Why PE was not good enough
18 Jun 2006
If the Springboks are to be taken seriously at next year’s World Cup, then they have to add ambition to their game plan.
The Boks won in Port Elizabeth, easily enough, despite not playing well and not applying their minds to the basics as they had done so splendidly a week ago in Durban.
Scotland were never going to win the test because they lacked the class and the know how. They were brave, as you expect from the Scots, but they were limited and whereas the Bok pack represented a cannon, the Scottish equivalent was a rifle. It was never going to be a contest and complacency did get the better of the Boks. They lacked concentration, floated passes to each other without concern for the consequence of the pass and played an ‘off the cuff’ kind of game.
When will these Boks learn that they are to rugby what Germany is to football and the All Blacks are to rugby what Brazil are to football. It seems never.
The Boks cannot play like the All Blacks because the natural footballing skill is not there. Then again the All Black forwards cannot destroy a pack like the Boks because they simply don’t have the size. Two different styles. Both very successful over the last hundred years.
In Durban the Boks employed these strengths brilliantly. The forwards worked hard, much of it because of the caning the Boks had received post the unimpressive 30-27 win against the World XV. There was no let-up for an hour and the only stutter came when coach Jake White turned to the bench for fresh legs.
In Port Elizabeth it was again the curse of complacency that compounded a mediocre Bok performance. Every Bok player knew he could play badly and still leave victorious. It was pretty much the case. I thought the Bok coach was being kind to the Scots when he said they had worked a counter to the Boks lineout. It was a way of deflecting the lack of concentration from his own team. The wayward throws were inexcusable, as were the lazy tap downs.
Victor Matfield is the best lineout exponent in the world. He has no equal when it comes to contesting and he should never be in trouble on his own lineout ball. He needs to make use of himself more when calling the lineouts. Yes, the Boks looked for variation, but Matfield is a banker ball. When the variation calls started to produce wobbly results, Matfield should have taken on more responsibility. He should have shown greater ambition to call the shots. The best in the world do this kind of thing.
Matfield is one example of many, who failed their own world standing in Port Elizabeth. Collectively the Boks have to take responsibility for the unconvincing nature of the victory. They veered from their success formula in Durban (heaven knows why) and the mindset that ‘a win is a win’ is not good enough from a team so talented and so dominant in the first test.
Three years ago South Africans would have taken any win, but this team demands more ambition from its followers and its followers demand more ambition from this team.
They are unbeaten in South Africa since 2003, with the 30-all draw in Durban last year the only blemish in White’s home run.
They are better than the performance they produced in Port Elizabeth and they are talented enough to have backed themselves to go for tries at 23-15 and not two sitter penalties. The decision to take a penalty to take it to 26-15 cannot be justified. The Bok pack was dominant. They forced a penalty five metres from the Scottish line, just to the right of the posts. They had a big openside to play with from the scrum. Take the scrum, attack the openside and score, as Fourie du Preez did earlier in the game.
The same was applicable from the last penalty. Kick it to the corner. Demand a clean take from Matfield and company, set up the drive and finish the game on a dominant note.
The lack of ambition is something we’ve seen from the Boks when they haven’t managed to dominate opponents up front. I think of Paris last year, Twickenham two years ago and Dublin on that same tour. The Boks went into their shells on those days and did not back their formula.
If White’s Boks want to consistently be number two in the world then Saturday’s ‘a win is a win’ is good enough. But if they have aspirations of being number one and of being good enough to win a quarter-final, semi-final and a final in Paris next year, then they have to be more ambitious in their on-field decision-making. They have to back themselves to score tries.
And they have to be honest is declaring that what they produced in Port Elizabeth was simply not good enough.

235 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
19 Jun 2006, 11:13 am
Mossel…..Pretty much laugh out loud…ie LOL with some emphasis – its a typo on my part should actually read rotflmao…easier to type rolf….
Yea CFB – its been intermittent since last week wednesday – has to do with our ISP- plonkers that they are !
19 Jun 2006, 11:14 am
‘Celebrate the Bok emblem’
19/06/2006 09:21 – (SA)
Midfield switch for Habana?
White a master of excuses
Boks scrape past Scotland
Gary Boshoff
So the Springbok is 100 years old this year and as such traditional rugby supporters will be celebrating “100 years of Springbok rugby”.
While on the face of it this seems completely innocent, the diverse historical context within which South African rugby was shaped reflects a more complex reality.
Significantly the 100-year celebrations of rugby’s Springbok emblem coincided with the 30th commemoration of the June 16, 1976 Soweto uprising, which signalled the beginning of the end for the oppressive apartheid regime and the exclusively white character of the Springbok.
I still recall 1976 vividly. It was the year I started high school as a 13-year-old and it was the year that Andy Lesley’s All Blacks toured South Africa.
The great Bryan Williams, Syd Going, Ian Kirkpatrick and Alan Sutherland were on their last All Black tours and way past their best.
Andy Lesley was considered a good captain but not the best eighthman in the squad – somewhat like Wynand Claasen was to be on the Springbok tour of New Zealand in 1980.
Billy Bush caused havoc whenever he played, Laurie Mains was a pedestrian flyhalf while Peter Whiting and Kevin Eveleigh were in my estimation, the stars of the tour.
I recall how the newspapers reported on an “unfortunate incident” where the All Blacks, while on a sight seeing tour of Johannesburg, were caught in teargas used to disperse protesting students.
At the same time the Springbok selectors were preparing to select the Springbok team for the first Test and a certain ‘Cheeky’ Watson was considered to be a certainty.
Watson, on the brink of achieving what many describe as the greatest honour for a South African rugby player, decided to follow his conscience and join the rival South African Rugby Union (Saru) out of protest against the racist and oppressive white rugby structure, the South African Rugby Board (SARB) of Dr. Danie Craven.
This singular act by a white South African rugby player defined the significance of sport at the time, in this case the Springbok rugby team, as a symbol of apartheid.
During the time when the Springbok was roaming the world and building it’s often celebrated reputation, many black South African rugby players who longed to be part of this, were marginalised and banished to under-resourced and underdeveloped enclaves of rugby apartheid.
It is there that Watson went to play his rugby – along with the Temba Ledwaba, Zola Yeye, Peter Singape, Peter Jooste, Charles Kleinbooi and many others who represented the antithesis of oppression and racism.
This alternative rugby structure produced many “Springboks” of their own – too many to list here.
Players who in their own right, if given a proper chance, would have challenged the so-called Springbok greats of yesteryear who are fondly remembered by rugby journalists.
Although today the remnants of apartheid oppression are still very much evident, we have been able to reconstitute ourselves as free South Africans, liberalised from the constraints of oppression.
We have redefined the Springbok as a truly South African symbol, a symbol of hope for all rugby players.
The Springbok has come full circle.
So while we celebrate 100 years of the Springbok, let us not forget the years of oppression.
The liberated Springbok has now become the Springbok of Hanyani Shimange, Eddie Andrews, Bryan Habana and many other black South Africans.
On Saturday, I too, who at some stage called for the scrapping of the Springbok, will travel to Cape Town to support the Springboks.
Who knows, maybe soon we will see Luke Watson don the Springbok jersey – a privilege, which back in 1976, was denied to his father, ‘Cheeky’ Watson.
Gary Boshoff is a former Saru player and well-known rugby administrator.
19 Jun 2006, 11:15 am
Hehehe Murph – i hook you brain up to a car battery until you think WP have won the Currie Cup for the last 5 years……and that all the dirnks i owe you are square !
19 Jun 2006, 11:17 am
what the hell is rotflmao then? sometimes these chat sites can be like watching CSI- abrevv’s everywhere!
Maybe you should make a list of these abbreviations so I can print them and stick it on my wall for reference.
19 Jun 2006, 11:17 am
lol murph…and your point holds, our forwards seem to be seeing more attacking ball in the backline, something strange. Not only do we have Matfield and Bakkies making center breaks, but Juan Smith’s out there to.
As good as Juan is, please keep him away from the backline.
19 Jun 2006, 11:19 am
Hey guys, just saw on Supersport that Schalk Burger has a neck injury and is out of rugby till after at least the Tri-Nations.
19 Jun 2006, 11:19 am
Mossel – rolling on the floor laughing my *** off……try here http://www.netlingo.com/
I see 1.9% of folks on the Poll think Test prices are fine….they must work for SARU
19 Jun 2006, 11:20 am
hey guys bad news schalk injured,
The Springboks have sustained a massive blow to their chances of doing well in the 2006 international season with the news that Schalk Burger is going to be ruled out of rugby for some considerable time with a neck injury.
19 Jun 2006, 11:21 am
well ig..it wasn’t that funny!
thanx anyway
Moving on to this Saturday coming.
The Boks will face their sternest test of the new season at Newlands.The French are a very good side that are equally adept playing with flair and invention as they are at scrapping it out in a streetfight.They will field a near full strength side and are in a one-off Test are extremely dangerous.
The Boks will have to up their workrate in the tight-loose and shut out the French loosies.In recent times the French have uncovered good flankers at will and they have always provided tough as teak tight forwards.This will be no different on Saturday.The Boks struggle to impose against teams that disrupt well and this is a hallmark of French rugby in recent years.
Expect the forward battle to be immense and any slacking off in the Bok camp will be punished severly.Loafing out wide a’la the Scots game this weekend will be suicide and we can only hope for a more dominant display from the pack. Big names like Vic,Os and Schalk will have to stand and be counted.
CFB- time to move on…
19 Jun 2006, 11:23 am
CAb
Ja , on that note if anyone has to be in the line let it be Juan , he the only one that would get a pass away.
But it should be going from Fly or 1st centre inside to him if they want to bang it up ( with flair in juans case)
he at least runs into space and knows when its far enough and scrifices the last yard for ball presentation.
but any forward who doesnt make the ruck must stand behind hois centres or in the channel on the inside of his fly half and wait for instructions !
19 Jun 2006, 11:24 am
Mossel
You cannot wish your history away.
19 Jun 2006, 11:24 am
Bryan Habana was lining up at outside centre at the Bok trainng session at Bishops on Monday morning.
19 Jun 2006, 11:25 am
Rasta
Chances are that we will once again be able to win with the forwards alone.
Wonder which frog team is going to turn up? (brilliant or pathetic?) How seriously will they be taking the game?
19 Jun 2006, 11:26 am
The big Boks can take a lesson from the Bishops game over the weekend, and the Baby Boks game against France.
Let the youngsters enjoy themselves while they may because IN TWO YEARS TIME IT WILL BE COACHED OUT OF THEM.
19 Jun 2006, 11:27 am
With Schalk crocked. The time is right for Luke to be called up.
Jake Wikus van Heerden is not the answer.
19 Jun 2006, 11:28 am
Baby Boks certainly did not enjoy themselves.
They were tackling all game long
19 Jun 2006, 11:29 am
CFB
In 1976 I wasn’t born yet so my experience of the history will differ from yours.
19 Jun 2006, 11:38 am
is it my imagination or did you just make a rugby post ?
19 Jun 2006, 11:48 am
Murph how’s it hanging boet?
19 Jun 2006, 11:49 am
rasta,
You can’t count on Schalk, he is injured and will probally only be available for the end of year internationals.
19 Jun 2006, 11:53 am
Pre
all good boet !
Had possibly the quietest weekend ever !
Sat was my kind of day , rugga from 9:30 am til 22:00 the same night back to back.
Albeit not the best results or performances …
most enjoyable.
19 Jun 2006, 11:54 am
JACO IS beyond KAK!!!! Way BEyond!!!
jaco, f-off, i will take my chances with any other flyhalf, ur a useless frekken tosser and i challenge any supporter with a bit of common sense to proove the contrary…
19 Jun 2006, 11:55 am
mossel
It is an experienced and top quality French side that will play and they have some real gamebreakers to boot:
In Marconnet,Ibanez and De Villiers they can field a monster front-row.Then there is the exciting Szarzewski on the bench with Mas and Attoub who are all good players.
Pelous leads the second-row and Thion and Nallett are both solid players with a fair bit of experience.Nallet the least experienced with 16 odd caps.
Frances biggest headache is the loosies and who to leave out.In Betsen and Dusatoir they have really good opensiders and Bonnaire and Harinordoquy are quality backrowers that offer extra lineout options.Lest we forget there is still the undoubted talent of Remy Martin.
At scrumhalf Yachvilli is world class and should play ahead of Mignoni,who has a fist full of caps to his name as well.
Big question at 10 my money will be Castaignede to play 10 and this man can play rugby.
In the midfield again France are spoilt for choice with Traille and Jauzion likely to get the nod ahead of Fritz.
Out wide and the French have pace and flair to burn take your pick out of Clerc,Heymans and Dominici who are all dangerous men with ball in hand.
At the back Poitrenaud is gaining experience and Laharague is a decent player.
All told this is a very fine French squad and Jake Whites terms must be a good side as they can field a starting XV with almost 700 caps to their name.
19 Jun 2006, 11:56 am
I can concur. I consumed many frosties myself…a day well spent in a smokey pub.
19 Jun 2006, 11:56 am
Hear we go again, he was asking where Big G was? Again we would say at the moment there is no-one else. lets hope Pretorius and Butchsort themselves out.
19 Jun 2006, 12:04 pm
There is lots of positives to be taken out the game…. like we didnt play well but still won.
This against a team that beaten the french and england
19 Jun 2006, 12:10 pm
Mossel — ther’ll be no brilliant French turning up: they haven’t played with any flair for years. Michalak was the only one with any real ability to turn a game on its head, and he’s out.
The Frog game relies entirely on smashing the opposition forwards. If their backs are closed down, they cannot penetrate. SOmetimes if the opposition makes a mistake in broken play (chasing kicks etc) their speed allows them a chance, but you can forget it if the defence is half-way organised.
Basically, they play like the Boks, but in French.
19 Jun 2006, 12:12 pm
Capeflatsboy(post202).
Excellent post…………thanks
19 Jun 2006, 12:13 pm
No, Rastafox, the fact that the French have loads of quality players doesn’t mean they will turn on a quality game.
Laporte has lost the plot with respect to a gameplan, and the team is drifting.
19 Jun 2006, 12:18 pm
Chiefs
I feel that is the exact reason the French will be a menace on Saturday.They will no doubt leave the flair and flaky nature of the game at home and bring a more pragmatic approach.
19 Jun 2006, 12:48 pm
Murph
Surprise, surprise.
The U21 game was the best game of the weekend and as for EYE CANDY ……………. yum yum yum.
(If I was two years younger).
19 Jun 2006, 12:56 pm
Well, we agree then Rastafox!
21 Jun 2006, 11:19 am
capeflats
I agree that if that is the Bok game plan, we should play DH more. It also begs teh question: If Fourie Du Preez, slow passing can make Jaco look slow and not be able to get the backline away, then surely he will also make DH look slow. I would like to see DH in top condition, playing outside a really fast passer of the ball. Unfortunately he has not had the chance.
He is our only answer to Dan Carter, because he is the only guy that can outkick him.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All