In Jake’s defence …

Jake White has told Keo.co.za he was misrepresented after Monday’s press conference. The Bok coach says he never slammed the media.

Speaking to Keo.co.za on Tuesday morning White said all he did was answer a question about whether there was an overreaction to the Bok win against the World XV, in terms of condemnation and whether there was no an overreaction in euphoria on the basis of beating a Scotland side that was poor on the day.

“I said I felt there had been an overreaction on both counts. I said that the media influenced the public’s reactions and that more perspective was needed in assessing matches. I never denied we played badly against the World XV. I never denied it was a poor match, but I did say at the time that these things happen.

“I have also not said we are world beaters after beating Scotland. I said we played well but that there were areas that had to be better if we were to be successful against stronger teams.

“For goodness sake, the media voted me their media friendly personality a month ago and now I am accused of going on the attack against them. Had I not answered the question, it would probably have been recorded as me being ignorant.

“All I said was that there needed to be greater perspective when analysing the Bok performance. It is something I said in Durban after the Bok win and something I said in Durban before the win.

“I am annoyed at the manner in which the reporter presented the story. It was a misrepresentation of what went on. And I want to clarify that.”

White said he would be addressing the media about the issue prior to the team announcement on Wednesday.

White, in an interview with the Cape Times’s Stephen Nell also spoke openly about his thoughts on Cobus Visagie and the Ndungane twins.

On Visagie, White said:”Cobus was penalised a lot for scrumming illegally against us. We have a number of tighthead props in CJ van der Linde, Lawrence Sephaka, BJ Botha and Eddie Andrews. It’s interesting that nobody raved about how impressive Eddie was against Scotland.I have always said that the guy coming in has to be able to add more value than the incumbent.”

On the Ndungane twins, White said: “I had enough outside backs when I picked my squad. We agreed that they would be part of the SA Breweries high performance squad. They are both in systems where we know we can monitor them.

“There are 30 (black) players in the squad and consultants look at the individual ]aspects of each player. I get a report every month on what the players are up to. No-one complained when Frikkie Welsh was picked ahead of Akona Ndungane for the Bulls. Both Akona and Odwa lack a bit of pace. I am not just talking about holding your own at wing. I am talking about sheer pace.”

On criticism of transformation, White said: “It’s not a problem for me at all. I have picked black players in every position except flyhalf. It’s an issue that people above and below me will have to address. No-one can point fingers at the national set-up. We had five black players involved against Scotland and at one stage an all-black front row. Every guy with us is here on his merits.”

281 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Does it matter cozz it is mine….

• 252.big g: Reply to this comment

hmmmm ope she’s ‘only’ 5’11 but beyond human… the guys alway fight over her, little known to them… love ambidextrious people…

• 253.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Ek kan Koning van Tortelduif,gebreekte duim en sesamesaad op n hamburgerbun goed doen maar eers na elf op n naweek aand voor n oorheersende vroulike gehoor.

• 254.bliksem: Reply to this comment

O ja windsurfer ook.

• 255.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Big G

Dunno the Skydiver trick. But you should flabbergasted at the Punjabi Snake Surprise. Not to mention the Indonesian Basket Trick. Both are cunning stunts. :oops:

• 256.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Two lady partners 6’1 and 5’11….

Whose picky….

• 257.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

big g,

They fight and you go home with the prize……

• 258.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

post 254…

tot jy af-bliksem ja….

• 259.big g: Reply to this comment

rude, well the skydiver trick needs 2 flying angels (we all know who that will be) and a ambidextrious ‘operator’ in the middle to make the freefall and eventually… well skydive…

• 260.bliksem: Reply to this comment

nee jy kan nie afmoer nie.ek kry gewoonlike dolle uit die gehoor om die windsurfer se seil te kom streel.

• 261.big g: Reply to this comment

hmmm the prize is normally shared, i get my fair bit of attention, not that i thrive on it tho, but since i kno a little by rugby, bein 6’1 and in my career, the guys normally go a bit hard…

• 262.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Big G

Eish !!! How i wish i was in Durbs….

• 263.bliksem: Reply to this comment

Rude surely you can round up two slappers sharp sharp there in London.

• 264.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Bliksem

Not in London. In Cape Town. Anderkant die druifgordyn.

• 265.big g: Reply to this comment

have you seen uk chick’s teeth.. hell no, there i cant go…

• 266.bliksem: Reply to this comment

well thats even easier and the chicks will be lekker.heaps of choice woolscooter going around with the lack of straight men.

• 267.bliksem: Reply to this comment

big g I reckon I would turn down a good couple of blowjobs from Pommie chicks once i see their fangs.

• 268.bliksem: Reply to this comment

time for my power nap and then to hit the road.cheers manne,geniet haar.

• 269.big g: Reply to this comment

im scared that if they bite etc me at an unconvenient place i might get that yellow teeth disease thingie… plus pommie girls are hurrendous… give me SA or S.Americans any day…

• 270.Jake_White: Reply to this comment

I ran 10.8 at u/16

on tarlton though,

doubt I wouldve ran under 12 on grass.

• 271.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Big G,

You know what us guys are like you have got to send us a diagram of that Sky diving trick? Even better a photo :wink:

• 272.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Big g (265)

Them girls, ask if they know/knew bliksem, if so, there lies your reason.

• 273.Rudebud: Reply to this comment

Jake_White

That’s a good time for u/16.

• 274.Murph: Reply to this comment

I think the crit of Snyman is premature and a bit unjust.

All anyone can say is that he is old…

lots of reason that is … not

Watch and learn

• 275.Murph: Reply to this comment

Even keo’s pace theory ( the only other offered ) is speculation.

And that he hasnt done much …or poor hands is bull

he has recieved no quality ball from the backs inside him (other than a try scoring resultant) nor the forwards who are confused about being 1st 2nd centres and fly halfs

all parading in the backline throwing the ball at peoples feet and running sideways driffting their wings into

the middle of nomansland en vokalspace !

• 276.tokolosi: Reply to this comment

jake white plays halo 2

• 277.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Jake jou drol, you are starting to sound like our venerable ministers when the are “misquoted” Face it dude, you have a big mouth.

• 278.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

It is expected to beat Scotland. When you can do that to the AB’s and Aus even england for that matter I’ll rate you.I dont know why everybody is so happy with what was achieved against the Scotts. It is false optimism

• 279.ddrek: Reply to this comment

The bokke played more completely albeit not finishing as well as they need to. They created a lot of opportunity’s ,it was not polished as Garth Wright was bragging ,but it was a big leap from the weekend before and showed a solid move in the right direction and mindset. Certain players also stood out ,so this is what we achieved and why we have some optimism. not a bad thing.
    Sure, it was by no means brilliant.

• 280.Viper6: Reply to this comment

All black front row on merit my ***!

Jake when are you going go pick Solly?

• 281.jaapieincoloradousa: Reply to this comment

The Springboks should take some notes from our under 21 squad well done boys good hard work, that’s what I call passion for the game. As for the big head’s on the bokke, thank God you were not playing the All Blacks or Aus, yes Aus this past week end.

Tuff luck Ireland, I have a new found respect for you guys.
    My two favorite teams, Bokkies U21 and the All Blacks.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.