Watson: Burger’s try good

Despite what Scottish coach Frank Hadden says, Schalk Burger’s TMO try at the weekend was a good decision.

That is the view of the only referee to officiate in two World Cup finals – South Africa’s Andre Watson. The Scots lamented the decision which they say came at a crucial time in the game.

With the score locked at 3-3, it proved decisive in giving the home team a lead they would never relinquish.

It was a deserved score for the tearaway flanker, playing in his 26th Test. It was just the third try of his Bok career. He was one of the standout performers on a day that several Boks came good with solid performances.

“The term ‘second movement’ often brings about more confusion than clarity,” Watson told Beeld’s Morris Gilbert. “Schalk’s try was legal, because he used only his arms to stretch and place the ball on the line. The law makes provision to do that.”

“Had Schalk used any other part of his body to score the try while he was being held in the tackle, it would have been a penalty to Scotland,” explained Watson.

Hadden though saw it differently saying the time it took Burger to place the ball should have been penalised, instead of rewarded. He also suggested it was significant to the outcome of the match.

But in reality it would probably have made little difference as Jake White’s charges gave the Scots a lesson. The 20-point margin was a more than fair reflection of the dominance of White’s team. A similar result can be expected in Port Elizabeth next Saturday.