Burger’s op a success

Springbok flanker Schalk Burger’s neck operation went well, according to the surgeon.

The surgery was to correct a cervical neck injury with nerve root compression. The injury was sustained in last weekend’s Test against Scotland in Port Elizabeth.

An SA Rugby release stated: “According to the surgeon the operation was sucessful. The fusion was completed and the bone block and titanium plate are well fixed. There were no immediate complications.”

Burger will remain in ICU until Sunday evening for observation and will only be discharged when his condition is satisfactory.

Said Burger: “I am happy the operation was successful. I will be following medical recovery and rehabilitation instructions carefully and am already focussing mentally on maximizing each and every opportunity to ensure optimal recovery and return to the game I love.”

Burger’s presence was missed against the French on Saturday and his speedy recovery is wished by many. Burger will be treated by the Vodacom Western Province medical team in consultation with the specialist.

The recovery period is expected to be between six and eight months and at this stage it is hoped the former World Player of the Year will return to the game.

29 Comments

• 1.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Well enough to have him back for the 3 nations opener?

• 2.Icey: Reply to this comment

One man, does not the Springboks make!!!

• 3.Skim: Reply to this comment

But one make does not the springboks man.

• 4.Skim: Reply to this comment

The press threw this story out of proportion just to sell some newspapers. They’re such idiots.

• 5.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

Good luck Schalk.

• 6.Skim: Reply to this comment

Thank you chuck norris.
    Do you eat the chicken?

• 7.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

icey
    Het jy enigsens vandag se game gekyk?? Ons gaat nie sommer weer ‘n game wen sonder Scalla of ‘n soortgelyke plaasvervanger nie.

• 8.Icey: Reply to this comment

Chuck doesn’t eat the chicken. He is THE CHICKEN !!!

• 9.Skim: Reply to this comment

Then I eat chuck norris.

• 10.Icey: Reply to this comment

KingPaul

Maybe if Jake swallowed he’s pride (or whatevee he has) and selected Watson at 6 and not Joe.

Maybe the score would’ve been different.

Every man is replacable !!

• 11.Skim: Reply to this comment

KingPaul,
    we’ll win if jakes picks Luke watson.
    Luke watson he eat the chicken.

• 12.Jackal: Reply to this comment

Get well and heal well our very best loosie ever!
    We stand by you.
    I bet you will be bigger and stronger!!!

• 13.Skim: Reply to this comment

Guys,
    I’ll be gone for a week or so.
    Keep the chicken high!

• 14.Icey: Reply to this comment

Brent, he eat the Chicken

Skim…. going to hunt the chicken with our backs at training camp ?

• 15.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Stem 100000000% saam oor Luke!! Maar ek wet julle Jake is te hardkoppig om hom te kies.

• 16.Icey: Reply to this comment

you hit the nail on the head there KingPaul.

• 17.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Nou is Habana ook nog uit.

• 18.kamate: Reply to this comment

Speedy recovery, Schalk! Hope that u work on your tackling technique.

• 19.ebay addict: Reply to this comment

great news,

must have been **** to wake up and realise you team played like a bunch of idiots

good luck to the guy, it would be nice to have someone back on the field who puts their body on the line

• 20.Boondock Saint: Reply to this comment

If he’s going back to the game he loves, does this mean we’ll see him on a cricket pitch soon?

• 21.strikers: Reply to this comment

I hope ghe comes back, bigger and better (saying only, no need to be physically bigger)

We need him, someone who puts thier body on the line!

• 22.Staal: Reply to this comment

JW is most probably gonna give the reason for his injury as bad conditioning.

Jake ou maat ‘n kinie in die ribbes sal self vir Chuck seermaak. (okay net ‘n bietjie)

• 23.ddrek: Reply to this comment

Good luck Schalk,and dont let them rush you back…altho we need you….we need you when you are really recovered.
    I wonder if you hurt it before and this knock compounded it ,the straw that broke your camel neck ?
    Seems you were always shaking it and clicking it as it was irritating you.
    It happened to me snowboarding and then a year later I took a mild fall on the beach and next thing I was on a backboard and MRI scan toe.Ruptued discs inthe neck fromthe original head ontploffing ,taken to the extreme by a light bump in the wrong (read weak) direction.
    So Schalkie,our hero….just add some sass to your head possie when tackling and you will usurp McCaw again as no 1.
    Thanks for putting your body on the line, sorry it had to be so real though.
    Hang in there,we will wait for you.
    If Jonah can keep trying,Schalk will will succeed.
    Jou lekker ding !

• 24.mcCawesome: Reply to this comment

Again?

• 25.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

risky playing rugby with a plate in your neck

• 26.Viper6: Reply to this comment

Hope you are back soon Schalk, Boks are really going to struggle without you.

• 27.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Everyone wishes The Skulking Burger to be back in action at his usual 125%+ over-the-top form! Of course the boy is a completely reckless maniac but the world of rugby is very much the poorer when deprived of completely insane rugby-nutters like The Skulker doing his usual carry-on!

Get well, boet! World rugby really and truly needs people like you!

• 28.fiftybucks: Reply to this comment

If he and SA Rugby are stupid enough to let him come back to rugby without at least 6 months rest then good luck to them. one can only hope that the brainless Skalk has learned a lesson and will come back a smarter player and not just try and be a human battering ram. He sets an extremely poor example for the youngsters out there with his reckless and frankly dangerous play. How would you feel about your child emulating him?

• 29.Alibaba: Reply to this comment

Fifty,

It’s called R-U-G-B-Y. Look at the best ones: Richie, Smith, Schalla, Bakkies, King Carlos, etc. All of them are a little reckless. It comes with the territory because you need to be a little ahead of the pack if you want to be real good and not just one of the pack.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.