Dempsey gets his chance

Girvan Dempsey replaces Geordan Murphy at fullback in the only change to the Irish side that will face Australia in the one-off Test in Perth on Saturday.

Coach Eddie O’Sullivan elevated Leinster’s Dempsey from the bench for the final match of their southern hemisphere tour at the Subiaco Oval.

Dempsey’s promotion is the only change to the side that lost 27-17 to the All Blacks in the second Test in Auckland on Saturday with Jeremy Staunton replacing the experienced Dennis Hickie on the bench in the only other change to the 22.

Ireland team to play Wallabies:

15-Girvan Dempsey, 14-Shane Horgan, 13-Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12-Gordon D’Arcy, 11-Andrew Trimble, 10-Ronan O’Gara, 9-Peter Stringer; 8-Denis Leamy, 7-David Wallace, 6-Neil Best, 5-Paul O’Connell, 4-Donncha O’Callaghan, 3-John Hayes, 2-Jerry Flannery, 1-Marcus Horan.
Subs: Rory Best, Bryan Young, Mick O’Driscoll, Keith Gleeson, Isaac Boss, Jeremy Staunton, Geordan Murphy.