Jean misses PE Test
11 Jun 2006
Springbok playmaker Jean de Villiers has been ruled out of the second Test against Scotland with a rib injury.
The inside centre left the field in the second half of the Boks’ 36-16 win in Durban after taking a heavy knock, and will undergo tests to determine the seriousness of the injury. Wynand Olivier is now in line to start his first Test, after making his debut as a replacement for De Villiers.
“Jean will not be available for next week,” said coach Jake White at the post-match press conference. “We will have to wait until he has undergone a scan to see what happens after that, for the game against France and then into the Tri-Nations. It was definitely a rib injury.”
White fired a warning at the Scots when he said his side had plenty of room for improvement.
“We were a bit critical of ourselves afterwards. We know we can play a whole lot better. Our finishing was not up to scratch and we made mistakes. Otherwise it was a good win. We had a lot of pressure on us this week, and we came through well. There have been a lot of positive things in the last two weeks, and I must compliment the players for the way they have handled the pressure.”
When questioned on the performance of Andre Snyman, who dropped three passes in the first half, White said that he didn’t want to single out individual performances. “We will have a look at the video and then make our selections for the next Test based on what comes out of that,” he added.
“The fact we won like we did today could make it possible to try some new things next week. For a start Bakkies Botha, Albert van den Berg, Bryan Habana, CJ van der Linde and Jacques Cronje will all be rejoining the team so we have various things we can try and possibilities we can explore.”
White also praised the massive effort of the forward pack that destroyed their Scottish counterparts.
“Our forwards must be complimented for the way they performed. Gert Smal and Balie Swart have worked very hard on getting it right, and it is paying dividends. We sapped the energy of the Scotland forwards and were very impressive on the drive.”

37 Comments
10 Jun 2006, 20:11 pm
jean did well to continue after first heavy tackle,that Scottish lad also bounced right off
10 Jun 2006, 20:30 pm
Feel sorry for JDV he had a great game up until his injury. You have got to love a player who still gets the pass off no matter what happens to him!
Was pleased with Wynand’s play as well.
10 Jun 2006, 20:38 pm
Jean will be missed, but at least Wynand gets his chance !!!
My Bok team to play:
1)OS DU RANDT
2)JOHN SMIT (c)
3)EDDIE ANDREWS
4)DANIE ROSSOUW
5)VICTOR MATFIELD
6)SCHALK BURGER (GREAT GAME)
7)JUAN SMITH
8)JOE VAN NIEKERK
9)FOURIE DU PREEZ (GREAT GAME)
10)JACO VD WESTHUYZEN
11)BRYAN HABANA
12)WYNAND OLIVIER
13)JACQUE FOURIE
14)BREYTON PAULSE
15)PERCY MONTGOMERY
16)HANYANI SHIMANGE
17)CJ VD LINDE
18)BAKKIES BOTHA
19)PEDRIE WANNENBURG
20)RUAN PIENAAR
21)GAFFIE DU TOIT
22)ANDRE SNYMAN
What you guys think???
10 Jun 2006, 21:15 pm
B_B…
I would like more changes made nfor the next test.
I JW doesn’t rotate and rest now, he might not get another chance too with our schedule looking the way it does.
Front row can stay, but I would try and bring OS off as quickly as possible. Matfield MUST get rested. He is too valuable. Bakkies is a machine, but we have similar players to his style in Rossouw and Muller et al. We have yet to find a suitable, similar-playing back-up to Matfield, and until we do – he must be dressed in cotton wool. Matfield is king at stealing opposition ball. With respect, against Scotland, we won’t need to do this, as we can do enough damage with our own ball. Even without Matfield, we have enough lineout options, so why risk him on Saturday? It would be madness!
As for the loose forwards, would be controversial – especially based on how he played today, but I would take Schalk off. He ALWAYS gives 110%, and somewhere, that is going to start catching up with him. He must be given a break when we can afford to. Even, by some miracle, if the Scots pull off an upset – I reckon it will be worth it.
JW can sit back and tell the world that his best are good enough to beat them, as was shown today. But in NATIONAL interests, he must rest our stalwarts, and Vic and SB are prime examples… Joe could possibly move to flank, with Wannenburg onto 8th – and then sub Joe or Juan as the game progresses. Start with Pienaar, with experience in Januarie on the bench if things go pear.
Keep Jaco on, he needs the game time at 10 [thanks Bulls], Olivier and Fourie, and our back three with Russel? and Du Toit subbing?
Then I’d be happy. Resting key players, giving others a chance to get game time, and bringing in some new blood…
How do y’all like dem apples?
10 Jun 2006, 22:36 pm
yep green bok
my sentiments pretty much. i would suggest that vic has a protege in skeate, but that opportunity has passed jake for now.
agree about rotation policy. lets put on a re arranged B side again, and see how they go. P3 needs to start, as do russell, pienaar, jaco(10). percy needs a break somehow? leave the big guns on the bench for now.
looking at how Ab’s manage players, they needed nonu, mauger and jack to bolster their B side. and those okes will get plenty tests this season.
if we can rotate with right balance, we will be far better off come WC.
10 Jun 2006, 22:54 pm
Oh ****, Cronje’s back next week.
10 Jun 2006, 23:00 pm
cronje is a dinosaur,not sure what Jake sees in him
10 Jun 2006, 23:29 pm
Blou_Bok leave out Gaffie!
11 Jun 2006, 00:03 am
cronje was good onces but now he is ****!!!! doesnt even get far across the advantage line
11 Jun 2006, 01:24 am
Glad to see Jake recognises the finishing was poor. Not entire game but our base play was good and we could have had a few more tries in 1st half with habana on the wing instead of the unimpressive Snyman.
He doesnt look any better than I remember.
Cant fathom why Joel Stransky was going on about a ‘really poloished’ performance???
It was solid ,some great work but when the finishing is likethat and there are 17 handling errors with about 12??? missed tackles in 2nd half then I can’t see why they need to rave about it being poilished ,when it was NOT.
I am pretty happy and we played better than I expected though.But polished,clinical?? I think not.
11 Jun 2006, 01:28 am
How do Stransky and Whisky Bladen miss that Jean did his injury in THAT tackle. He was exceptionally quiet after that and it was obvius that he was hurt prior to his offload effort. It took them forever to work it out.
Jean hardly took any contact till that break and offload. he was already injured and did well,but should have gone off earlier. I was sensing it all along and when he stayed down it was just obvious why.
I do wonder if we would have had Ettienne Botha on by now ,given that jake has chosen Olivier. Pity.
Its a good game for WO to get experience in pre France. i doubt JdV will be ready by France.
Will Barry be back on bench if so? Or talisman Julies?
11 Jun 2006, 01:51 am
ddrek
will you let go of ettienne botha already. how long will you go on with that? if he was still alive, he still wouldn’t have been in the team. deal with that and move on.
11 Jun 2006, 02:12 am
Da way da Scots played they won’t need him.
11 Jun 2006, 03:44 am
Hurray !!
Best news of the year so far, that is JdV injury…just a pity one show pony is going to replace another one…Meyer Bosman should have been the actual replacement…long tears ahead for SA supporters once the boks hit the Ozzies, Kiwis and *****, their backline is going to slip through like knives through butter against Jw’s blue eyed pets…and Gaffie has got to come back for Snyman…
11 Jun 2006, 04:36 am
folanke = doos
11 Jun 2006, 04:46 am
GCC
I havent mentioned EB in along time.
Seems his passing effected you more than me?
Perhaps you can answer this without frothing at the mouth ?
What has WO done that EB hasn’t ?
I recall countless game opening breaks ,half a field or more by EB at S12 and CC level….which is what WO has also omnly played till now. His defense like WO’s had been a mixed bag. But the bok staff could and will work on it. (That is fixable)
Sorry ,but when Hugh Bladen said ‘most deserved cap’ when he ran on ,I wondered about a few others ….and being a 12 EB came to mind.
His brilliance on attack stiocks in my mind. Emotionally i have ‘moved on’ ,but I think its sad Jake as you say ,would probably not have (never) picked him.
WO is less proven than EB was Jake plans to develop him into a world class 12…nothing wrong with that. i just beleive EB could have been given the same chance as understudy to JDV (or Barry) at the time. Only fair.Its guess work on WO that he’ll succeed as it might have been w EB but hell that guy could atleast make your R300 ticket worth paying for in excitement value.
And im from CT and back the Stormpies ! (well sometimes) I could never live up north !
11 Jun 2006, 04:46 am
But,never say never.
I just like certain players,from all over the country….and world for that matter.
11 Jun 2006, 07:40 am
Folanke, sounds as though u know as much about rugby as my senile grandmother. How can u say that it is good news about JDV, he was one of the best performers on Sat, did u not see the pass he got away for Snyman’s try. And saying that Gaffie should replace Snyman, ok Snyman had a poor game, but Gaffie should’nt b anywhere near the Bok squad, and if they are gonna replace Snyman with any1 it shoulde b either Habana or Russell…
11 Jun 2006, 08:10 am
Never mind EB, WO should not be anywhere near the squad.
Rossouw had a once off!
Lose him!
BH in for Snyman.
JdV had a great game.
Fourie was solid but so slooow in clearing. Ricky looking a bit better than last week or better stiil play Pienaar now.
If Pretorius was fit I would play him any day instead of Jaco.
IMHO
11 Jun 2006, 08:24 am
Folanke, most people rate them on the way they play the rugby and not how they look. If you decide to rate them on the looks, than I suppose that is your choice. May I suggest to do your next post on ftv.com.
Now to say you are glad that someone is injured, even if he is the oposition may I suggest: iamshitpleasehelpme.com
11 Jun 2006, 08:30 am
Folanke
Gaffie?
Wishes he was a showpony!
At least the showponys PLAYED.
11 Jun 2006, 10:07 am
We’re on a lekker For-planke druk session here….but he/she asked for it.
11 Jun 2006, 10:14 am
By BRINGIN CJ back into the mix, and Habana, ect e have some even stronger players comming back. Loads to be posotive about.
11 Jun 2006, 10:25 am
Boks played bloody well on Saturday, well done boys. Gafffie should not be in the team, he is rubbish. Rather have Joubert in the team, mind you with Habana back we are going to murder the scots next weekend. Even William Wallace would make no difference to their team, they are shite. Bring on the french…
11 Jun 2006, 10:56 am
25!!!!!!! Breyton Paulse is a legend!
11 Jun 2006, 11:02 am
Folanke Jdv is one of Sa’s best players you bully.
11 Jun 2006, 11:40 am
He looked very uncomfortable and I would be surprised if he is back for the first game of the TN.
11 Jun 2006, 15:56 pm
Good chance for Olivier. He is becoming a very destructive defender and hard and straight running attacker who can pass either side.
He’s got the talent, no doubt about it, can he make the step up?
11 Jun 2006, 16:13 pm
frolanke,Gaffie should have done the same as Tiaan Snyman,retire hell each time i see Gaffie i think of our Boks 27-0 pasting in NZ,and Gaffie muttering on about how he ” never really knew the running and defensive lines of flyhalf” he can kick well though and far,for that i give him credit,otherwise Gaffie is pretty average
11 Jun 2006, 17:49 pm
was at th game and man did it rock afterwards.. durban and kingspark sure have the best afterparties and braais…
back to ruggas:
move andre to centre… wynand on bench is good cover… steady eddie managed to suffer in a winning pack, and then they kept him on he he, clever we are.. schalk was beyond human again, paulse was iffish but with a moment of brilliance..
and for heavens sake take that ****** flyhalf jaco and donate him back to japan, no pay them to take him back, what a useless game he had…
11 Jun 2006, 21:08 pm
Back from an incredible home braai – not the sort of pretenious **** that the Pommies do, in pretend, jealous imitation. A lovely sirloin steak on the braai with my better half:-)
My view is that I hope White rests Os, plays Smit for only half the match and gives CJ some game time (but doesn’t start with him). I think Oliver will be a straight replacement for JDV.
Paulse has not played that much, Snyman either. But Monty… It is really him that I am worried about. He has played a tremendous amount of rugby. Maybe White should think of playing him for half the match and Gaffie for the other half.
11 Jun 2006, 22:26 pm
Hey Jean took the knock and Sean Lamont fell backwards, BUT SEAN LAMONT IS GOING TO PLAY IN THE NEXT TEST ISN’T HE?!?. If he ran into Jeaques Fourie,Lamont would have been the one mising the next test.
This is the team I would pick to face the Scots next:
15.Percy Montgomery
14.Bryton Poulse
13.Andre Snyman
12.Jeaques Fourie
11.Bryan Habana
10.Gaffie Du Toit
9.Fourie Du Preez
8.Joe v/Niekerk
7.Juan Smith
6.Schalk Burger
5.Victor Matfield
4.Dabie Rossouw
3.Eddie Andrews
2.John Smit (C)
1.Os Du Randt
16.Hinjanie Shimange
17.Jannie Du Plesis
18.Johan Muller
19.Pedrie Wannenburg
20.Rickie January
21.Jacku v/d Westhuizen
22.Wynand Olevier
Wynand would only go on if somone died on the field and all the subs were already on the field.
11 Jun 2006, 22:49 pm
And that is the reason why none of us are Springbok selectors… SAs love to infight FAR too much.
12 Jun 2006, 03:40 am
But that’s what makes da nation sooo strong. He he he.
12 Jun 2006, 05:11 am
Veii,
I agree with you, give Gaffie a chance at flyhalf, if he is not responsible for goalkicking he will do well. Look at Percy’s try on Saterday, it was Gaffie that slotted in at flyhalf and threw a great pass to make it happen.
Gaffie was and still is a great talent, its a pity he was handeled very poorly early on in his career, but many of you will remember many games that he won man alone against top opposition. He has a great boot and running skills far superior to JvdW. I think JW gets the best out him, and his best is pretty special. The negative about him is with his goalkicking, he has lost it in many important games, so, he is not a great goalkicker, but thats why Percy is there. On that note Percy is a great kicker now, but you will remember how he and Honniball missed one sitter after another against the British Lions and that costed Carel the Springbok coaching job, SA scored nine tries to three in that series but lost because those guys missed everything.
12 Jun 2006, 08:13 am
Why not rest the show pony matfield and play Rousouw and Bakkies together?
JDV is class and will be missed
12 Jun 2006, 09:27 am
Hasn’t White indicated before that he’d like to give Habana a go in the midfield. Not a bad time to to try it. Olivier may have to wait.