Boks beware Bravehearts

Another “Battle of the Boet” looms as Scotland vow to take the fight to the Boks in the second Test on Saturday.

After succumbing relatively meekly in losing 36-16 in Durban on Saturday, Scotland coach Frank Hadden has called on his charges to be more aggressive.

Hadden blames timid tackling as one of the reasons the Boks were allowed to dominate the first Test. “We allowed the Springboks to pass the ball in contact situations. We should have tackled more aggressively,” Hadden said after watching his team concede four tries, with only a late consolation giving the score-line a certain amount of respectability.

However, Hadden had fighting words as his team attempts to square the series with an historic first-ever win over the Boks on home soil on Saturday: “Expect more aggressive play in the second Test.”

“We have made notes and will use them this week. It (the Durban Test) was a good learning curve for us,” Hadden was quoted in Die Volksblad.

Scottish captain, Jason White agreed. “When the Springboks play in South Africa, it is a major factor,” White said. “The news media also gave them a hard time before the Durban Test. And we were not as aggressive as we had been against France and England.”

14 Comments

• 1.wls: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke, dont forget, the Boks are also making notes. And with some more first team players comming back into it, we really should close the door out on this series.

• 2.pale_toe: Reply to this comment

i hear julies is going to play insdie center this weekend. could be interesting…
    when is habana due?

• 3.rex: Reply to this comment

There should never be room for complacency and arrogance. The Boks should step up the pace even more. These tests are what they need to prepare for the harder ones to come. This is the time to fine tune their moves and gel as a team.

• 4.Pete77: Reply to this comment

I really hope Olivier gets the nod for inside centre ahead of Julies. But knowing White he will probably play Julies from the start & bring Olivier on off the bench. This wkend should b a perfect oppurtunity to give Pienaar & Muller starting debuts, and maybe bring Russell back into the match 22.
    I expect the Scots to be much better than last wkend, they like all the home nations tend to bouce back, espcially when written off.

• 5.bunce: Reply to this comment

The scots talked it up last week aswell, boks to thrash them by an even bigger score this weekend.

PLEASE NO WAYNE JULIES!! Olivier is a more than able replacement.

We just need some habana pace out wide

• 6.milena: Reply to this comment

Happy birthday Bryan!
    GWS

luv ya

• 7.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

I would love to see Wynand Olivier as inside centre with Habana as outside centre. A second Bok midfield combo capable of ripping massive hoes in any line. Can you imagine subbing these two on with 30 minutes to go? Jeez the defenders would suffer…

• 8.cab: Reply to this comment

hope agressive play does not transcend into dirty play, hadden strikes me as a poor loser.

• 9.cab: Reply to this comment

the scots were outplayed from start to finish, put your hand up.

• 10.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

BAKKIES

• 11.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Ja, Ja, it was “beware of the braveheart” last week as well.

• 12.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

he has a false sense of achievement after beating england and france

• 13.naaada: Reply to this comment

Keep the focus Bokke – strong & hard forward play with fast dynamic action from the backs will always keep the oposition in a state of fear of us. The game on saturday was a very good starting point for the year.

• 14.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Dan Parks offers no go forward for the Scots backs and is lunch for Burger. Boks by a massive 25+ victory. Olivier for me at 12.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.