Give Eddie his due
15 Jun 2006
Eddie Andrews does not get the credit he deserves, according to Bok coach Jake White.
Speaking on Boots & All, White threw his support behind the Stormers tighthead prop, who had a solid, if not spectacular, game against Scotland last weekend.
“Eddie often gets criticised when the Bok pack does badly, but he rarely gets credit when they do well,” said the coach.
“Look at the progress he has made in a short space of time. He only started playing the game after school and he’s now an international tighthead prop – there aren’t many guys around the world who can call themselves that.
“Balie [Swart] has spent some time with Eddie over the past few weeks – as he has with every forward in the squad – and that work has paid dividents.”
Bok captain John Smit also talked up his front-row team-mate.
“I think he had a phenomenal Super 14 which showed how much he has progressed,” he said. “He hasn’t always had opportunities, but every time he’s played he has made an impact. Not enough is said about how much work he gets through because it’s not always seen. But you only have to look at him at training and the work he puts in to see why he is our tighthead.”

240 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
16 Jun 2006, 16:39 pm
I believe the WC is secondary to being the best team in the world on a consistent basis.
16 Jun 2006, 16:45 pm
So do I
16 Jun 2006, 16:49 pm
But I am afraid, we are the minority
16 Jun 2006, 16:52 pm
I am happy in the knowledge that we have won a WC and that we are consistently in the top 2 of the world. It will take a few years of consistently beating the All blacks before we can take their thrown away in the eyes of rygby supporters worldwide.
In the meantime no other country in the world has the status of SA and NZ in the eyes of the average supporter.
16 Jun 2006, 16:55 pm
But we’re still not the best Ollie.
I’m not happy being seocnd. Because when you’re happy being second-best you find yourself slipping to third.
We can win the next three world cups but if we carry on with the record we currently have we’ll still only be second-best.
16 Jun 2006, 16:55 pm
thrown = throne
16 Jun 2006, 17:40 pm
I’d rather have a decent away record against the top 4, than a WC…which we simply have NEVER had in the modern era!
16 Jun 2006, 17:43 pm
Thats the way I feel bryce.
Think JAke sees it slightly differently though.
16 Jun 2006, 17:45 pm
agree bryce; haven’t beaten the poms there since 97!
on Eddie; he got right shoulders in the scrums leading up to Schalk’s try, last test
why’s this site so quiet today apart from the handbags above?
16 Jun 2006, 17:51 pm
Public holiday in SA jb…
I’m guess you’re an expat?
16 Jun 2006, 17:53 pm
Eddie is an outstanding tighthead and has always delivered when wearing the Bok jersey. Anyone who says otherwise is either a racist or a moron, or quite possibly both.
16 Jun 2006, 17:55 pm
Geez pierre thats a big claim to make…
When you mean deliver do you mean adequate or do you mean Os?
16 Jun 2006, 17:57 pm
Vin, that’s comparing apples with pears. Os is a loosehead.
16 Jun 2006, 17:59 pm
Oh okay. That makes a huge difference
All I’m saying is that, in your opinion, was Eddie changing the game or was he simply adequate? Cause there’s a huge difference.
16 Jun 2006, 18:03 pm
In my opinion, Eddie is the best we’ve got at the moment. He may not be another Schalk Burger (best in the world in his position), but he’s more than adequate.
16 Jun 2006, 18:04 pm
thanks Vinnie I am; bit of a “doh” – June the 16th; is Keo rallying?
pierre you working today?
16 Jun 2006, 18:06 pm
jb, no, on holiday in phuket
16 Jun 2006, 18:07 pm
Lets just put this in perspective.
Danie Roussouw was adequate. De Wet Barry was adequate. Do you see where I’m going here?
Whilst I’m the first to support steady eddie he does need to up his game from adequate to good, very good and superb to really deserve his place.
While there are no real pretenders to his throne at the moment the time will come when there will be.
And its not his scrummign that needs work – its his loose play.
He has the potential to be a really useful prop because he is so mobile and quite storng, however the time has come for him to really put up his hand.
16 Jun 2006, 18:08 pm
Patong beach pierre?
What the **** are you doing on the internet? Its heavy party time there at this hour…
16 Jun 2006, 18:10 pm
Sure, Vinnie. You could say the same about Jean de Villiers, Jaque Fourie, Fourie du Preez, Jaco van der Westhuyzen and several others. Why is it always Eddie who gets picked on? I have a pretty good idea why.
16 Jun 2006, 18:11 pm
Patong, Vinnie. Heading back out into the fray in a minute. Just enjoying the air conditioning in this i-cafe for a minute.
16 Jun 2006, 18:11 pm
OK, here goes nothing. Later, dudes.
16 Jun 2006, 18:12 pm
All the others you’ve mentioned have, at some point in their bok career had a blinder.
I agree with you that eddie is unfairly picked upon but at some point you have to admit that he has never ever done anything special. Never.
He has been good and consistent but at some point he needs to do something special.
16 Jun 2006, 18:13 pm
Its fakring humid there this time of the year.
Enjoy pierre.
16 Jun 2006, 18:17 pm
going for a beer now; scorching outside
cheers gents; enjoy the weekend
talk sh%t Monday
16 Jun 2006, 19:34 pm
eddie is not the best no3,but definetly above average at test level.
but unfortuanetly jake has transformation targets to meet. he was not help at all by super14 coaches who selected the minimum of 2 black players at any time.
we can moan and scream as much as we like, but transformation is going to be part of s.a. rugby for a long time.
we do have choices.
1. support the springboks in it’s entirety.
2. support another team.
3. form the orania r.f.u.
in the 80′s i also had to make choices. i supported the all blacks.
16 Jun 2006, 20:02 pm
Ok you bunch of dipshits, I know that Visagie didn’t scrum against Andrews. But Visagie still scrum better Andrew, seeing that the are both on the same side of the scrum. Wrt Visagie, every WP supporters has been crying that their front row has been powder puff since he left.
Go and look at the archives, whomever wanted to and yo uwill see this time and time again. Specially after both the Super 12/14 games where the Bulls handed the Stormers their asses on a plate.
I never said anything about other black coloured/players. Paulse is good, I respect him, Habana is great. The two black guys who have been given numerous opportunities are Shimange and Andrews. They have never stepped up, not against other members of the big 5 in any case.
16 Jun 2006, 20:07 pm
Point 1, I do not ind black players in the team.
I do not live in SA and will never again, if I have the choice, live in the country. I will however watch rugby. I still pay tax there I will therefore express my views. Screw anyone telling me not to express my views.
Wrt everything being lily white, well I am in a position to employ people here in the United States. I have employed more people of diverse backgrounds than most of you dipshits ever saw in your live.
I work with people from every continent on the planet.
The ignoramus’s are you bunch of dipshits, sitting in Africa, believing that the bullshit being dished out to you wrt BEE etc are correct.
The bottom line is that Africa suck big time when it comes to international business. Yes I know the excuses and I do not care.
In the real world, a place a lot of you know nothing about, read bleeding heart liberals, the only thing that matters is the bottom line.
Let me spell it out, are yo uthe best or not?
16 Jun 2006, 20:07 pm
should be”in your life”
16 Jun 2006, 20:50 pm
bloubulsd
is jy gesuip ?
16 Jun 2006, 22:13 pm
nee ek is by die werk DOOS!
16 Jun 2006, 22:14 pm
Ek het die aantuigings geantwoord wat teen my gemaak is, gaan kyk na vroeer posts.
Doos!
sommer net omdat dit lekker is!
16 Jun 2006, 23:28 pm
BB, I work with some of the leading people in Europe and couldn’t care less about where you live, what you do and who you or may not employ. It is simply irrelevant.
Shimange has hardly had *any* full game time at international level and nor has he had *extended* run at provincial level.
Andrews is improving all the time and it will prove to be very interesting as to who White turns to for the Tri Nationa.
17 Jun 2006, 03:31 am
BB,
without integrity ‘your bottom line’ will come back to bite. So if you can be the best with integrity then you are on top of the world.
I also live in the States ,but you and I see things a little differently,hence Mikeybrass is right re where we live,who we employ etc etc.
When i was in the SF Bay area I met an expat S.A bloke who kept claiming that he employs Ethiopians,Egyptians and ka..irs from everywhere. It didnt make him any less racist….he couldnt ghet thru a comment without a racist jibe. Not saying you are like him,or perhaps him ,but that doesnt entirely stand up.
HOWEVER I do agree that Eddie could raise his game and dom a few things special like win ius some ball on the ground and level a few big guys.Workrate.
We are talking about props though and we arent really struggling here,well w injuries so im glad Eddie is one who is steady enough that we can pick somebody each week.He gives the better boys a rest.
Sorry to be your ‘bleeding heart liberal’.
I don’t care how good Hawaii is, SA has the ‘ggheesss’,the flavour,variety and spice of life that will always make me keep coming back.
And if you want lazy slapgatte who don’t get much done and can’t put their head on a block to make something happen,then come over here.
By the way i njoy the Bloubuls too, I actually want to go to loftus someday to sing lekker.
En ek’s n sleg kaapenaar nogal.
17 Jun 2006, 03:35 am
By the way thanks to Pissant and co for continuing this thread with some good answer seeeking and questions to test the lame.
It was going down but the quality of handbags was pretty good.
Other side of the world meant I was unable to join in once PA and co got involved…held my own with Alibaba ,Katman and co vs the mutants as long as my eyes would allow.It was fun.
17 Jun 2006, 07:45 am
James, at least if you had your way the Boks would win every game…
‘cos they’d be banned from playing by decent countries who refuse to be associated with a nation who has to class brown players as “honourary whites” to get them into their country
17 Jun 2006, 07:47 am
I just realised with your attitude you’re probably too thick to get my slightly criptic message,
so what I mean is;
The boks would not being playing international rugby with your selection rules so it would matter who you picked
17 Jun 2006, 09:47 am
a springbok tighthead must be the best in his position
not just good like eddie as reported by pa
quotas in play
lemons all around
17 Jun 2006, 11:25 am
porra
as cab said yesterday, transformation is ******* you right up your ***.
it must be soooooo painfull. good on you.
17 Jun 2006, 11:26 am
Porra you starting it up again?
Offer some solution for TODAY. Who would you play given whose available ,and ideally in the squad.You must make an educated choice ,not a hopeful one. Remember,the game is today.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All