Handbags continue to fly

The comprehensive beating of the English on Sunday was apparently not enough. The Aussies are now crying foul over the hapless Poms spoiling tactics.

“We were a little bit hamstrung in first phase because most of it was without George Smith who was held in every scrum and tripped going away from every lineout,” Australia defensive coach John Muggleton said on Wednesday.

The Australia management have also criticised the England players for underhanded tactics such as eye-gouging and hair-pulling.

“George Smith is one of those blokes that it’s quite obvious if you let him get to the breakdown, it’s very hard to beat him.So they obviously had the tactic of not letting him get to the breakdown and therefore securing their first-phase possession.”

Muggletons comments have set the tone for the second clash at the Telstra Dome on Saturday, where the Aussies will be looking to make a clean sweep of the English.

England have rang the changes for the second Test, bringing in centre Jamie Noon, flyhalf Andy Goode, hooker George Chuter, locks Ben Kay and Chris Jones and flanker Joe Worsely to the starting XV.

Tom Voyce and Alex Brown have been chopped from the England 22 altogether, while Ollie Barkley, Lee Mears, Louis Deacon and Magnus Lund will now warm the bench.

Chuter will win his first cap, whilst World Cup-winning centre Mike Catt will take the field for the 67th time.

There’s no doubt that Umaga and Masoe, as connoisseurs of a good catfight, will enjoy this game immensely.

Wallabies: Chris Latham, Mark Gerrard, Stirling Mortlock (capt), Mat Rogers, Lote Tuqiri, Stephen Larkham, Sam Cordingley; Rocky Elsom, George Smith, Mark Chisholm, Nathan Sharpe, Dan Vickerman, Rodney Blake, Adam Freier, Greg Holmes. Subs: Jeremy Paul, Al Baxter, Wycliff Palu, Phil Waugh, George Gregan, Clyde Rathbone, Cameron Shepherd.

England: Iain Balshaw, Tom Varndell, Jamie Noon, Mike Catt, Mathew Tait, Andy Goode, Peter Richards; Pat Sanderson (capt), Lewis Moody, Joe Worsley, Ben Kay, Chris Jones, Julian White, George Chuter, Graham Rowntree. Reserves: Lee Mears, Tim Payne, Louis Deacon, Magnus Lund, Nick Walshe, Olly Barkley, Stuart Abbott.