were disappointed to concede that try at the end.”

Man of the match Schalk Burger said everything had come together after a slow start.

“It was pretty tough out there and there were some nerves early on,” he said. “But once we settled down it went well. It’s good to start the season with a win and to score four tries in the process. But next week is going to be tough. The Scots won’t lie down and we’ll have to lift our game.”

The Springboks two debutants, Wynand Olivier and Johann Muller, admitted their second half appearances had fulfilled a life-long dream.

“It happened so quickly, so I didn’t get much of a chance to think about it,” said the Bulls centre, who replaced the injured Jean de Villiers. “It’s something you dream of as a child and it’s an unbelievable feeling.”

Said Muller: “I didn’t realise how big a moment it would be. One of the advantages of having such a big Bok squad is that it allows players like me to learn from guys like Bakkies and Victor. It’s been great.”

Scotland captain Jason White said his team had been battered up front by the dominant Bok pack.

“They had too much power,” he said. “We didn’t get good first phase ball and we’ll have to work on our technique before next Saturday.”

Said fullback Chris Paterson: “We gave the Boks too much respect in the first half. We have a lot to work on before the next Test.”

49 Comments

• 1.Skim: Reply to this comment

No1 winna winna

• 2.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Let me just say – well done to the boks…

• 3.Skim: Reply to this comment

Breyton Paulse is a legend!

• 4.BULLET: Reply to this comment

I knew they would win by 20. Said it in a previous thread that we will have too much fire power for them.

Such a positive game in many aspects – finishing was not great, but players finding space was awesome. Good performances by FDP, SB, JS, JDV, JVDW and solid work by the back three.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

• 5.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Was really great to see some of that interplay…
    Thought Monty was solid.
    Burger was everywhere.
    Big Joe did well.
    Scrums were solid.
    Backline actually began to look dangerous.

And I hope all those wop-heads who slammed Paulse will speak up on this site and admit they were a bit quick to judge him before they saw him play.

What he’s lost in speed, he brings in experience.
    The whole backline, for lack of a better word, looked calm…
    More composed.

Now, that could well be done to plenty of factors, butone of them must be the ‘calmness’ and lack of huge nerves that an experienced pro like Paulse brings to the party.

Its simply a case of having someone on the wing, who does a fair bit of defensive covering too, that knows what’s the right thing to do, at the right time…
    You cannot just throw that away.

I’m concerned about Jdv though.
    That collision was sickening, and I think he should’ve come off then already.
    Hope it is ‘only’ a rib – and not the sternum or something bigger…

Wynand actually looked the part – and provided he does’nt let the moment get too big, were he to start next Saturday – I wouldn’t bee to phased about him playing.

Strange comment this – but if Olivier does play, it might actually provide more chances to Fourie, who I think still remains, potentially, our most deadly attacking weapon – but who just seems to get the ball in space, too seldom.

As for Snyman – seemed to link well a couple of times, but appears to be a bit nervous in backing himself, in case he makes too many mistakes and gets dropped. Is clearly not yet that certain about the long-term safety of his position.

So, what about next week?
    Are we going to ring in the changes, now that we know our 1st XV is good enough to do the damage?

• 6.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Greenbok,I’m sticking to my views on Paulse.

He had a solid game (as usual) and does nothing wrong (as usual). He adds experience but at the end of the day thats not what I expect from a winger playing for the 2nd best team on the planet.

I don’t except that the ‘best’ 14 in the country is merly ‘solid’ and ‘never let us down’. Why can’t we have a wing who is dynamic and has the ability to swing matches.

At the end of the day we all gonna have to agree to disagree though. Paulse suits a boring (yet often effective) gameplan. I prefer a more attacking gameplan that I know the Boks are capable of.

• 7.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Having said that I wouldn’t have Snyman there either.

• 8.reggy: Reply to this comment

welldone to the sringboks,was a bit disapointed with the way the scrum coped after JS and OS left the field.Hope 2 c more backline moves next weekend.

• 9.reggy: Reply to this comment

which wing in SA has the ability 2 swing the game around?stop been ignorant and give credit were its due!

• 10.greenbok: Reply to this comment

Shark,

Ja. I take your point, and it would be foolish to disagree.
    I guess it comes down to the gameplan at the end of the day.
    I think the Paulse of old had the ability to change the games, a couple of the tries he set up in the 2004 3N’s come to mind, but that was then, and I don’t know whether he would be able to pull them off so regularly now.

When I read what you were saying about a wing who can change a game in an instant, I immediately thought of Russel.
    However, my (rather conservative) side (I guess) still gets a bit nervous about having a player on the field who doesn’t even know what he’s going to do with each ball – nevermind his fellow players…

I guess that if Haban were to come back, you’d at least have that potential spark on one side. Why not have it on both? I cannot give you a good enough reason though. I love nothing more than backs with ball in hand, attacking attacking attacking.

Yet, the Mr Hyde comes out in me, when I reason that in spite of my desire to see rugby (al la Russel, Ndungane’s etc), I would still opt for the clam head of Paulse.

I cannot explain why.
    That irritates me – immensely.
    So I gues I’m still with you – we’ll agree to disagree ;)

• 11.greenbok: Reply to this comment

‘Clam’ head?
    Affro?
    I meant calm.
    A calm affro head.
    A calm, clam, affro head.

• 12.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Greenbok,fair enough. Good to see someone on this site with a decent argument for a change.

• 13.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Oh yeah,with Habana there I don’t mind Paulse being in the team as much. If Percy still had his jetshoes I prob would start with Paulse.

• 14.greenbok: Reply to this comment

London,

What would you do with the team next week?
    Rotate and rest?
    Stick with the same and get rid of the rust?

• 15.londonshark: Reply to this comment

GreenBok.

Habana should be fit so I would chuck out Syman. Our pack was brilliant but our bench was weak.

With our current squad I guess I would leave Paulse in but I really worry about him overseas (against the bigger teams). I would prob play Snyman or Gaffie (not my first choices) in Aus and NZL.

• 16.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Our loose forwards were awesome. Its our best combo by a mile.

• 17.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

LS: Paulse has proven himself overseas in the Bok team before. He has turned games on their heads before. Whether he still has that ability remains to be seen but until there is evidence to the contrary, the null hypothesis must be that he does. So stop being so damn negative and enjoy a damn fine player who LOVES to attack.

• 18.Jonthebomb: Reply to this comment

I have always been a fan of Smit’s play, but today he looked rusty. His line outs were not as good as usual and he made a number of handling errors.

• 19.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Keo
    Forget about the Boks
    The BIG game of the day was at Green Point
    In front of a crowd of close to 10 000 Collegians beat SK Walmers 17-16. The winning try was scored right on time.

• 20.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Paulse has proven himself everywhere including today, all it proves is that Londonshark is an idiot and can’t change his ridiculous views from last week.
    Now he wants to bring in Fluffy, chuck out Snyman, and do other irreparable damage to a team starting to settle down. Obviously he has no grasp on the game of rugby and should rather be watching the soccer like all other good poms.

• 21.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Jonthebomb, I agree with you on Smit’s play, but when he left the field things seemed to fall appart. It shows what jake says about how important the captain is.

• 22.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

So capeflatsboy, was Dawn there with you?

• 23.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Bluecap, she turned me down

• 24.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

Snyman is a bloody tractor…

• 25.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

I am on top of the world. That victory was really sweet. We could not lose against the enemy. In the end we were triumphant. What a game. What a crowd. When last did a Super League game have a crowd like this.
    Keo the real rugby still happens at grassroots level. SK Walmers have lost their soul. They are no longer a community club. They even have Samoans playing for them. And the still lost.
    Up The Coll

• 26.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

capeflats, thats not good man, it’s so hard to find good women these days.

• 27.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Bru
    My Collegians more then made up for it. I think I can go through life without everything else if my Collegians makes me happy like the did today.
    Awesome Bru Absolutely Awesome

• 28.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

I can see you reaally enjoyed that one, go for it.Lol

• 29.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Collegians RFC is the only thing that’s important. Everything else are distractions. Stewart jou doring.
    My deepest sympathies to the Oasis group of companies. I thought you only backed winners.

• 30.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

Ou Blou pet, jy wil nie vannaand in die Plein wees nie. Ons gaan makietie hou.

• 31.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

The atmosphere out at Green Point Track, although tense throughout the game, was really special. Today I felt proud to be a Cape Flats boytjie.

• 32.wpforever: Reply to this comment

im from the cape flats too

• 33.capeflatsboy: Reply to this comment

wpforever I love you my man I just love you. Hope you not from Bo-Kaap

• 34.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Bluecap,I know,why would I want Habana back??? You are an idiot bud. He’s the only guy who offers anything on attack.

Mickybrass,go find me a try of Paulses (or a period of play) where he’s set the world alight on attack in the last 2years, then run your mouth off you moron. Take your ‘I want to give Jake White up the bum’ blinkers and start thinking for yourself.

• 35.wpforever: Reply to this comment

lansdowne he he,

• 36.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Try the Tr Nations of two years ago.

Try handle someone with a view opposing yours *shrugs*

Paulse is a bloody awesome wing and I would *much* rather have a Bok side with him in it than without. The extra confidence he brings to Monty to counter-attack, knowing that Paulse will provide support, is invaluable. The organisation he brings to the backline is invaluable. His ability to score tries and to manufacture play, and his workrate, is incredible. Paulse is already down in the Bok history books as one of the greatest wings post-isolation.

Paulse, Habana and Monty are a deadly back trio. They will deservedly be the WC back trio.

• 37.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

Bluecap, well stated *applauds* There are certain brain-challenged, viagra-wannabees who drag the site down.

• 38.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

London, Habana is great, but only when you put him into space, Paulse has a greater ability to create his own space, as he showed on numerous occasions, including tonight. Habana’s greatest flaw is his grubber kick which used to work but not anymore. He also tends to not go looking for work.

• 39.londonshark: Reply to this comment

MICKYBRASS: The 3N of 2 years ago????????

Where’s the example of Paulse’s attacking prowess?? And don’t go back to that up and under where Matfield scored,that was a ******* lucky bounce,not Breyties attacking skills.

I’m waiting.

• 40.christian: Reply to this comment

Capeflatboy there were more than 10,000 empty seates in the stadium.Don’t blow this out of proportion. Scotland is average & that’s why te lack of interest. Anyone that rates Breyten as international knows F. ALL about rugby,and that include Brent Russell,they have not got physigue to compete with guys like Sailer, & the other NZ backs’ who are six foot plus & way 100kg. We have no chance.

• 41.pompies: Reply to this comment

Stick to club rugger cause you are turning into a nother Tackler bra.

• 42.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Christian
    So pick Frikkie Welsh instead with Snyman and then we can …rrgghhh ch-o-ke -
    Pick Sailor coz he’s potent and lose him to drug bust cos while he’s powerful and ‘can compete’ he doesnt have half the brain Paulse does.
    Havnet guys like Matt giteau ,Christoffe Dominici ,Bryton in his prime proven something to you yet?
    I would rather see some skiliiful rugby played than a no brain bruiser powering over the line. Hey Habana’s not too big either ,not is Januarie ,but he can tackle.
    If you didnt notice what Paulse did in the game then you are the clueless one.
    Thats not to sy that JP,Ndungane’s etc arent the future and Breyton is past his prime ,but given who we have in the squad and who is injured and the fact that he was one of the stars ….well why am I bothering ,I fear this falls on deaf ears.
    Just tell me what all powerful Snyman did on the weekend. Compete? I think not.

• 43.ricane: Reply to this comment

christian; can you name the kiwi backs that are over 100k and 6 foot plus tall.
    rico Gear is smaller than most SA backs
    Joe Roco is tall but weighs nothing
    Nonu is heavy but a shorty
    Dan C may seem a giant among men cos he can strip the ball off 110k SA forwards but he’s not actually very big.
    And Sailor is definitely NOT a kiwi

• 44.ricane: Reply to this comment

Oh and by the way, you won’t be need to worry about competing with sailor at rugby for a very long time!!

• 45.adoons: Reply to this comment

Well done Smittie I see Keo.co.za is praising you b’cos you cant catch a fucken rugby ball.

• 46.castro: Reply to this comment

Adoons=doos

• 47.adoons: Reply to this comment

castro,

smittie was poor yesterday.He knocked 3 times and that is bad!!!

• 48.ddrek: Reply to this comment

I kike JS and he is a decent Capt and sometimes has outstanding games ,but between him and Snyman they were resposnsible for 50% of handling errors.
    I also find that most backline runs dont find JdV and Fourie combining coz John Smit is there ‘to take it up’. I prefered Matfield in that roll cos he would make 10 meters while JS makes 2 meters every time and the backline never gets a clean run.
    JdV should have the power to tell Smit to get the fluck out the way. He is vice Cappie is he not.
    I actually think Jacques Fourie would not mix his words more than JdV ,if given the power.

• 49.pompies: Reply to this comment

Castro you from Cuba?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.