Jake wants Naas
19 Jun 2006
Naas Botha will act as a mentor to the Springboks during the Vodacom Tri-Nations.
The former Springbok flyhalf was approached to replace Arthrob Pietersen as Bok manager before the series against Scotland, but turned the job down.
According to Die Volksblad, Jake White will have discussions with Naas on Thursday and if they are successful a contract will be signed. Botha has a contract with SuperSport and if he does join the Boks it will be seen as a “favour” by the TV channel. He is also the director of rugby at the Valke, but is not involved in hands-on coaching.
Botha is expected to help the goal kickers in the Bok side – Percy Montgomery and Jaco van der Westhuyzen.
The last time White and Botha worked together in 2002, the Baby Boks won the U21 World Championship.

36 Comments
19 Jun 2006, 08:10 am
Who came first the Skim or the Chicken
19 Jun 2006, 08:10 am
Die paashaas.
19 Jun 2006, 08:13 am
Chuck Norris
19 Jun 2006, 08:17 am
Good to see this, any kicker or flyhalf can only learn from the legend
19 Jun 2006, 08:18 am
Morning Moergat, Why wake me up so early?
19 Jun 2006, 08:28 am
Aside from Naas Botha’s obvious one eyed bias for anything resembling a Blue Bull, he has an intimate understanding of the game and would be an invaluable asset to the Bok setup. I would welcome him with open arms.
19 Jun 2006, 09:15 am
Predawn – don’t talk absolute ****!!!!!!!!!
19 Jun 2006, 09:21 am
Sorry Chuck. I keep forgetting, do not **** with Chuck
19 Jun 2006, 09:46 am
nothing wrong with percys kicking
perhaps white has a ulterior motive and is trying to get naas to play again
even at his age he would be better than jaco
19 Jun 2006, 09:51 am
What about replacing COETZEE as the 3/4 coach, this guy does not have a clue & it shows in the play.What the heck does JW do when he surrounds himself with all these assistants! Another to go MUST be SMAL, he is more than useless, our big pack should dominate more than it does and our rolling maul has never been perfected. If Smal is so good, why do they have to bring Swart?
If JW does not change the style of play, i.e. SCHALK seldom passess & he does not even contemplate running into space, then we will have a short WC.The 3/4′s need to vary their play and use the inside ball, they just run to the touchline.– eish
19 Jun 2006, 09:56 am
Currie Cup SuperBru pool is open if anyone wants to join – Muppit League.
19 Jun 2006, 10:04 am
never been a fan of naas. can anyone remember what his standing is on jaco,,,,flyhalf or fullback?
19 Jun 2006, 10:23 am
on da udder hand..this is a good move. now we need to get an aussie league coach to work on their handling and running lines.
19 Jun 2006, 10:32 am
Agreed cab and a couple of All Blacks in the backline would be nice.
19 Jun 2006, 10:33 am
Cab
Naas is the ideal man to do that job as well. Naas use to have mad handling and distribution skills. Hes running was also very dangerous.
19 Jun 2006, 10:40 am
When Jake and Naas worked together the last time was in 2003- they ended 4th in the Under 21 World Cup in England-losing against Argentina in the semis and conceding 50 points against New Zealand.The likes of Schalk Burger, Enrico Januarie, Fourie du Preez, Francois Swart, Derick Hougaard, Jacques Cronje, Andries Bekker, JD Moller, Ross Skeate etc played in that side. The World Cup they won was in 2002 in SA.You are suppose to win SA.
19 Jun 2006, 10:44 am
Predawn – suprised to hear you are in favour of all blacks in the backline, not just mixed race either. very progressive.
The King – ya there were few that could wikkel like Naas, especially when being chased by the forwards. No you are right, very underrated in this respect, had amazing acceleration, pity he didn’t do more of it.
19 Jun 2006, 11:04 am
The last time Naas helped a current bok kicker it was Joel Stransky and Naas famously managed to **** up his kicking after supposedly helping him…
19 Jun 2006, 11:05 am
He supposedly helped Louis Skoen too…
19 Jun 2006, 11:16 am
Why are coaches blamed for on-field stupidity by the players?
19 Jun 2006, 11:16 am
Such negativity here. Naas is baas!!!
19 Jun 2006, 11:17 am
Realist you wrong Naas was n’t involved then .
19 Jun 2006, 11:50 am
It can only get better with Die Baas there.
White should get rid of that useless quota coach Coetzee and call on backline players like Helgard, carel, Heunis, Divan and the likes.
Up front Burger geldenhuys, Pote Human and the likes could be very useful.
19 Jun 2006, 11:51 am
Vinnie,
Louis is like Butch James.
Untrainable.
19 Jun 2006, 11:53 am
Not even Hugo Porta, Phil Bennet, Gareth Edwards or Serge blanco could have saved Koen.
19 Jun 2006, 12:08 pm
Capebull
I`m not wrong. Go into the archives and look. Naas, Manager of the Under 21 in 2002 and 2003, both years Jake coached the team. Peter de Villiers and Ian Swart took over from them.
19 Jun 2006, 13:35 pm
Naas, he eat the chicken
Percy, he kick the chicken
Jaco, he is the chicken
19 Jun 2006, 14:19 pm
It would be nice for Naas to help with goal kicking but it would be ******* awesome if he could coach the flyhalves on how to play flyhalf.
19 Jun 2006, 14:59 pm
That’s it!!
As a rugby supporter, I cannot take this anymore.
A doos like Naas involved with the Spingboks? He hasn’t a clue when it comes to deciphering a game. Back in his days, he played behind a monster pack, was looked after by a big, burly scrumhalf, had a prodigious kick, was so kak scared of anyone touching him, never tackled anything, he got tackled decently once (Morne du Plessis) and got stretchered off – but he could kick. That’s it!!
His gameplan was to receive good quality ball, deep in the pocket and send huge kicks into the opposition half and wait for his forwards to create penalties for him to slot.
Also remember, he played partially during an era when it was ok to kick directly in to touch outside the 22.
He also played in an era when SA rugby dominated up front and he had world class backs outside him.
If you think his arrogant drivel during a game adds value then you have a very limited understanding of the game.
As for Alistair Coetzee. How many more years must we watch the Spingbok backline be so totally inept AT ANYTHING?? He was just kak at the Cats. We have not looked like scoring a well structured try for years now.
Not to mention Smal – last year it was Mendez, this year it is Balie Swart ‘helping’ to coach the forwards. What exactly does Smal do??
Then who is the coach that insists that the forwards loiter constantly in the backline??
I’m a rugby supporter – I just wish I could support the AB’s. That’s good rugby.
19 Jun 2006, 15:46 pm
CAB 17
Acceleration is never a requirement in Blue Bulls country just liefling and a skop.
19 Jun 2006, 15:49 pm
Sage
get a ****** life and go and look at some stats
19 Jun 2006, 15:53 pm
sarky, ja, but that was a bonus, also remember it was before the days of liefling.
19 Jun 2006, 16:06 pm
Sage,
your point about the “one good tackle” is kinda interesting seeing as how it was about a week late. if it was any later it would have been on the way to the bus after the game.
20 Jun 2006, 02:36 am
Sage, how many times did Naas bliksem your team out of a CC?
Sour grapes!
20 Jun 2006, 10:34 am
Sage
Apparently Naas was one of the best schoolboy running flyhalves ever and not a bad tackler. He was instructed to not get involved in the physical stuff as he was to valuable to the team. The man is a legend and know how to win.
20 Jun 2006, 10:49 am
Bloubulsd – if you read this, Naas played in the era when WP won the Currie Cup 5 or 6 times in a row in the 80′s. Duh!!